FORUM / RUGBY /  The RC squad that should be

The RC squad that should be

Started by Saffolk 59 REPLIES665 VIEWS· 15 Jul 2014, 18:24
15 Jul 2014, 18:24
15 Jul 2014, 18:24#1

If we had a coach who was not stuck in a time warp, that was not hell bent on a conservative approach and who did not labour under a love affair with his class of 94, we might have seen a RC squad along the lines of:

Fullbacks: Willie / SP Marais

Wings: JP / Habana / Hendricks / Sithole

Centres: JJ / de Allende / Frans / Serfontein / Taute

Flyhalves: Goosen / Lambie / Pollard

Scrumhalves: Hougaard / Reinach / Faf de Klerk

Props: Beast / Coenie / Marcel v/d Merwe / Nkanyne / Kitshoff / Malherbe

Hookers: Bismark / Strauss / Chiliboy

Locks: Etzebeth / Lood / Willemse / Ruan Botha / Lewies / Jacques du Plessis

Loosies: Vermeulen / Brussouw / Kolisi / Carr / Coetzee / Labascagne / v/d Walt / CJ Stander

A side that represents the best of the talent we have at our disposal excluding injured players like Steph du Toit and Arno Botha……..but instead we will see Meyer and his geriatrics at play……….I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15 Jul 2014, 18:43
15 Jul 2014, 18:43#2
The master has spoken  
15 Jul 2014, 19:08
15 Jul 2014, 19:08#3
 Although I mostly agree with you - there are players not available for the RC through injury and some others who should not be anywhere near the squad.
Full Backs 
No problem
Wings
No problem
Centers
Sorry - but JJ had ample chances and botched it and Taute is not a center - he is a full back.  Steyn flopped badly at center this year in Super 15 and would be no asset in the RC - in any event his latest tantrum ruled him out of future selection.  I would add De Villiers to that list and if need be Jordaan - definitely not the three I mentioned.
Half Backs
No problem
Props
Kitshoff is injured - out for the rest of 2014.   I would rather see Sarel van der Merwe of the Lions in his place.
Locks
No problem - but I think Du Plessis is also out with an injury for at least pa rt of the RC
Loosies
A few bizarre selections - but I will not going into that one.   I think the first name after Vermeulen on that list should be Jacques Potgieter - he had a top performance record with the Waratahs.  
By the way Kolisi was mediocre throughout Super 15 and I do not think he is in contention anymore - maybe Mohoje though.

sharkbokCaptain23,294 posts
15 Jul 2014, 21:02
15 Jul 2014, 21:02#4
Lets looks at some of the worst selections from Saffex 
Fullbacks: SP Marais- He does not have the pace to be a test level fullback. He does not offer much with ball in hand either and lacks x-factor. 
Verdict on SP Marais:  best to stick with established squad players until a new young fullback enters the picture that is international level. Why bother with SP Marais who struggles to hold down a starting position at SuperXV level. Caps should not be handed out like Candy floss at the local Circus. Centres: JJ  / Taute. Suddenly Taute is back as a favourite, even though Taute himself does not want to be selected at centre. Taute was worse than useless in his 2 tests at centre, and marginally better than useless in his 3rd test. 
JJ who has been the least effective centre on attack in 2014 during SuperXV is still in the squad somehow. JJ has proven he is a good attacker in space and he must only be considered as a wing.
Props:  Kitshoff and Malherbe are both injured but they should be selected in the RC Squad.  Kitshoff in particular is going to be out for ages. Hookers: Chiliboy has a pending drug charge for anabolic steroids. Wouldnt it be great if he is found guilty during the RC and the Boks reputation is dragged through the mud, or even fined for having squad players on steroids. Just  having him in the squad would be a PR disaster as the Boks could appear to endorse the usage of steroids or at the very least ignore the IRB's ongoing investigation. Locks: Saffex has selected 6 locks in his squad, including the injured Jacques du Plessis. Hopefully du Plessis does not mind playing with a broken jaw  Loosies: Here we have 8 loose forwards in  the squad. 8 Loosies including the 6 locks above is 14 players already. What has allways amazed me is how Saffex's squads can include 100's of players in a squad that has a limit of 30 players or less.... ----I love reading this shit, it brings tears to my eyes. 
15 Jul 2014, 21:29
15 Jul 2014, 21:29#5
 Yes ou snapster gets some badly wrong!!

