FORUM / RUGBY /  Veteransgate...a storm in a tea cup.

Veteransgate...a storm in a tea cup.

Started by Mozart36 REPLIES393 VIEWS· 06 Jun 2014, 02:46
06 Jun 2014, 02:46
06 Jun 2014, 02:46#1

From the Telegraph  we have the RWC winning team ages. Swop Etzebeth  for either Matfield or  Bakkies and we have a team that is the age of two of the last four RWC winners. And by next year everybody will be a year older, but some older players will drop out of the mix. You only have to lose one thirty plus player for a twenty plus player to pick up half a year. Here's the Telegraph

Studying the last four World Cup winners the RFU calculated average team ages of 27, 28, 27 and 28. The number of caps held by Australia (1999), England (2003), South Africa (2007) and New Zealand (2011) was 622, 638, 668 and 709 for Graham Henry’s All Blacks, the most experienced of the quartet.

World Cups are won by seasoned veterans and a smattering of highly talented new players.

sharkbokCaptain23,295 posts
06 Jun 2014, 03:02
06 Jun 2014, 03:02#2
I was thinking the same thing. 
HookerAdrian Strauss (28) is the 2nd choice hooker. Schalk Britz (33) is 3rd or 4th choice. However personally I would not waist time with Britz. 
PropGet rid of useless Jannie Duplessis(32) with anyone else, and the age goes down.
LockEztebeth is the first choice number 4 lock in South Africa. Bakkies might be the current 2nd choice, but Lood Dejaager will probably become the backup number 4 lock. Meyer said that Lood can play 5, but he is primarily a number 4 lock.
Most of the best loosies in SA at the moment are old, other than some of the ones injured. 
Scrumhalf. FDP is the best we have. The other scrummies have been average this year.Pienaar would probably stand out at SuperXV level, and surely at curry cup level.Is is not easy to compare a boks performance to a player in a much lower division.
Flyhalf. Goosen is the first choice. Meyer said that he allmost started Goosen this week, but will do next week.
Centres-Delande is injured, other than that the other young centres in SA are not better than the older ones. Serfontein is good, but his season has been average.
Wings. Habana- best wing in the WorldWillie- best fullback in SA, 2nd best wing.Hendriks looked great this year, surprising he did not start more. 
Their is some major concerns about the new talent coming through in the backline. Our SuperXV teams are sitting at the bottom of the table, mostly due to poor backline performances.

06 Jun 2014, 06:42
06 Jun 2014, 06:42#3
 It has nothing to do with AGE - it has everything to do with performance.  The older player who are not performing well enough should be disposed of and that include most of the following:-
Francois Steyn,  Morne Steyn, Jacque Fourie, Ruan Pienaar,  Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Jannie du Plessis and Victor Matfield.
There are better younger players available as per the following:-
Francois Steyn :  Jan Serfontein, Andre EsterhuizenMorne Steyn : Johan Goosen, Marnitz Boshoff, Handrey PollardRuan Piennar :  Rory Cockott, Cobus ReinachWillem Alberts : Arno Botha. Lappies Labuschagne, Jacques du PlessisBakkies Botha :  Lood de Jager, Paul WillemseJannie du Plessis :  Frans Malgerbe, Coenie Oosthuizen Victor Matfield : Pieter-Steph du Toit, Stephan Lewies
All the older players mentioned was part of the 2011 disaster and definitely will not be good enough in 2015.

