FORUM / RUGBY /  Thoughts on Meyer's squad . . .

Thoughts on Meyer's squad . . .

Started by Rooinek14 REPLIES297 VIEWS· 03 Jun 2013, 12:44
03 Jun 2013, 12:44
03 Jun 2013, 12:44#1

Haven't had much chance to post in the last few days and it would be remiss of me not to congratulate Heyneke Meyer on an excellent Springbok squad, certainly one of the least frustrating squad announcements I can remember over the last few years.

My initial reservations about Meyer when he was appointed were concerning his perceived bias towards the Bulls players and there are still one or two Bulls players who I think are lucky to make the squad . . . Zane Kirchner, Bjorn Basson and Francois Hougaard are three that come to mind . . .  but Meyer has recognized the performers in this year's S15 and well done to him for picking the likes of Pieter-Steph du Toit, Willie Le Roux, Arno Botha, Jan Serfontein and Trevor Nyakane.

I still have a problem with overseas-based players being picked for the Springboks and I think we should have a hard and fast rule that you only play for the Springboks if you play in the S15 or the Currie Cup, but at the same time I have to admit it's almost a relief to have a world-class scrumhalf like Ruan Pienaar in the squad while Francois Hougaard is so hopelessly out of form.

Other than injuries, the only notable omission is Heinrich Brussow who continues to be ignored by Meyer, but I must say, I did think Cobus Reinach would be fit again by now and I would have preferred him to Jano Vermaak if that is the case. Does anyone know if Reinach is fit again?

As for the squealers bleating about not enough quality or experience in the squad, please name alternatives instead of just stamping your little feet. Meyer can't just magically pluck experienced world class players out of thin air and he has to select on what he sees. I think he's done pretty well and I feel quite positive about the Springboks this year.

03 Jun 2013, 13:26
03 Jun 2013, 13:26#2

I think somebody has hijacked ou rooitwits posting nick! A fairly sensible post for once.

There are actually some poor picks and ommisions  but all in all a decent test side can be picked from the squad and rooitwit I also am hopeful re the test season.

Meyer had largely rewarded form: Ex Home page

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has moved to debunk the notion that he was intransigent in his selections in naming a 34-man squad for the upcoming Test series involving Samoa, Italy and Scotland.

Meyer has, in the past, received plenty of criticism for his perceived favouritism towards certain players in his first year in charge of the Boks.

"I want to prove to the players that I am loyal to performance. I don't have favourites," said Meyer after naming his squad in Cape Town on Saturday. (Please note ou maaaikie!!)

"The great thing is there are nine uncapped players, six guys that are in the squad for the first time.

"It just shows to the players that if you really play hard in Super Rugby there is always a chance of playing for your country."

The Bok mentor has been criticised for a style of play which has been considered by some to be too defence oriented.

Among the newcomers are Cheetahs sensation Willie le Roux and Bulls prodigy Jan Serfontein.

Le Roux has been one of the standout players in this year's Super Rugby competition, and has emerged to be a valuable game-breaker.

Serfontein has made a meteoric rise since starring in last year's Junior World Championship-winning SA under-20 squad.

Meyer believed the inclusion of players such as Le Roux and Serfontein could give the Bok backline an added edge.

"[Le Roux] played some great rugby in Super Rugby and I believe he can play at full-back as well, he plays at the Cheetahs as a second fly-half which I like from a full-back coming from the back," said Meyer.

"He's really played well this year and it just shows you that a smaller union can deliver Springboks, now it is up to him to make the step-up."

Meyer said that while he had selected a number of players on their form this season, he would nevertheless stick with the core of players who did duty for him throughout last year.

Some newcomers in Springbok jerseys could be expected for the first Te
st in the incoming series against Italy at Kings Park in Durban on Saturday.

"You will probably go with the experienced side to start off, but I want to have a look at one or two of the youngsters coming off the bench," he said.

"It is a very young squad and you want to give the guys Test matches to get them up to 30 to 40 Test matches at the World Cup.

"A lot of these youngsters will be great players in future and I want to give one or two of them chances from the bench to see how they perform on a high level."

