FORUM / RUGBY /  Who was right

Who was right

Started by Mozart29 REPLIES360 VIEWS· 17 Jun 2014, 07:33
17 Jun 2014, 07:33
17 Jun 2014, 07:33#1
mozart

Posts: 7211RE: Geriatrics aren't the scary thing about Saturday
June 12, 2014, 16:56:01Our scrum will be fine on Saturday....you heard it here first. And don't bother with the grade school insults, let the facts decide. 

Edit post
17 Jun 2014, 07:39
17 Jun 2014, 07:39#2
 Or.......

Posts: 11179RE: Geriatrics aren't the scary thing about Saturday
June 12, 2014, 20:17:19 Mozaqrt
Our scrum will be OK on Saturday?   How will that be achieved with Jannie, Steenkamp, and the other geriatrics being responsible for scrumming.   The failed last Saturday with Beast being the better scrummer - now the Toulouse failure is starting in Beast place.   and the rest of the comedy gang of showponies  is still around.  Day-dreaming again?  Let me be blunt - it will be a disaster.   
They better hope there are not too many scrums and that they do not give any away.  Better to kick the ball away in the hope there will be line outs - which will also be won by the Welsh with Matfield hoping balls will not come his way.   Wonder how long it will be before he starts shifting from the middle of the line out to the front - ie to work out which of the Welsh line out jumpers are the less competitive and then position himself opposite that jumper and not take the middle of the line out position associated with 5 locks.  
17 Jun 2014, 10:48
17 Jun 2014, 10:48#3

Congrats to Meyer's Pensioners.

They did a lot better than I expected. Especially Chubby Chops Gurthro.

The Bokke dominated the Welsh in every aspect of the game.

A real pity that they were once again not properly tested.

Sadly every Super Rugby franchise would have given the Welsh a hiding. Their defense was very poor and not upt o the standard it should have been in a test match.

They lost to Japan last year and I can honestly see why.

I guess we'll just have to wait for the coming RC before we can measure the pensioners properly.

Once again ... well done Bokke ... even your aged side was hopelessly too good for the Welsh.

17 Jun 2014, 10:55
17 Jun 2014, 10:55#4

Sadly every Super Rugby franchise would have given the Welsh a hiding as well. Their defense was very poor and not what one would have expected from a test side.

Makes me understand why they lost to Japan last year.

I guess we'll just have to wait for the coming RC before we can measure the pensioners properly.

I realize that certain aged persons will be strutting their stuff this week because of the victory and  
17 Jun 2014, 10:55
17 Jun 2014, 10:55#5

Sadly every Super Rugby franchise would have given the Welsh a hiding as well. Their defense was very poor and not what one would have expected from a test side.

Makes me understand why they lost to Japan last year.

I realize that certain aged persons will be strutting their stuff this week because of the victory and  
17 Jun 2014, 11:04
17 Jun 2014, 11:04#6
I went to Kleinmond this weekend and must still watch the test saw snatches of it at a restaurant we went to. I hear Guthro did well but wonder how good was the Welsh scrum?   do hope ou maaaikie didnt mislead me - he is ususally fairly reliable.
Moz I do hope you got an inkling how good Loodt is. You of course completely misjudged him.  He And Etzebeth will make agreat lock pairing. Take it from Beeno who knows a good lock when he sees one. Imagine how good the tignt five will be when we drop wee matfiled.
I hear also, as I suggested that he would, that Du preez was very good. My man Louw was also I hear very good as was Duanne. Some oaks crying for Brussouw must wake up. For greater mobility add in Burger then you would have the WP loose trio which I said some years ago was the best in the world to hoots of laughter from brainless kamp ss mongs.To think this is still not our best match 23!!The wee abs who should have lost both test against England must be quaking in t heir boots!
17 Jun 2014, 11:48
17 Jun 2014, 11:48#7
 Beeno
Steenkamp was former than Jannie - but most of the scrums still went slightly backward in the first half with Jannuie giving away 2 penalties.   Problem is that outside of the scrumming Steenkamp produced zero to the team efforts as is evidenced by the following:-
 Steenkamp0/000/0/3000010/00/000/0  Steenkamp had the ball 3 times - lost ball=possession once - and the rest of the stats reads like that of an absentee player.  Compare this with the stats of Beast for instance who came on at about minute 55:- 
Mtawarira0/000/1/49000010/00/000/0 The scrum was firmer after Beast, Oosthuizen and De Jager came onto the scene and remained so until the completion of the match.
Both Steenkamp and Du Plessis remains questionable props and if I was Meyer I would change both for the RC.   I think the problem with our scrums still are the lack of support provided by our locks (Botha and Matfield) in scrumming and the fact that things went better in the second half was partly the result of the replacement of Botha by De Jager.  On the other side the replacement of Matfield would have reduced the problems of Jannie if there was a stronger lock supporting him.        
17 Jun 2014, 14:54
17 Jun 2014, 14:54#8
 "Problem is that outside of the scrumming Steenkamp produced zero to the team efforts as is evidenced by the following:-"

