FORUM / RUGBY /  Springboks vs All Blacks . . .

Springboks vs All Blacks . . .

Started by Rooinek81 REPLIES2,554 VIEWS· 01 Oct 2013, 10:46
01 Oct 2013, 10:46
01 Oct 2013, 10:46#1

There seems to be a lot more spite and needle than usual in the build-up to the test match at Ellis Park between the Springboks and the All Blacks.

I know a lot of Springbok supporters are understandably still aggrieved at the red card Bismarck du Plessis received which I think we all agree was wrong and which unfortunately did spoil the test match at Eden Park to some extent, but it's silly to blame the All Blacks or the New Zealand people in general for a mistake that a French ref made and for me its sad to see Springbok and All Black supporters resorting to posting pictures of isolated thuggery and accusing the others of cheating in the build up to a test match between these two great rugby rivals.

I think there's another reason why the stakes seem higher than usual and that's because for the first time in ages, the Springboks pose a serious threat to the All Blacks #1 ranking in world rugby. It might be a tall order for Heyneke Meyer's team to beat the All Blacks with a bonus point while denying the All Blacks a bonus point of their own on Saturday . . . so I have to grudgingly admit that it's highly unlikely the Springboks are going to take the RC title off the All Blacks this year . . . but there's a renewed long-term optimism in SA rugby of late and a real belief that we can start beating our great rivals on a more regular basis again.

Let's not minimize or cheapen this wonderful rivalry between our two great rugby nations by calling each other cheats, food-poisoners or thugs and let's rather support our teams in a positive manner while showing the other team the necessary respect. The likes of Boy Louw, Maurice Brownlie, Danie Craven and Bob Scott would be turning in their graves if they knew that the great legacy they left behind had turned into a squealing, finger-pointing, blaming, ref-bashing war being fought in TV studios, on message boards and in social media. Let's rather see the battle fought on the rugby field with the honour and respect that generations of Springboks and All Blacks have earned.  

Bring it on! Come on Bokke!

01 Oct 2013, 10:59
01 Oct 2013, 10:59#2
 3-0 victory..Thats all I will be grateful for..Just a win...Cups will come in time..Right now all I want to see is this team creating an absolute winning culture and beat the world's best more regularly than we have in the past. If we can get 4 tries in the process and win the cup this weekend, well then thats just icing on the cake.
hakwaPro4,146 posts
01 Oct 2013, 11:00
01 Oct 2013, 11:00#3
 Like I said Rooinek, I was one of the first to congradulate the Boks for beating the ABs 3-0 in 2009! And it was done without resorting to any acts of thuggery! After the Boks win RWC in 2007, and the Boks winning the series against the Lions, I was elated with the ABs win over the Boks in 2008. However in 2009, the Boks evolved. They were doing something similar to the Bulls which was very successful. I knew Sir GH would not take it lying down and that the loses would springboard ways to counter the Boks which was successfully used in 2010 and in the 2011 RWC against the Wobblies. It didn't matter that the same gameplan used by the Boks did not translate into wins for the Boks against NH sides in their end of year tours in 2009 as that is exactly the way most NH Teams played at that time.
On another note, our recent loss against the Poms with a NEW Coach is not forgotten. The reasons for that loss is for a number of reasons NOT even related to the stomach bug and end of tour fatigue. England won fair and square and that gives the ABs something to learn and improve.
01 Oct 2013, 14:46
01 Oct 2013, 14:46#4
 When ou rooitwit gets all sanctimonious on us one wonders what the heck is going on!!!   Is the guy in his right or should I say normal mind?
Stop spoiling the fun rooitwit  
01 Oct 2013, 14:47
01 Oct 2013, 14:47#5
 When ou rooitwit gets all sanctimonious on us one wonders what the heck is going on!!!  Is the guy in his right or should I say normal mind?
Stop spoiling the fun rooitwit  
01 Oct 2013, 14:55
01 Oct 2013, 14:55#6

When have fans in major rivalries not had a dig? Imagine walking into an AB bar or a Springbok bar and saying: " I've just come to wish you chaps every bit of luck, and may the game be played at a level which is consistent with the fine sportsmanship shown in this historical series". You'd get hooted out the room.

