FORUM / RUGBY /  Will Meyer’s obsession cost the Springboks? By Armand van Zyl

Will Meyer’s obsession cost the Springboks? By Armand van Zyl

Started by Just_win37 REPLIES488 VIEWS· 04 Aug 2014, 01:08
04 Aug 2014, 01:08
04 Aug 2014, 01:08#1

Heyneke Meyer has announced his Springbok squad for this year’s Rugby Championship, from which he will select a 23-man team to face Argentina, Australia and New Zealand in the coming weeks.

Will the Springboks suffer from a mediocre Super Rugby season for the South African conference?

The answer is simple. No, but yes.

You can’t take Super Rugby form as indicative of a national side’s form. A prime example would be the 2012 Super Rugby season. This was one of the best seasons the South African conference ever had and judging by their conference success, the Springboks should have been the best in the world that year.

But they weren’t, they were horrible.

They drew with both England and Argentina early in the season and lost to the Wallabies once and the All Blacks twice. The only thing that saved their season was a European clean sweep against Ireland, Scotland and England. But all of those games were very scrappy.

Compare this to last year – most will agree South Africa’s 2012 Super Rugby teams were much better, yet the Springboks came dangerously close to becoming the world leaders in 2013.

Super Rugby form has nothing to do with a national side’s form. It can inspire and it can give confidence, but Test rugby is a different beast.

Now to the next question. Will the awful injury count play a factor in our campaign?

This certainly looks the case, but again maybe not. If the casualties stayed the same as it has been throughout the year I would reckon that the Boks would’ve been in big trouble.

But the Angel of Mercy smiles down upon the Rainbow Nation. The Western Province Rugby Union (WPRU) has confirmed that Springbok colossus Eben Etzebeth is back to full strength, Springbok captain Jean de Villiers has been declared fit, powerful prop Francois Malherbe is ready for full contact training.

This leaves us with the last and the most important question of all: Will Meyer’s obsession cost the Springboks?

Victor Matfield, Gurthro Steenkamp, Bakkies Botha, Jaque Fourie and Fourie du Preez have all returned to Springbok duty because of Meyer’s persistence. Danie Rossouw was also dearly sought after but to no avail.

These players are all World Cup winning campaigners and have the respect of every die hard Bok fan, but regardless of their legacy, why were they recalled?

I can only see the point in selecting du Preez and Fourie, neither of whom were selected due to injury.

Meyer recalled Gurthro Steenkamp to the side and yet he sits with players like Tendai Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis, Francois Malherbe, Coenie Oosthuizen, Marcell van der Merwe, Steven Kitshoff, Frik Kirsten and Lourens Adriaanse, who are all capable props.

Also remember that if it weren’t for Pierre Spies’ injury in 2012, Vermeulen probably never would have been selected.

But the choice that makes the least sense is persisting with Matfield.

South Africa are blessed with a plethora of truly world-class locks. Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Flip van der Merwe, Lood de Jager and Paul Willemse are all fully capable of playing international rugby.

But more importantly, all these players are by far more complete athletes than Matfield. All of them are hard-working, possess air-tight defence, mobility, skill, and mental awareness. None of them are inadequate in a line-out situation, and all possess good rucking technique.

Matfield specialises in leadership and lineouts, but this is all he brings to the table. Meyer should invest in a more complete package than a two-hit wonder.

04 Aug 2014, 01:09
04 Aug 2014, 01:09#2
Weee Beeno will be jumping for joy when he reads this article, lol
04 Aug 2014, 02:06
04 Aug 2014, 02:06#3
 So who is this seasoned sports scribe called Armand van Zyl?

Let's have a look........

