Stormers vs Bulls live chat

Forum » Rugby » Stormers vs Bulls live chat

Jan 03, 2026, 17:25

Second local daaahby. Stormers probably favourites at home.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:02

Early counter ruck success for the Bulls.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:03

Okay first dcrum

Jan 03, 2026, 18:04

Iffy start for Zulu, wayward pass and now a hoist straight into touch.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:04

Amazing how the SA props handle the Bok front rowers

Jan 03, 2026, 18:05

Big hits coming in from the Bulls.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:06

Bunch of the best forwards I Weldon display here...and it shows

Zulu easily beats Kriel.

Jirre Sacha!

Jan 03, 2026, 18:08

Playing against Sacha must destroy one's nerves

Jan 03, 2026, 18:09

What a pass Sacha. And now he kicks straight out again. Been a mixed bag.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:11

Papier down the blind, support too slow to get fatal momentum though.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:12

That backing up and quick offload Nortje just did...those are the things you NEVER see PSDT doing.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:13

The ref just apologized, there’s a furt..er first

Bulls going blind and into touch. Probably not the best option.

Lots of pressure on the Stompies now...this Bulls pack is savage

Jan 03, 2026, 18:15

Seb with a superb take.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:15

Roos trying to be Wiese

Jan 03, 2026, 18:16

Second time Marco had lost the ball in the ruck/tackle

Jan 03, 2026, 18:16

We really should be allowed to play a Bok B team as well….so much talent

Jan 03, 2026, 18:17

Rudolph manhandling Slaapman.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:17

Sacha now with a great take.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:19

Notice Nortje trying hard to make a Jackal….I thought giraffes don’t.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:19

LOL, Gelant hands the ball to the Bulls in the tackle. This guy remains the opposition's best player.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:20

So far neither side able to put much together without dropping the ball. Springbok studded lineups, pretty amateur play.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:24

Papier try? Knee into touch and ball grounded virtually at the same time. Jeez that's tight, no try probably the fair call.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:26

for me, no try

Jan 03, 2026, 18:26

Fat Knees will get you every time…bit of a shame

Jan 03, 2026, 18:28

It's not just actually jacking and winning the ball but the pressure is often enough to create a result.

Something Davie doesn't understand

Jan 03, 2026, 18:28

Oupa Willie bumps off Simelane. Another penalty. Very stop start stuff.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:29

I'm a big Cobus Wiese fan.

He so the real deal

Now Wilco drops the pass. Amateur hour. 20 minutes gone and barely any rugby played.

Yes Plum trying is better than bottling out, something both our Bok flanks do.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:32

Vermaak's injury looks bad. He had a look of "this will take a while to heal" on his face

Jan 03, 2026, 18:34

Great cleanout by Sacha on Kriel keeps the Stormers attack going. Ends with Willemse kicking the worst droppie of 2026 so far. Pollard boots the dropout straight out. Error rate in this game is nuts.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:35

Stompies gaining ground though al then stop start...

Lol Willemse tries a droppie.

Gosh, not a great 1st half

Jan 03, 2026, 18:36

Some pressure there on the Bulls scrum from the Stormers. Reset.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:36

Boy that looked like the Stormers tighthead dominated

Jan 03, 2026, 18:37

Reinach's break ends in an offload going to ground. One must feign surprise at this point.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:38

Big scrim on the Bulls 22 now...

My money is on Wilco

reset

Stomoies get it out but fumble

Jan 03, 2026, 18:38

Stupid kick by Willemse

Jan 03, 2026, 18:39

Stormers need to get reward here...they're getting into the 22 but not converting

Jan 03, 2026, 18:39

Sacha's pass to nowhere, Jacobs just needed to keep his feet and he was home free on the intercept. Now Elrigh drops it. Holy shit boys, is this a kindergarten game?

Jan 03, 2026, 18:40

And now Elrigh drops it like another man's underpants

Jan 03, 2026, 18:42

Lovely touch finder by Pollard from the scrum penalty

Jan 03, 2026, 18:42

Bulls scrum penalty has them with a lineout 5. For god's sake can we see someone put enough together to get some points? Bulls hit back though.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:43

Finally Pollard in off the quick tap.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:43

Nothing in that head contact on Pollard by Slaapman, Oupa Willie loses his shit over nothing as usual.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:44

Pollard shows he is still dangerous

Pollard scores from a quick tap but isn't happy about the head contact.

That was a very Sacha like try, oom Handré haha

5-0 as Pollard can't convert, not surprising for the standard of the game so far.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:46

Moodie with a big hit on Willemse, although he felt it.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:47

5-3 off the Sacha penalty.

