FORUM / RUGBY /  A bit of perspective before we declare victory

A bit of perspective before we declare victory

Started by Mozart48 REPLIES1,487 VIEWS· 27 Nov 2022, 18:03
27 Nov 2022, 18:03
27 Nov 2022, 18:03#1

Face it, on the day this English team was horrible. They missed their kicks….their scrum imploded as I predicted before the game….their play maker was hurt….their discipline disappeared. We seem to have their measure.

But we lost against Ireland and France, the two teams ahead of us in the rankings and played no rugby until Willemse had the imagination to attack from deep. A try that should never have been scored against a top team.

We also finished second in the RC.

The good news is Nienaber had a chance to function as a coach and he allowed the team to play rugby. And we discovered it’s easier to win running in space rather than bashing through the middle.

We also have the makings of an exciting backline with just Dud Allende as the last obstacle. 

But none of this will matter next year if we can’t put matches together and win the close ones. The other thing that goes unmentioned is the crucial role of Etzebeth. He single handedly turned around the Italian game and provides the grunt that allows us to field a mobile number 5 lock. If he gets hurt kiss your WC goodbye.

Two days ago everything was broken, now everything is fixed ….neither case is true. What we have seen is a template that seems to work and makes for a much more exciting Bok team. Now we need to make it consistent and programmable, not reliant on the vagaries of the opponent.

27 Nov 2022, 18:39
27 Nov 2022, 18:39#2

Do you have any perspective at all?     The one thing is clear and you have not understood in 2018 and in 2022 - a squad for the WC in 2023 is being developed and in some cases alternatives have to be found.  In other words of the players used are experimental  to see whether they can fit in and even improve on performances  of the players they will ultimately replace in the WC squad.   

There is really no other - your summary is BS in buckets.   In 2004 the Springboks and the AB's and the Aussies were equal on the point count and the Springboks won the trophy by 1 point insofar as scores were concerned.     In 2022 the AB's and the Springboks were on the same ranking points and the AB's won the trophy because they scored 3 more points in matches than the Springboks did.   

Now let us look at the normal Mozarrt hopeless campaign against De Allende and Du Toit regarded worldwide by real rugby experts as top class players, but Mozart regards them is poor and to be replaced.    Luckily, we have real rugby experts who see through the BS of the rugby idiots like you              

27 Nov 2022, 19:26
27 Nov 2022, 19:26#3
Farrell has never been a playmaker Any side that draws with the AB’s is a pretty handy side Here is perspective for you. We should have beaten Ireland and France. I bet if we played them in the next 2 weekends we would turn them over We got robbed against Ireland by an insult of a ref - that second Irish try should never have been allowed on 2 counts and not selecting a recognised kicker cost us We dominated France but the red card killed our road to victory albeit we still came close This Bok side is on the up thanks to a change is tactics - dominate the opposition forwards and then let the likes of Willemse, Willie, Arendse and Kolbe weave their magic. That will even get better with the return of Am. The pack will be thst much better with the return of Lood and PSDT Pollard back will be a positive as well That’s perspective - losing narrowly away from home against number 1 and 2, both games we should of won then thumping England, who are always a challenge at Twickers - that’s perspective Now we just need RG Snyman fit for the WC
27 Nov 2022, 19:33
27 Nov 2022, 19:33#4

We've came within a whisker of beating the 1st and 2nd ranked teams in their own back yards...playing with 14 for more than half the match vs France...and we were playing without a recognized 10 or kicker...the glass is way more than half full...and to top it all, we thoroughly beat the Poms with a couple of regular Bok starters back at their clubs ...my beer chalice runs over!!! 

Deus Ex LemurPro2,355 posts
27 Nov 2022, 19:49
27 Nov 2022, 19:49#5

We played poorly this year Draad. I cannot think of one genuinely solid performance. We eventually overcame Italy, after Kwagga turned the game on its head (I should note the raw power of Eben as well), and flayed a very poor England performance. I find it quite remarkable, if any previous Bok coach had a year like this, he would have been under pressure to get real results. And this in a time where there is not a single great or outstanding test nation. The world has indeed gone crazy. 

Stavanger1Pro4,532 posts
27 Nov 2022, 19:51
27 Nov 2022, 19:51#6

Any side that draws with the AB’s is a pretty handy side

Don't think England are great at the moment to be honest.

5 wins, 1 draw and 6 losses is their yearly record. 3 of those wins came against Wales, Italy and Japan. Yes they won down in Australia 2-1 but I don't think the Wallabies are particularly great either at the moment though in fairness they are utterly injury ravaged at the moment.