Armand van Zyl

Roar Rookie

• 8,818 Article Reads
  • 6 Articles Written
  • 61 Comments Written

04 Aug 2014, 02:40
04 Aug 2014, 02:40#4
 Meyer did the same as he did in 2012. Call up every SA player that played for the Bulls in the past - players he is familiar with - without any regard to their present performance scenario - based on reputation only.
In the process he sacrificed a lot - especially since the "golden oldies" can only weaken the squad and the team.   He has painted himself into a corner by for instance the locks he picked and although he has some leeway with regard to the loosies - he has a problem in that position as well.   
The lesson that has not struck home yet is that the 2007 successful team members were failures as from 2010 onwards and will not be competitive in 2014 and 2015.  He also stuck with players who have limited capacity like Morne Steyn and Alberts.
It is only fools who beleiive that the Meyer's selection recipe can work - it is a definite that disaster can be expected from such selections.   He could have done worse in squad selection - but what is depressing is that he did b adly with at least 6 dinosaurs out of the 30 squad members.  That can only reduce effectiveness of at least the Tight  5 and in the case of the flyhalf position - the backline as well.         
04 Aug 2014, 02:56
04 Aug 2014, 02:56#5
Hehehe....6 articles. Oh goodie though Malherbe is back according to this weighty scribe.  
04 Aug 2014, 03:08
04 Aug 2014, 03:08#6
If that article support the lunacy of the selections of Mozart - you would have been the first one to quote it on this site.  Some of the articles quoted by you are from the coke-sniffer site - so what is wrong with this one?  It least the writer is honest about the real issue involved here - crazy selection of players who have failed since 2010 and the serious doubts there are about their continued presence in the squad.     You don;t like the message - so the writer must be discredited.
He apparently knows more about rugby than you as the top dunce on this site - and we will know in three months time whether he was correct and you lot wrong.  My own feeling is that he would be the correct one here.   
04 Aug 2014, 09:23
04 Aug 2014, 09:23#7
The author write on the ROAR so he is not a profesional but more like you and I (well informed brilliant amateurs, lol)

Beeno: you should love this quote: 
"But the choice that makes the least sense is persisting with Matfield."
This is followed by a couple of paragraphs trashing weee Matty, lol Enjoy 
04 Aug 2014, 09:44
04 Aug 2014, 09:44#8
Most of the public knows how suspect Matfield really is in performing on the required level and the author of the article is reflecting a wide range of local opinion on the subject.  It is only the chronic Bulls supporters and the out-of-date members like Mozart - who harps on the issue of Matfield being performing on an acceptable level.
The only reason he is in the squad is based on his reputation and the fact that Meyer likes to have players in the squad he is familiar with.  Is that going to pay off - since Matfield is physically-deficient and will be pushed aside by players and he will go dowmn straight in trying to carry balls in traffic.   
In general he will waken the Tight 5 of the Springboks.  That was one of the formidable weapons of the Springboks in the past and Matfield is going to reduce effectiveness by his inclusion.   
I think i have in the past written quite extensively on the issue raised in the article and am delighted that somebody has in fact taken it u with the media.  His remark as to Matfield is correct:-
  " But the choice that makes the least sense is persisting with Matfield."     
04 Aug 2014, 09:53
04 Aug 2014, 09:53#9
 Moz: we all take you post seriously & we never question your rugby credentials , e.g. we have not asked how  may articles on rugby have you published
NT
ntangaClub Pro336 posts
04 Aug 2014, 12:09
04 Aug 2014, 12:09#10
 great article I must say. 

My confidence in HM has been rattled a bit after seeing the inclusion of those oldies, I'll say no more.

I agree with Cleverm ike on this; "Meyer did the same as he did in 2012. Call up every SA player that played for the Bulls in the past - players he is familiar with - without any regard to their present performance scenario - based on reputation only."
04 Aug 2014, 12:13
04 Aug 2014, 12:13#11
 Well, JW, you have underlined exactly what I was trying to say. This guy is just a blogger like many of us. I was, when I posted that, actually going to say that ou Maaikie has done more "articles" than this guy.....

Ou Maaikie, another of your pet hates:
"Meyer did the same as he did in 2012. Call up every SA player that played for the Bulls in the past - players he is familiar with - without any regard to their present performance scenario - based on reputation only."