Willemse…not looking good at 12 so far.

Papier out playing Reinach thus far.

Sascha having an ineffective game thus far.

Stormers pack tigerish on defence.

It's 5-3 to the hapless boooools.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:48

Willie gets a yellow.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:48

Some poor stepping ability by Zas there, ends up just running straight into the tackler. Kolbe would have ate that chance. Oupa Willie gets yellow.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:49

Moodie off for HIA after that hit on Willemse.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:49

Willie cops an unfortunate yellow.

Moodieb off for an HIA

...tough times for the Bulls

Jan 03, 2026, 18:50

Pretty innocuous hit there, barely worth a penalty.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:52

Bulls did well to immediately halt that maul momentum. Stormers rumble still though. Bulls may get another yellow. Or one more infringement from it.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:53

Stormers wants to lineout without kicking the ball out. It's that kind of game.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:53

Roos over. 8-5 S

Jan 03, 2026, 18:54

I would take the 3 here.

...but the Stomps go to the corner

maul

advantage - Elrigh going up the side

another lineout

another advantage...

Bulls on a warning...

Anorher maul...Roos breaks out and dives over!

Jan 03, 2026, 18:55

Mighty Stormers score!

Well deserved after a period of pressure.

Sascha misses. Poor day with boot.

Roos having a busy afternoon.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:55

So ends a kak first half. Here's to better times in the second.

Jan 03, 2026, 18:56

Roos is having a busy afternoon….what did you see HasBeen?

Jan 03, 2026, 18:58

Think the 2nd half should be calmer.

These guys are so nervous and frantic they can barely string anything together

Jan 03, 2026, 19:09

Roos loses the restart…handling has been bad in both games…heat?

Jan 03, 2026, 19:11

Wilco destroys the Stormer scrum

Jan 03, 2026, 19:11

8-8. Only 24ish celcius in Cape Town? Not sure about humidity.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:13

Straight back to basketball dribbling in the second. Stormers has an attacking lineout.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:13

Slaapman going to bed.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:15

Haha, Reinach holding the tackler's leg against him to try and win a penalty.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:16

Only a 2 point deficit over the 10 minutes for yellow card.

Not a bad result for the Bulls

Seb is at 13...let's see if he's also a better 13 than JJ

Jan 03, 2026, 19:17

Jirre what's going on with Sacha's passing? You'd almost think the ball is a bit slippery? Maybe?

Jan 03, 2026, 19:18

Sacha trying a crazy pass there haha

Morning evrybuddy, missed the 1sthalf ..... WP jou lekker dinge

Sacha and Hozen both seem out of it today

Howzit Blob, missed nothing in the first half unless you like yourself a good knock fest.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:19

Another Bulls scrum penalty.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:19

Bulls with only their 2nd scrum feed...Wilco should walk this...

Jan 03, 2026, 19:20

Yep, Bulls win the penalty...Stompies fading under the hit

Jan 03, 2026, 19:20

Nice play by the Bulls but yet another knock tanks it. Jacobs was well covered anyway.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:21

What a spectacle, watched Ulster v Munster yesterday & it was snowing.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:21

Lovely move from the Bulls there with Rudolf almost clean through

Jan 03, 2026, 19:22

Marco off for Nizam

Jan 03, 2026, 19:22

Bools still using Wessels as a prop…cost them in the URC final

Jan 03, 2026, 19:23

Galant has done nothing in this game and tiny bit he has done has been the usual KAK...now he kicks directly into touch

Jan 03, 2026, 19:24

Ref didn't like Adre Smith telling him "daais 'n fokken knock on". Costs the Stormers nothing as Pollard misses.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:24

Willemse has done nothing in this game as well

Jan 03, 2026, 19:25

Hahahahah Willemse covering his mouth while talking to the ref to prevent lip reading...only, he's talking into a mic

Jan 03, 2026, 19:25

Ref struggling a bit to control the players. Might get interesting as the tension ramps up.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:26

Neither team can complete 2 passes

Jan 03, 2026, 19:26

Game's so dull we're having to find entertainment in the off the ball sideshows, haha.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:27

Roos penalised now on the halfway and Pollard looking to make good on missing a sitter earlier.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:27

Pollard winning no world cups today. Another miss.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:28

Jackal de Villiers with the penalty.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:28

Is Akkerman really doing that badly?

The Stormers of top of the log and the Bulls are pushing them al the way here.

Not bad going really considering how much he is trying to change in Pretoria

Jan 03, 2026, 19:29

No touch from Sacha. Costs the Stormers almost 50 as Willie returns.

And now Sacha fails to kick the penalty out.

Is Akkerman really doing that badly?

