FORUM / RUGBY /  There is always a lot of tallk about Sportsmen leaving SA

There is always a lot of tallk about Sportsmen leaving SA

Started by clevermike12 REPLIES310 VIEWS· 19 May 2014, 02:29
19 May 2014, 02:29
19 May 2014, 02:29#1

However, we really do not know the financial situation and the contract details of players and sometimes come up with finances as a reason for players leaving SA.   

In the case of rugby it is probably true - or is it?  We really do not know and talk about depreciation of the Rand and so forth.  

In the case of cricket an investigation was done into illegal batting practices and afterwards a statement was made that through annual contracts augmented by IPL income our top cricketers annual income - without sponsorships and advertisement income - is between R11 million and R15 million a year.   That is indeed a hefty income in anybodies terms.   There is no indication that any top SA players are invovled in skulduggery and I am not surprised about that one.   

It obviously is not all the Protea players earn that kind of income - but it must still be borne in mind that there are 15 SA players involved in IPL.  They must be laughing all the way to the bank and so would the Receiver of Revenue.    

19 May 2014, 04:52
19 May 2014, 04:52#2
 Top 10 earning rugby players in France:

Top 14 Pay League

• Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon) - €56,000 (£48,155) per month
  • Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro) - €52,000 (£44,711)
  • Bryan Habana (Toulon) - €50,000 (£42,991)
  • Morgan Parra (Clermont Auvergne) - €46,000 (£39,555)
  • Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse) - €43,000 (£36,975)
  • Dimitri Szarzewski (Racing Metro) - €41,000 (£35,254)
  • Carl Hayman (Toulon) - €41,000 (£35,254)
  • Bakkies Botha (Toulon) - €41,000 (£35,254)
  • Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro) - €40,000 (£34,394)
  • Matt Giteau (Toulon) - €40,000 (£34,394)
  • Source: Le Journal du Dimanche

Read more at http://www.espnscrum.com/france-top-14-2013-14/rugby/story/194183.html#6mgsPqQy8flR2F3d.99Top 14 Pay League

Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon) - €56,000 (£48,155) per month
    Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro) - €52,000 (£44,711)
    Bryan Habana (Toulon) - €50,000 (£42,991) 748,496.21 ZAR per month/9,000,000 ZAR pa
    Morgan Parra (Clermont Auvergne) - €46,000 (£39,555)
    Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse) - €43,000 (£36,975)
    Dimitri Szarzewski (Racing Metro) - €41,000 (£35,254)
    Carl Hayman (Toulon) - €41,000 (£35,254)
    Bakkies Botha (Toulon) - €41,000 (£35,254)
    Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro) - €40,000 (£34,394)
    Matt Giteau (Toulon) - €40,000 (£34,394)
    Source: Le Journal du Dimanche

Read more at http://www.espnscrum.com/france-top-14-2013-14/rugby/story/194183.html#6mgsPqQy8flR2F3d.99

Top 14 Pay League

Read more at http://www.espnscrum.com/france-top-14-2013-14/rugby/story/194183.html#6mgsPqQy8flR2F3d.99

Top 14 Pay League

19 May 2014, 07:22
19 May 2014, 07:22#3
Thanks for the rugby info.   Just as an aside the biggest pay outs made to our cricketers are by the IPL.   AB de Villiers and Steyn clears $1,1 million for the 6 weeks they play in India.   Even Quinton de Kock earns $600 000 for that journey.  Faf gets $750 000. etc.   Big money by any account.   
19 May 2014, 12:32
19 May 2014, 12:32#4
 IPL is not cricket.
19 May 2014, 12:55
19 May 2014, 12:55#5
 That list is just inclusive of registered earnings....it does not include the "perks " all players are afforded by their Clubs that can amount to a hefty sum and are, as such, kept off the books and not included in their wages.
19 May 2014, 15:03
19 May 2014, 15:03#6
 Correct, Becs. There is no way that SARU or SA unions can compete with that. Not with the SA Rand at 1.00  € = 14.2856 ZAR

Bryan Habana earns more in one month, in ZAR, than what most South Africans earns in a year.

According to Payscale.com the average annual salary for an office administrator is R97,073 (approx R8,000 pm). A financial manager earns R443k pa (approx R37k per month) on average. Compare that to Habana's R748k per month, not pa.
19 May 2014, 15:41
19 May 2014, 15:41#7
You have no idea about what SA sportsmen earns - so to compare Habana's income with that of office workers, etc. is real BS.   And your contention that IPL is no cricket is a joke - the players do not share your opinion.   They love the lolly - even if it is based on showmanship.  