06 Jun 2014, 10:25
06 Jun 2014, 10:25#4
 Yep. Kick them out all out and bring in the youngsters and we will be sorted, especially since HM now has the help of Alan Solomons and Morne Steyn is off to play for PSG as well.
06 Jun 2014, 10:55
06 Jun 2014, 10:55#5
 So as I have said it all depends where Meyer goes from here. Doubtless some older players will go. So why pick them. Hopefully Meyer will sort things out but there have been some poor selections. 
06 Jun 2014, 14:58
06 Jun 2014, 14:58#6
Let me help HasBeen the clue is in your own statement....."some older players will go". But not all older players . Trouble is, until we see these chaps like Bakkies and Juan Smith in test rugby, we wont know where they are. It's obvious all these guys are still strong performers at provincial level. Sadly you have been sucked into the Clean Gene, Scumbag, Sapp furore. As Solomons says....HM is totally methodical. He is developing a full picture of our resources.
06 Jun 2014, 15:15
06 Jun 2014, 15:15#7
 Dr Moz, elsewhere I have suggested Meyer is screening his older players and its too early to be certain. I do think some selections are not right. Okay let' s see how Pienaar, Steenkamp, victor, etc go. By this I mean in the RC. Keo is over the moon that Bakkies and victor are back. They will be 35 and 38 years old come WC time. Steenkamp apparently has made no impact overseas and ditto Pienaar. Pienaar was poor when he played for the Boks last year.
Sorry but I am uneasy about some selections and the building plan for the Wc. Meyer himself said how few tests there were left before the world cup. One hopes he is on the right track. I wish him well.  Juan Smith will also be around 34 by WC time.  I recall OZ winning a world Cup and keeping their team for the next world cup and us beating them at Newlands etc.
Pick on merit and select with a WC looming next year. Its early days so we must see how all this unfolds - a message I have repeated more than once. Also as I said i am not giving up on Meyer yet.

06 Jun 2014, 15:27
06 Jun 2014, 15:27#8
 Beeno
We have seen Bakkies in test rugby and he was sub-par in teh Scots test last year and just average in the Paris test.  Juan Smith realises that he is not up to test standard anymore and declined Meyer's invitation.
Of the older players I like Burger - but he is too injury prone and will not last through test series.  Matfield is a light weight show pony that weakens the tight 5 situation massively.   Jannie gas gone seriously backward over the last two years and need to be replaced.     
Of the rest of the over thirties - Jean and Habana is still good enough - the rest are basically sub-par.  Even Du Preez was slow in thee tests he played in last year.  Morne cannot make the starting line u of Stade Francais and is really useless.  Fourie is dead in attack and his defense are good - but not faultless - he is way to speed-deficient.     
Of the younger foreign-based players Louw is still good enough.   If I was the selector I will cut out all but Du Preez. Louw and Habana of the foreign club players from consideration for selection.   Even Pietersen came back from Japan slow as a carthorse and it took him months to regain some pace and physical development back to what he was prior to departure.   

06 Jun 2014, 15:34
06 Jun 2014, 15:34#9

Once more...let me help. The S15 has never proven a good predictor of test success....think Luke Watson, think, Mvovo, think Coetzee. We have had a far higher hit rate playing older test players who have confirmed their candidacy by playing well at provincial level. I guarantee you Faf, Marnitz, Sadie, Boom ....all chaps doing well at S15 will struggle to step up in tests. That's picking on merit.

Posters have a model in their minds that each year we are looking for young players performing at S15 level.....we are.....but only if they have unusual capacity. Etzebeth, Willie, maybe de Allende ....although he will have a rough test start, Willemse and Pollard look the type. Goosen did as well, but there are serious concerns about his ability to survive if he plays a full hearted game....which he has done once so far in the S15.

It's not pick on some vague notion of merit....you can't line players up against each other and get a real competition. The team is the team....new players have to challe nge for their places and prove again and again that they deserve to be promoted. That's how you get team spirit and raise the bar.

