FORUM / RUGBY /  The world is just not working for people at present

The world is just not working for people at present

Started by clevermike12 REPLIES547 VIEWS· 18 Mar 2019, 14:19
18 Mar 2019, 14:19
18 Mar 2019, 14:19#1

Fact is that things are going the wrong way.    After a despicable act by a radical suddenly sympathy of people is used to agitate for a change of name of a respected rugby club from Christchurch - the Crusaders.   And a bus in Utrecht (Holland) is shot up as an apparent  revenge attack.   There is no real argument about it yet - but will the name4 of Christchurch city designed to be change to Medina as a result of the sympathy for the victims?   After all the name Christchurch is an abomination in the eyes  of radical Muslims and their do-gooder friends and supporters,   Really this is not a case to be even considered,

Now I have a fiend in mourning in Chicago.  After many years of maligning Quinton de Kock he as forced to change his tune recently and now the much-maligned De Kock is now the number 4 ODI batsman in the world.   He was simultaneously stuck with Federer be beaten by Dominic Thiem in the Indian Wells tournament - unfortunately another  proof that age mania is not applicable to sports selection and support.

AU
AugenöffnerPro6,974 posts
18 Mar 2019, 14:20
18 Mar 2019, 14:20#2

Albert Pike would be smiling now. 

18 Mar 2019, 14:43
18 Mar 2019, 14:43#3

I could not finish what I was writing  before there was another attack of "load shedding"   WE now had 2 sessions of 2  hours since 04:00 this morning and the next one will be at 18:00 to 20:00

Funny enough  President Ramaphosa decided to take a Metrorail trip from Johannesburg to Pretoria to address a meeting in Pretoria,   He got on the train at 07:15 and was stuck on the train for 3 hours  and the train was not yet at its destination of the Bosman Street railway station.

The fellow travelers shouted at him - "Now you see what we have to put up with daily!"       

AU
18 Mar 2019, 14:46
18 Mar 2019, 14:46#4
It's despicable.
18 Mar 2019, 14:56
18 Mar 2019, 14:56#5

Just be more specific - what is despicable?

By the way I have a generator at home - but when the lights go off - we have to start up the generator and vice versa,   

The electricity tariffs has gone up 14,5% since December 2018 and the petrol price went up by 8% this  month and will go up  by a further 8% next month - while the inflation index was 4,8%  - but nest month it should get to  7%..

Thar is why I try and concentrate  on watching sport and switch off from the BS we have to put up with daily.          

18 Mar 2019, 14:56#6

By the way I have a generator at home - but when the lights go off - we have to start up the generator and vice versa,   

The electricity tariffs has gone up 14,5% since December 2018 and the petrol price went up by 8% this  month and will go up  by a further 8% next month - while the inflation index was 4,8%  - but nest month it should get to  7%..

Thar is why I try and concentrate  on watching sport and switch off from the BS we have to put up with daily.          

18 Mar 2019, 14:56#7

That is why I try and concentrate  on watching sport and switch off from the BS we have to put up with daily.          

AU
18 Mar 2019, 15:03
18 Mar 2019, 15:03#8

I was referring to the load shedding. 

18 Mar 2019, 15:12
18 Mar 2019, 15:12#9

Sure 

Don't you think why I am grump at the best of times?     

BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
18 Mar 2019, 15:44
18 Mar 2019, 15:44#10

Mike - dit maak 2 van ons.

We are lined up for the 3rd loadshedding TODAY. 

We also have generators, but getting electricity this way is very expensive. Solar panels are more or less the only option left, but that is also not a cheap option and on top of that one must consider new batteries every few years, which make this option almost a non starter. 

Ek is heeltemal GATVOL.

18 Mar 2019, 15:55
18 Mar 2019, 15:55#11

When I installed wind and air electricity ta my previous home it cost me about R80 000 and then their was a lightnings strike near the home that destroyed the system   and another R30 000  had to be spent.   I think that if you want to generate a sufficient amount of electricity for the house it would entail an investment of R250 000 at least.

GATVOL  is mild to compare what I feel.

My only consolation is that it would cost the ANC in the election now six weeks away!!!!      

AU
18 Mar 2019, 18:28
18 Mar 2019, 18:28#12

Tesla had the answer. 

sharkbokCaptain23,252 posts
18 Mar 2019, 18:54
18 Mar 2019, 18:54#13
What deporting people to Mars? Elton Musk is looking for candidates to go to Mars. He is talking about making the trip in 5 years or so. 
The only drawback is there is no way back at this stage.... Whoever goes will be more famous than Neil Armstrong, but at least Neil lived to tell the tale here on earth. There is another caveat that Mars will be terraformed with an atmosphere - but only in about 500 years when technology has advanced enough to create a magnetic field to retain the atmosphere..