The premise is total nonsense as well.....don't blame the fans? Hell when Bismarck made his fantastic tackle and throughout the review process, the fans were howling for him to be sent off.

I'm thinking this pompous piece comes from the Rooinek blog that he once mentioned. Ever since then, apart from a few catty comments, he has tried to play this hypocritical senior statesman role. It's hard to imagine anybody would actually navigate somewhere to read such twaddle.

sharkbokCaptain23,253 posts
01 Oct 2013, 15:16
01 Oct 2013, 15:16#7

01 Oct 2013, 15:39
01 Oct 2013, 15:39#8
I didn't mean to "spoil your fun", Baboon-ou.

If you and your little chums think that posting pictures of every foul that an All Black has ever committed on a Springbok or bleating endlessly about refs or blubbering like big babies about the other okes cheating is fun . . . or respects one of sports great rivalries . . . then please don't let me stop you.

Squeal away, stamp your little foot, tweet, launch a facebook campaign or whatever it is you whimpering little crybabies do . . . just don't assume that you speak for real rugby fans.
01 Oct 2013, 15:42
01 Oct 2013, 15:42#9
". . . after the game he will back to calling the ref and the ABS cheats again....what's the bet?"

Oh, like the last time I called the refs or the ABs cheats?

I assume you have some evidence of me calling anyone a cheat, Cloudy . . . (of course you do, otherwise what would that make you?) . . . but can I ask you to put that evidence up because I have no recollection of calling anyone a cheat. Just one quote will do . . . or if that's still too much to ask then just remind me which thread it was on. Thanks.
PapamoaClub Pro683 posts
01 Oct 2013, 17:02
01 Oct 2013, 17:02#10
 Agree roo, I have a great respect for SA rugby. They are very good at keeping the AB on guard. Some comments I find pretty amusing more than anything. I don't believe anyone here is shallow enough to take it personally. I think if we all watched a test together we would have a great time. We all have the same shared passion for rugby.
PapamoaClub Pro683 posts
01 Oct 2013, 17:05
01 Oct 2013, 17:05#11
Oh nice picture cloudy. Very hot  
kingcornPro3,695 posts
01 Oct 2013, 17:24
01 Oct 2013, 17:24#12
 I have been in a few bubs here in London where emotions between Kiwis and Springbok supporters got a bit out of hand, but that is normally towards the end when the guys have had a few pints and needling each other. Springbok supports can get quite emotional, especially when we are not doing so well and you have a few dodgy reff calls to go with it. 
On other occasions I have been around to a mates house with 20 odd springbok supporters and one lonely kiwi supporter planting himself smack bang in the middle of the room sporting his kiwi kit wearing a smug grin as the All Blacks go on to school the boks, but we all accepted the lost, a bit of gloating from my Kiwi mate and that was it. We move on, enjoy a some beers, get the braai vleis out and we talk about beating them the next time.
What I love about my Kiwi mates is that we can watch and enjoy the game together, talk about good players and the way our teams play, what is good and what is bad. What really count is that we are passionate about rugby and we watch both countries super rugby teams and admire each others quality players. We also talk about young talented players to watch out for. 
But then there is some idiots on here that just wants stir some kak as its the way to do it, not for me, fuck off to the pub and have face kick in mate.
01 Oct 2013, 17:40
01 Oct 2013, 17:40#13

Geez I hope the Boks don't get infected by any of this love thy neighbour stuff before the game. This is a hard rivalry.....the rivalry that spawned the Skinner, Tiny White, Dalton, Fergie McCormack, Thorne, Greyling, Nonu, Bismarck incidents. It's passionate as all great rivalries are. When you have passion you have dirty play, accusations, ref tampering, player tampering and out right cheating. That's all part of the history....but it's what makes the Bok/AB rivalry so much better than the bloodless  rivalries with Oz.

It's great having everybody on one site to debate these fine points. Let's not spoil it all by hugging each other!