Jy praat kak man. G aan kyk weer.
17 Jun 2014, 15:08
17 Jun 2014, 15:08#9
I looked at the stats and that shows it all.   You are too stupid to see anything - and Dof Doos is an appropriate name for you - but what else can one expect from an idiotic BUlls supporter in any event.
17 Jun 2014, 15:14
17 Jun 2014, 15:14#10
Have you figured which lock scrums behind which prop yet. Slymsloot.
17 Jun 2014, 15:17
17 Jun 2014, 15:17#11
Steenkamp was bloody useless again, Beast was a vast improvement when he came on.......what that idiot of a coach sees in an old, fat Steenkamp is beyond me  
17 Jun 2014, 15:28
17 Jun 2014, 15:28#12
Jy poep teen donderweer Soutpiel.
17 Jun 2014, 15:32
17 Jun 2014, 15:32#13
We respect others posters on this site and do not post in Afrikaans - get it?  
17 Jun 2014, 15:39
17 Jun 2014, 15:39#14
Steenkamp was fantastic in the scrums. He provided loosehead pressure and was selected to the TOW. You guys simply don't have the grace to admit you were wrong....Genecut  sort of got there....but Dave and Clever, you two are hope less. Stop lying chaps its obvious you totally blew this one.
17 Jun 2014, 15:42
17 Jun 2014, 15:42#15

Steenkamp was nothing in the scrums.......name a single scrum where he applied pressure against Jones, a single one?

TOW has Slipper at 1.......Woodcock, Marler and Slipper were all better than fat Gunthro........as was Beast when he came on  

17 Jun 2014, 15:46
17 Jun 2014, 15:46#16
 If a player is standing up in a scrum and cannot perform anything else - he is useless in a team perspective.   Beast at least was stronger in the scrums and did a lot of outside work as well.   
You cannot be serious about concentrating on one aspect of the game only.   If we get adequate support from the locks all will be fine - but they do not get anything from the likes of Matfield and Bakkies - so the scrums did go backwards - but not as badly as it did the previous week.   

17 Jun 2014, 15:51
17 Jun 2014, 15:51#17
Steenkamp has been a liability ever since his return to test rugby......evidenced by his 15 min spell conceding 2 scrum penalties against the World 15.......and for his efforts, our insult of a coach promoted him to the starting 15 - what an idiot  
17 Jun 2014, 15:58
17 Jun 2014, 15:58#18

The scrum in the first half they folded the Welsh pack from the loosehead....a penalty was awarded against Jenkins, but  the Boks gave Gurthro the high five, they knew where the pressure originated....and every other scrum the Welsh were under tighthead pressure. But don't take my word for it, here's the TOW from 365:

1 - Gurthrö Steenkamp (Springboks):
After being written off he was so devastating that Wales was forced to replace the Hair Bear (Adam Jones) after half-an-hour.
Bubbling under: Tony Woodcock (New Zealand)

You and OOm were the fools doing the writing off bit....man what egg.  

