FORUM / RUGBY /  What has Meyer achieved running back to the rugby geriatrics?

What has Meyer achieved running back to the rugby geriatrics?

Started by clevermike33 REPLIES547 VIEWS· 13 Jan 2014, 21:47
13 Jan 2014, 21:47
13 Jan 2014, 21:47#1

When Meyer was appointed as coach he tried desperately to get back players he was familiar with - in other words players attached to the Bulls set up at one stage or another to be in the Springboks team.

He first approached Matfiekd to take on the captaincy and when that one was unsuccessful - he opted for Fourie du Preez.  Fourie was injured at the time and unfit and he declined as well.

He then fell back on the Bulls team to provide the key players.   During his first year as a coach 14 Bulls players were at one stage or another in the Springbok squad.  He was apparently not getting the results he wanted - and when given playing time was very disappointing. 

Since the present Bulls players were not showing up well - he then decided that the players he used to coach at the Bulls should provide the answer.  He then started his move back to the future.    Lets look at his key selections who were given playing time since then:-

Gurthro Steenkamp 

Steenkamp was the first selection od a vet dubious nature.   Anyone who studied Steenkamp's form in Toulouse would have noted that he  was not their first choice loosehead prop - he was played off the bench.   He was when called up to the 3023 EOYT squad fat and unfit.  

In the Scotland match at the end of 2012 Steenkamp lasted 15 minutes and the scrumming thereafter turned into a nightmare.   There was nothing better in the test against England - but he did last slightly  longer and  only became totally ineffective at minute 25.  

Having produced nothing of substance in 2012 - Steenkamp became an institution in the Meyer squads.  His biggest achievement has been collapsed scrums and consequential penalties.

Fourie Du Preez

Meyer always wanted Fourie du Preeez  and eventually got him back in the Springbok team.  He came off the bench in the one-sided Soweto test against Argentina and showed up very well when he came off the bench - all players looked like champions in that game.  Then he came back for the local RC games against the Wallabies and the AB's.

Careful analysis of those two games showed very average performances - what was clear was that Du Preez was not the player he used to be,  

Jacque Fourie

Meyer's next venture into the past was Fouire.  He played in all 3 EOYT tests and showed good defence and zero on attack.

Bakkies Botha

Despite the hype Botha was nediocre in the Scotland test and slightly better in the French test.

Victor Matfield

Latest news is that Matfield is on the way back.   Matfield is remembered as a good line out jumper who for the rest honeymooned in the backline frustrating many promising backline moves.

SUMMARY

None of the above players were on their return to Springbok rugby noticeable success

stories -they were dead average at best,   They did no better than other players would have done under similar circumstances. 

Is Meyer basically insecure and unsure of himself and not prepared to develop players with a realistic future in rugby?'

What I am bloody sure is - with that collection of players - who let us down in 2010 onwards p there is no way we can make any progress in getting into a situation where we can compete with the AB's.   Matter of fact we can only go backwards. 

NU
nukefreekiwiClub Pro441 posts
13 Jan 2014, 23:14
13 Jan 2014, 23:14#2
 Oh dear. Meyers bewildering campaign to win the 2015 RWC with the 2007 RWC squad is well under way. Whats surprising is the near universal support Meyer has. There is little opposition amongst the true die hard fanboys. Your concerns are well founded Mikey. I suspect that the true cost of Meyers folly wont be revealed until the quarter finals at the 2015 RWC when he is forced to substitute his preferred OAPs (old age pensioners) with raw, overwhelmed, underutilized, unprepared, inexperienced youngsters. 

>Watch this space<
13 Jan 2014, 23:28
13 Jan 2014, 23:28#3
I'm not following you....why exactly is the QF the tipping point when hordes of raw youngsters enter the fray? 
FO
ForeverArizonaClub Pro580 posts
13 Jan 2014, 23:37
13 Jan 2014, 23:37#4

#Mike

Some how I get the idea that you are not a Bulls fan.I dont know who you support and to be honest it doesnt really matter.I live abroad and in the begining I was an adamant Sharks and Sharks only fan.The Sharks were the solution to everything and the blame as well.But then I started to look at thing differently.I realised that I no longer was just another Sharks fan but a South-African fan.It was then that I started to support South-Africa...meaning any team that played against a Nzl or Aus team.Cause at the international stage no one cared if I was just a Sharks fan but it mattered if I was Saffa...LOL Ironic.So,Seeing the Bulls win three titles was something special.HM really achiefed a lot with a buch of rag tag nobody players that became stalwarts in the national team.At their prime there really wasnt a lock combenation better then that of Matfield and Botha and Fourie was sharper then ceramic china knife at number nine.Habana scored tries like it was out of fassion and well the rest developped pretty well.