PapamoaClub Pro683 posts
01 Oct 2013, 17:57
01 Oct 2013, 17:57#14
What ever moz, just when the AB win we don't want to hear any more pathetic excuses. Your team has all the advantage. It take a great team to beat the Boks at home. And many great AB have failed. This is the AB greatest battle ground. I won't make any excuses for a loss.  
kingcornPro3,695 posts
01 Oct 2013, 18:52
01 Oct 2013, 18:52#15
 I would love the springboks to have the opportunity to beat the best possible all black team. No excuses, they boys just need to pitch up, get their head in the game and leave the niggling alone and get on with it.
At this point I will take a win over trying to win the championship
01 Oct 2013, 19:04
01 Oct 2013, 19:04#16
Lol, sometimes I think we all enjoy the niggle between posters on here as much as the niggle in the Bok v AB contests . Nah, but it great fun & fills the void between games  
01 Oct 2013, 21:14
01 Oct 2013, 21:14#17
Cloudy, when your . . . ummm . . . wee self wakes up, if by any chance you actually want to substantiate your insulting lies, you could save yourself a bit of trouble by reading this post of mine from about a month ago where I specifically condemned South African supporters who are always going on about cheating and where you . . . yes YOU . . .  had the following to say in response to my comments:

"I was beginning to think there were no good bokke in here was starting to pine for abs.com then nek minnut hellooooo rooinek and cleancut"

Now, if you're starting to go a little red in the face and the decent part of you starts to feel a tiny bit uncomfortable, this would be a good place to post some kind of apology . . . unless of course you can produce some comment of mine where I accu sed All Blacks or refs of cheating, in which case I will gladly do the apologizing.

Until then, note that . . . in my eyes anyway . . . you are not much more than just another liar.
01 Oct 2013, 22:15
01 Oct 2013, 22:15#18
Is Meyer a worthy coach, is this Bok side the business? Well Saturdays test will tell all.

Nothing short of a Bok win at home will convince me that I got it wrong with Meyer as a coach and his selections of Kirchner, Basson, Morne, Pienaar, Vermaak, Steenkamp, Kruger, Louw and Alberts.

I like Meyer as a man and the style of play he is advocating is improving but is far from where it should be. Take Morne and Pienaar out of the equation and your major gameplan flaws are nullified. Pienaar has gone thank goodness but Morne still lurks.

He is without doubt selling us short on the selection front.......there are at least two better players per position than the players I list above.

01 Oct 2013, 22:16
01 Oct 2013, 22:16#19
Is Meyer a worthy coach, is this Bok side the business? Well Saturdays test will tell all.

Nothing short of a Bok win at home will convince me that I got it wrong with Meyer as a coach and his selections of Kirchner, Basson, Morne, Pienaar, Vermaak, Steenkamp, Kruger, Louw and Alberts.

I like Meyer as a man and the style of play he is advocating is improving but is far from where it should be. Take Morne and Pienaar out of the equation and your major gameplan flaws are nullified. Pienaar has gone thank goodness but Morne still lurks.

He is without doubt selling us short on the selection front.......there are at least two better players per position than the players I list above.

01 Oct 2013, 23:23
01 Oct 2013, 23:23#20

" Until then, note that . . . in my eyes anyway . . . you are not much more than just another liar" says RIProoi to Cloudy. I wouldn't bother answering if I was her....after all you never apologized for all the months when you falsely claimed  Jala peno wasn't really Rooinek.

I wonder what part of your psychosis allows you to live with those contradictions.

02 Oct 2013, 05:31
02 Oct 2013, 05:31#21

Cloudy, two things..You are to stupid to debate with. If you think your response to Rooinek via Mozart was clever or remotely putting Rooinek in his place then you are thicker than the average kiwi..

Second...The chick on your avatar is fucken average at best. Her breasts dont feature in the photo, probably resting on her lap and her face is nothing to write home about..If thats what NZL men get excited about, they should never go to SA because they would jizz their pants in a supermarket. I wont even take them near the beach..