06 Jun 2014, 15:42
06 Jun 2014, 15:42#10
 I am happy with Jean, Habana, Louw and Burger. Bakkies, Morne, Brits, Du Preez worth a look at.  Pienaar and Steenkamp - no Victor a big no. Ditto Kolisi. Some problems will sort themsleves out with players returning to fitness. Others will be shipped out as a conseqence of the RC. Anyhow that is what one hopes. Be patient and see what unfolds. 
The waters are muddied at present.
06 Jun 2014, 16:02
06 Jun 2014, 16:02#11
 So Super 15 is not a good enough norm - what makes foreign clubs a food enough norm?   In Matfield's case Super 15 is a reliable indicator - but in nobody else's case it is. 
So players must challenge for their positions.   Who is to evaluate their performances - or does that not count.  Bakkies challenged last year and was found to be par - but Meyer praised him like he was tops.
Francois Steyn failed in the tests in 2012 and is now back after an extremely poor Super 15.    What sustains his challenge?
I can go on and on.   The real challenge players face is the Meyer principle.  It is easier to get into the Springbok team than to be left out.  Experience and reputation is all that counts - for the rest performance does not count.
The real issue here is that Meyer deliberately praise non-performers and then keep on selecting them.  So what chance does the challengers have  when they get virtually no playing time on higher le vel.  Mvovo is in the day squad for tomorrow and Coetzee will be back.  Nobody rated Watson n any event - he ws never yup to international level,
The geriatrics in the main did not play last year - so how did they contribute to "We have had a far higher hit rate playing older test players who have confirmed their candidacy by playing well at provincial level".
What provincial level is being talked about here?   The players from overseas play on Club level where no indication of playing well on a level of Super 15 is relevant.   On Super 15 franchise level - most have failed - so why say when you are older - your Super 15 performances shall count - when you are not - it does not count.    Some logic - that is.   Rugby Illiterate at his very best.         
06 Jun 2014, 16:14
06 Jun 2014, 16:14#12
Actually your anti Meyer colleagues Sapp and RooiAAS rated Watson big time....thought we should drop Schalk for the wee bulimic.  So once again you are wrong. A classic case of the S15 doesn't predict test rugby.  
06 Jun 2014, 16:39
06 Jun 2014, 16:39#13

Nonsense!!!! Keeping a bunch of outdated players in the team just cause your too afraid the younger talent doesn’t make it, isn’t a valid enough reason to go fetch additional pensioners.

Give me a break!!

Bakkies is past it. Whether you like it or not. He cannot compete against Willemse or any other younger, stronger lock in the country. De Jager will rip him a new one.

That I’m afraid is the law of nature. He’s only there cause he’s a Bull and a good friend of the coach. Merit had nothing to do with it.    

Guthro is another one who cannot compete with anyone any more … never mind the likes of Nyakane or Mellet of even Kitshoff … and saying he can, shows your complete desperation to hang on to the aged, to prove their worth, cause you yourself are an “aged”.

Listen Faggot, your feeble attempt to justify Meyer’s stupidity is foolhardy at best.

We both know what this is all about. Your trying to convince yourself that the old still have something to contribute.

It's rather laughable that you've chosen the tough physicality of rugby as your platform to argue from ... all in the attempt to make you feel a little better about yourself ... to fool yourself into thinking you are still of value to society.

I’m afraid, Faggot, that the clock keeps on ticking and while it does so your value to society disappears. Right now the only thing you should be thinking of is your next bowel movement.

Sorry to say but your innings has come and gone ... and so has that of the pensioners in the Bok team.

Accept it.

06 Jun 2014, 16:56
06 Jun 2014, 16:56#14
What a rude liitle fellow ou cc can be. Lift your game cc it's floundering badly!
06 Jun 2014, 17:09
06 Jun 2014, 17:09#15

Merely responding to the pompous arse and his desperate attempts.

Bringing him back from Never Never L and!!!

Save the lecture for someone who values your opinion, Beandip!!

06 Jun 2014, 17:11
06 Jun 2014, 17:11#16
 Ou StupidMike has still, after all these years, not grasped that club rugby in the NH is their first tier rugby below their national sides. The only thing vaguely close to provincial  sides are Ireland, Scotland and Wales.Their clubs are semi-professional clubs and the sides playing in the PRO12 are in a way similar to the SA Franchises. But don't let me stuff up a good argument with facts.
06 Jun 2014, 17:34
06 Jun 2014, 17:34#17
"You are" abbreviated, is written "you're", you moron...how many times do I have to teach you this. As for my day having gone, I think you are describing retirement....but at least I had a day, hey? 

But you are clearly still in the game Clean Gene....one whose day hasn't gone as it were. So tell us big mouth, what's your claim to fame. And don't take the deep dive again, like you did last time I wondered what gave you the right to judge. Fess up, don't run away with your tail between your legs.
06 Jun 2014, 17:46
06 Jun 2014, 17:46#18
I know the Top 14 and Aviva compettitons are the first level below test level - but that does not immediately elevate it to the first level below test level in the SH competitions - the Super 15.   There are too many teams involved in the two competitions to be of similar level - 12 in England and 14 in France.   In the whole of New Zealand. Australia and SA there are 15 teams involved and those are all highly competitive.  After all SH rugby is way ahead of NH rugby in any event.  
all the clubs with rare exception contract ex- international SH players to up their game level - but most are in fact rejects past their prime.
There second highest level of rugby is NOT comparable to Super 15 Dof Doos - whether you like it or not.