Looking at the other teams in South Africa,comparring the results and then for HM to be selected as national coach it only made sense for him to select those players or try to lure them back.Cause he had a long standing relationship with them.I think for HM it was a big step up to the international platform.He was new at the job and wanted to play it safe and still wants to play it safe...there is the selection of Morne and the unselection of Lappies.

Personally I really hope that these players do not enter in to our views for long.Matfield will struggle to compete.Just look at Ali Williams and Simon Shaw who tried at the age of 38 to compete at the top level.Also he will loose player respect in the likes of Flip and Eben who I think has been out standing so far.IT would be a slap in the face for them.

I guess what I am trying to say is that,if you are a Cheetahs fan...Become a "we are one country "fan and support your team regardless of the coach.With Peter de Villiers we had to cringe our teeth for some of the things he did.Like having Bismarck on the bench and taking Smit to the world cup but De Villiers knew that he had the team if he had Smit...Ironic isnt it.

I dont think we will se manny old faces back.The press will crucify him and then the board.Team spirit will lack and the results will drop.I honestly think that we will see much of the same with the guys we saw last year.Maybe if Pierre is fit we will see him back in the mix but nothing more.If anything I think  a lot of other younger players will be putting up their hands in the up comming Supper rugby serries.

FO
ForeverArizonaClub Pro580 posts
13 Jan 2014, 23:46
13 Jan 2014, 23:46#5

#Pukedupkiwi

What youngsters are you reffering to?

Etzebeth...Who by that time would have played nearly 50 test matches...

Lambie...the same nearly 50...

Louw...Alberts...Who?

Stick to stamp collecting my bru form another mother.

NU
14 Jan 2014, 00:10
14 Jan 2014, 00:10#6
 Let me paint you a picture Moz. Try and keep up old fella.
 Meyers 2014 season goes reasonably well in spite of his continued poisoning of the Bokke with ever increasing numbers of geriatric players. This success justifies his perseverance with the OAPs whilst genuinely talented players are routinely overlooked and rarely, if ever,  exposed to the pace and pressure of Test rugby. RWC pool games are routine affairs and the geriatrics manage to top their pool relatively unscathed. Come quarter finals, the geriatrics begin to fall prey en masse to the myriad of age (is that better now you old codger?) related injuries requiring the insertion of GREEN substitutes. Players that have been largely shielded from the rigors of Test rugby, apart from the occasional cameo performance, are now expected to salvage SAs RWC aspirations but sadly succumb to their better condition ed opponents. This is how I envisage Meyers master plan will completely unravel and the nations imprudence is famously exposed for all and sundry. 

>watch this space<

14 Jan 2014, 00:22
14 Jan 2014, 00:22#7

Interesting. You recognize the pool games shouldn't be a challenge, and easy wins will be recorded. So come the QF, why would HM not choose his oldies but goodies? Age related and form related injuries you say. I'm not sure......bwahahaha....what a form related injury is. I might posit it's an injury that impacts form, but why would it be bracketed with age related injuries? It's either gibberish or a severe language malfunction.

Still setting that aside a series of easy pool games, with many B team guys playing against the minnows scar cely sets up the QF for a total collapse. Nope HM will play all his golden oldies in the QF, they will be quite fresh and should win.

NU
14 Jan 2014, 00:35
14 Jan 2014, 00:35#8
OK Moz. If I am wrong I just made a bad prediction. If Im right, the Boks will be the laughing stock of the RWC. You cant be seriously happy with Meyers OAP recruitment drive. 
14 Jan 2014, 00:41
14 Jan 2014, 00:41#9

Actually I posted something to that effect a week or so ago. The issue is primarily in the backline....where du Preez, Morne, Jean, Fury, Habana and Peterson  could all lose form before the RWC. So there is a significant chance of having to turn over much of the backline before that.

