FORUM / RUGBY /  Springbok squad

Springbok squad

Started by clevermike53 REPLIES2,289 VIEWS· 02 Aug 2014, 15:57
02 Aug 2014, 15:57
02 Aug 2014, 15:57#1

Here is the squad as announced:-

The Springbok squad for the Castle Lager Rugby Championship 2014:

Willem Alberts (Cell C Sharks) Loose forward, 32 Test caps
Bakkies Botha (Toulon, France) Lock, 79 Test caps
Schalk Brits (Saracens, England) Hooker, 7 Test caps
Marcell Coetzee (Cell C Sharks) Loose forward, 16 Test caps
Damian De Allende (DHL Western Province) Centre / Wing, uncapped
Lodewyk de Jager (Toyota FS Cheetahs) Lock, 3 Test caps
Jean de Villiers (captain, DHL Western Province) Centre, 96 Test caps
Bismarck du Plessis (Cell C Sharks) Hooker, 60 Test caps
Jannie du Plessis (Cell C Sharks) Prop, 54 Test caps
Eben Etzebeth (DHL Western Province) Lock, 23 Test caps
Bryan Habana (Toulon, France) Wing, 97 Test caps
Cornal Hendricks (Toyota FS Cheetahs) Wing, 3 Test caps
Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls) Scrumhalf, 28 Test caps
Patrick Lambie (Cell C Sharks) Flyhalf / Fullback, 32 Test caps
Willie le Roux (Toyota FS Cheetahs) Fullback / Wing, 15 Test caps
Francois Louw (Bath, England) Loose forward, 30 Test caps
Frans Malherbe (DHL Western Province) Prop, 2 Test caps
Victor Matfield (Vodacom Blue Bulls) Lock, 113 Test caps
Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje (Toyota FS Cheetahs) Loose forward, 1 Test cap
Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks) Prop, 55 Test caps
Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks) Wing, 9 Test caps
Trevor Nyakane (Toyota FS Cheetahs) Prop, 4 Test caps
Ruan Pienaar (Ulster, N Ireland) Scrumhalf, 76 Test caps
Handré Pollard (Vodacom Blue Bulls) Flyhalf, 1 Test cap
Cobus Reinach (Cell C Sharks) Scrumhalf, uncapped
Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Blue Bulls) Centre, 12 Test caps
Gurthrö Steenkamp (Toulouse, France) Prop, 51 Test caps
Morné Steyn (Stade Francais, France) Flyhalf, 56 Test caps
Adriaan Strauss (Toyota FS Cheetahs) Hooker, 34 Test caps
Duane Vermeulen (DHL Western Province) No 8, 19 Test caps

Now who got there on a free ride without performance to prove they belong:-

Willem Alberts (Cell C Sharks) Loose forward, 32 Test caps
Bakkies Botha (Toulon, France) Lock, 79 Test caps

Victor Matfield (Vodacom Blue Bulls) Lock, 113 Test caps

Gurthrö Steenkamp (Toulouse, France) Prop, 51 Test caps
Morné Steyn (Stade Francais, France) Flyhalf, 56 Test caps

The above five  would cost the S pringboks dearly should they play in tests.

GT
Gonzo the GreatClub Pro560 posts
02 Aug 2014, 16:05
02 Aug 2014, 16:05#2
 Bakkies, Victor, Morne and Gurthro are class acts.

The real weaknesses are:

1. Lambie (Adds nothing)
2. Bismarck (The odd tackle but very low work rate usually. Turnobvers lots of ball)
3. Serfontein (Useless)
4. Jean (Even more useless)
5. Pienaar (Looks like he is drugged sometimes, so damn lethargic)
6. Coetzee (hahahaha, pap as hell)
8. Alberts (Lazy and slow. no mobility at all. disappears when the game gets tense)
9. Mvovo (maybe, we'll see, but bad history at test level)
10. Brits (another show pony)
11. Louw (penalties and poor discipline, needs alot to go his way)
RE
redsmanPro1,710 posts
02 Aug 2014, 16:09
02 Aug 2014, 16:09#3
 Who cares TAHS SMOKED THE FAGGOT KIWIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
02 Aug 2014, 16:09
02 Aug 2014, 16:09#4
 The question remains - who should Meyer pick to play against Argentina:-
15   Willie le Roux14   Cornal Hendricks13   Damien de Allende12   Jean de Villiers11   Bryan Habana10   Handre Pollard  9   Cobus Rinach  8   Duane Vermeulen  7   Francois Louw  6   Marcell Coetzee  5   Eben Etzebeth  4   Lood de Jager  3   Jannie du Plessis  2   Bismarck du plessis  1   Tendai Mtawarire
16   Adriaan Strauss17   Trevor Nyakane18   Frans Malherbe19   Victor Matfield20   Teboho Mohoje  21   Francois Hougaard22   Patrick Lambie23   Jan Serfontein.
There are some absolute certainties in the squad.   Willie le Roux and Habana are definites and so is De Allende and De Villiers.   Among the forwards are Bisrmarck. Etzebeth, Louw and Vermeulen.
To even think to play the five duds I mentioned would contribute to game losses.
02 Aug 2014, 16:10
02 Aug 2014, 16:10#5
 I did not realise the full extent of Gonzo's retardation.
GT
02 Aug 2014, 16:12
02 Aug 2014, 16:12#6
 hahahaha cheezer, you want retarded? you said goosen was the best defensive 10 in the country!!! hahahahahaha!!! You even defended his blowout in 2012! I read that long thread Ceradyne posted. you are such a tool cheezy-puff. but shame man you are a good laugh. I thankyou whole-heartedly *pats cheezer on the head*
02 Aug 2014, 16:13
02 Aug 2014, 16:13#7
 Bonnzo
Gone bananas again?   The real weaknesses are the five players I mentioned.   Failutres as from 2010 onwards and failures they will always be.  Way past their sell-by dates.
Please note I changed your name to Bonzo - the monkey in the Ronald Reagen movie.  Only Bonzo was clever - you are anything but.
GT
02 Aug 2014, 16:15
02 Aug 2014, 16:15#8
 Mike when has Victor or Morne or Bakkies even contributed to loses? its a PROVEN fact that they boost the team. but to the question you asked, we must have strong tacklers and carriers against Argentina. that means strauss for bismarck and jean has to start we have no choice there. eben is a loafer too, lood is far better. but bakkies and victor are great. shame no flip he sends the pack power through the roof. gurthro ahead of beast. Id give pollard a start off the bench and see what he can do.
GT
02 Aug 2014, 16:16
02 Aug 2014, 16:16#9
 mike you are way past your use-by-date. a can of rotting worms perhaps.
02 Aug 2014, 16:17
02 Aug 2014, 16:17#10
Bozo, put your helmet back on before you hurt yourself. Stop lying while your at it to.
GT
02 Aug 2014, 16:19
02 Aug 2014, 16:19#11
 no lies you just ran your mouth off and now it bites your butt. too bad. hahahahaha cheezer on the run but cannot hide from the truth.
JE
JeromeVClub Pro492 posts
02 Aug 2014, 16:22
02 Aug 2014, 16:22#12
 I'm sure Gonzo is trolling.
02 Aug 2014, 16:25
02 Aug 2014, 16:25#13
Bonzo 
Morne many times - Bakkies and Victor has shown nothing in recent games - they just got bumped out of the way and Fatso Steenkamp is a joke.   Alberts - have a look at the Ellis Park test again.   And if you can read I said they a failures from the 2010 and 2011 teams that lost regularly.   The team failed - they failed.  
Bakkies and Bictor WERE great - they are just " slapgat" at presentFlippie is one of my favouties - I like his pic sitting on the bench after being carded
The day I would change my mind is when Morne Steyn and Gurthro Steenkamp are regular starting line up players for their clubs.   If they are not good enough to start for their clubs - why should they start for the Springboks?
AB
ABasquefanPro2,549 posts
02 Aug 2014, 16:32
02 Aug 2014, 16:32#14
 @mike,
i don't think that Meyer will go with the line-up you wrote.
It's a lot more probable that he'll stick with the pair of halves Pienaar-M. Steyn.
And he likely will stick with Matfield and Alberts' inclusion in the starting XV.
I know you don't like this at all but........

02 Aug 2014, 16:44
02 Aug 2014, 16:44#15
 Bozo, I've never said Goosen's the best defensive 10, just that he's better than Morne. You going to continue the lie?
GT
02 Aug 2014, 16:50
02 Aug 2014, 16:50#16
 i ask the same question to you! cheezer just salavage some credibility while i take my foot off your throat, its polite not to refuse a kind gesture.

heres your hero stuffing up the boks costing them two tests. hahahahahaha! fanboys are a real treat to watch... 100% failure on defence. oh boy this is a doozy.

sharkbokCaptain23,294 posts
02 Aug 2014, 16:52
02 Aug 2014, 16:52#17
Goosen being dropped is pretty significant. 
I would have rather had him in the squad than Bambie. Bambie has experience at fullback, but surely Goosen could also cover fullback as well
Is Goosen' s injury prone career the deciding factor. He does not want to take contact anymore so he has just become a link player
02 Aug 2014, 16:54
02 Aug 2014, 16:54#18
 Cheeser ou perd, do you really still  believe that  Runaway Glaasen can defend? Unbelievable
GT
02 Aug 2014, 16:56
02 Aug 2014, 16:56#19
 goosen could be a 15 but he cannot tackle, period! he always was a link player. but the saffex's ofthe world overshot their predictions on the lad. he is a little more talented than lambie, he is a good little runner in space but he is the weakest south african player since philip burger. in fact they are so much alike its scary!