Have you actually made sure you were not talking kak again, before you posted that? Remember that if you want to count former Bulls as Bulls than you have to do the same for former Stormers, etc. You might find yourself in a spot of bother here. In any case:

This is the reality and not an opinion:

Bulls:
Current Bulls:
Francois Hougaard
Victor Matfield
Handre Pollard
Jan Serfontein
Former Bulls:
Bakkies
Gurthro
Morne

That is 7 out of the 30 players. (This reminds me about the time you started swearing at me when you were so sure that the squad will be 28 players, and I corrected you.... as usual. )

Now, maybe we should have a look at the rest.

Stormers

Current Stormers:
De Allende
JDV
Eben
Frans Malherbe
Duane Vermeulen
Former Stormers:
Schalk Brits
Bryan Habana
Francois Louw

That is eight "Stormers". One more than the "Bulls".

To throw another dozen of eggs in your face............... look at the number of players from the franchise that ended stone last in the SA conference, the Cheetahs:
Lodewyk de Jager
Cornel Hendricks
Willie le Roux
Oupa Mohoje
Trevor Nyakane
Adriaan Strauss

If you really wanted to piss about players who were selected or not selected, why don't you piss about the fact that there are no Lions in the squad? Not a single one and they finished only one point adrift from the Stormers in the S15.

Having said all of the above, the biggest load of bullshit in your post is this:
"- players he is familiar with - "

Meyer is in his third season as national coach so, in my mind he is familiar with all of those players. The joke of it all is that he actually capped 11 of those 30 players.

You should take off your anti-Bulls glasses, mate. It might make life a lot easier for you.
04 Aug 2014, 12:17
04 Aug 2014, 12:17#12

Ceradyne: I was hoping our old mate Beeno would jump in on the Mattfield points in the article but Beeno is becoming very aloof these days and is not easily baited, lol

04 Aug 2014, 12:37
04 Aug 2014, 12:37#13
 Ceradunce
Time to be civil again -  just one point - Habana is also an ex-Bull - have you forgotten about that?
Howeverm as per normal you missed the point completely.  Nobody has a problem with selection of any players from any franchise if the selection is based on merit and performance.  The problem is with specific players - whose performances are not up to standard - players like Morne Steyn. Bakkies Biotha, Gurthro Steenkamp  and Victor Matfield - when there are really meritorious contenders left out to make way for them.   That is where merit goes out of the window and familiarity and reputation become the basis for selection.
I stated clearly that I have really no problem with Hougaard, Serfontein and Pollard being in the squad at all.   I would actually have preferred Jacques Potgieter to be in the squad as well.   In 2012 the way to the Springboks quad was a Blue bulls contract.  At some stage during 2012 all - bar one of the Bulls team - were in the Springbok squad and that is a fact as well.   It is obviously not as clear as it used to be - but is still present in the form of the selection of the non-performers.
The norm should in all cases be sustained  performance - and reputation should not be a criterion for selection.  If performance is on par - then experience should be taken into account.    
I am actually a strong supporter of the Under 20 team players where the vast majority were contracted by the Bulls.   So the future look bright for a lot of youngsters from that franchise.  To me hat is what cunt - not the hasbeens and never has beens now in the Springbok squad.   

04 Aug 2014, 12:47
04 Aug 2014, 12:47#14
 "Now to the next question. Will the awful injury count play a factor in our campaign?

This certainly looks the case, but again maybe not. If the casualties stayed the same as it has been throughout the year I would reckon that the Boks would’ve been in big trouble".

A logical contradiction. Our poor Super 15 results are due largely to the horrendous injuries suffered by the Stormers. Nobody can doubt they would have otherwise reached at the very least the playoffs. 

What is problematic for the Boks is the players returning from injury. Lambie for instance looked a bit rusty. How will guys like Etzebeth and Malherbe go after such long layoffs? Also we are missing Schalk and JP.

"This leaves us with the last and the most important question of all: Will Meyer’s obsession cost the Springboks?

Victor Matfield, Gurthro Steenkamp, Bakkies Botha, Jaque Fourie and Fourie du Preez have all returned to Springbok duty because of Meyer’s persistence. Danie Rossouw was also dearly sought after but to no avail.

These players are all World Cup winning campaigners and have the respect of every die hard Bok fan, but regardless of their legacy, why were they recalled?