It's a difficult choice though, because the youngsters with the exception of Willy haven't really pressed the incumbents. The right way to solve this problem is for the youngsters to make a better case.

NU
14 Jan 2014, 01:16
14 Jan 2014, 01:16#10
So there is a significant chance of having to turn over much of the backline before that.

Thats the gist of my argument there. Time is running out for Meyer to prepare an alternative backline should his first stringers fail to fire. Im not sure what the 2015 Test itinerary is but I suspect 2014 will be his last opportunity to safely experiment with different combinations. Super rugby is a great indicator of a players form but there is no way to know how that form will translate in the Test arena until those players have been exposed to it.
It's a difficult choice though, because the youngsters with the exception of Willy haven't really pressed the incumbents. 
You're probably right about this Moz but Meyer has recruited and capped players based on their history rather than their current form.   Granted, the Dupreez gamble paid off but that could have easily gone awry for Meyer. I havent really followed Fouries progress in Japan but surely there must be more promising prospects whose form is on par with or better than Jaque. Botha's selection only makes sense if it is as more of a mentor role rather than a serious contender for a starting berth in the SB XV.
It  seems to me that young aspiring SB players are held to a different standard than Meyers "chosen" ones.
14 Jan 2014, 01:47
14 Jan 2014, 01:47#11
I agree with the principle. We need two centers and two wings. But I'm having a hard time identifying a young Hanana, Jean, Fury or JP. They seem to be so much less accomplished, with a lot less " ball sense". Fury looked off the pace....but can we imagine JJ, Serfontein, Mvovo, de Allende, Jordaan  or any other youngster pulling that Fury flip to release Fdu Preez against Wales?
So the tension is between declining old stars and younger much less talented substitutes. At least that's the way I see it. 
14 Jan 2014, 09:21
14 Jan 2014, 09:21#12

Problem is Fourie was off-side when he did the "flip" you referred to - and it is unlikely that  another ref would have missed that one and not checked what happened.   Another ref and the outcome could have been the Springboks under severe pressure I n their own 22.  

You cannot bargain on a repeat and that one is really not unique at all - I have seen such passing often enough even in the JWC.   Fourie to my min d is a dead duck on attack and way past it.

I agree - we have problems I replacing of back line players - but not of forwards and that is where Meyer is really bringing in the oldies.     

14 Jan 2014, 09:32
14 Jan 2014, 09:32#13

Arizona

I support any SA team playing any foreign team and internally I support the Sharks - I lived in Kwa-Zulu - Natal for more than half my life and the Stormers where I grew up.   I also have a soft spot for the Cheetahs, because Bloem has percentage wise  more beautiful girls than  all other cities.   LOL

What I do not support is mediocre performance of individual players - irrespective of which franchise the are from.  

You may not accept what I said above about the Bulls - but it is a fact and Meyer himself admitted he made selection errors in 2012 going for players he was familiar with.   He used the same term in dealing with the captaincy too. 

I have no problem with the issue of the Bulls players playing for the Springboks - I have problems when they under-perform and not being meeting reasonable playing requirements.   

14 Jan 2014, 10:34
14 Jan 2014, 10:34#14

Posts: 8563 RE: What has Meyer achieved running back to the rugby geriatrics?
January 14, 2014, 07:21:39

Problem is Fourie was off-side when he did the "flip" you referred to - and it is unlikely that  another ref would have missed that one and not checked what happened.   Another ref and the outcome could have been the Springboks under severe pressure I n their own 22.  

You cannot bargain on a repeat and that one is really not unique at all - I have seen such passing often enough even in the JWC.   Fourie to my min d is a dead duck on attack and way past it.

I agree - we have problems I replacing of back line players - but not of forwards and that is where Meyer is really bringing in the oldies.    

Woosh.......... gone.

