FORUM / RUGBY /  The 35 I would select for the RC

The 35 I would select for the RC

Started by Saffolk 47 REPLIES516 VIEWS· 14 May 2014, 16:39
14 May 2014, 16:39
14 May 2014, 16:39#1

The AB's have named their 35, these are the 35 Boks I would select. Frans is not available as he is off to Japan - it goes without saying he would have made my squad. I am also assuming some of the players like Etzebeth will be back from injury by the RC

Fullbacks: Willie / Taute

Wings: JP / Habana / Mvovo / Rhule

Centres: JJ / Serfontein / Jean / de Allende / Esterhuizen

Flyhalves: Goosen / Lambie

Scrumhalves: Hougaard / de Klerk / Reinach

Props: Beast / Malherbe / Kitshoff / Coenie / v/d Merwe / Nkanyane

Hookers: Bismark / Strauss

Locks: Etzebeth / Willemse / Lood / J. du Plessis

Loosies: Vermeulen / Coetzee / Brussouw / Kolisi / Alberts / Labascagne / Carr

14 May 2014, 18:24
14 May 2014, 18:24#2

Fullbacks: Willie / Taute

Flyhalves: Goosen / Pollard

Scrumhalves: Hougaard / de Klerk / Reinach

Props: Beast / Jannie / Kitshoff / Coenie / v/d Merwe / Nkanyane

Hookers: Bismark / Strauss

Locks: Etzebeth / Willemse / Lood / J. du Plessis

I have given you the flexibility to select another 14....although I would make a few position changes eg de Allende to the wing. But frankly none of them would be missed....they can't out compete the starting players for the ABs , OZ, the Frogs and Poms.

14 May 2014, 18:27
14 May 2014, 18:27#3

By the way have you lost faith in Steph, who you were telling me is our long term lock answer along with Eben. Neither have been playing, so lack of game time can't be the reason. Is this a cataclysmic turn away from Stephanie?

And what about lil ol Lambie?

14 May 2014, 18:41
14 May 2014, 18:41#4
No Steph and Lambie are out for the season and your takes on the players crossed out are as flawed as ever  
14 May 2014, 19:06
14 May 2014, 19:06#5
I don't know why you bother, Saffex.

The insufferably pompous old windbag who is talking about "Stephanie" and "lil ol Lambie" is the same stinking hypocrite who went all purple-faced and was literally in tears the other day because people were calling his new hero "Fat Fransie".
14 May 2014, 19:21
14 May 2014, 19:21#6
Yeah we know who Moz would have in his squad.......Fourie, du Preez, de Jongh, Pienaar, Morne, Steenkamp, Bakkies, Matfield, Louw and Schalk.......along with the wheelchairs 
BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
14 May 2014, 19:21
14 May 2014, 19:21#7

Fullbacks: Willie / Taute Jurgen Visser

Flyhalves: Goosen / Pollard

Scrumhalves: Hougaard / de Klerk / Reinach Super Sarel (Fourie du Preez if available)

Props: Beast / Jannie / Kitshoff / Coenie / v/d Merwe / Nkanyane

Looseheads: Beast & Coenie ... Tightheads: Marcel vd Merwe & Jannie

(Coenie is NOT a tighthead!)

Hookers: Bismark / Strauss

Locks: Etzebeth / Willemse / Lood / J. du Plessis Matfield

8: Vermeulen & Warren Whitley

Flanks: 6: Brussow & Coetzee 7: Alberts & Labuschagne (Dave: Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease note the spelling!!!!!!!)

14 May 2014, 19:26
14 May 2014, 19:26#8
I wonder about Mozart's knowledge of rugby he seems to grab and hang onto one incident in a season and that incident becomes the be-all and end-all of all his arguments.  If that is not convincing he invents poor play by people he does not like and come up with real BS - that is why I call him a rugby illiterate.
I assume - although he did not indicate otherwise - he has his own set of has beens that he wants in the squad - players who are integral to the downward trend of our rugby in 2010 and 2011 and still  despite their advancing years in his book good enough.  
There are some positions I differ from you about.  I have lost faith in Jannie - he just gives away too many penalties by trying to keep up his showing in scrums and he brings outside of scrumming nothing to the game.  I would rather put Malherbe in as the tighthead.  I still worry about Coenie - his scrumming after his return from injury was iffy.  Maybe hs injury or fear of injury remains a problem.  
I am also worried about Alberts - he has done nothing in recent matche and is also getting on in years and slower.  He has a tendency not to join mauls and stand around at the back of it - thus leaving the work to other forwards and even backline players.  Also getting on in years - 30 is when the downward trend is most in evidence.  
sharkbokCaptain23,295 posts
14 May 2014, 19:41
14 May 2014, 19:41#9
 Can you even select a squad of 35 for the World Cup?This article seems to suggest the max is 30 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Rugby_World_Cup_squads
Each of the twenty nations was required to confirm its 30-man squad by 23 August; only players in these squads were eligible to take part in the tournament.

BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
14 May 2014, 19:45
14 May 2014, 19:45#10

"I am also worried about Alberts - he has done nothing in recent matche and is also getting on in years and slower. He has a tendency not to join mauls and stand around at the back of it - thus leaving the work to other forwards and even backline players"

Alberts has never played to the ball - he waits for the ball (just like Kolisi).

His contribution in the lineout and his ability to carry the ball has saved him more than often.

14 May 2014, 20:00
14 May 2014, 20:00#11
I think that requirement Sharkbok mentioned has been applicable in the past as well.  The problem is that it presents problems - players can only be replaced if they are injured and cannot play in the tournament itself.
What bothers me is what Meyer would do about it.  We know he has a hang-up about certain players and may hang onto them to the detriment of other better players.  He would for instance keep on with Matfield and Bakkies Botha,  as well as the poorly performing Morne Steyn and Francois Steyn.  Fourie Du Preeaz and Jacque Fourie will also feature.  
What bothers me is the usability of a player like Matfield.  Playing against Rhodes on Saturday - he rarely called throw ins to him.   Matfield likes to "shine" in that Department and he will do so against weaker line out jumpers - against stronger and better ones - he would shy away from calling the line outs to him.   As it was he lost one line out out of four he called to himself on Saturday.  He is also no good in tight 5 play and that remains a problem.
Another player I worry about is Fouriee du Preez.  He was good against the Argentinians in the first RC test last year when he came off the bench and never was under any pressure.  In the home RC tests he was on the team sheet - but showed very little,   He will be 34 I believe come the WC and one will have to see what he produces this year before making any statement as to his abilities.   If the returning Japanese players are anything to go by - he is definitely not going to be good enough.

14 May 2014, 20:10
14 May 2014, 20:10#12

From the guy who coined "Bitch James" the hypocrisy drips out. Stephanie is hardly an insult and lil old Lambie maybe, but hardly offensive.

Dave every name I eliminated has zero chance to outplay the relevant AB starter....in some cases we don't have that player. But your belief in losers astounds me. And then they just quietly slip away....like Lambie and Jantjies.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
14 May 2014, 21:28
14 May 2014, 21:28#13
 Wings: Out - JP (No form), In S'thole
Centres: Out - Esteruizen (Unproven), Jacque Fourie  
Scrumhalves: Out - Hougaards (Passes Grenades) in Du Preez
Loosies: Out - Car (Don't rate him) Kolisi (Really poor form) in Burger, Deysel
14 May 2014, 21:33
14 May 2014, 21:33#14

Moz what part of Lambie being out for the season do you not get

I can assure you a player like Jacques du Plessis would outplay any Kiwi lock thrown his way

JJ has already outplayed Conrad Smith - FACT........should I continue.......as I said, your takes are flawed as ever  