06 Jun 2014, 19:00
06 Jun 2014, 19:00#19
 Ag ou Stupid, have it your way but I suggest you either start watching the European competitions and try to get yourself educated because you are clearly fucking clueless and you have been found wanting, more often than not. The Top14 has 14 teams involved. You are so fucking ignorant and then you try to compare apples with pears to try and figure out how to make porridge. Decide what you want to compare first. Do you want to compare the HC with the S15 or do you want to compare the Premiership/Top14 with the S15? What are you trying to do.

Let's stay with the current HC. Yes, there were 24 teams competing in it, but it was the top teams from each country talking part. It was the teams from six countries, not three. The Top14/Aviva cannot really be compared to the S15 because they are pure domestic competitions. The big difference, though, is that it is the same players who are involved in the HC, that play in the domestic competitions. In the SH domestic competitions the top players are mostly not available for the domestic competitions. Not like the Vodacom Cup that is played between unions that are not involved in the S15 at all and certainly not like the CC where the Springboks are not involved. That is why you can never in your life, compare the Aviva/Top14 with the CC or the VC. I have no proof of it but I am quite certain that most of the Top14 or Aviva teams would wipe the floor with both the Vodacom Cup finalists and most if not all of the CC teams as well.
06 Jun 2014, 19:35
06 Jun 2014, 19:35#20
The top teams in the Top 14 and Aviva sereies play for the Heineken Cup - and I cannot see how you can write a page about something as stupid as you did above.  
I suppose you are talking of the Grade 1 CC competition when you say  
"Aviva teams would wipe the floor with both the Vodacom Cup finalists and most if not all of the CC teams as well".   They have no chance to beat any of the 8 major provincial unions and not a snowballs hope in hell of beating the Super 15 franchise teams. 
Remember the second grade NH national teams come from the same club teams strengthened by the over-aged rejects from SH teams that only Meyer is mad enough to consider for national selection.      

06 Jun 2014, 20:11
06 Jun 2014, 20:11#21
So Scummie has the penny finally dropped.....
06 Jun 2014, 20:53
06 Jun 2014, 20:53#22
 What penny - Mr Rugby Illiterate.   Fact is that most of the ex-Springboks and present ones are over the hill and went to Europe to play soft rugby there.  Meyer is stupid enough to keep considering them as good enough to play for the Springboks, because they have experience and reputation - performances count for nothing.
06 Jun 2014, 21:28
06 Jun 2014, 21:28#23

June 06, 2014, 17:35:40 Dof Doos
The top teams in the Top 14 and Aviva sereies play for the Heineken Cup - and I cannot see how you can write a page about something as stupid as you did above.  
I suppose you are talking of the Grade 1 CC competition when you say  
"Aviva teams would wipe the floor with both the Vodacom Cup finalists and most if not all of the CC teams as well".   They have no chance to beat any of the 8 major provincial unions and not a snowballs hope in hell of beating the Super 15 franchise teams. 
Remember the second grade NH national teams come from the same club teams strengthened by the over-aged rejects from SH teams that only Meyer is mad enough to consider for national selection.      

So tell me you turd, which Aviva and Top 14 teams play in the HC? Those at the bottom of the log? Did Saracens not beat the Sharks? There is no way in hell that our  CC teams, sans their Boks, are going to beat any of the Top 14 teams. You have clearly lost the plot. You do not even watch the games, you stupid doos. How would you know? There is lots of proof that you do not watch it.
OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
06 Jun 2014, 21:58
06 Jun 2014, 21:58#24
"Rejects" Mike? I haven't seen one SH player get signed overseas that was rejected by a Super 15 team except for disciplinary issues (O'Connor, that Crusaders wing - name escapes me). Many if not most of the SA players being signed are current Boks. 