14 Jan 2014, 13:37
14 Jan 2014, 13:37#15
Meyer's regression in going back to these geriatric players, shows just how conservative he is and it also looks like he is starting his slippery slide to mad coaches disease.......a condition that affected all his predecessors.
Mac when he was forced to select Transvaal players to implement his Sharks gameplan
Markgraaf, conservative like Meyer, fell foul when he dropped Pienaar
Carel from the start as he did not know what he was doing and could not communicate his plans to his players
Mallett when his contract was changed to exclude 'merit only selections' and his preference for Skinstad over Teichmann
Viljoen when he started doubting his all out attack approach and went the exact opposite with Koen at 10 and Braam at 12
With Meyer the writing is on the wall.......he has more talent to choose from than his predecessors and the man is resorting back to the washed up old guard.
This will be a defining year for Meyer for he is yet to take on Oz and NZ with all his geriatrics........the EOYT tour saw the poor introduction of Fourie and Bakkies.......my guess is this year we will see the entry of Matfield, Juan Smith, Schalk and Spies and with that no chance in hell of beating Oz or NZ
14 Jan 2014, 14:00
14 Jan 2014, 14:00#16

I am n full agreement with you on this score - w are going nowhere fast in this case.  Nukefreekiwi summed it up very well when he wrote as follows:-

"It  seems to me that young aspiring SB players are held to a different standard than Meyers "chosen" ones."

After matches Meyer praised the oldies like it is unbelievable - while match analysis and stats indicate failure.  I suppose he has to - because his selections are being queried - but it seems to support the above quotations - Meyer himself is pumping up the praise songs to justify his selections.   

What makes his worse is Meyer is also stuck with other players who are no up to standard.  The fiasco involving Morne  Steyn at Stade Francais has proven that Steyn is not top selection material.   The question is will Meyer realise that?   

We also have a weird situation that players constantly get offers to play abroad.   If they do not get offers there are reasons for that.   Despite the hype the situation basically is that the foreign clubs have looked at them and found them wanting.    We have players like Alberts being hyped up like it Is unbelievable - but he does not get offers from foreign clubs.   Why is that the case?   The answer is simple - he does not meet their basic requirements so we are stuck with him.   Does that not tell you about Meyer's selection criteria?   It tells me a lot - in my opinion he is stuck in the past with both player selection and game plans.    

14 Jan 2014, 14:11
14 Jan 2014, 14:11#17
For me the greatest insult was his treatment of JJ after his best test for the Boks in that last test against the AB's. That performance should have cemented JJ at 13......instead Meyer selected the useless Fourie and in doing so, confirmed what a clown he is.

This coupled with not initially starting with Willie on the EOYT - if this does not point to the man's conservatism, then nothing will. Conservatism will never win us medals or rankings........Meyer is on the road to nowhere..........and his selections this year will be very interesting
14 Jan 2014, 15:43
14 Jan 2014, 15:43#18

Dave I hate being repetitive, but your constant JJ punting leaves me no choice. JJ did one class thing in the Ellis Park test when he dummied and jinked outside Savea. He beat one man....whoopie!

Now consider what he did wrong.

He failed to take the match kickoff, leading to immediate AB pressure.

He failed to put Savea out over the touchline in the build up to Messam's first try. 

He overran Morne's pass when the Boks tried a set move from a promissing scrum 10 metres out.

He isolated himself and got turned just before the half.

He then missed Nonu badly in the fo llow up play leading to Messam's try.

He missed Barrett for the RC winning try

That's four seven point situations where he failed to execute. Then you take his horrible miss of Bosch in the Mendoza test and it's easy to see why HM looked elsewhere.

14 Jan 2014, 15:48
14 Jan 2014, 15:48#19

I can't think of a better way to put this.....who are the young Jeans, Habanas, JPs, Furies. Guys keep on saying we have huge amounts of talent and certainly there are a lot of good players. But I see nobody with the stature of those four....the ability to come into the team and immediately out compete their direct international opponents.

Serfontein, JJ, Mvovo? Not a patch on those old chaps in their early days.

14 Jan 2014, 16:12
14 Jan 2014, 16:12#20
Sorry Moz and as I keep telling you, your take on JJ's performance that day is a load of rubbish backed up by the stats on the day.

JJ gained 96m  on the day, made one clean break and beat 4 defenders......he made 3 tackles and missed 1. Compare that to Jean who made 2 tackles and missed 2.

Some of the defenders beaten and clean break made were:

JJ beating Savea beautifully on the outside and setting up Willie who set up Morne, only for Morne to drop the ball going over the line.

He then ran straight through Conrad Smith

He stepped Cruden........to beat his 3rd defender of the day.