The Springbok coach said he would reward players who plied their trade in South Africa, with scrum-half Ruan Pienaar and flanker Francois Louw being the only overseas-based players included in the squad.

Meyer identified the scrums, breakdowns and goal-kicking as major areas he wanted the Boks to improve on from last year.

It is in the goal-kicking department that the national side particularly fell short last season.

Meyer believed that, had his kickers performed better in 2012, his winning percentage would have looked much rosier
. (Only would have lost one match and no draws)

Bulls fly-half Morne Steyn was uncharacteristically below-par with his kicking last year, but he has been on song this season.

Incumbent Springbok fly-half Pat Lambie's aim has also been solid in this year's Super Rugby and Meyer expected more points to come the Sharks' way from goal-kicking

Good solid common sense again from Meyer.

03 Jun 2013, 14:14
03 Jun 2013, 14:14#3

Baboon-ou, two things . . .

Firstly, I don't know why you insist on copying and pasting articles that everyone can read for themselves all over this message board. If you are genuinely so bereft of original thought and you honestly have nothing better to contribute than a copy and paste, at least just put up the link in future.

Secondly, on the rare occasion that you ever find yourself agreeing with me on anything, please do me a big favour and keep that information to yourself. I find it a bit embarrassing to have a knuckle-dragging neanderthal half-wit agreeing with anything I say. I mean that in the nicest possible way. Thanks for understanding!

KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
03 Jun 2013, 14:33
03 Jun 2013, 14:33#4

Rooinek,  I come in peace OK!

Meyer did a nice job, if one takes into consideration that he still has to abide by some form of transformation rules (probably explains some of the kaleds in the squad, nê).  But, all in all I think he did a great jobbie.  For those who cry because of Brussow, go look at some stats.  He is a good player but not exceptional and probably not as good as before his injury, nê.

We, the supporters of the Springboks, should now stop crying and we should put our support behind the team and the coachng staffand let the players know that SA is behind them.

Meyer could actually use this incoming series as a sort of trial to sort out some of the combinations and also to give some of the new players a chance to experience rugby at the highest level.  I just hope he gives the young guys a run and not just string them along for the hell of it.  It is one thing picking a squad of 34 players and another to pick the final 15 from that.   But I suppose we could field two teams and still beat a lot of internation teams with the SA "A" side.

As for my Kings team, shame we tried in the wet but the Stormers were the ones...

03 Jun 2013, 14:47
03 Jun 2013, 14:47#5

Rooitwit thansk for your misplaced advice. I now you mean well so will not take exception to your half witted suggestions.

I wish they would go public re any  the quota system so we can assess the damage it is doing more clearly.

Quotas could make the departure of JP and Habana more serious. They were genuine Boks - will they replaced by quotas tha tweaken the Boks?

Kalead youcan be very satidfied with your debut season. From what I saw of the Lions demolition job of the Samoans you have a huge job staying in the Super 15?

03 Jun 2013, 15:44
03 Jun 2013, 15:44#6

Beeno

To early to say whethter Meyer has got favourites or not - it depends on his team selection for Saturday.  If he for instance pick Kirchner and Spies - it could ony be the result of ulterior reasons.

There are rumours that De Villiers is injured and may not play.   He may under those circumstamnces try JJ Engelbrecht at 13 - but I still have my doubts about that one despite all Saffex's ravings about him.   He showed next to nothing n Saturday - so what can we expect from him on test level?

Louww is apparently also injured and that leaves a wide gap at 6 as well.   I ttink Meyer would go with Coetzee at 6 under those circumstances - but the latter's form in Super 15 was not what it should have been,   I personally would go for Botha or Labuschagne at 7 and 8 respectively,   A loosie combination of Coetzee, Labuschagne and Botha would be an eye-opener for the doubting thomases on this Board.

SP
SpooonyClub Pro718 posts
03 Jun 2013, 17:14
03 Jun 2013, 17:14#7

We are so screwed. I am already greasing myself up bending over to get penetrated by Kiwi supporters after the TRC 

03 Jun 2013, 17:17
03 Jun 2013, 17:17#8

"I am already greasing myself up bending over to get penetrated by Kiwi supporters after the TRC."