19 May 2014, 16:50
19 May 2014, 16:50#8

Posts: 10721 RE: There is always a lot of tallk about Sportsmen leaving SA
May 19, 2014, 13:41:17 Ceradyne
You have no idea about what SA sportsmen earns - so to compare Habana's income with that of office workers, etc. is real BS.   And your contention that IPL is no cricket is a joke - the players do not share your opinion.   They love the lolly - even if it is based on showmanship.  

I do not give a shit what you or anybody thinks. IPL is a joke. It is riddled with bribery and corruption and if you fancy mik en moer as opposed to real cricket, then be my guest. Of course some cricket players will never criticise  IPL. You do not bite the hand that feed you, after all.

As far as what SA sportsmen earns, why don't you enlighten us and tell  us then? You are just like some politicians. You bich and piss all over the show but you do not come up with an  alternative. If you are of the opinion that they earn more in SA, then go ahead and produce the figures with your sources.

BTW, why did the Stormers and the Bulls lament the fact that they just could not match the offers to retain Habana and Morne Steyn? In addition, why do the players piss off to play abroad then, if they can earn the same and more in SA ?
19 May 2014, 17:26
19 May 2014, 17:26#9
I do not know what they earn - and an idiot like you would not know either.  Your ostrich attitude is a joke - do you ever think or is that single brain cell of yours malfunctioning again?
19 May 2014, 17:46
19 May 2014, 17:46#10
 Jaaa ou fokken StupidMike. You crap on me for not knowing what the SA sportsmen earn but you do  not fucking know yourself.

Why don't you at least enlighten us to why the unions/franchises said that they could not match the offers that the players got from abroad? Wasn't that perhaps a hint that the players are earning more abroad? Think, you fucking clown, think. Or at least try to think.

The usual  MO when you are trying to prove that somebody else is ignorant/stupid is to  know the facts yourself. You do not say that he is a doos for not knowing while you yourself don't know either. What you just did was to say: "You are a doos because you don't know but don't worry, I don't know either so I am a doos as well?"
19 May 2014, 18:14
19 May 2014, 18:14#11
 Just to help ou Maaikie.

This was in Oct 2011:

http://www.witness.co.za/index.php?showcontent&global[_id]=70929

A TOP Bok can earn up to R6?million a year.

Reliable industry sources told Weekend Witness that Springboks can earn more than R5?million a year, with an additional R300?000 to R500?000 in endorsements and sponsorships.
Springbok player contracts are divided into five categories. Although the most senior players  such as John Smit, Victor Matfield and Bryan Habana  probably earn the most, salary levels are not only determined by seniority and experience. Players in the highest-paid category earn an estimated R1,6?million basic salary a year, and those in the lowest about R500 000. Habana was one of those. He now earns almost R1.6M in basic salary in just two months. Put that in your pipe and smokeit, Mike yiu ignorant fucking fool.
On top of that, each player earns R40 000 per Test match, even if he spends all of it on the bench, and an additional R35 000 if the team wins. Therefore, if the Boks play 15 Test matches in a year and win all of them, they'll earn another R1,125?million, or pocket R600 000 if they lose all 15.

Some more for you:

http://www.mweb.co.za/Entrepreneur/ViewArticle/tabid/3162/Article/8222/10-richest-sportsmen-in-South-Africa.aspx

In July last year,the 10th richest sportsman in SA was cricket player Chris Morris with R6.5M. That is  R2.47M less than what Habana is earning now. The only two rugby players on that list is Jaque Fourie and JP Pietersen. There is no single rugby player, playing locally on that list, so how you can think that they players playing abroad does not earn more, I do not know.

It is not only SA having that problem. Read this:

Players finding it difficult to resist the lure of France

Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
19 May 2014, 23:04
19 May 2014, 23:04#12
 Guys its not always about money.
Any player who is brilliant and does not make the national side because of color is not going to stick around and play for Rands, when they can move overseas and after a period of time gain national selection for that adopted country plus earn real money not monolopy cash.
Its called looking after yourself just like politicians do!
Go for it you young players you owe the country (RSA) nothing in return.
19 May 2014, 23:14
19 May 2014, 23:14#13

Arthur John

Posts: 533 RE: There is always a lot of tallk about Sportsmen leaving SA
May 19, 2014, 21:04:03  Guys its not always about money.
Any player who is brilliant and does not make the national side because of color is not going to stick around and play for Rands, when they can move overseas and after a period of time gain national selection for that adopted country plus earn real money not monolopy cash.
Its called looking after yourself just like politicians do!
Go for it you young players you owe the country (RSA) nothing in return.

Exactly