14 May 2014, 23:03
14 May 2014, 23:03#15
If anyone can brave the stench of Moffie's rank hypocrisy then they should explain to our fork-tongued foppish friend that the point is sailing high over his neanderthal, sloping forehead. 
I don't mind giving players nicknames and I'm not the one who's squealing and stamping his foot in self-righteous indignation . . . Moffie's the one doing that . . . except it only appears to be a problem when it's the fat windbag's little heroes being called names and the sickening hypocrite is quite happy to slag off the players he doesn't like.
Saffex, on this season's form, Jean Deysel is more deserving of a place in the squad than more than half of the flankers you've named.
14 May 2014, 23:09
14 May 2014, 23:09#16
Agreed Rooi Deysel has been very good but given his age and the fact that he is pissing off overseas, I overlooked him. But I'd be more than happy to have him in the squad
15 May 2014, 03:28
15 May 2014, 03:28#17
What??? I heard Lambie is back for the playoffs if we make it?? Out for the season now?? Dammit!!!
Selecting 35 guys is easy. Can we get that cut to a touring squad of 27 and your preference of 1 to 23 and the 4 guys who wouldn't suit up. 
15 May 2014, 05:18
15 May 2014, 05:18#18
 Sadly the point escapes the Welsh lush. There is a vast difference between Lil ol Lambie and Bitch James, the fat fool Frans, the thug Etzebeth and the tub  of lard Alberts. It's a question of intent and degree. But then again the quantitatively challenged RooiAAS was never the sharpest pencil in the box. 
sharkbokCaptain23,295 posts
15 May 2014, 05:51
15 May 2014, 05:51#19
 Lambie was out for the season but the most recent reports said that his recovery is ahead of schedule, and likely to be available for the Sharks after the playoffs. If he is ready for the bok tour, the meds are probably trying to time his recovery for just after the bok tour
15 May 2014, 06:27
15 May 2014, 06:27#20
" The wear and tear is taking its toll on the Sharks, but there was some good news when it emerged that Patrick Lambie is not entirely lost to their Super Rugby cause and will make a comeback before the play-off stages in July."
Dave it seems your sources of information are as fallible as your player picks. Pshaw...".what part of Lambie being out for the season don't you get" .....ummmm ....I guess the part that's dead wrong.

15 May 2014, 07:16
15 May 2014, 07:16#21
Thank heavens Lambie will be back in July - but that will not solve the problems the Sharks have in their backline.  Steyn will be moved to center and he will continue to kill all backline play as was evident thus far this year.   The issue here deals with the RC - when he will be back and dear Fatso will be in Japan - where he should hopefuully remain for the next ten years.   

15 May 2014, 07:32
15 May 2014, 07:32#22
Number nine.....number nine....number nine.  
15 May 2014, 07:46
15 May 2014, 07:46#23
"They are coming to take me away - away"  - a hit song of years ago -  when a person was to go to an asylum.  Sounds like your song at present.     
15 May 2014, 16:28
15 May 2014, 16:28#24

Geez Blikkies imagine selecting old man Matfield over the impressive Jacques du Plessis.....what the hell has Matfield done to merit selection? The odd line-out take, the odd kick off taken and............?

No way in hell should Matfield smell a Bok squad again.......sadly conservative Meyer will have Matfield's name at the top of the list.

As for Coenie not being a tighthead.......what nonsense.......he has done well since moving to 3 and its better suited to him as he tends to try scrum through his opponent which becomes an issue when not fully bound as a 3 is.

As nice a player that Sarel is, his service is not up to test standard and I prefer Reinach anyway.

I like Whitely, but he is not big enough for a test 8 or 7

Just realised I left Malherbe out of my squad, he would have to make it ahead of Jannie

3ku1Pro2,580 posts
15 May 2014, 17:35
15 May 2014, 17:35#25
 1. Malhbe2. Bismark3. The Beast5. Du Toit5. Estebeth6. Louwe7. Brussow8. Vermulen9. Du Preez10. Goosen11. Habana12. Jdv13. Jordaan14. Mvovo15. Le Roux
16. Strauss17. Ouestahazen18. Willimse19. Whitely20. De Klerk21. Poltigieter22. De Allende23. Serfaintain
Pretorious would be my 9, but i agree his service is not up to test standard. So good at running at the line tho. Players like Du Preez and Habana lets face it, Meyer well pick them. 
15 May 2014, 17:53
15 May 2014, 17:53#26
 3ku1
You picked 1 prop and 2 loosies on the bench.  With ree pect I think it should be the other way around.  
15 May 2014, 18:40
15 May 2014, 18:40#27

3ku1 that is a pretty average side given you have Jordaan at 13 who is clearly not physical enough for the role and has done absolutely nothing to merit selection.

Steph du Toit is out for the year. 

Louw at 6 is a joke as is du Preez at 9

15 May 2014, 20:20
15 May 2014, 20:20#28

Well Dave if du Preez at 9 and Louw at 6 are jokes, you are going to spend a lot of time laughing. Those two players had a lot to do with the success we had last year. Man you are lala land.