Fullbacks: Willie / SP Marais Lambie

Wings: JP / Habana / Hendricks / Sithole JJ, Mvovo

Centres: JJ / de Allende / Frans / Serfontein / Taute Jean, JP

Flyhalves: Goosen / Lambie / Pollard, Morne

Scrumhalves: Hougaard / Reinach / Faf de Klerk (Du Preez being not available)

Props: Beast / Coenie / Marcel v/d Merwe / Nkanyne / Kitshoff / Malherbe

Hookers: Bismark / Strauss / Chiliboy Liebenberg

Locks: Etzebeth / Lood / Willemse / Ruan Botha / Lewies / Jacques du Plessis Flip, Bekker

Loosies: Vermeulen / Brussouw / Kolisi / Carr / Coetzee / Labascagne / v/d Walt / CJ Stander, Louw, Deon Fourie, Burger, Du Plessis.

How big will the squad be?

Not sure how S tander is playing but he was very good before leaving SA

15 Jul 2014, 22:16
15 Jul 2014, 22:16#6
 Bree Bors Platarms Liebenberg?

15 Jul 2014, 22:20
15 Jul 2014, 22:20#7
 dof doos cerudunce windpomp are you trying to grunt something?
15 Jul 2014, 22:35
15 Jul 2014, 22:35#8
 Damn. I have just stopped laughing and now you got me started all over again.
15 Jul 2014, 22:53
15 Jul 2014, 22:53#9
 Are you looking in the mirror then! 
15 Jul 2014, 23:12
15 Jul 2014, 23:12#10
 Beeno, it does not become you to start swearing.  Don't let Mikes frustrations lure you to the Dark side! 
15 Jul 2014, 23:34
15 Jul 2014, 23:34#11
 Nah. I read your post and remembered how often you were all holier than thou about language and name calling. Remember the picture of the guy with the condom on his head, and how long you were pissing and moaning about it across forums?

15 Jul 2014, 23:39
15 Jul 2014, 23:39#12
 Sorry draad I should have put that comment in quotation marks. Is that acceptable? I did leave out windpomps other board name vlagshit (snapsters term of endearment) OUT AS I THOUGHT IT A BIT VULGAR.What a collection of names ou windpomp is collecting!! 

16 Jul 2014, 03:28
16 Jul 2014, 03:28#13
Biggest Sapp laughs:
JJ and Taute at centre.
Goosen as our lead flyhalf
Coenie  as our lead tighthead 
Chili...isn't he under a drug prohibition?
Kolisi and CJ Stander.
There are many other lesser issues.
16 Jul 2014, 04:46
16 Jul 2014, 04:46#14
 Sharkbok
Just one thing - Malherbe was out with concussion and will be back to play in the CC startting before the RC.    Matter of fact he could have been back already in the Super 15 - but was kept out as a precautionary measure - why risk him before the RC.
Beeno
The squad will be 28 players - normally consisting of 3 scrummies and 3 hookers lrsving 33 players for the other 13 positions.
This normally means that they have to choose multi-skilled players for some positions, eg flyhalf - where one of those can also cover full back - and th same applies to wings and centers. 
A typical backline squad of 13 should therefore be as follows:
Full back    -    Willie le RouxWings        -    Bryan Havana,  JP Pietersen,  Lwazi MvovoCenters     -     Jean de Villiers, Damian de Alende,  Jan SerfonteinFlyhalfs      -    Johan Goosen, Patrick Lambie, Handre PollardScrummies  -    Cobus Reinach,  Francois Hougaard, Nic Groom
There are normally backk up players kept in readiness if any of the squad memebers are injured.  Amiongst the backline players - thiose can include Hendricks,  Jordaan, Morne Steyn, etc.   However, although De Klerk is popular - Ackerman did not do him any favours by not starting with him recently  
I hope that they finally will get rid of players like Morne Steyn (a serious flop in the second Welsh test and his Club performances this year, as well as the aging Ruan Pienaar - who is just not fast enough in service anymore.  
I have my doubts about Hendricks as well.  He was a good finisher in the recent test matches - but is not very secure under high balls.    
The forwards account for 15 players - eg three hookers and five props  The other three positions are covered by 7 players.   Normally there are 1 no 8 and three loosies and three locks.  
Based on that the selection should likely be as follows:-
No 8          -      Duane VermeulenLoosies   -      Jacques Potgieter, Francois Louw, Marcel CoetzeeLocks       -        Eben EtzebethLodewyk de Jager, Paul WillemseProps       -       Tendai Mtawarire, Sarel van der Merwe,  Jannie Du Plessis, Frans Malherbe, Trevor NyakaneHookers   -       Bismarck du Plessis,  Adriian Strauss, Siyabonga Ntubeni
the combination will still not have enough BEE selections of which there will only be 6 - so Meyer may be forced to pick two others as well - which could make life very difficult for him.
Insofar as the other selections are concerned - Meyer may want to persist with the phyiclly-deficient Victor Matfield - but that will not last - he is still good enough in line outs - but not good enough for the rest of the work of a lock and he is extremely unlikely to last through the full season. 
Players like Alberts do not bring enough to the loosie game to warrant selection at all. There could be among the forwards back up players like Coenie Oosthuizen, Marcel van der Merwe and Oupa Mohoje.   