We got robbed against Ireland by an insult of a ref - that second Irish try should never have been allowed on 2 counts and not selecting a recognised kicker cost us

I like the way none of the outraged South African fans said anything about the clear neck roll by Kolisi on the Irish player who knocked the ball out of the ruck in the lead up to the 2nd try.

Not knocking the Boks, they will be serious contenders when it come to the World Cup and have the capability of beating anyone. There isn't much to choose the top 4 ranked teams, all very competitive. Do think there is abit of a gulf back to the other teams though/

27 Nov 2022, 19:55
27 Nov 2022, 19:55#7

At present we live off of opponents not having a good day. We have looked very poor against every serious effort. 

27 Nov 2022, 20:34
27 Nov 2022, 20:34#8

We were dismal yesterday. I’m struggling to remember a time when we were so devoid of answers and so lacking in physicality. 

Well done to SA. 

27 Nov 2022, 21:53
27 Nov 2022, 21:53#9

If ands or buts, these things tend to balance out over a season. We were 8 and 5. There were some encouraging moments and some sense we are emerging from the Stampkar rugby Harrassmiss has championed. Now if he would only go away we might actually become an exciting team.

28 Nov 2022, 00:38
28 Nov 2022, 00:38#10
Moz you do realise that any decision made relating to the Boks has Rassie’s print all over it He pulls the strings sometimes from a distance Rassie is going nowhere thank goodness He will probably take us to another WC victory Rassie is a class act - best coach we have had
28 Nov 2022, 00:57
28 Nov 2022, 00:57#11

He pulls the strings sometimes from a distance

Funny you were arguing against this a little time ago. Saffex in the dictionary: "The shifting of goal posts in order to correct an overzealous gaff with the benefit of hindsight, when the gaff has actually been spotted". 

28 Nov 2022, 01:29
28 Nov 2022, 01:29#12
No you stupid prick I have never argued against it I’ve said we have struggled when Rassie is not physically present and that’s a fact But Rassie certainly has input either in person or from a distance
28 Nov 2022, 04:15
28 Nov 2022, 04:15#13

Sure but this last week it seems  he was mostly preoccupied by himself.

OI
oimateyPro1,870 posts
28 Nov 2022, 06:03
28 Nov 2022, 06:03#14

SO refreshing to see the attack from deep, even from inside their own try zone. If anything because at last the attack has some unpredictability, and I include those cheeky drop goals in there. 

Combine that with continued Bok set piece dominance, unmatched physicality and a defence that is amongst the best in the world and its a recipe for success in the WC.

Should also add Kolisi's leadership has been stellar. The boys seem to really respect and respond to him

Just need our kicker back. 

28 Nov 2022, 08:53
28 Nov 2022, 08:53#15
Jawellnofine Stav, & belated congrats, 2 outa 2 ain't bad & in both games you could've won by more .
28 Nov 2022, 11:10
28 Nov 2022, 11:10#16

There's a blast from the past!

Nice to see you posting oimatey. You going to stay around?

kingcornPro3,695 posts
28 Nov 2022, 12:43
28 Nov 2022, 12:43#17

As the saying goes Mozart, one swallow doesn't make a summer. 

Agree, we came close to beating Oiland the La Fromage but we lost. Red cards are ruining the game and especially this head contact nonsense. The only red card that should be dished out is when a player deliberately intend to do damage to a player. I'm on the fence when it comes to Thomas Du Toit shoulder to the head, I don't think he intended to hit the guy in the head, but probably wanted to knock him back, that said, it was really poor technique, the same can be said of Du Pont. In that case, I wonder whether forcing a sub where the players game is over, have to pay a penalty. That could change the coaches strategy but at least the audience don't suffer. 

On Eben, very good point, we don't have a Eben at all at the moment, but the boks always seem to find a quality 4 lock like Eben. Before him it was Bakkies, but really dirty, we had Mark Andrews. I won't mention Flip van der Merwe. We could have had Willemse, but now he is a Frenchman. 

Moerat is not the answer and Orie should never put the bok jumper on. Jenkins looks solid but not an enforcer or someone that can give us go forward ball like Eben does. What I like about Eben is that he is the smarter version of Bakkies. 

Also, I'm going to name drop, I've never met Eben and his family but my uncle and his sons use to Wrestle with Eben's father and brothers for SA. So Eben knows how to grapple. That side of the family takes no nonsense at all. Probably helps when you have multi disciplined athletes. 

TH
TheTraditionalistPro4,003 posts
28 Nov 2022, 13:50
28 Nov 2022, 13:50#18

A try that should never have been scored against a top team.