By the way I notice you haven't admitted your error on Lambie....it's not too late. 

15 May 2014, 20:34
15 May 2014, 20:34#29
Welcome back
Number 9  - number 9 - number 9
There may be reason to suspect that Stade Francais is trying to fop Morne Steyn off to anothr club - who are playing on second league level in France - matter of fact Paris St Germain.  A bloody expensive flop they found on their hands.
15 May 2014, 20:41
15 May 2014, 20:41#30

Moz are you on the whiskey.......what error regarding Lambie - he is out for the season with a torn bicep......so what you on about?

As for du Preez and Louw......ag no man, there are far better loosies than Louw at home and du Preez provided a nice service in the first game or two then dwindled into insignificance.......Hougaard, de Klerk and Reinach offer far more attacking clout.....we can play du Preez if we want to kick it all day. 

15 May 2014, 21:14
15 May 2014, 21:14#31
Mozart is all for playing players on reputation.   Du Preez is 32 years old already and last year was weaker than he was before departure for  Japan.  Another season in Japan  for an aging player - nobody knows what he produced the past 6 months - but Mozart is clinging onto him.  
So Preez was not all that good in the tests last year and he may even be less effective than he was last year in the CR tests,
This is the type of selection that is not merit-based and is just part of Meyer's 2004 squad he wants to hang onto at all costs.  

15 May 2014, 22:00
15 May 2014, 22:00#32
 Out for the season....gosh Dave there I was thinking the RC was after July when Lambie is scheduled to return.

15 May 2014, 22:05
15 May 2014, 22:05#33
 Read this you two buffoons

Zane Kirchner – 7/10

His critics would state that he brought nothing exceptional to the game and he did everything (insert player here) could have provided.  For me he brought us the balance we required. He was impeccable under the high ball and he joined the line at the right times. I can’t remember any clear errors but I can guarantee if you wanted to find fault with his performance you could have. I’d select him against the All Blacks.

Willie Le Roux – 8/10

He is a modern day rugby miracle and selecting him on the wing emphasizes his strengths without exposing him to his weakness. He’s an outstanding play maker and isn’t shy to do the ground work before.

JJ Engelbrecht – 6/10

It’s clear that the “buddy” system was employed on defence as JJ enjoyed the help of Jean De Villiers on many occasions… Not a terrible test but I still feel the All Blacks will expose him. Imagine him trying to tackle Nonu.

Jean de Villiers – 7/10

He’s captaincy carried us through this test and his guidance is exemplary. He also lead by example on both defence and attack. Still a little predictable at times but when the loose forwards play like they did on Saturday then his predictability can’t be faulted.

Bryan Habana – 7/10

A quiet day in the office for Mr Habana. His experience is gold and in my opinion he is by far the most rounded wing in world rugby.

Morne Steyn – 7.5 / 10

Made some defensive errors but the score card read: Morne 18 – Australia 12.

Ruan Pienaar – 6.5/10

Dare I say well rounded performance by the player I love to hate… Distribution could be faster but Ruan had a hand in every try. His kicking was average though.

Duane Vermeulen – 9.10

If I had to choose the man of the match, Duane would be it. Can’t wait for him to showcase his talents against the mighty Kieran Read.

Willem Alberts – 7/10

Some say harshly yellow-carded but the rule book stated that the Bonecollector had to take a breather. I’d like to penalise him for his efforts but there was more “reaction” than “deliberate” in that knock-down. He tackles like no other… ok, well, maybe Siya Kolisi, but we’ll never really know.

Francois Louw – 8.5/10

Clearly doesn’t like it when other people play with his ball…

Flip van der Merwe – 6/10

There are two schools of thought when it comes to Flip’s performance. One would say he’s a liability that wasn’t used in the line outs while his only contribution was towards the “penalties awarded” tally. Others would say that his physicality provided the South African pack with a noticeable edge over the opposition and that he represented everything that was missing in Mendoza… I still say Franco van der Merwe can do everything Flip does, at a margin of the price.

Eben Etzebeth – 7/10

Though I never questioned his ability on the field, I did however question his ability to calm himself when provoked. I’m pleasantly surprised.

Jannie du Plessis 8/10

Destroyed the opposition and even won a turnover. The new rules have rekindled his rugby career, that or it was just the normal “Bismarck” effect.