02 Oct 2013, 05:54
02 Oct 2013, 05:54#22

I have no problem with women have an opinion on rugby when they know the game. I have seen no sign of this from you.

I would not argue about Saffa girls being prettier on the whole than kiwi's..That is not up for argument or debate. It is fact. The rest of the world will tell you as much.

Cloudy, I dont wana fight. I think we can learn from each other..How long does it take to make a lamb stew from scratch? Would you chop or slice the onions? ;-)

02 Oct 2013, 05:58
02 Oct 2013, 05:58#23
 Come now BL, Cloudy is by far the best looking poster on this site, with a nice way about her. I'm a fan.
02 Oct 2013, 07:29
02 Oct 2013, 07:29#24
Cloudy: great photo  even if you say it is not you you will break some hearts  ,  lolFunny how it has gone quite in the forum. My thinks there are a few anxious posters , lol  
02 Oct 2013, 07:58
02 Oct 2013, 07:58#25
 Rooitwit and Boklogic remember that manners maketh a MAN. One does not relate to woman like this - didn't your daddy teach you right?Yes Moz spot on I am a Cloudy fan as well.JW (at any cost) it's like a calm before a storm perhaps. The sheep (being nz) are dreading the approach of that awful day!Go Bokke time to arise and put the wee abs in their place.
KW
Kayne WestRookie28 posts
02 Oct 2013, 08:08
02 Oct 2013, 08:08#26

JW i think the South Africans are getting their much needed beauty sleep.

South Africa please send another replacement ambassador to NZ as Boklogic is proving too much of an embarrassment to your great country. 

He's hopelessly rude with zero social skills, foul mouthed, obnoxious , arrogant, ascerbic and a mysoginist.

Well said bambeano, bravo amigo but your countryman is a wacko, drongo, psycho, weirdo. 

KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
02 Oct 2013, 08:09
02 Oct 2013, 08:09#27
 But, after the game there should be no excuses.  The best team will win, nevermind the referee and 50/50 calls and this or that.  After the game both sides should sit back and say Rugby was the winner today.  We all know Nigel is pedantic and so do the players and the trick is no t to get caught up in the emotions of the day and that counts for us fans as well as the players.We can but hope that there is not another unsavoury incident that mars the contest of two great teams.
Daais viri Bokke - Skop gat manne!
02 Oct 2013, 08:19
02 Oct 2013, 08:19#28
Baboon-ou, I don't treat people on this forum based on their avatar pic. I really couldn't care if Dowdy is a young woman, an old frump, a man pretending to be a woman or a tranny from Thailand, if she/he is going to call me a liar without having the guts to back it up with even the tiniest shred of evidence (or else ignoring evidence that is clearly to the contrary) then she'd better learn to take it as well as dish it out . . . and no amount of unseemly snivelling or servile wheedling from you is going to change that.
02 Oct 2013, 08:22
02 Oct 2013, 08:22#29
"I have no problem with women have an opinion on rugby when they know the game. I have seen no sign of this from you."

What we have seen is evidence that Dowdy hasn't got the vaguest clue about the off side law. Get this, she thought  players had to be a certain distance from one another at a 22m drop out. I'm not even joking!

Waaaaaaahahahahahaha!
02 Oct 2013, 08:29
02 Oct 2013, 08:29#30

Sharkbok

Thanks for that doggie pic.   The American dog owner must really have a sense of humour.   "I did not have sex with that Women" Clinton (after she gave him BJ's) being shit on by the doggie - is really a classic.  

02 Oct 2013, 08:47
02 Oct 2013, 08:47#31
 Now now rooitwit I see you are getting in a froth again.
Cloudy is a great woman and its a pleasure she comes here and expresses her opinion right or wrong. It is just not right to attack a woman like that rooitwit so please shape up as you are disgracing all us saffa guys. We don't beat up on woman oak. Yes say you think she is mistaken put keep it decent.
I do note you started  this thread in a very sanctimonious mood and ended up in a vintage rooitwit mood. It was too good to last!! 