07 Jun 2014, 03:55
07 Jun 2014, 03:55#25
The penny that had Solomons coaching the Boks scummie ....hahahahaha. 
07 Jun 2014, 07:44
07 Jun 2014, 07:44#26
 Mzart
Solomons is apparently "assisting" the clueless Meyer.  It is like the blind helping the blind in crossing a busy street.   I never said Solomons was the Bok coach - he was the assistant coach to Mallett.  
07 Jun 2014, 07:44
07 Jun 2014, 07:44#27
 Mzart
Solomons is apparently "assisting" the clueless Meyer.  It is like the blind helping the blind in crossing a busy street.   I never said Solomons was the Bok coach - he was the assistant coach to Mallett.  
07 Jun 2014, 07:56
07 Jun 2014, 07:56#28
The Sharks after months without any rugby whatsoever - sent a team to play a Saracens and that included some real rookies.  They played in a rainstorm - and then suddenly it becomes a norm in your book - what a laugh you absolute nut case.
You want to use the Aviva and Top 14 as a norm to select Springboks and that includes duds like Morne Steyn and Gurthro Steenkamp - who fail to make their teams starting line ups - and of course Bakkies, who played in two tests last year and was poor in the Scots test and nondescript in the French test.  Proog enough that they are not Springbok material at all.
With Meyer it is mostly a game for pals.   That is going to be his undoing.   
By the way - I laugh when reading your total misconception.   England has 12 tams in the Aviva competition and they would lose to any of the Top 14 teams.  There are idiots galore in the World - but you must surely be the pits.    That feeble knowledge of rugby is unimaginable - but that is the way the world is made up after all.  We have Dof Doos and the Rugby Illiterate Mozart to keep up the joke.  
07 Jun 2014, 13:25
07 Jun 2014, 13:25#29
 And the clown just keeps on coming back for more. Are you some kind of masochist?

"The Sharks after months without any rugby whatsoever - sent a team to play a Saracens and that included some real rookies."

And Saracens were at full strength? The Sharks did not have that many rookies in their line-up and Sarracens were without a host of their key players. No Mako Vinipola, Billy Vunipola, Allister Hargreaves, Chris Ashton, Alex Coode, Owen Farrel, Richard Wigglesworth, who were all left out. Players like Mouritz Botha, Neil de Kock, Charlie Hodgson, Richard Barrington, etc who normally comes on off the bench all started the game.

The line-ups can be found here: http://www.ultimaterugby.com/match/saracens-vs-sharks-at-allianz-park-25th-jan-2014/2642/lineup

In any case, the main point that Iam trying to make is not really the result but the fact that you have no proof whatsoever that the HC is weaker than the S15 or vice versa, since there has only ever been one such game to test it and the NH won, by the way. Fact is that one game is not enough to prove anything. It is only in your books that one game can do that.

"England has 12 tams in the Aviva competition and they would lose to any of the Top 14 teams."

Really? Some of the 2013/14 results from the recent European competitions. Both the HC and the Amlin Challenge Cup.
Saracens    46 - 6    ASM Clermont Auvergne
Gloucester Rugby    27 - 22    Perpignan
Scarlets    26 - 26    Racing Métro 92
Racing Métro 92    8 - 32    Harlequins
Leicester Tigers    41 - 32    Montpellier
Harlequins    17 - 3    Racing Métro 92
Montpellier    14 - 15    Leicester Tigers
Sale Sharks    33 - 10    Biarritz Olympique Pays Basque
London Wasps    26 - 10    Bayonne
Grenoble    7 - 47    London Wasps
Sale Sharks    53 - 14    Oyonnax
London Wasps    32 - 12    Grenoble
Bayonne    13 - 26    London Wasps

I have never once used the Aviva and the Top14 as a norm to select Spring boks. I said that you are wrong when you say that those players are playing in a competition that is on the same level or weaker than the Vodacom Cup.

Now piss off and go lick  your wounds................ again.

07 Jun 2014, 13:51
07 Jun 2014, 13:51#30
 windpomp dont talk so much rubbish you are embarassing yourself again.
Super Rugby is abetter comp than anything the NH offers. Its simple logic oak. The three top teams in the wolrd play in it.Hahahahahahahaha ou wiondpomp has no clue. Just accept from those wiser than you, like Mike, that the Super 15 is a stronger comp. That we should actually debating this is luidicrous. 
Sides like Toulon and Sarries might score the odd win . They would however be consistenly beaten by better Super 15 sides - no doubt about it. Just like NH sides get consistently beaten by SH sides. FACT
Thanks
07 Jun 2014, 14:25
07 Jun 2014, 14:25#31
 "Super Rugby is abetter comp than anything the NH offers. Its simple logic oak. The three top teams in the wolrd play in it."