02 Aug 2014, 16:57
02 Aug 2014, 16:57#20
 Ceradunce
He defends better than the Stade Franncais Reject.   At least he will start for Racing Metro - not sit on the bench like the Reject.  
GT
02 Aug 2014, 17:00
02 Aug 2014, 17:00#21
 actually morne at ellis park made three try saving tackles and 100% of his own. he was even strong enough to turn Nonu over mid tackle and let Louw have a clear shot for a crucial turnover in our 22. he cut down many locks and props after others failed to make their tackles. he was the best bok on the day. always better on defence than lambie or goosen, no facts exist to prove otherwise.
02 Aug 2014, 17:01
02 Aug 2014, 17:01#22
 Abaquefan
Those will be the four picks (Steyn, Pienaar, Matfield and Alberts)  that will ensure losses for the Springboks.    
02 Aug 2014, 17:04
02 Aug 2014, 17:04#23
Bozo he still defends better than Morne Steyn though as Steyn is the worst defensive flyhalf in the Modern game. It's funny because I remember Morne Steyn being on the bench for the Bulls during Meyer's title winning teams, he preferred the average Derick Hougaard over him. When was the last time Morne Steyn scored a try or made a line break?
GT
02 Aug 2014, 17:08
02 Aug 2014, 17:08#24
 I already disproved you. Morne makes at least 1 (always more) successful tackle per game. Goosen has a 100% failure rate spread across 3 tests. So where is your evidence? you are such a cheeze-ball trying to roll out of the line of fire of egg coming your way. no such luck pal. hahahahahahahahaha1

sharkbokCaptain23,294 posts
02 Aug 2014, 17:16
02 Aug 2014, 17:16#25
for the most part a good squad. 
02 Aug 2014, 17:18
02 Aug 2014, 17:18#26
 You have not disproved me at all, I guess you've forgotten about the few try saving tackles Goosen made in the Super 15 this year? I haven't tried to prove to you that Morne is a poor tackler because Mike has already done that. I now realise it's useless trying to teach a demented person such as yourself the reality of Morne's defence, so best to make fun of you instead . You're in a mystical world of your own "actually morne at ellis park made three try saving tackles" proves what I'm saying, howcomes he didn't make his try saving tackle on Barrett hmm. 
Cerydunce, let other discuss rugby, you keep to your grammar and spell checking. 
GT
02 Aug 2014, 17:23
02 Aug 2014, 17:23#27
 mike has done bo diddly squat my little yappy cheeze baller. he didnt make a try saving tackle on baeuden because beauden ran into jj. it was jjs man, not mornes who was marking the pod of forwards on beaudens inside. hahahahahahaha! let me guess when goosen ran away and left the ruck fringe unprotected it wasnt his fault that we conceded a try? you are so god damn one eyed its sickening.
02 Aug 2014, 17:29
02 Aug 2014, 17:29#28
 What about the ridiculous amount of goal kicks that Morne missed, bit hypocritical there Bozo. All Morne did in that game was pat Barrett for a job well done as the Kiwi trotted to the tryline. 
GT
02 Aug 2014, 17:32
02 Aug 2014, 17:32#29
 once against your lies are exposed oh mighty rotund of the cheezer variety.

02 Aug 2014, 17:38
02 Aug 2014, 17:38#30
Poor attempt at a tackle from Morne Steyn. 
GT
02 Aug 2014, 17:41
02 Aug 2014, 17:41#31
 who was the main tackler? JJ. Who missed? JJ. YYou are a deceitful little snake cheezer. now tell me. who was to blame for Smiths try when goosen ran away from the ruck fringe? just a simple answer please.
02 Aug 2014, 17:51
02 Aug 2014, 17:51#32
 Bonzo
"Goosen has a 100% failure rate spread across 3 tests."
Let us have the stats on  those three tests - otherwise you are a cowardly liar.   
Goosen only had 150 minutes playing time in total in tests.   He came on from the bench to replace a piss-poor Morne Steyn in both the Brisbane and Dunedin tests, started and played 70 minutes in the Aussie test in Pretoria - where he was outstanding - and played for 20 minutes in the Ellis Park test.
In all appearances he was a huge improvement on the Stade Francais Reject.   He is now going to play for Racing Metro and he will not warm their bench like the Reject does.       
02 Aug 2014, 17:52
02 Aug 2014, 17:52#33
 Steyn was the inside player and if you watch the clip in an unbiased fashion on the second angle you'll see Steyn went to tackle Barrett first. 
Smith's try was result of poor communication between Goosen and Greyling that left a huge gap. 
GT
02 Aug 2014, 17:56
02 Aug 2014, 17:56#34
there was no communication needed. he should have taken up the guard position, standard stuff really.but wandered off miles out ofsight and left a massive hole. he was the key fault in our loss that day. always at the centre of i all.