Nothing came of the kick off

Rubbish he and another player took Savea out - clutching at straws......JJ had NOTHING to do with the Messam try

Wrong Morne passed behind JJ, who ran a great line.......video replays prove this.......it was not even marginal

On the half he took the move forward that was initiated by his experienced team mates Morne and Jean......if they did not want to attack, one of them would have kicked the ball out. JJ took the pass from Jean, stepped Cruden and got past Read, but Read got a hand on him to cause him to fall.....by the time Read got up and fell on JJ, Kolisi was there........the ball went flying out and other Boks missed tackles thereafter that lead to the try.......one being Morne

Nonu steps JJ, but JJ hauls him in.......JJ has nothing to do with the Messam try. If memory serves me correctly that was another Morne miss

He missed Barrett after Jean and Morne did.......Morne being the inside defender is primarily to blame for this miss.
The same with the miss on Bosch, Jannie was the inside defender, JJ was covering wide......like all good centres, JJ attacked the props outside.

If Meyer dropped JJ because of the Bosch and Barrett misses then he is more of a clown than I initially thought. If I can see the facts of those misses, then I would expect and international coach to see the same.

JJ had an outstanding game against the AB's......the best I have seen from a Bok 13 in years. 

Hell every Kiwi on this site has told us that on the day, JJ completely outplayed Conrad Smith and thats a fact

14 Jan 2014, 16:58
14 Jan 2014, 16:58#21

Dave..... Nonu steps JJ , but JJ hauls him in....yes after he is stopped by another player.  Morne passes behind JJ....but if he passed any flatter it would have been forward etc.etc.etc. All just spin Dave.

But the Barrett and Bosch tries can't be imagined away. The Bok 13 was the effective last line of defence....in both cases he hits the player and in both cases he fails to make the tackle. That's not accep table for a Bok centre.

14 Jan 2014, 16:59
14 Jan 2014, 16:59#22
Moz, we dont have young wings to match Habana and JP

Serfontein looks better than Jean at the same age, he has more clout about him. Time will prove this.

JJ is a far better attacking 13 than Fourie ever was
14 Jan 2014, 17:18
14 Jan 2014, 17:18#23

Serfontein looks better than Jean? Dave I can't agree. Jean had genuine pace as a youngster. His early years were dogged by injury, but whenever fit, he was a genuine threat.

So what is Serfontein's thing? I don't believe he has express pace....adequate, no more. Nor is he particularly strong ....the guys seem to bring him down quite easily in senior rugby. He relies on an inside step, much like Wynand and  Steppie. That's not going to fool many defences...and unlike Jean he doesn't ride the inevitable tackle. I'd say, at this stage, he is predictable and easy to defend.

But Serfontein has time on his side....JJ doesn't. Which is why his dropping is so ominous. As for being a better attacker than Fury....he is certainly faster and more accelerative .....but he has no software. He can't see the field, can't anticipate what's happening.....has no way of dealing with tight defences. So how better?

14 Jan 2014, 17:54
14 Jan 2014, 17:54#24
Serfontein was 19, Jean 21 on debut.
One of the things that has stood out about Serfontein is his strength. I doubt Jean is or was any quicker than Serfontein is........Jean has useful pace has never had express pace, which is fine for an inside centre.
In one of Serfontein's first S15 appearances off the bench for the Bulls last year, he showed sublime attacking skills by beating defenders both on the inside and once was on the outside.......I waxed lyrical at the time. So, no, its not only about an inside step.
Serfontein has had virtually no opportunities at test level, he has lived off 10 min stints off the bench, which is fair enough as a 19 year old.
Serfontein looks to have more raw attacking skills than Jean has, he moves with more creativity.............Jean's strength is instinct, physical strength and the ability to run great lines......he has never been a dancer.

As for JJ, well your take on lack of software is dispelled by those defenders beaten in the AB test......it takes vision and software to beat a defender........the defenc e was tight against the AB's.......it was when he went one on one against Savea, it was when he stepped Cruden. There is nothing wrong with JJ's software........we are not asking him to display the vision required of a 10 or 12.......he is there as a 13.