Against a top team is too exclusive. Against a less naive team is a proper measurement.

The English coach is a firm believer in experience, experience wins games, experience wins WCs.

Yet despite the large number of caps, the English players showed naivety in many actions.

While the victory by SA rugby was announced weeks if not months ago, that try coming from nowhere sank the english side. It put an early end to the game. The try came from unusual naivety. Up to that try, SA rugby, even if they would end up winning the game, was not dominating.

To the point, this game will not lead to a new assessment. The English coach will keep to his cap number based policy. Even though experienced players showed they were not immune to naivety.

TH
28 Nov 2022, 13:54
28 Nov 2022, 13:54#19

We were dismal yesterday.

Despite of it, the English side could have stayed way longer in the game without exhibition of naivety as  players did.

EN is on the right side of the table for the WC, it will only take to perform one or two games to win the crown.

TH
28 Nov 2022, 14:03
28 Nov 2022, 14:03#20

Any side that draws with the AB’s is a pretty handy side

Such a rewriting. A two week old game.

Circumstances matter. For 70 minutes, the EN side was largely dominated by the NZ side. A NZ side that scored tries from structured and conceived play (nothing to do with the out of nowhere try by SA rugby awarded by EN players' naivety)

It took a lot of favourable circumstances (a ref who took pity of the frustrated attempts to score by the EN side and awarded a very generous penalty try, a yellow card that came to double the penalty and a determination to save a series by getting a result against NZ among other things)

The result should concern NZ as they lost a comfortable lead in 10 minutes. It also killed the chances of EN against SA rugby as the draw took too much from players. And they paid it by being unfresh for the game against SA rugby.

TH
28 Nov 2022, 14:06
28 Nov 2022, 14:06#21

The only red card that should be dished out is when a player deliberately intend to do damage to a player.

Ah, the intent. One measure for the new governing type brought over the last two centuries.

All is in the intent.

An intent is hard to establish, even with a letter of intents.

At the moment, only the action is assessed. If ever a suspicion of intent exists, then the punishment is made heavier.

28 Nov 2022, 16:24
28 Nov 2022, 16:24#22

Spot on in your comments Matey. Welcome back.

28 Nov 2022, 16:34
28 Nov 2022, 16:34#23
I was touched by the relationship Kolisi has with the opposition. They clearly respect and like him Genge was having a long chat with him after the game with plenty of hugs thrown in. Same applied with a few other England player Kolisi is a great player and a good leader
28 Nov 2022, 18:35
28 Nov 2022, 18:35#24

"Kolisi is a great player and a good leader"

But his role is a bit different to that of Bok captains of the past...hence the obvious assistance he gets from the other leaders in the team...the Bok Captain is also a diplomatic appointment in SA...ignoring that is stupid.

28 Nov 2022, 18:42
28 Nov 2022, 18:42#25

Kolisi is a totally optional player in a rugby sense. Not a power loosie, he should be making his contribution in defense and turning over the ball. But he is regularly low in the tackle count and flinches away from fetching duties much of the time, although he occasionally shows an aptitude.

And any captain who isn’t needed in the last 20 minutes of close tests is clearly not an on the field necessity.

It all works in the spin cycle and with a willing media’s positive spin on small contributions.

TH
28 Nov 2022, 18:59
28 Nov 2022, 18:59#26

Should also add Kolisi's leadership has been stellar. The boys seem to really respect and respond to him

SA rugby lack of rugby is a powerful sleeping pill. Still...

The quota captain was once again substituted, this time with friction as he did not seem pleased by the decision.

By all means, this guy has the back up of certain players in the squad whereas others hate him (like the ginger headed prop)

SA rugby team is extremely divided. Not talking about the unavoidable personality conflicts that exist in any human group.

SA rugby players have nothing in common to bring them up as a united group. The only hyphen between them is the paycheck, as it could be expected from mercenaries.

Pointless to hide what is so glaringly obvious to be seen by anyone.

28 Nov 2022, 19:55
28 Nov 2022, 19:55#27

"And any captain who isn’t needed in the last 20 minutes of close tests is clearly not an on the field necessity."

Go tell that to Wynand Claassen...rugby is a team sport also played off the pitch between tests...you are looking for something to complain about...back in 2017 I thought the Bokke will never really run with the top dogs again..

A year later Rassie transformed the side into a unit who could take on any team at any venue and win...remarkable...but you are looking for reasons to downplay Bok success,  just because you hate Rassie...and yes, it's not dislike,  it's hate...and it's not reasonable no matter how much trauma some specific rock-spider inflicted on you...don't give in too Rooi's weaknesses...