It's been such a knock-around-the-clock game it's hard to tell anything from it.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:30

Missing touch unacceptable

Jan 03, 2026, 19:30

Rudolph with some good work again winning the penalty.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:31

Time for golf and tennis to start…this summer rugby is horrible

Now Akker dummies the lineout throw. Jeez Loooweeze, every amateur error in the book is on display here.

Rudolf now jackling successfully and Pollard kicks it into the Stompies half for a lineout

...and then Akker fakes the throw...so dumb

Jan 03, 2026, 19:32

Hell of an open field tackle by Wessels

Jan 03, 2026, 19:32

The Sacha-Reinach axis finally getting some watchable rugby going. Only for fucking Gelant gooing a terrible pass to cost the Stormers their momentum. Not sure if it was knocked down though, no replay. Nah, he was just under pressure and looked to try and tap it on.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:33

Sacha takes a quick tap and almost makes something but the Stompies lose composure and chuck a crap pass...Bulls scrum on their own 22

Jan 03, 2026, 19:34

full house ?

Jan 03, 2026, 19:35

In hell, you are a rugby coach and Galant is all your backline players

Jan 03, 2026, 19:35

Nothing hoist from Papier. Fuck this is hopeless stuff.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:36

I hope you boys know the only reason I'mn still watching is to kuier with you guys a bit.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:36

Bulls 11 knocks on again….

Jan 03, 2026, 19:37

Nortje seems incapable of losing a lineout

Jan 03, 2026, 19:38

LOL, Jacobs drops it cold. Lord above. Where's a streaker when you need one ffs, anything to spice up this mess.

Dankie Pakie

Most entertaining side this weekend...the Lions

Jan 03, 2026, 19:40

Rudolph completely outplaying Roos

Also, can the Stormers please get rid of Galant and play Willemse, the best 15 in the world, at 15!!!??

Oh good the girls!

Jan 03, 2026, 19:41

Haha Moz

Jan 03, 2026, 19:43

Willie may be in decline but he still is full hearted under the high ball and a terrific open field tackler

Jan 03, 2026, 19:43

Well no jokes, I have been saved by a power failure and will not try to fire the game up on my phone, lol.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:44

Unlucky there.

For all Roos faults, he very reliably backs up and keeps up with play.

Pity they use him like a hulk

Jan 03, 2026, 19:44

Unlicky/lucky, Paks

Jan 03, 2026, 19:45

I maintain that Willie is one of the most technical tacklers I've ever watched Moz

Jan 03, 2026, 19:46

I expected more from you Pakie

Jan 03, 2026, 19:49

Game tight...8-8 with 7 mins to go...

Making a difference now is what gets you noticed

Jan 03, 2026, 19:49

Agreed Plum….Aplon was another, not a big bloke but great technique.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:50

Stormers going for touch when they had amicable penalty.

I would have taken the points

Jan 03, 2026, 19:51

So did I Moz, but it's like trying to convince yourself to eat something from the dumpster that's gone squishy already.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:51

Interesting, I got my Seb and Sacha foot race and they looked just about on par...Seb just a touch quicker

Shows how bloody quick Sacha actually is

Jan 03, 2026, 19:53

These laughable advantages kill the game…..they had multiple phases and gained 30metres

Jan 03, 2026, 19:53

The Stormers looking for Al others like they were gonna scores and then...you guessed it...knock on...

they have another kickable penalty and they're going for the corner yet again

silly stuff...TAKE THE POINTS

Jan 03, 2026, 19:54

Jellybear caught Seb as well the other day. Think Seb may be a yard off express pace.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:54

And I regret my words as the Stompies maul it over

Jan 03, 2026, 19:56

Well it wasn't going to be anything other than a maul try in this game I guess. There, I stuck it out even without visuals.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:56

Seriously...Willie!!!????

How does he go for that kick?

Thats super annoying

Jan 03, 2026, 19:57

Thanks for the company chaps

Jan 03, 2026, 19:57

A win is a win is a win

Jan 03, 2026, 19:58

Willie should never be allowed to tactical kick!

For me Roos, Willemse, Paul de Villiers….nothing much. Dacha and Pollard both off their games. These games are often decided by the weakest link, that was the Bools replacement tighthead.

Jan 03, 2026, 19:59

This was a truly stoic experience, lads. Pats on the back all round for making it to the end.

Jan 03, 2026, 20:04

30 penalties ....

Jan 03, 2026, 20:08

What was the split? Some dodgy calls IMO on a few occasions...nervous match...lucky win for Stormers...I'll take it.

