Fleckie give me a call oak!
Eben at 7
Fleckie give me a call oak!
Why switch Etzebeth to 7 and what do you want to do with Du Toit? The latter has a much higher work rate and pace than Etzebeth. The need remains proper wings - not the microlights.
I see Mozart is onto his standard campaign - he is demonizing Viljoen to bring back another micrrolight - the toothless De Jong. The latter is terrible in defense and has no punch as well as no off-loads and poor passing.
The Stormers has lost the game plan because of injury to De Allende and Dan du Plessis. I am not sure what Du Preez is up to - under pressure he seems to lose it.
Pfffffffffffffffhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
This board is a hoot!
Eben Etzebeth might be faster than some things but Pieter-Steph du Toit is not one of them.
Things that the lumbering donkey Etzebeth might be faster than:
A three-legged tortoiseMoffie's zimmer-framePieter-Steph du Toit's granny wearing ankle weights
A geriatric garden snailAn Eskom call centre agent
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahaha!
This gets better!
Gassed? As in farted . . . or are you actually saying that the slow and ponderous Eben Etzebeth runs faster than Ben Smith?
Yeah right! Ben Smith would give Eben Etzebeth 20m start and still beat him if he was swimming and Eben was running.
Can you prove that statement of Etzebeth being much faster than Du Toit? I doubt that one very much and there is no way it is possible. If Etzebeth is so speedy how come he has a relative low work rate in virtually all games played?
Prejudice playing havoc again?
I reckon if Moffie has another glass of wine he'll be telling us that Eben Etzebeth beat Usain Bolt before deciding to take up rugby rather than athletics.
mozart
October 11, 2013, 14:48:00
Is there any more valuable forward in the game today? Well maybe Read in his current form. But in going slowly through Ellis Park for the mozcroscope, I kept on coming across Etzebeth. Massive in every sense of the word.
Here's one for Etzebeth fans.....check out minute 48 carefully....he actually gasses Ben Smith up the left hand touchline. In the immortal words of Humphrey, I kid you not. Geez if you take that into account and recall that Steyn monstered Retallik, I'm not sure how we lost to these feeble ABs
Edit postCloudy
October 11, 2013, 14:58:59
Yeah but then he coughed it up to Wood[removed]...lol he's good though ..always in my fantasy team
- 0 Likes nukefreekiwi
October 11, 2013, 15:35:08
Yeah. I don't share the Saffa love affair with their revered "enforcer". Lady Elizabeth is a half decent player but I wouldn't get too excited. Last year you Okes were getting all "hard" over Goosen and Franna. The year before that it was Hougard and Lambie. The year before that it was DuPreez and Brussouw. It's unfortunate but a solid case could be made arguing an inverse correlation between the voracity of fanboy support for a Bokke player and their subsequent decline (whether through injury, loss of form or loss of favour). So much unrealised potential in the Republic OR they were never as good as the hype would have us believe. I'm not yet suggesting that Liz isn't a great player or that he is losing form but his progress appears stifled and has shown signs of plateauing. Besides, I'm yet to see all these gushing plaudits actually amount to any significant silverware accumulation in recent years.
Just_win
October 11, 2013, 16:40:43
I always pick him for Fantasy Rugby (and also Whitelock) but what I remember of the stats Whitelock did well by comparison in the last test and overall I rate Whitelock more highly.
That long run Etzebeth had was fantastic and he showed real spead. He is young and I believe he needs to have a lock that can compliment what he has to offer. Early days yet.
October 11, 2013, 17:39:57
Just-win
I also pick both Etzebeth and Sam Whitelock for my fantasy teams, but like in the last test where Etzebeth got 25 points and Whitelock 17 - he has constantly outscored Whitelock in the points system in virtually every test and he ended up ranked higher than Whitelock - who came in fourth with Etzebeth coming first. In essence that means that he constantly performed better than Whitelock in the series.
Althoough I rate Whitelock highly as a lock - he is by some distance the best lock in New Zealand - I am afraid that he is not on par with Etzebeth - who at this very early stage in his career - he still is only 21 years of age - must be rated as the best lock in the world rugby by some distance.
"What part?"
Duh-huh!
Uh-oh . . . and there go the margins! You can almost feel the rage!
The fact Is Eben is exceptionally mobile and very physical. If one were looking for a big mobile 7 he could do a job for the Stormers and maybe the Boks. Imagine him flattening wee Ben Smith or beau bar rat or colliding with wee bent Read - a nightmare for the kbbs.
That should always be taken into account. He is not dealing with facts - only fiction - when it comes to some players and Du Toit is just one of his long list of dislikes. Just take note that once he gave a player his own peculiar nickname do not take his opin ions on players seriously.
Well ... this doesn't surprise me at all.
According to beandip, Fleckie's the man for the job ... and leaking 7 trys as an average against all comers isn't an issue ... so his latest absurdity of selecting our specialist lock out of position is generally what's to be expected fromt this dim-witted dweeb.
Etzebeth is our new found wizard at 7, huh? Who would have thought so ... and Mozart is in support?
LOL!!!!!!!!!
Usually it takes a desperate situation to select a specialist out of position ... say like when a team is a man down due to a red card ... but these poor dears want to do so without reason.
Oh well ... maybe both suffered a severe injury to the head as youngsters. How else would you explain this?
A few glasses too many has been known to cause hallucinations.
I would love to see the film footage of our speedy Eben cleaning up the plodding Smith .
But then we have the case here of people saying that the player who was constantly moonlighting in the backline was a top lock - so what else can one expect.
And we also have a case where the loosie combination is merely an extension of the Tight 5 and you can play props as loosies - like happened in the case of Fat Willem - the worst insult to loosies who ever wore the Springbok jersey. We also have the case of Louw who has been used for years as an opensider - while at a stretch he could perhaps be used as a blindsider - as a result Louw whent AWOL for lengthy periods during matches.
Until the issue of usage and capabilities required from loosies are realized we will have this kind of issues raised on this site.
Etzebeth is not a flanker, never will be,.... and is too late to change kolbe to the scrummie position,.... scrummie is the most specific position in rugby,.... you need to play there since young to learn the game,...
A f air question - was Willem Alberts agile enough?
Fair enough, Mozart.
Yet you fancied the plodding Alberts at 6. What gives with that?
Where you a little confused at the time?
Another mix up I believe. Have a physically deficient lock and use a physical loosie to off-set the deficiency - so was Matfield a stand in loosie or merely moonlighting in the backline?
Being it as it may - neither Alberts or Matfield was any good in ball protection and recovery because Matfield was physically too weak and Alberts to paceless to get to breakdown points.
Matfield when younger was a good enough lock despite his physical deficiency. The back up was Bakkies - another lock, If a loosie has to stand in it means there is never a full team on the field of play with a half-baked lock and a half-baked loosie it effectively reduced the team by one player.
- RugbyScotland dominate the stats48 REPLIES · 193 VIEWS
- RugbySpringboks vs Scotland - Monday retrospective26 REPLIES · 154 VIEWS
- RugbyUnder 20 Springbok team to play the Under 20 England team i the RWC semi on Mondat14 REPLIES · 107 VIEWS
- RugbyMonday Morning Team12 REPLIES · 91 VIEWS
- NewsIreland Test Reveals All Blacks' World Cup Fixes1 REPLIES
- NewsReferee Decisions Overpower Player Impact in Rugby1 REPLIES