02 Oct 2013, 08:52
02 Oct 2013, 08:52#32

Rooinek

I am all for peace in the valley - but hope for a really good debate on the match on Saturday - hoping that fans stick to facts not imagination.

Something emotional is also in order.   Many years ago a friend of mine and myself went to Loftus Versveld to watch a game between Northern Transvaal (those days) and WP.   He had the audacity to wear a Stellenbosch University Blazer and I a University Cap.  As we were going up the pavilion to take our seats - we were met by a cloud of naartjies (for the English speakers it is a variant of oranges - but soft skin and contents).  

However, it was a memorable match - mainly because Uli Schmidt of Northern Transvaal  made an absolute asshole of himself.   After Engelbrecht was tackled he came from nowhere and fell on Jannie Engelbrecht and broke his left collar bone.   Jannie stayed on the field and scored two runaway tries starting in the WP 22.   After the first try the Schmidt episode was repeated and the injury aggravated - but Engelbrecht still stayed on the field and scored the second try.   As the game went on the crowd got quieter and quieter - and as WP won we forgave the lot around us for the naartjie reception.   That is the spirit that should prevail under the present circumstances.

Men of steel they had those days - not like at present, when Carter whimped out after a hard tackle.  LOL

Now back to the game on Saturday - my heart wants the Springboks to win - my brain says that with Meyer's defective selections they will not win - agree in the main here with Saffex.   What a quandary to be in. 

02 Oct 2013, 09:52
02 Oct 2013, 09:52#33
 "I have a friend who is a clinical psychologist . . . blah blah blah . . ."

Hmmm . . . I must be honest, Dowdy, I'm finding that quite hard to believe. Not the bit about this person being a clinical psychologist, it's the bit about you having friends that I'm struggling with.
02 Oct 2013, 10:10
02 Oct 2013, 10:10#34
Rooinek: I know that you must find it difficult to make friends (your personality is not conducive to this).  But don't assume others have this deficiency  it just reveals more about you than we care to know.Generally I like your rugby posts though 
02 Oct 2013, 10:13
02 Oct 2013, 10:13#35
JW, I fail to see how this has got anything to do with you . . . unless Dowdy has asked you to help her find examples of me accusing refs or All Blacks of cheating? Well? Have you had any luck yet?
hakwaPro4,146 posts
02 Oct 2013, 10:23
02 Oct 2013, 10:23#36
 Rooi, Beeno is right - you are destroying the spirit of your own post!
02 Oct 2013, 10:27
02 Oct 2013, 10:27#37
No hakwa, you're wrong. I'm not having a go at Dowdy because she (he?) is from New Zealand, I'm having a go at Dowdy because she made some untruthful allegations and she's too cowardly to back them up with any kind of evidence.

Understand the difference? It's not a nationality thing, I just don't like liars and cowards . . . wherever they may come from.

I'm also not about to make an exception (as Baboon-ou suggests I should) just because the other poster has an avatar of a pretty girl.
hakwaPro4,146 posts
02 Oct 2013, 10:37
02 Oct 2013, 10:37#38
 I know Cloudy Rooi - she is not pedantic like most men are on this site and it is not that important anyway to her. The simple truth is she's probably forgotten what she said  otherwise I enjoyed your post.
02 Oct 2013, 10:42
02 Oct 2013, 10:42#39
"Forgotten"? Even though what she said is on this very thread and I gave her a link to a post that refuted her claims?

Hmmm . . . if you're right then I'm not sure "pedantic" would be the right adjective to describe her in this case. I can think of quite a few more suitable adjectives.
02 Oct 2013, 10:51
02 Oct 2013, 10:51#40
 Hey guys..I give up..Im revealing myself...This is really me..Hope you boys are gona treat me better??
Beeno, you are very right bro..Manners maketh a man but what maketh a women? I treat the women in my life exactly how they need to be treated..I dont need to "impress" women on a message board. Especially ones that mouth off first.
I am more than happy to debate old "heads in the cloudy" but respect is a two way street.
↓ LOAD MORE (page 2 of 3)