Bismarck Du Plessis – 7.5 /10

Knocked what could have been a try but he can’t be faulted anywhere else. Not even close to his best, but he’s still better than the rest.

Tendai Mtawarira 8.5/10

I said Sekope Kepu will have a difficult day at the office. Boy, was that an understatement.

15 May 2014, 23:58
15 May 2014, 23:58#34
I guess that was in the Argentinians in Cape Town in 2012.   You have as per normal used one set of opinion from a rugby writer to try and prove a point - can you never think on your own?
Most of the above is crap.   Alberts the bone - collector - I think this year it was the Aberts Treeeby tackle that stands out.   Have yet to see Alberts making a tackle there the tackled player lose possession of the ball.   He has a mixed baf of tackles food, average and poor and then plain missed ones.
In any event it is about players who are not performing this year.   That is the difference - you go back years to try and make points about players,  not what they do at present.  
Lets go down the list of players -  I would say that Engelbrecht is not really up to standard.  
This year Morne Steyn had very little game time because he was just not good enough to make the starting line up of Stade Francais,  He made some defensive errors in that game - his defense against the All Blacks at Ellis Park was piss poor.     Ruan Pienaar was slow last year - and he was even slower playing for Ulster this year.
Jannie du Plessis was a joke in bad taste this year - penalty machine and scrumming iffy - he seems to try and use illegal methods to get the upper hand and then get penalized.   His contribution outside of scrums is zero.
Players do show decreasing performances once they go over the age of 30 and that is very evident in some players this year.     
16 May 2014, 01:21
16 May 2014, 01:21#35
But say OOM do you think Morne might pick up his kicking skills at Paris St Germain......wehe.
16 May 2014, 01:30
16 May 2014, 01:30#36
Are you really so ignorant as to believe Dof Doos?  Try again you bloody fool.   
16 May 2014, 03:03
16 May 2014, 03:03#37

Saffex: Allow me to make this easier for you to comprehend.

http://www.iol.co.za/sport/rugby/sharks-get-some-good-news-1.1678614

All reports lately lead to Lambie making a return for the playoffs should the Sharks be involved in those. He was initially feared lost for the season but he has made excellent progress and is on track for a July return!

How can you criticize a man's team for including Jordaan at 13 when you include JJ. The only difference between those two is that 1 shows promise and has not been given a chance and the other showed promise, has been given a chance and proven a big waste of time.

Jordaan's stats over the last 2 years have been better than JJ's and I see you going on about JJ stripping De Jongh in all of 2 mins last weekend. Well, how about Jordaan completely blowing JJ off the park in the first game between the Sharks and Bulls in Durban this year?

One of Jordaan's signature running games and JJ was, well, ordinary which is proving to be his signature game!

There is no way in hell that JJ Engelbrecht is a better player than Paul Jordaan. Jordaan beats him on every facet of centre play. They are both really quick. Jordaan may even be a bit quicker. Jordaan has better hands (he was a flyhalf his whole life), better vision, quicker feet, better tackling success rate and technique. JJ may be slightly bigger but that does not necessarily make him much stronger besides, have we ever seen JJ get go forward in a tackle or break the line with sheer power ala Savea??

Unless JJ has 10kg's + on Jordaan, the size is a non-entity. Neither are power runners nor should they have to be!

I do love your statement though on Jordaan doing nothing of note..Ha ha and I take it you think JJ has?? ha ha please refer the Sharks Bulls 1st game and have a look at that. Jordaan did more in that game and during his injury than JJ has done all year!

16 May 2014, 03:18
16 May 2014, 03:18#38
Ah I thought Lambie was out for the season.......my mistake......if that is the case, out goes Pollard and in comes Lambie.......I'll make the change.
16 May 2014, 03:19
16 May 2014, 03:19#39
Chicken......Jordaan a better 13 than JJ..........bwhaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaa

Fuck you are one stupid prick
16 May 2014, 03:37
16 May 2014, 03:37#40

I understand that you feel it is a stupid call and I am stupid for making it but please Dave, enlighten us as to why it is so stupid. Please bring some facts to the table as to why JJ is better and what he has done to prove this instead of just talking shit.

Anyone can say, "You are wrong. You are thick!" Its the facts behind that statement that we are after.

So go ahead David. What do you base this on? What has JJ done to prove he is better than Jordaan?