FORUM / RUGBY /  Wee matfield please stay retired

Wee matfield please stay retired

Started by Beeno118 REPLIES488 VIEWS· 01 Nov 2013, 22:23
01 Nov 2013, 22:23
01 Nov 2013, 22:23#1

You managed to con your way through a decade of rugby and you were the worst lock ever. At 106 kg and a string bean you were a non entity as a tight forward and you are the very last guy I would like to see return. PLEASE STAY RETIRED FOR THE SAKE OF BOTH THE BULLE AND THE BOKS.

The heading in Keo is Big Vic back for the bulls. Man wee vic is the same weight are Marcell Coetzee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This dope is as nutty as snapster.

We cant afford to play a tight 4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Even Juandre Kruger is more physical than matfield!.

The followinga article is typical off the boneheads who support matfield (The twit even thinks Spies must be looked after - Bwahhahahahahahaha hilarious stuff -pure comedy ):

Victor Matfield will play for the Bulls Super Rugby franchise in 2014. And he is available for Springbok selection.(A NIGHTMARE!)

Matfield retired from rugby at the end of 2011, and had a short stint with SuperSport before joining the Bulls as forwards and attack coach.(Due to his perceived backline expertise!!!)

Matfield and flyhalf Derick Hougaard (who has recovered from an Achilles injury that plagued him at Saracens) have been training hard in Pretoria as they attempt to return to the field.

Here’s the feature I wrote for the last issue of Business Day Sport Monthly, in which I said Matfield was still good enough to play for the Bulls and the Boks for the next 18 months if he still had the desire.(HE NEVER W REMOTELY GOOD ENOUGH!)

Operation Matfield

Get Victor Matfield on a pre-season conditioning programme and get him into Super Rugby in the 2014 season. Let’s see if Matfield still has the appetite for hard knocks and if he still has the desire to put his body and mind through 18 more months of rugby at the highest level.(NO lock ever avoided the physical stuff like matfield)

This is not the rant of a lunatic who has lost it (YES IT IS AND YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO LUNATICS!). It is also not a refusal to let go. It isn’t an April Fool’s joke and Danie Craven isn’t the next one on my list of Springbok legends I’d want to see in the Boks in 2014 and a part of the 2015 World Cup campaign.

Matfield retired a year or three too early from the international game (RUBBISH HE SHOULD NEVER HAVE PLAYED INTERNATIOANL RUGBY), just like Fourie du Preez did. Both did so because they were fatigued and emotionally drained. Du Preez’s overseas experience playing in Japan has rejuvenated his career and Matfield has kept involved through a coaching role at the Bulls.

Matfield is still young enough and good enough to play for 18 months. The only issue is whether he would want to.(THE ONLY ISSUE IS HE IS USELESS)

Springbok World Cup-winning coach Jake White brought back 1995 World Cup-winning prop Os du Randt in 2004 after the big man had been in retirement for three years. White identified a weakness in his front row. He had leadership concerns, based more on inexperience than ability. He found the solution by thinking differently about the situation.

White invested in Du Randt, in his pack, and another veteran, Percy Montgomery, among the backs. Montgomery had played 50 Tests and left for Wales to play for Newport. Out of sight and out of mind, said many South African rugby supporters. Good riddance said many more.

Du Randt’s initial recall wasn’t lauded. It was mocked. He was close to 140kg and by all accounts his knees couldn’t carry the weight of his body. White had a plan.

He also had a plan with Montgomery, and the Bok coach invested in this plan. He managed both players in different ways. Du Randt was on a special training programme. He wasn’t flogged in the week and he wasn’t told to prove he could make it through four training sessions in the week.

White needed both to deliver in the big moments in the big Tests. And both did, on the greatest stage, on that wonderful October night in Paris in 2007. Du Randt and Montgomery were the glue of the Boks’ 2007 World Cup challenge.

Meyer has a similar belief in Du Preez. And I know he is desperate to convince Matfield he still has a role to play.

The Springboks, in many aspects, made advances in this season’s Rugby Championship, but they lacked the pedigree in the pack when it came to decision-making and playing the big points the way big boys play them.

The No 5 lock position is a weakness for the Boks. Flip van der Merwe is not a natural No 5 lock. His physicality and bulk is more the making of a quality No 4.

Few squads can boast the options at No 4 lock available to Meyer. Eben Etzebeth has established himself as the first choice in the Boks and among the form No 4 locks in the game. Van der Merwe is a good alternative and veteran Bakkies Botha, playing for Toulon in the Top 14, has been as good as he has been at any stage of his career. Sharks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit is talented but still unproven in the Test arena.