I can only see the point in selecting du Preez and Fourie, neither of whom were selected due to injury.

Well firstly Guthro - "Meyer recalled Gurthro Steenkamp to the side and yet he sits with players like Tendai Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis, Francois Malherbe, Coenie Oosthuizen, Marcell van der Merwe, Steven Kitshoff, Frik Kirsten and Lourens Adriaanse, who are all capable props.

The oak should not mention here guys like Jannie and Adriaanse who are tightheads. Next he should NOT mention Coenie because right now Coenies scrumming is up the pole. Kirsten who is he and what has he achieved for the bulle?

The loosehead options are marcell (can also play loosehead) Kitshoff (injured), Greying, Schalk van der merwe and Du Toit.

Du Toit is too young and rightly Meyer is not throwing this great prospect to the wolves. That leaves Steenkamp, VD Merwe, Greyling and Marcell. As Steenkamp scrummed well in the June series and he got the nod. Okay lets see how he goes.

I can live with Bakkies, Fourie and Du Preez. But as Armand says selecting the 106 kg matfiled  a never has been ou who is now 37 and will be 38 is HIGHLY problematic. The only sane reason might be as a mentor for the younger locks but DEFINITELY NOT AS A PLAYER. 

The older players will be really tested in the RC and it will make or break them. 

Armand you ahv ehit the nail on the head re matfiled:

But the choice that makes the least sense is persisting with Matfield.

South Africa are blessed with a plethora of truly world-class locks. Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Flip van der Merwe, Lood de Jager and Paul Willemse are all fully capable of playing international rugby. (Eben and Loodt are in, Flip and Steph are injured. So that leaves willemse that should have been picked)

But more importantly, all these players are by far more complete athletes than Matfield. All of them are hard-working, possess air-tight defence, mobility, skill, and mental awareness. None of them are inadequate in a line-out situation, and all possess good rucking technique.

Matfield specialises in leadership and lineouts, but this is all he brings to the table. Meyer should invest in a more complete package than a two-hit wonder.

The last comment is the clincher. A two hit wonder - HAHAHAHAHA.  Matfiled is simply not a tight forward. This leads to a beefing up  of the loose trio to compensate and a lack of mobility. Put in two genuine locks and speed up the loose trio is what we need. lOCKS ARE LOCKS AND BACKLINE PLAYERS ARE BACKLINE PLAYERS. DONT PICK A LOCK TO FLOP AS A BACKLINE PLAYER. ALL PRETTY OBVIOUS I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT. 

AT LAST THE SCALES ARE BEING REMOVED FROM THE MATFILED GROUPIES EYES (THERE ARE STILL SOME DIE HARD GROUPEIS LEFT UNFORTUNATELY AND MEYER LOOKS TO BE ONE OF THEM - WAKE UP MEYER ). 

OAKS HOW LONG HAVE I BEEN TELLING YOU ALL THIS?

04 Aug 2014, 12:54
04 Aug 2014, 12:54#15
 cerudunce windpom Habana played for the Bulle and can be added to thier total as well. Also brits played for vaious provinces.
@ mike:although he has some leeway with regard to the loosies - he has a problem in that position as well.   

Mike I share your concerns re Alberts. His work rate is lousy. Then n addition we have mohoje who was a bench player for the Cheethas. I am not saying Mohoje will never make it but I am saying he is an uproven green horn. Meyer in my view only has 3 guys who will do a job for us - Coetzee, Vermulen and Louw. Maybe Alberts off the bench for a 30 minute spell will work. Tell the guy to give it his all for a shorter period?
04 Aug 2014, 13:02
04 Aug 2014, 13:02#16
 cerudunce windpomp I agree with you that Meyer is not bulle biased. He simply has a huge opinion of some of the older players who were bulle. Note also who Meyer made captain. Note also a golden oldie is Jaque Fourie. 
wee matfiled has I believe hypnotised poor Meyer! This is the one selection that to me is really unacceptble apart from the fact he can mentor the other locks. One thing I will say for victor is that he does have rugby brain. He is a slim boet and thus will probably do well a sa coach. You cant fool so many people for so long without being shrewed.
Hats off to Armansd for blowing the whistle on victor as a player.