16 Jul 2014, 12:00
16 Jul 2014, 12:00#15
 "The squad will be 28 players - normally consisting of 3 scrummies and 3 hookers lrsving 33 players for the other 13 positions."

3+3+33=39.

PS. The squad is normally 30 players. Not 28.
16 Jul 2014, 12:40
16 Jul 2014, 12:40#16

Come now Saffex ... that's an awful squad.

The object is surely to try win the competition ... isn't it?

Not with those bunch of chumps.

16 Jul 2014, 13:13
16 Jul 2014, 13:13#17
That wasn't an acceptable response, CleanCut !! :o  
16 Jul 2014, 13:17
16 Jul 2014, 13:17#18
That 33 is a typing error on my part - it is 22.   The RC squad consist of 28 players - and that is a fact.  

16 Jul 2014, 13:33
16 Jul 2014, 13:33#19

Hey there, becs.

Saffex has a stubborn side to him. He knows very well that the likes of JJ, HouGat, Taute, Kolisi and Coenie don't belong in the squad ... yet he persists with them.

Well ... I hope it's that stubborn side of his merely trying to ruffle our feathers ... and not that he genuinely thinks these are our best ... you think ??? ... say it's not so.

16 Jul 2014, 14:18
16 Jul 2014, 14:18#20

July 16, 2014, 11:17:38  Ceradyne
That 33 is a typing error on my part - it is 22.   The RC squad consist of 28 players - and that is a fact.  

Wel ou Beesblaas, your fact is fucked.. again. Do you really think that I would not have checked before challenging you? You know I always do.

Springboks name squad for The Rugby Championship 2013

By SANZAR News Service and sarugby.co.za

The Springbok selectors have opted for continuity when they named a 30-man squad for the opening two rounds of The Rugby Championship later this month against Argentina.  Only three players who were not part of the Springbok squad which won the Castle Lager Incoming Series in June have been added to the squad.

Just like in 2012:

Springbok squad named for Rugby Championship                ShareThis  

8/5/2012
By
SARU Media Unit

The Springbok selectors on Saturday included five uncapped players in a 30-man Springbok squad for the inaugural Rugby Championship.

The DHL Stormers loose forward, Siya Kolisi, and MTN Lions prop, Pat Cilliers, join JJ Engelbrecht (centre/wing), Elton Jantjies (flyhalf) and Jano Vermaak (scrumhalf), who  were all part of the Springbok squad for the June series against England, but did not make an appearance.

16 Jul 2014, 14:19
16 Jul 2014, 14:19#21
I know very well how stubborn Saffex is, CleanCut. He puts the mule to shame  
So expect fireworks when he sees your response.....are you up for a row about it ?    
16 Jul 2014, 14:31
16 Jul 2014, 14:31#22

Mike

I am getting very very concerned here.

It is frightening how many times you have been shown to be incorrect or dishonest in the posts you have made in the last two days alone.

First it was myself, now Ceradyne....... although admittedly, to be very fair, Ceradyne almost crucifies you daily with honest facts.

It is scary to think how many other things you have made up as "Fact", which actually turned out to be total hogwash.

Can't deny what I see and read boetie 

16 Jul 2014, 14:37
16 Jul 2014, 14:37#23
 Mike gets his facts tangled sometimes and he gets things wrong, but he's no lier.
16 Jul 2014, 15:41
16 Jul 2014, 15:41#24
 Really Draad? He is a blatant liar. I have loads of examples for you. Should we start with PSG? Or do you want me to go back further?
16 Jul 2014, 15:55
16 Jul 2014, 15:55#25
 When Meyer discussed the issue of squad sel;ection for the RC he said specificaally it would be very difficult for him to select a squad of 28 for the RC.  Clearly - it as in a news report as well.  
Dofste Doos 
Hiou op om kak te praat - jou onnosel ding.

16 Jul 2014, 16:56
16 Jul 2014, 16:56#26

Not really, becs. Been there, done that.

Need a new challenge.

Tried the codger Mozart out but he's deteriorated to what we see today. Predictable and boring. Poor fool doesn't know half the time where he's at. My daddy told me that I should never bully the aged cause I may be held liable if they were to keel over.

Redneck doesn't wanna play. Looks like the poor dear's as bored as I am. Either that or he's off pouting over something or other. Prone to that, you know. Pouting that is.

Beandip has been posting a lot more sense lately ... so I can't exactly rip into him when I find myself agreeing with a lot of what he has to say. I know ... it's worrying. 

Wilma ... that ugly bitch with the foul mouth seems to have disappeared. Besides she didn't have much of a repertoire ... always wanting me to copulate with her daughter. As if I'd dip my pecker into anything that foul.