The options at No 5 are limited. Juandre Kruger simply isn’t good enough. There is a reason he played second fiddle to Matfield for the best part of five years. He doesn’t have the presence of Matfield and he doesn’t command the opposition respect. He also lacks influence in the big games and has never dominated in those big moments.

I am not saying Matfield will be the answer. I am saying explore whether he still has the appetite to potentially be a solution.

Meyer has to assemble a squad of 32 players good enough to start a Test match if the Boks are to reclaim the World Cup in 2015. He also has to invest in a squad of quality and not just a starting XV of quality if the Boks are to win consistently and not lose eight out of nine Tests to the All Blacks, who have consistently been the world’s best team.

South African administrators, selectors, coaches, rugby media and rugby public have always had no issue with retiring good international players too early. There is an obsession with youth and there is an unhealthy obsession with wanting to change for the sake of change after a World Cup cycle.

The great Test teams are usually a mixture of hardened veterans and special youngsters. The great Test teams also usually have the best players in the world in crucial decision-making positions.

Du Preez gives the Boks that X factor at scrumhalf, Jean de Villiers does it at inside centre and Bismarck du Plessis has the capacity to do it at hooker. But at lock there isn’t that Commander in Chief yet. Etzebeth, the young gun, needs the old hand working the partnership. He needs someone calling the lineouts and he needs someone making the decisions, which will free him up to play his natural game and learn from the best lineout decision-maker in the game. That man was and is Matfield.

Meyer has to be bold and Matfield has to be brave. Neither should die wondering what could have been.

Brad Thorn was monumental for the All Blacks at the 2011 World Cup. Many considered him a year too old at 36 in 2011, but in the biggest game of his life and in New Zealand rugby’s biggest game the big man fronted big time on an emotional level as much as physically in the All Blacks’ World Cup final win against France.

The need to balance experience with youth at Test level cannot be overstated. Test rugby is not Super Rugby and Currie Cup rugby and Top 14 and European Cup rugby. It is an environment that requires men who have been to some dark rugby places and not just enthusiastic kids who have only known the sport’s sunshine.

Matfield will only know if he still wants it if he plays in 2014, and the approach has to be one that looks after the legendary lock and doesn’t look to embarrass him.

If Matfield has the desire, he will still be good enough. Class is permanent. It would be in how any comeback is managed at Super Rugby. He doesn’t have to prove anything.

The Bulls could play him as a coach/player. He could be earmarked to play 40 or 50% of the games to gauge his appetite and influence. He could be reintegrated through short bursts and cameo performances. It can be done.

If there’s enough in those performances, it at least gives Meyer the chance to invest in the legend of Matfield as a short-term World Cup solution.

If it doesn’t work out in Super Rugby and the player’s body and mind don’t stand up to the scrutiny, Meyer will at least know that Matfield is a name that belongs to past heroics. If it isn’t tried, we will never know.

The reality also is that the Springboks have moved ahead of the chasing pack to be the world’s No 2 side, but they are not yet good enough to be spoken of as the world’s best team.

There have been advancements in Meyer’s second season. The squad is more settled, the selections have been consistent and an attacking element has been added.

Willie le Roux and Jan Serfontein have been good selections. Both players have the attacking X factor. JJ Engelbrecht, at No 13, is doing more of a holding job until Jaque Fourie returns from a three-year rugby spell in Japan and flyhalf Morne Steyn, for all his solidity, would make way for a fit and functional Johan Goosen.

Springbok veterans Schalk Burger and Pierre Spies would add value to the depth of any national squad and the thinking in relation to players of their ability has to extend beyond who is starting as the Bok loose trio.

The highest attrition rate is among loose forwards. Duane Vermeulen, Willem Alberts and Francois Louw have been effective and very good as a starting loose trio. Siya Kolisi and Marcell Coetzee are quality players but the more the merrier when it comes to loose-forward depth.

Burger and Spies must be looked after. They remain an investment, if not as starting options then definitely within the framework of a national squad.

I have long argued that the Boks would be a better match squad with Etzebeth and Botha among the 23 names.

Lions lock Franco van der Merwe is not Bakkies Botha. But it was Van der Merwe to whom Meyer felt he had to go in the Rugby Championship decider against the All Blacks at Ellis Park.