04 Aug 2014, 13:13
04 Aug 2014, 13:13#17
Armuntsd don't know his arse from his elbow .
04 Aug 2014, 13:23
04 Aug 2014, 13:23#18
Spot on article by this man........Meyer's obsession with these washed up has beens is going to come back to haunt the ignorant fool and show up some of the posters on here for what ignorant twats they are
04 Aug 2014, 14:15
04 Aug 2014, 14:15#19
 @Mike, I find it amusing that you decide when it is time to be civil and when not. Even when you decide to be civil, you start off by calling me Ceradunce. Unbelievable.

Be that as it may, I am prepared to try out the "being civil" thing. I was after all the civil one, until the first time that I corrected you on one of your facts, way back when.

You are actually the one missing the point, not me. You are saying that nobody has a problem with the selection of players from any franchise, yet you specifically mention the Bulls and then even highlight the "......players that he is familiar with....." issue.

The "performance not up to standard...." factor is your own opinion, and nothing more. You keep on saying that you judge players and then use stats to confirm "your observation", yet your first port of call is always your little string of stats. No exceptions to the rule. Always your little string of stats. To make matters even worse, it is always only certain little strings of stats. I have tried giving you stats from the exact same source that contradicts every shred of "evidence" about how poor Morne Steyn was in the infamous Ellis Park test. You never know which way with the argument, the moment that I do that. You used too rave about Johan Goosen, and I did exactly what you did. I selectively picked out stats to "prove" to you how kak he is, but you still do not smell the roses. In your book, Morne Steyn has always been crap and always will be. No matter what.

Against this background, you go on and criticise HM's selections. There are perfectly plausible reasons why he fell back onto the likes of Matfield and Botha, but you just refuse to even consider any of that. You just carry on regardless. You were on about Gurthro moving too France and then getting fatter and fatter. Do you recall the pictures that I posted of Gurthro while playing for Toulouse, compared to pictures taken during the 2011RWC? In fact, he looked fatter in 2011 than at Toulouse. You were bitching about his inclusion in the June tests, and then he scrummed the crap out of Adam Jones. You wanted Coenie in his place. I have been telling you since last year that Coenie was suspect. How many times have I mentioned that he scrums with a bent back. Go watch Gurthro's positioning in that scrum against Jones of Wales, before Jones gave in and left the field. His back was as straight as you want it and he scrummed straight forward and through Jones. And guess who was behind him? Pap Victor Matfield.

Look at these two images:
At the Bulls, before leaving for Toulouse:

At Toulouse:

You maintain that Bakkies is this bad and that bad because of stats. You fail to look at his contributions that cannot be quantified. How do you quantify his role in a ruck or a driving maul? Just tell me that. Your problem is that you can only comment on the stuff that you can judge according to a few figures on a stats sheet. The day that ESPN stop publishing their stats, you will be stuffed.

Even worse, the day that you could get hold of a comprehensive set of stats, will also be the day that you will be stuffed. I have told you before that I had access to the complete sets of Opta raw data and stats for Super Rugby, and it was a revelation, compared to the dribs and drabs that is published on ESPN. It actually gives you an analysis of each and every kick, pass, etc.

As far as 2012 is concerned, you keep on ignoring the one thing that HM said when he started his tenure, and you do it deliberately, such is your dislike for HM. Let me remind you.

He was never in the running when PDV's contract was not renewed, and he even "declined" teh job at some stage. SARU made it clear that they were going to head-hunt for a coach. Their first choice was actually Gert Small. Early in January, when it became clear that they were not going to get Gert, they turned their focus to HM. Remember that at that stage he was not focussed on the Boks at all. It was full-steam ahead with his job at the Bulls. All the previous Bok coaches were, at this stage of their tenures, already settled in in their positions, with assistant coaches in place the works. HM was appointed in the last week of Jan 2012.