Jan 03, 2026, 20:10

16-14

Jan 03, 2026, 20:37

Felt worse...neither team could get momentum...lots of errors...Sacha needs to work on his line kicks from penalties...he's missed touch for the Bokke on a few occasions too...fluffed 2 today.

Jan 03, 2026, 21:34

Now that was a tight affair.

Congrats Ntuthuko Mchunu for standing reasonably strong against Wilco in the scrums, that's a real achievement, and scoring the winning try.

Well done Stormers.

Jan 03, 2026, 21:40

"Congrats Ntuthuko Mchunu for standing reasonably strong against Wilco in the scrums, that's a real achievement, and scoring the winning try."

Good observation...I'm sure it didn't go unnoticed...even Ox struggles against Wilco...can't wait for him to come home.

Jan 04, 2026, 12:31

With Wilco joining soon, don’t know the exact date, Stormers scrum will be formidable. Watch out opposition:)

1. Mchunu 2. AH Venter 3.Wilco

4. Ruben V Heerden 5. Adre' Smith 6. Paul D Villiers 7. Marcel Theunissen/Louw Nel 8. Evan Roos.

Jan 04, 2026, 13:03

Mpower

Wilco will join the Stirmers at the end of the present season and will start with the Stormer afterwards/

I agree with you - but think that the locks should be van Heerden and Schikerling For em the no 7 should be theunissen and not Dixon or Nel - whoos hould be on the ebnch at eest. Ackerman does not fit in with the playing style of the Stormers,

Jan 04, 2026, 14:19

All I know is, stop playing DW at 12! For heaven's sake.

He has so much more impact when he joins the line and also when he has space to run and create from deep. The fact that Galant is preventing the best 15 in SA from playing where he plays best feels really really really bad.

That fact that anybody thinks DW should play at 12 for the Boks just absolutely blows my mind.

I said this about 4 or 5 years ago and it remains true; Willemse is a racehorse, not a bloody carthorse. Stop trying to turn him into one.

And if Roos never stops pretending to be Wiese then I hope he never gets picked for the Boks. Perhaps one day when he's 33 and about to retire it'll dawn on him that he's a better version of Kolisi and a much worse version of Wiese. Damn there is a massive gap between where Jasper is and and where everybody else is. For me, one of Rassie's best early picks since he has been in charge.

Also, are the Stompies fans here not concerned that unless Sacha plays like an alien, you guys look pretty pedestrian? Quite a strange situation because then people complain that he wants to do too much on his own. Yesterday he played very much for the team, making plenty of early and decisive passes, and you guys just scraped past the Bulls, in Cape Town, and while they are in massive transition. So, should you really be complaining when he just does it on his own and you win by bigger margins?

Jan 04, 2026, 16:41

Also, are the Stompies fans here not concerned that unless Sacha plays like an alien, you guys look pretty pedestrian?

The Boks also, Sacha is Brown ball.

Jan 04, 2026, 19:20

Na...Dobson ball...before Sacha Manie did the magic...yesterday was a anomaly...Bools were super motivated...we still won...gonna be a tough couple of weeks ahead....

Jan 04, 2026, 19:39

I disagree, Draaad. There have been a good few games where Sacha plays like a human and you guys struggle.

Jan 04, 2026, 19:47

Ofcoarse...as with the Boks, we also need forward dominance...some twams neutralize that.

Jan 04, 2026, 19:52

Irritated the hell outa me when Gelant was 1st receiver more than only a few times.

Jan 04, 2026, 20:34

I just hate how Galant plays.

Not sure if you watched Lions game but Horn just gets better and better. Solid as hell, plays aggressively but respects the ball and is almost never the reason for loss of territory or possession. He oozes competence

Jan 04, 2026, 20:45

Ja, Gelant was OK before his stint in France, a liability ever since he returned...I prefer DW @15.

Jan 04, 2026, 23:42

"Also, are the Stompies fans here not concerned that unless Sacha plays like an alien, you guys look pretty pedestrian?"

For heavens sake grow up and stop being childish, The match testerday the Stormers won 8 IURC matches and 2 European Cup matches in a row.

In those 10 matches Sacha played in only 2 matches - in the other 8 matches they won Matthhee played in 7 maches and Swart one match. So your statemrnt above is BS.

Their main center situation is 2 of their top centers are out and on Satiday they played the wrong loosie combination - the main problem being playing Ackerman at 6 amd that was a disaster for the team ss well.

Jan 04, 2026, 23:45

PLum your raving about Willemse is a joke. If I look at the SA franchse matches on Satirday frinm a center perspective only Milbe of th e Lions had a good match at 12 - the rest look no good pn Saturday,

Jan 05, 2026, 21:41

Actually it wasn’t my statement, that’s why it has those funny little commas floating in air