Meyer, in his two seasons, has shown an appreciation for the requirements of Test rugby. He has learned fast but he, like his players, made crucial mistakes in the 38-27 defeat against the All Blacks. Meyer’s tactical substitutions were not good enough and his All Blacks counterpart Steve Hansen had the edge in game plan.

The All Blacks are the undisputed champions of world rugby. They’ve won at altitude in their last three visits and each time they have come from behind to win emphatically.

For the Boks to challenge their dominance at a neutral venue, which is where the World Cup will be played in 2015, is going to require assessing the Matfield situation, taking a closer look at Botha, hoping Goosen’s body holds up and in making the call that Bismarck du Plessis is the starting hooker.

01 Nov 2013, 22:41
01 Nov 2013, 22:41#2
Beeno: this article is really well grounded, for example:
 "The All Blacks are the undisputed champions of world rugby." 
As the author shows he has such a good grasp of reality on this point who are we to question his other points (this is a rhetorical question, no need to answer - I did not include a question mark) 
02 Nov 2013, 00:41
02 Nov 2013, 00:41#3

Beeno

This article was already debated on and the clueless Mozart attacked me as if I was committing a mortal sin by commenting negatively on Mattfield - the greatest lock ever.   When I repented - I do not like committing  such sins - he came up with a story about how I sucked the story out of my thumb and was lying about it.   Glad you posted the garbage report - so that he can see what really happened.  

With all the OLD FARTS coming out off retirement and or latest selections by Meyer - avidly supported by Mozart - I have now drawn up the following team to represent South Africa - giving  their ages ay the time of the 2015 WC as well:-

15   Kirchner    -  31

14  Pietersen   -   28

13  Fourie       -   32

12  De Villiers  -   33

11  Habana      -  33

10  Steyn         -  31

9  Du Preez    -  33

8  Alberts       -  31

7  Smith        -  34

6  Burger       -  34

5  Mattfield    -   38

4  Botha        -   36

3  Du Plessis  -   31

2  Du Plessis  -   30

1  Mtawarre   -   29

Mozart actually suggested that Steenkamp should replace Mtawarire - since the latter is an apprentice - not being 30 as yet - but I think he really intended  it as a joke.   He did not comment on the rest of the team - so one has to accept it is his dream team.

What do you think of that concoction as our WC  team for 2015? 

hakwaPro4,146 posts
02 Nov 2013, 01:35
02 Nov 2013, 01:35#4
 can't stop laughing - especially after all the criticism leveled at the ABs for susposedly having geriatric players. Seems the Boks want to better the ABs at EVERYTHING.
PO
polyboyClub Pro601 posts
02 Nov 2013, 02:50
02 Nov 2013, 02:50#5
 Topic title fixed.
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
02 Nov 2013, 05:04
02 Nov 2013, 05:04#6
 Fairy Heatie or Uncle Dobbin might be available ,Myer should look into that cos I hear they were pretty good players !
02 Nov 2013, 07:04
02 Nov 2013, 07:04#7

Wardad

Thanks for a good laugh.   Relax - the likelihood that more than 3 or 4 of the above 15 player and ex-players will be in the Springbok squad is so remote - it is light years away unless Meyer wants to commit hara-kiri and I do not think that is likely to happen. .   The only likely candidates to survive are Pietersen, Habana, De Villiers and Bismarck.   Pietersen will be under 30 and so will Mtawarire be, while Bismarck will be 30 and Strauss  - another potential player - will be 27.

So still enough nightmares are in the offing for the wee AB's as Beeno always calls them.  

02 Nov 2013, 12:12
02 Nov 2013, 12:12#8
 Why Derick Hougaard?? He was never that good..Lets rather see how Honiball is holding up...Brendan Venter was part of the 95 WC winning team..Why is he coaching?? Lets gooi him back in the mix too...Surely Os can make another comeback...He just needs 3 years rest inbetween...Naka Drotske is a must at 2 for the Cheetahs in next years super rugby edition..Strauss on the bench..Kobus Wiese needs to put the mic down, kit up and show Etzebeth what an enforcer is!
Its a fucken joke man..Do players ever really retire anymore?? The good ones get this emotional send off and think we pining for them to stay..Matfield..You are done..In many ways, a guy like PSDT has opened our eyes to what a 5 lock should be in the modern game! Hougaard, you were always out of your depth! You deserve no more comment. Useless! Spies, all muscles no clout..Fooled us all for a long time! Flat track bully he was that will put 3 tries on Namibia but hide against the AB's! Schalk, you have been great but I think its a case of younger guys just coming through that are fresher and faster. I was hoping he would make it back but its not looking great for him based on what I have seen.Who wants to watch a bunch of hasbeens running around a park making rugby softer..Kiwi's will love this as we know they hate the hard stuff.
02 Nov 2013, 12:26
02 Nov 2013, 12:26#9
Now, now Bok fans, keep cool there is wisdom in Meyer's approach. 
The greats never retire, look at the Stones they are still going strong.
No, I say bring all the Bok geriatrics back. You will automatically be supporting local industry (wheel chair production, walking sticks & tons of tape). 
It's a win all round. I say go for it
02 Nov 2013, 13:58
02 Nov 2013, 13:58#10
 Neither Meyer, nor Matfield has said  anything about Matfield playing international rugby again. All of you are talking kak. Boredom?
02 Nov 2013, 16:03
02 Nov 2013, 16:03#11