Fraid I'm stuck with Ceradyne aka Devil's Advocate, who doesn't know his arse from his elbow at the best of times. Besides, he doesn't put up much of a fight so I lose interest. Him and Mike seem to be having fun though, and I feel kinda guilty sticking my nose in there. 

What's a man to do?

16 Jul 2014, 18:26
16 Jul 2014, 18:26#27
Well, Saffex will be cross, I can assure you.
I don't know Wilma....missed that one ! Thankfully by the sounds of it.
You can pick a fight with me if you want....I'm most deflated at present, but I might reignite a little if pushed. Although, it is doubtful, I have to say......  
16 Jul 2014, 18:49
16 Jul 2014, 18:49#28

Come on Becs, reignite then !!

Could be fun  

16 Jul 2014, 19:31
16 Jul 2014, 19:31#29

July 16, 2014, 13:55:39  When Meyer discussed the issue of squad sel;ection for the RC he said specificaally it would be very difficult for him to select a squad of 28 for the RC.  Clearly - it as in a news report as well.  
Dofste Doos 
Hiou op om kak te praat - jou onnosel ding.

I have shown you the facts of the previous squads, Meyer's squads, of 30 players. Now show me the fact that a RC squad consists of 28 players. Poeth
16 Jul 2014, 19:40
16 Jul 2014, 19:40#30
 Doffies
Meyer himself said he has to pick a squad of 28 players and I am not going to argue with him on that one.  Wait and see the squad he announced and then start to wet yourself about nothing - as you normally do.  
16 Jul 2014, 19:40
16 Jul 2014, 19:40#31
 Read this CleverPoeth:

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Springboks/Meyer-thrilled-with-squad-depth-20140628

Meyer was full of praise for the performances from a number of younger players, including debutant flyhalf Handre Pollard and try-scoring lock Lood de Jager, who started in his first match.

"With all the locks out injured, it was great to see Lood came through.

"We have close to 30 guys out, so it will be difficult to pick a squad once all of them are fit again.

"Handre is already a matured player and he combined well with Jan Serfontein today. They are pressuring the first-choice players and a lot of the new guys will be contenders for the Rugby Championship, where I can only pick a squad of 30."

Let me repeat that for you because you are so fucking stupid that you just might miss it:

".......the Rugby Championship, where I can only pick a squad of 30."

Who is the dofste doos now, Poeth.

16 Jul 2014, 19:43
16 Jul 2014, 19:43#32
 Sorry - I really thought he said 28 - but what makes the difference so awe-inspiring that you have to go on all-out attack - worm shit?
16 Jul 2014, 19:57
16 Jul 2014, 19:57#33
I cannot believe that you were even thinking of asking such a kak question, let alone actually asking.
16 Jul 2014, 20:05
16 Jul 2014, 20:05#34
 Now here we have Windpomp, Dof Doos, Worm Shit and Saffex choice description of our member that follows lother posters trying to denigrate them and and makes no rugby contributioon of value ever.  Wonder why everybody wants to shit all over you?  
16 Jul 2014, 20:13
16 Jul 2014, 20:13#35
 Mike, Meyer have to pick 28. Morne and Matfield are the automitic selections to complete the 30 man squad. You were both right! :-)
16 Jul 2014, 20:16
16 Jul 2014, 20:16#36
 The only ones who want "to shit all aover me" are the ones who have been shown up for posting bullshit. You are leading the pack with the most bullshit, closely followed by Safesex. Don't let it worry you, though. It is quite funny and very easy, I might add, to rectify your "facts". The only fact as far as you are concerned is the fact that when you say that something is a fact, those facts can easily busted within minutes.
16 Jul 2014, 20:59
16 Jul 2014, 20:59#37
I'll have to wait for someone to relight my fire, DA  
Could take some time.......  
16 Jul 2014, 21:40
16 Jul 2014, 21:40#38
Baldy even if I could hold you liable for something what's the point....a big share of nothing hardly warrants the effort. But say tell us again, what was it you do in life....hahahahaha.... time for the deep dive.
17 Jul 2014, 14:00
17 Jul 2014, 14:00#39

Poef ... I spend my day helping old timers cross busy streets.

Any codger wearing a white wig tends to receive extra special treatment and NO ... I'm not referring to the gas chamber or any unnecessary rough stuff.  

I usually throw the weedy, frail old man over my broad shoulders, cause they're prone to stopping mid way across ... confused ... lost ... with that "please tell me where the fcuk I am " look in the eye.

An upstanding citizen doing his bit to help those who can no longer help themselves.

And all the time you thought I was a meany.

17 Jul 2014, 14:09
17 Jul 2014, 14:09#40
 Do you carry your knife around as well?