You and ou StupidMike competing for the Donkey Hat? If it was that logical, the give us some form of evidence. You cannot argue that Super Rugby is the better competition because the top three countries are playing in it. You could only have used that argument if there were no foreigners in the NH competition and the NH teams consisted of NH players only. As I have said on numerous occasions, I have never said that  the one is better, bigger, stronger or whatever than the the other. Simply because there is no yardstick. I don't look at it through biased glasses like you guys. I think I am quite objective. I am a loyal South African, with English ties living in the UK and I cannot decide.

I have watched one of the games in the last  HC series, between Toulouse and Toulon, again last night and I can in all honesty not see that it is any better or worse than any of the best S15 games I have seen. There were some slick handling and defending skills with lots of forward drive and lots of running and interplay. Do yourself a favour and search for it. It  is on YouTube.
07 Jun 2014, 14:39
07 Jun 2014, 14:39#32
 Windpomp ya halfwit. Better players play in the Super 15. NH tries to import players to improve their quality but it still is not enough to level the comps. 
Just watching France getting slaugtered by Oz. Hahahahahaha its 49- 9 with kick to come afterr Oz score again.Windpomp you can look good against weak opposition. Tsonga looked great till whipped by Docks.
Best you move off this subject ou windpomp your cred is taking a knock!

07 Jun 2014, 15:10
07 Jun 2014, 15:10#33
 Uhhmm. You just cannot help but keep on knocking yourself back, can you? Your ill-informed opinions, does not make it fact. How many games of any NH competions have you watched over the last year? And I mean full games. Not highlights or a few minutes here and there.

As far as the Aus test is concerned, you just have to look at the line-ups to understand that France did not stand a chance. Does this test prove that Aus is way ahead of France? I don't know. Remember what happened the last time that Aus played France in France?

I was going to ask you to name  the regular French players who were not in the side that played today, but you would not know which are the top players and which are the second stringers.
07 Jun 2014, 16:03
07 Jun 2014, 16:03#34
Hmmm now lets see. OZ ranked 3 in the world and France ranked 7. Yes windpomp I  would say Oz is ahead of France. In fact it may surprise but as NZ and and Oz are ranked 1, 2 and 3 in the world we are ALL ahead of ALL the NH hemisphere teams and have been for yonks. One is not just basing this statement on a seasons rugby. It is the established world pecking order. The NH need to turn it around and they have not done so for years. In the last ten years very few occassions have seen a NH team in the top three and never at the top and hardly ever at second  - was England at second?windpomp SH rugby is better. End of story.
All you need to do windpomp is look at the IRB rankings and make the logical conclusions. And therein lies the rub! 
Getting a glimmer windpomp?

07 Jun 2014, 20:16
07 Jun 2014, 20:16#35
 Tsk tsk tsk. Poor Beeno. Battling to juggle around your arguments, are you? You do not get it, do  you? Let me try and explain again. You were the one who started of saying that the S15 is the "better" competition, purely based on the fact that it is played between the three top ranked countries. That in it self is that kakkest evidence that you could have used because the players in the NH competitions are not exclusively from the countries that take part in it. They are a mix of players from all over. As I have said, unlike you two clowns I am not saying that the NH competitions are better/stronger than the SH competitions. I believe that there is no way that you can judge that and it has never been done. It is like saying that boxer A is better than boxer B but they have  never been in the ring together. Unless you have get them to have a go at each other, there is no way to tell.
07 Jun 2014, 20:18
07 Jun 2014, 20:18#36

June 07, 2014, 05:44:48  Mzart

Hei Dom Drol. I have found it interesting to see the guy "assisting" Meyer in the box next to Mallet.......
07 Jun 2014, 20:44
07 Jun 2014, 20:44#37
Oom you incredibly, belligerently thick fool, Solomon's was helping Mallett. Not Solomons. Has the penny finally dropped?