How can JJ not have time on his hands, he is 24 and into his second year of playing 13, which you seem to forget. Lets face it Fourie hardly had the software you speak of, nor did Joubert, Mulder, Snyman or Fleck........they were typical 13's.
14 Jan 2014, 18:05
14 Jan 2014, 18:05#25
Just a pity Serfontein and JJ were totally outplayed by Ebersohn and Sadie in the CC sharp end. As for Jean's pace, he played on the wing when he started and was able to get home from 80 metres out on interceptions. I have NEVER seen him beaten for pace.  
14 Jan 2014, 18:07
14 Jan 2014, 18:07#26
Hell Moz, Nonu stepped JJ, that was fair and square, just like JJ stepped Cruden......its skill.

Nope JJ ran a perfect line and I can't blame Morne for the pass behind JJ, for they are damn hard to get right when a player runs the line JJ did. JJ had to reach backwards to take the pass. 

But that aside, how the hell can you criticize JJ for running a great line? Those moves are always 50/50.

Wrong on Barrett and Bosch.......if the attacker is targeting the space between two players, its the responsibility of the inside defender to tackle the ball carrier.......against Bosch, the inside defender was Jannie, against Barrett it was Morne.......by the time JJ who was covering out wide, realised that the inside defenders had missed their tackles, it was too late to adjust effectively and align a perfect tackle........the best JJ could do off balance was go high with no force behind his attempts.

Had JJ been in Jannie's place against Bosch or Morne place against Barrett, he would have been in a prefect position to align and effect the tackle as both attackers would have been his responsibility to tackle   
14 Jan 2014, 18:23
14 Jan 2014, 18:23#27
Moz, Ebersohn and Sadie never came close to outplaying Serfontein and JJ.

Ebersohn started 2013 on fire only to completely disappear after not making the Bok set-up.

Sadie has been a huge disappointment........the bits we saw of him as a WP youngster looked promising, but he just does not have it.

Serfontein has been employed on the wing for the Boks as well - off the bench

There is no way Jean is quicker than Serfontein

14 Jan 2014, 19:56
14 Jan 2014, 19:56#28
Nonetheless in their key CC confrontation after the RC....Sadie and Ebersohn totally outplayed JJ and Serfontein.  
14 Jan 2014, 21:48
14 Jan 2014, 21:48#29

I have my own reservations about the Bulls center pairing - Serfontein and Engelbrecht.   Although Serfotein is not a game breaker at present - he as all the abilities to become a star player - since he has a rugby brain and is a clever player.

Engelbrecht is a player that Saffex likes - heavy and strong like Francois Steyn - but with no ball sense and who tries too run over or through players with very little to show for it and really without any constructive ideas about how the team would benefit from the rushes of blood to the head.

However,, Fourie is not the answer to the problem either  and I think we have to look wider for a solution.   That is one reason why I think the upcoming Super series is so important.   It should give us an idea where to go.   Still think Enelbrecht would be an excellent wing though.  

14 Jan 2014, 23:09
14 Jan 2014, 23:09#30
Sorry Moz, but Ebersohn did absolutely nothing against Serfontein and Sadie did even less against JJ.......not once did Sadie beat JJ, not even close
14 Jan 2014, 23:11
14 Jan 2014, 23:11#31
DomMike stop speaking shit - JJ is 95kg and has blistering pace and great feet, he is a 13. Frans is 110kg and a physical, touch player who plays 12.....spot the difference chump?

Man you rugby knowledge gets worse with age
15 Jan 2014, 06:08
15 Jan 2014, 06:08#32

You don't get it.   Rugby players need some brain capacity too to play and read games.  Neither the slow Steyn at 12 - nor the fast Engelbrecht at 13 can read games properly.    They are like  one-dimensional  robots - they run straight at the tackler in the hope the tackler misses them - it never works and a maul is the inevitable result.   Steyn is the greatest crash baller in modern rugby - he never tries anything else - and Englbrecht does the same at speed. 

They re unable to read games and as a result they virtually never creates anything for outside players.   

15 Jan 2014, 14:27
15 Jan 2014, 14:27#33

So Oom, am I meant to take your word for it

Either you are blind or just very stupid

Answer this question dumbass...........when JJ beat Savea, was he running straight through at him in the hope he would miss the tackle?

When JJ stepped Cruden, was he running straight at him in the hope he would miss the tackle?

How stupid are you really? But be a sport and answer the questions - it should be interesting!!

15 Jan 2014, 15:24
15 Jan 2014, 15:24#34
Never was beating one tackle mentioned so much by so few....to paraphrase Winston