Well, whatever floats your boat but what has the Truth and Reconciliation Commission got to do with anything?

Edit: Scrap that, I got it now. The Rugby Championship. Still can't get used to that name. It sounds so arrogant. Why didn't they just call it the 4 Nations?

SP
SpooonyClub Pro718 posts
03 Jun 2013, 17:20
03 Jun 2013, 17:20#9

So Desmond Tutu will be handing R30 000 to liers in the The Rugby Championship? 

03 Jun 2013, 17:31
03 Jun 2013, 17:31#10

"So Desmond Tutu will be handing R30 000 to liers in the The Rugby Championship?"

Que?

I can normally work out typos but "liers" has me stumped.

03 Jun 2013, 17:57
03 Jun 2013, 17:57#11
I have had a kak day so I want some of whatever Spooony is smoking! Dude, what are you on about??? Rooi, he refers to it as "the TRC", that would be The The Rugby Championship. Petty I know.... Rooi, "knuckle-dragging neanderthal half-wit" you crack me up man, even though you have anger issues with Beans and you're not lekker in the head. As for the squad, I think it is fair to say that this is a better squad than what most of us were expecting from Meyer. I also don't get our policy on overseas based players. Either we should or we should not include them in the Bok team. I say exclude them! But this loyalty to FLouw and Pienaar is just stupid. It seems they are exempt from the rule that overseas based players are excluded. Not sure what the logic is.
03 Jun 2013, 18:05
03 Jun 2013, 18:05#12

Bluebok, I don't believe I've ever felt any anger towards Baboon-ou. I might feel sorry for the pitiful creature sometimes but "anger"? I don't think so.

As for the overseas-based Boks, I think the current rule is that you can pick overseas-based players playing in France and the UK, but not if they're playing in Japan. Personally I think it would be a lot simpler if we just didn't pick these okes at all. I have no problem with rugby players seeking their fortune elsewhere but they should know that it's at the cost of a Springbok jersey . . . otherwise our best young players are going to end up playing in the NH instead of in the S15 and the CC.

OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
03 Jun 2013, 18:26
03 Jun 2013, 18:26#13

Bissie should not be in the squad - whats he doing there?- rather his place be taken by someone else and not necessarily a hooker either.

He's played zero minutes of competitive rugby, bound to be off the pace / rusty, is not needed for the competition that will be faced in June series and would at best be coming off the bench if at all. He's got nothing to prove and his place in the Rugby Championship is secure once he can demostrate health, which should happen once Super Rugby resumes.

Would much rather have seen someone like Ebersohn who has made it known that being a Springbok is his dream, has turned down lucrative NH contracts and is in good enough form to justify selection get a cap.

03 Jun 2013, 18:41
03 Jun 2013, 18:41#14

Oi you are talking about a guy who until injured was rated the best hooker in world rugby! He is about ready to start playing again and may get some time off the bench. Bringing Bissie up to speed is great news surely.

Bluebok ou roooitwit is a real hoot so dont worry about him.As always I have his number and play him like a fiddle. Hahahahahahahahaha - that  knuckle-dragging neanderthal half-wit is a rooitwit classic!

Please oaks be realistic. Players get so much more than here that we will continue to lose players. This could get worse. Will not picking overseas players stop them leaving - why is that a given? 

OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
03 Jun 2013, 18:57
03 Jun 2013, 18:57#15

No doubt about him being the best, Beeno - he's a friggin stud, an icon and I have read that he has actually used this time to bulk up and is visibly larger if that is at all possible. Just don't think he should be ushered into the squad automatically, especially when the coach is going on about being loyal to current form and the Boks have the perfect scenario with the June competition to blood another new player. Surely for a player coming back from his type of major injury the safer place to do it is in Super Rugby rather than Test rugby? and in the process deny players who would covet that Bok cap and have earned it with their form and commitment to SA rugby.

I'm making a mountain out of a mole hill - I know. Was just a thought :)