And no Beauden ran into JJ to avoid Morne who was at best a secondary tackler. The fault with with Jean and then JJ end of story.
02 Aug 2014, 18:19
02 Aug 2014, 18:19#35
 Why no commnet about Mohoje. Does he really deserve to in. Is he a quota player. No comment by anyone. There has to be some concern.Gonzo ou the grunt is a ver yfunny guy:The real weaknesses are:

1. Lambie (Adds nothing). ONLY CONCERN IS HOW MATCH READY IS HE. nICE UTLITY OPTION IF READY FOR TEST RUGBY
2. Bismarck (The odd tackle but very low work rate usually. Turnobvers lots of ball) BWAHAHAHAHHA THIS STUPID COMMENT RE THE BEST HOOKER IN THE WORLD.
3. Serfontein (Useless) WHAT A HALF WIT
4. Jean (Even more useless) THIS ABOUT THE GUY WHO HAS STILL PROVED TO BE OUR BEST CENTER
5. Pienaar (Looks like he is drugged sometimes, so damn lethargic) AGREED
6. Coetzee (hahahaha, pap as hell) NONSENSE HE HAS HAD A GOOD SEASON
8. Alberts (Lazy and slow. no mobility at all. disappears when the game gets tense) AGREED
9. Mvovo (maybe, we'll see, but bad history at test level) AGREED
10. Brits (another show pony) NOT A BAD IMPACT PLAYER OPTION
11. Louw (penalties and poor discipline, needs alot to go his way) WHAT ABSOLUTE RUBBISH THIS GUY HAS BEEN VERY GOOD FOR THE BOKS

O U GONZ OU THE GRUNT SCORES A VERY POOR 3 OUT OF 11. IS HE NEW TO RUGBY ONE WONDERS. 
02 Aug 2014, 18:26
02 Aug 2014, 18:26#36
Beeno
Gonmxo - or better still Bonzo the Ape - had a variety of previous user names on this site - the last one - until he started to become an ape - was Sun Tzu.
His ideas of player evaluation was always insan e and the above is no better.   
GT
02 Aug 2014, 18:26
02 Aug 2014, 18:26#37
 Beenbag, you must be punch drunk after the kiwis put you in your place. All that i said cwas the truth. i posted bismarcks tirnover stats and low work rate in another thread already, lambie is a kak player in any position. if you need a body to fill a shirt then sure he is a potental candidate but not a good one. year 5 and we are still waiting for that big breakout game from him. serfontein cannot handle the best opposition his stats for the bulls are pathetic and the only tests where he faced quality oppo he was blown away like a smurf in the face of a tsunami. louw gets penalized too often and goes off the boil. brussow is a hundred times the player this ass clown is. jean is a donkey wing posing as a centre. his carries started getting a bit better as soon as he started leading with his head, bad play though. he also shoots out the line too much and cannot pass. he can tackle though but thats it. his leadership stinks and cannot control the game at all. Brits cant function is tight games, thats a big big no-no against the lines of new zealand pal. coetzee has a lot to prove. i think he did well for the sharks but super rugby and test rugby are complete opposites.
02 Aug 2014, 18:30
02 Aug 2014, 18:30#38
 AB ASS SAID -@mike,
i don't think that Meyer will go with the line-up you wrote.
It's a lot more probable that he'll stick with the pair of halves Pienaar-M. Steyn. 
And he likely will stick with Matfield and Alberts' inclusion in the starting XV. 
I know you don't like this at all but......
That oaks is the very big worry.Pienaar and Morne are a no no. Put in Reinach. THERE MUST BE SOME THREAT FROM HALF BACK
Given MEYER has picked undeserving/untested players like Alberts and Mohoje he will need to play Louw at 7 and Coetzee at 6.ALBERTS HAS SUCH A POOR WORK RATE HE SIMPLY DOES NOT CUT IT.MATFILED AT 106 KG CANT CUT IT AS A LOCK. I can just about live with Bakkies. 
SOME BAD SELE CTIONS BY MEYER
GT
02 Aug 2014, 18:30
02 Aug 2014, 18:30#39
 Mikey you are a paranoid schizophrenic writing that dribble stuff.

02 Aug 2014, 18:48
02 Aug 2014, 18:48#40
 Gonz ou the Grunt (GOG) please could you end your clelbrations re the hapless cruties win againt the exhausted sharks (Just note thta the Sharks beat the warts in Sydney)Alo do note I am a Stormes supporter.
Next GOG please try and find a friend close to you who can explain to you the rudiments of the game. Your comments like De Wet Barry being better than Jean are of course hilarious but I am sure they were not intended to be As I said to you B rits may have a role as an impact player. You ask your pal about that one Hahahaahahahahaha