28 Nov 2022, 20:11
28 Nov 2022, 20:11#28

The Boks do not play good rugby. The Boks haven't shown improvement in their attack. Our best player, Kwagga, is on the bench for the least capable person in the squad. We end the year with more questions than answers. There, simples.

28 Nov 2022, 20:30
28 Nov 2022, 20:30#29

Draad that’s pathetic….. you are just channeling woke-speak. I don’t like Erasmus as a coach, nothing to do with him being Afrikaans. And I don’t think Kolisi is a real on the field captain, nothing to do with him being black.

29 Nov 2022, 00:46
29 Nov 2022, 00:46#30
Kolisi is definitely an on field captain but in the modern game more reliance is placed on spreading the leadership At test level a captain should not need to hold his troops hands by being on the field for 80 min Kolisi is a power player, who is our best attacking forward. He often puts in huge hits and is great at disrupting rucks. He is a good linking forward. He is not tasked with effecting turnovers as a primary role like some 6’s but is more than capable He is a great player in some good form right now - he works really well with Rassie an astute and brilliant coach who is a great player manager
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
29 Nov 2022, 08:37
29 Nov 2022, 08:37#31
There is plenty still to be done by Rassie and Jacques as our Rugby style has a a lot of room for movement.....I Personally did like Rassie until I saw how the 2019 wc victory went straight to his head....and mostly making it all about himself  hence my words was turned around by Beeno Biscuits, that we turn like the tide....not true as it's most important, as I said, he has to keep his head in the game.
29 Nov 2022, 11:01
29 Nov 2022, 11:01#32

" I don’t like Erasmus as a coach, nothing to do with him being Afrikaans"

I know you are not anti Afrikaner, but you dislike some of our less endearing traits, as do I...but your dislike for the man comes from his playing days...and it looks like something more than just personality...

I am sorry for my harsh response and although I'm irritable at your persistent critique, I did not mean to imply that you are a bigot...I am however aware of the abuse my fellow Afrikaans people directed at English people in the past...and vice versa...I think relations are much better these days, but it left scars in the past.

29 Nov 2022, 11:07
29 Nov 2022, 11:07#33

PS, the Woke A genda is part and parcel of everyday life in South Africa...no escaping it...and it's not all bad.

29 Nov 2022, 11:22
29 Nov 2022, 11:22#34
Saffex, we disagree on some players and agree on others. Your contributions are generally routed in some semi-sensible reasoning… …but this statement… “Kolisi is a power player, who is our best attacking forward.” Please tell me that you don’t actually mean it.
29 Nov 2022, 11:49
29 Nov 2022, 11:49#35
"I am sorry for my harsh response . . ."
"I'm really sorry Master. It won't ever happen again Master. I think whatever you think Master . . ."
Ugh! Such servile and obsequious arselicking is actually hard to stomach. Someone needs to grow a spine!

29 Nov 2022, 12:14
29 Nov 2022, 12:14#36

Is that all you've got Rudenek?...and you should be the last person on this site lecturing anyone about having a back-bone...it takes spine to acknowledge when you are wrong. I've even apologised to you in the past...something you have tried before, but couldn't properly tie down...good luck with it going forward...good thing I believe in miracles.

29 Nov 2022, 12:16
29 Nov 2022, 12:16#37
I wanted to say that you should grow a personality, Rooi. But that would be wrong, because you already have one…albeit one that i wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. Like that big nasty tree in one’s garden that should have been dealt with years ago but never was and is now too big to go back from. Tell us, how many KGs did you lose this weekend while visiting PornHub in VR? Stop “jabbing” yourself so much bro…it’s not healthy. Draad, we know the type. That angry little wanker that sits in the corner of the bar. So used to being a keyboard warrior and so frustrated that he doesn’t have the goods to back up his words IRL. He then has one too many, the lines become blurred and he says the wrong thing to the wrong person…eats one shot and goes down like a sack of drunken shyte. Inevitably his lady friend ends up saving his skin and she gets help carrying him to the car. Tomorrow’s he’s back on here…the only place he feels safe.
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
29 Nov 2022, 13:41
29 Nov 2022, 13:41#38

Having good manners and some etiquette actually increases your spine....instead of being a doos not knowing how to communicate....let that sink in Rosie 

29 Nov 2022, 15:48
29 Nov 2022, 15:48#39

Mrs Searle gets schooled….hahaha….what a prick.

AJHPro3,183 posts
29 Nov 2022, 17:24
29 Nov 2022, 17:24#40

Becs you will not have to struggle any longer.

2019 WORLD CUP FINAL.

Remember now.

Good.