He was appointed and that was the sum total of the entire Bok management set-up at that time. He then had to get a management team together. Apart from that, the very first question, from the media, that he had to face was: "Who is going to be your captain". Of course the media and the entire "Cape, south of the Orange" have of course already crowned Schalk Burger, and it was expected that HM's logical answer would be Schalk Burger. When he said that the captain was not that high on his priorities, the provincialism  immediately started to surface. The general flavour was: "Watch, he is going to appoint Pierre Spoes". That was a term used on this very same forum as well.

The next question that he faced was:"When are you going to announce the Bok team". His reply then led to start of the hate campaign. He said that he did not have time to start with an immediate identifying process. He first had too get his support staff sorted out and has to get in touch with the different coaches of the franchises and also have discussions with the players before he could even think about squad selections. Remember that at that stage the S15 had not yet started. His view was obviously still from a Bulls perspective.

In any case, the next part of his reply was that he had no plans to jump in with changes all over the show. He would stick with what was available, and he would fill in the gaps with what is familiar to him. He would then decide on a captain and the captain would initially be an interim appointment. He was going to start shaping the squad after the series against England as his first priority was to win the series. I can still remember that the general consensus was that we would probably win the series 2-1. He did better. He won it 2-0 with the draw. Immediately the "whole" of the Bok supporters base, who actually expected at least one loss in the series, was on his case about his "Bulls Bok" team.

Back to the events preceding the June series against England. When the Bok management team was announced the roars went up, especially from "the Cape south of the Orange". Why has he not even considered Jacques Nienaber, or any of the Cape coaches? He could have defended himself immediately but it was only months later that they truth came out. His first offers went out to Rassie and Coetzee and they declined. The WP refused Nienaber. In addition, he was crucified because of his entire Bulls Bok management team. The reality was that it was only van Graan, Loubscher, Cassrils and McFarland. The rest were from all over.

Johann van Graan - forward's coach
Ricardo Loubscher - backline coach
John McFarland - defence coach
Basil Carzis - conditioning coach

Others (TBC)

Niel du Plessis - Toyota Cheetahs conditioning coach ,
Louis Koen - former Springbok flyhalf and Paarl Gymnasium Director of Sport
Ian Schwartz - High performance manager of the Blues Bulls

Springboks medical team (reappointments)

Dr Craig Roberts (team doctor)
Vivian Verwant (physiotherapist)
Daliah Hurwitz (masseuse)

Springboks management team

Charles Wessels (Operational Head)
Annelee Murray (PR and Admin Manager)
JJ Fredericks (Logistics)
Albé Visser (Technical Analyst)
De Jongh Borchardt (Communications Manager).

The above was only confirmed on 12 April 2012, less than two months prior to the first test against England. By this time both the other two major "rookie" coaches were miles ahead of HM. Steve Hansen just slipped up from asst AB coach to head coach. Lancaster already had a game or two under his belt. HM has done fokol yet.

All he had was a basic idea of how he was going to play the game and, like he said he was going to do, used what was available and what was familiar. He was never going to re-invent the wheel like Twakkies tried to do. He said, in those earlier interviews that he was going to make sure that he win the series and then, from there on slowly bring in the changes. That was exactly what he did. In the process he put together probably one of the best balanced squads, as for as experience and youth is concerned, that we have had in many years - if not the best balanced squad ever. He has experience and youth in virtually every single position. He has probably introduced more youngsters into the Bok squad than both Jake and PDV at the same stage of their tenures. And then everybody bitches that he is only using older players. Yes, his teams against the WorldXV and the Wales tests did have mainly the older players but that was the only way that he could "take stock" for the rest of this season. Many of the "older ones" would not have been available for the Scotland test, and the Scotland test was the ideal opportunity to "bring in" the youngsters".

In my opinion, he played it perfectly. You might not agree, but that does not make me a cunt like you always call me.

04 Aug 2014, 16:05
04 Aug 2014, 16:05#20

There is a guy called JJ Fredericks in the management team? Do they have a bench for logistics managers?

This is a laughable article written by an unknown. Why would it have credibility? Every vintage Bok who has come back has done a job for Meyer. There have been hordes of groupies looking for their failures and all they can come up with is the lame accusation of them being too old. Judged on the field of play HM's Boks have been a resounding success.