The most boring thing here is to read your bullshit on this site.   So I skip half of it - because it is not worth reading.  Your raving views of Morne, Bakkies and the strength of NH club rugby  is enough to tell everybody what a sh!t thinker you really are - comprehende?    

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
02 Nov 2013, 16:08
02 Nov 2013, 16:08#12
 Pretty weird to make a comeback. He hasn't played rugby since 2011! This is going to be a real challenge for him, but the Bulls in particular could benefit from this. They based so much of their game around his set piece dominance and pre-game preparation. But I think it's a pretty big gamble.
02 Nov 2013, 16:35
02 Nov 2013, 16:35#13
 windpomp if you are able read the article. The writer is suggesting this hopeless player could play for the Boks again. That is a nightmare thought. Never again do we wont a show pony like that at lock.Bulle would be mad to get him playing again.

Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
03 Nov 2013, 22:27
03 Nov 2013, 22:27#14

It will be absolutely mad to bring him back into the Springbok fold at any cost.

Leave him in the commentary box at best.  

03 Nov 2013, 22:41
03 Nov 2013, 22:41#15

November 02, 2013, 14:03:19

The most boring thing here is to read your bullshit on this site.   So I skip half of it - because it is not worth reading.  Your raving views of Morne, Bakkies and the strength of NH club rugby  is enough to tell everybody what a sh!t thinker you really are - comprehende?    

Most of that is facts to straighten the lying bullshit that you have been publishing. For example, h ave you discovered which game it was that Bakkies got carded for dirty play, yet?
04 Nov 2013, 01:24
04 Nov 2013, 01:24#16

I hell - I wrote something negative about a Blue Bulls player or ex-Blue Bulkls player and the shouting and screaming on your part is endless.   The Meyers's selection of some of the weakest farts in rugby because he coached them years ago - is really the biggest rubbish imaginable.   So try again - I saw Bakkies carded - but I think it was perhaps in a Heineken Cup game earlier this year.  Once a dirty player - always a dirty player.

So bugger off and don't bore us with the tripe writings about Blue Bulls players of no merit - inclusive of the extra-poor Morne Steyn.       

04 Nov 2013, 01:49
04 Nov 2013, 01:49#17
 Nope. You lied about it. Short and sweet. I have listed you all the games that he has played in this year. Each and every single one of them. Heineken and Top14. He has not received a single card. Go check for yourself. It is easy enough. I have listed the games for you. You just need to check up and decide which one  it was. Easy as that. The only Toulon lock who was carded was Ali Williams, in his debut game for Toulon against Bayone in September. Stop talking kak.
04 Nov 2013, 04:01
04 Nov 2013, 04:01#18

This season doos - there is a difference you know.  

04 Nov 2013, 21:41
04 Nov 2013, 21:41#19
me thinks matfields return is more Bok related then it is bulls related.

there were strong rumours about his return to the Boks last year, til it was revealed that under IRB retired players laws, matfield was not eligible to play for the Boks.

so while the article says nothing about his return to the Boks, with the RWC around the corner, and meyers love for the players of christmas past, its not dumb to say viktor wants a crack at the green jersey, i mean one half of the blood brothers already got picked for the EOYT squad, the thick as brick half i might add.

Boks dont need bakkies one little bit, lady elizabeth and stephanie duh twit are some strong classy players and have got the Boks second row well and truly covered, lady elizabeth especially being one of the top 3 locks in the world at the moment.

better that meyer looks for some back up on the bench, like that jacques fella who played for the u20 boks team, cant remember his last name.