17 Jun 2014, 16:14
17 Jun 2014, 16:14#19

And you believe that shit Moz? Geez, so if Steenkamp was so good why did he not make the TOW above and what of his 2 scrum penalties last week after only being on the field for 15.......bloody Moz you really are desperate to draw some kind of credibility out of these old players.......its a bloody joke......Bakkies and Steenkamp have been poor to average and without doubt selling Bok rugby short

Do you honestly think these two should be part of the equation against Oz and NZ......don't bother answering in fact - for I know your answer  

17 Jun 2014, 16:19
17 Jun 2014, 16:19#20

I would have Victor and Etzebeth at lock.  I have always preferred the Beast to Gurthro ....but Steenkamp has shown he belongs. I wouldn't have young  players like Kitshoff until they show they can do the business at S15 level

17 Jun 2014, 16:36
17 Jun 2014, 16:36#21

June 17, 2014, 13:32:43 We respect others posters on this site and do not post in Afrikaans - get it? 

Gaan kak soutpiel.

17 Jun 2014, 16:36
17 Jun 2014, 16:36#22

Oh give me a break Moz, how on earth can you begin to conclude that Steenkamp is better than Kitshoff, v/d Merwe, Nkanayne, Mellett and co........and its pointless telling me Kitshoff struggled against X in a Stormers game, when Steenkamp got his arse kicked in a big way a week ago.

Steenkamp is past it, has been for a few years now, just like Bakkies is  

17 Jun 2014, 17:44
17 Jun 2014, 17:44#23

Not only do I believe that at this stage of the youngsters' careers....but the national coach obviously believes that....and I'm guessing after last weekend the great rugby fraternity is beginning to believe that.

You and Mike (what an idiot to have as your ally) are part of a rapidly declining group.

OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
17 Jun 2014, 23:37
17 Jun 2014, 23:37#24
Tank Lanning said in one of his articles that Coenie's coping technique at scrum time has been to latch onto his hooker and follow his drive, effectively not being square and providing a shoulder to the opposition loosehead. Watching on Saturday that is exactly what it looked like to me as Coenie seemed to be setup at an angle from the get-go. I think it was the first scrum he was involved in that the Welsh loosehead was penalized for scrumming at an angle when it looked to me like he was just following Coenie. At the next scrum that started to happen again and the Welsh prop stopped attacking, afraid of the same call.
At some point Coenie is going to be found out, other teams will be pointing it out to the ref before the game starts and it will be a reputation that will be difficult to shake.
It is long overdue for there to be a serious understudy to Jannie.

CW
cwvdmerweRookie50 posts
18 Jun 2014, 11:30
18 Jun 2014, 11:30#25

June 17, 2014, 13:32:43 We respect others posters on this site and do not post in Afrikaans - get it?

Wat 'n doos! Respekteer ander net solank hulle nie Afrikaans is nie! Dit van die grootste rassis wat hierdie planeet al gesien het.

Net soos sy fokken belaglike spankeuses... Nyakane (of soos die poepol sê, Nkanyane (sic)) moet gekies word omdat hy swart is. Fokol met rugby te doen, maar sodat die "kleur" in die span moet reg wees... Dan het hy ook so min respek vir die speler, dat hy nog nie eers een keer sy naam kon reg spel nie!
18 Jun 2014, 11:39
18 Jun 2014, 11:39#26
Dutchie, fuck off  
18 Jun 2014, 12:33
18 Jun 2014, 12:33#27

June 18, 2014, 09:39:36 Dutchie, fuck off 

Haal jou vinger uit jou neus en trek uit jou sussie se rok, soutpiel.
18 Jun 2014, 12:43
18 Jun 2014, 12:43#28

Ag ou Van ... blow it out your ass will ya!!!
18 Jun 2014, 12:51
18 Jun 2014, 12:51#29
 o-matey
There is no reason to find an understudy for Jannie - he has to go.  I think that Meyer favours Malherbe and if he was not injured he would have been the pick after the fiasco in the game the previous week.   
Jannie is way past his best - as is the present lock combination - both weak scrummagers.   I expect Meyer to call up Malherbe for the Scottish tests - he should be over his concussion problem by now.   That would happen if the scrumming take a turn for the worse this week - as I really expected it to happen.  

18 Jun 2014, 13:11
18 Jun 2014, 13:11#30

You seem to have high hopes regarding Meyer doing the right thing there, Mike!!

Sorry to burst your bubble, boet, but he'll bring the useless Jannie back into the mix with Coenie on the bench as cover. That I'm afraid is his preferred tighthead picks for the coming WC.