04 Aug 2014, 16:10
04 Aug 2014, 16:10#21
So Moffie you continue to think Meyer is on the right track, what a bloody fool you are - make sure you don't go into hiding post the RC  
04 Aug 2014, 16:23
04 Aug 2014, 16:23#22
There has been very good players that constantly saved Meyer's bacon - Willie le Roux being a prime example.  However, there were also the Matfield's and Steyn's who were grossly ineffective in the second Welsh test and they nearly overran us. 
You can carry on about an article written by an "unknown" - but that unknown has raised a serious issue.   Matfield is a one-trick pony and as much worth in the Tight 5 as De Jongh would be.   He is physically just not up to standard - and that is a fact.  You refuse to look at it - but if a scrummie can just push him off and runs past him - how effective is he really?   
Done a job for Meyer?   What a joke - Bakkies has had a string of mediocre performances and so did Steenkamp.  Matfield showed nothing thus far - so what do you base that rubbish comment  on?

04 Aug 2014, 16:28
04 Aug 2014, 16:28#23
Imagine being stupid enough to select Bakkies over Willmese, not only on a merit basis but also knowing full well that Willemse is off to France......why not select him and play him off the bench against the Argies as a minimum........Meyer is a clueless twat  
04 Aug 2014, 16:38
04 Aug 2014, 16:38#24

Have you ever considered that Willemse is behind Etzebeth and Lood in HM's mind?  So even if Etzebeth is selected at 5....Willemse would never have got a shot at 4. So why, you may ask, is Bakkies there? Well Bakkies was one of our best players against the Worlds for one. Secondly with two young number 4 locks already in the squad, why not give them the benefit of Bakkies' vast experience....vs picking another young number 4 lock.

HM is miles ahead of you in his thinking Dave....and he is trying to do a serious job, not just pick players he likes.

04 Aug 2014, 16:54
04 Aug 2014, 16:54#25
Moart
"Well Bakkies was one of our best players against the Worlds for one."  What a strong team that was?  They ran out of steam in the second half after Bakkies ran out of steam 25 minutes earlier.    
And Bakkies was a flop in the first test against the Welsh a week later.    Experience without performance is meaningless 
04 Aug 2014, 17:06
04 Aug 2014, 17:06#26
But you picked that team to beat us Mike....you keep getting caught by your own big mouth.
04 Aug 2014, 17:28
04 Aug 2014, 17:28#27
 N ow according to cerudunce windpomp wee matfiled is a power scrummager!! 
To me the two most serious selection issues are the picking of wee matfiled and the fact that we did not get the loose trio selections right.I fear Meyer is going to start with wee victor.
For the rest time well tell whether Bakkies and Steenkamp etc can cut it. Both these players were superb in their day but is their day over. Lets wait and see.

04 Aug 2014, 17:42
04 Aug 2014, 17:42#28
Guys I have the answer to this back and forth insulting. Lets wait until the end of the Rugby Champs and see who has it right. Either Moz's golden oldies will kick ass or they won't! So here it is in a nutshell!
When the dust has settled, if the Boks have done well, then Moz has been right and Mike and Saff wrong. They must then submit to his superior rugby intellect. 
If the Boks have their asses handed to them, then Mike and Saff are the rugby bosses.
Simple ne'?
I reckon the Boks are gonna have a tough time because I think our talent in certain vital positions is just not good enough, but that is just me. 
04 Aug 2014, 17:48
04 Aug 2014, 17:48#29
 Not quite right Bluebok - even if we do win one can argue that the team would have done evn better with the right personnel.
But I agree that the RC will be a severe test of players an d some could be found out. 
We shall indeed see.

04 Aug 2014, 17:50
04 Aug 2014, 17:50#30
 Well Beeno, you have to help me out here. You seem to like ou Maaikie's way of thinking, i.e. that Steenkamp is useless. You both reckons that Matfield is weak, yet we all saw what Steenkamp and/or Matfield did to Jones and his replacement. I guess it must have been Matfield's lock partner then. That is the way that ou Maaikie has it in any case. According to him, Beast became better when Bakkies (who was scrumming behind Jannie) was replaced by Lood. But wait a minute, when Steenkamp was busy pushing Jones head back into his spine, Matfield's lock partner was Bakkies. Hahaha. You two should try and sell this comedy to a film maker.
04 Aug 2014, 18:03
04 Aug 2014, 18:03#31
 cerudunce windpomp allow me to repeat myself. I said Steenkamp scrummed well in the June tests so lets see how he goes. I even said I can live with Bakkies and Du Preez and Jaque Fourie. Du Preez is still a very good scrummie. Bakkies and Steenkamp need real testing. Unfortunatley Jaque Fourie will not be tested. However I am expecting Allende to make the 13 jersey his own or JP will take the 13 jersey and Allende will go to wing.

My very big concern is wee victor. If you think this 106 kg string bean can scrum better than any of real locks you as daft as a hatter. Steenkamp would do evem better with adecent lock behind him. Always remember B akkies being moved to scrum behind the tighthead because victor was not strong enough. How could he be at 106 kg. 
You are not seriously telling me wee victor can scrum better than Loodt at 125 kg?  Wake up cerudunce windpomp you are loosing cred!
04 Aug 2014, 18:17
04 Aug 2014, 18:17#32
What did Steenkamp do to Jones.   He barely to keep the scrum straight and even when they went SLIGHTLY forward there were no scrum disasters insofar as the Welsh are concerned.  
Because the scrums were basically static - des not mean that Steenkamp did anything of substance to anybody.   He was adequate against a prop who is - like Steenkamp - way past it - a prop that was replaced in the next match of the Welsh.  
That does not mean that Fat Steennkamp is the best scrummager we have - far from it.   In the so-called World game our scrumming was piss poor and it was evident they got no support from the locks.    That is also a fact.  
If he is such a good scrummager - why is he on the bench for Toulouse and not in their starting line up?
04 Aug 2014, 18:39
04 Aug 2014, 18:39#33
 " Dof Doos
What did Steenkamp do to Jones.   He barely to keep the scrum straight and even when they went SLIGHTLY forward there were no scrum disasters insofar as the Welsh are concerned. "

I knew it was to good to be true when you talked about being civil. Eish.

If you missed the part of Steenkamp's scrumming against Jones, then I give up. There is no use in taking this any further. You believe what you want to believe. It would not even help showing you the footage either. You have disputed video footage before. You see, ou kankerklinker, you do not even believe what you see with your own eyes.

Game over. There is no remedy for you.

04 Aug 2014, 18:49
04 Aug 2014, 18:49#34
 Ceradunce
Was there a real scrum collapse or backpeddling leading to a penalty?  There was NONE of that in ebidence.  
04 Aug 2014, 19:03
04 Aug 2014, 19:03#35
 Bullshit, and you can go search or the video evidence yourself. Hint...... you find in in some ESPN little string of stats either.

You have lost out on the issue of him being grossly overweight as well and you do not have the faintest idea of the way that players are rotated in the French competitions, so your idea of him on the bench falls float as well.
04 Aug 2014, 19:27
04 Aug 2014, 19:27#36
 Veradunce
The player is way past it - and that is it.  You really are an illiterate if you cannot see how fat and slow this bugger is.
04 Aug 2014, 19:51
04 Aug 2014, 19:51#37

Ah Moffie as stupid and conservative as usual, you think just like our ignorant coach.

Our best 3 fit locks are Etzebeth, Lood and Willemse.

Bakkies was great in his day as was Matfield but both are average at best these days

The 3 youngsters are twice the players.....so no, you pick your best players and forget about average old farts like Bakkies and co......selecting these guys is just plain and utter stupidity.

Both Etzebeth and Lood are equally happy at 5, so it would be a simple task of selecting these 3 as your test day locks

But nooooooo, lets overlook Willemse for some old fart and in the process run the risk of losing him to France.

If you cant see this you are dumber than I already know you are

04 Aug 2014, 20:13
04 Aug 2014, 20:13#38
 Saf, lets wait for the first 15 against Oz, before you completely lose it.