Boks will beat NZ
According to the confused mozzzz and Org the Boks have no chance against the kiwi ballerinas. Our game cant be effective against them. They forget we beat these guys in NZ. They forget the Argies beat the wee abs last year.
No we are in with a good chance and provided we get a fair ref a win could well happen.
mozzz and org meanwhile have now sunk to a wee cc level where they hope the Boks lose just so they will have some sort of ammunition against R assie.
Beeno reading the the whole scenario like an open book! Hahahahahhaahahahah
If the Boks can continue to build up some of their good backlines attacking play this weekend, before the All-Black test- then the Boks should certainly win.
Still, it would be nice to get Kolbe and Mapimpi into the game more to end the game as a contest when the Bok pack is in periods of dominance. This weekend had a more attacking play with the backline passing down the line or back to the blindside winger - just t o keep the opposition guessing.
Nothing the Boks have done on attack is adequate up to this point. They absolutely cannot create space and struggle to coordinate beyond one phase when it is there. Our best players are becoming anonymous and some look to be losing their sharp vision. The entire Bok game is this: Maul for penalties, kick wonky high balls and wait for the opposition to knock on and we have a penalty or advantage from gathering the loose ball. That's it. The coaching team is absolutely out of its depth.
On paper who is better? The All Black backline is better. The All Black front row is on par. Our main advantage is lock, depending on who plays. The All Blacks often exploit Lood, and don't even consider Steph, who they also target and expose whether or be lock or flank.
The Boks have some good players, not they simply aren't producing anything. It's the most backward and simplistic gameplan. When the opponents we have played went through phases we look to fold like a deck of cards. Josè and Krutch have gotten too many selections wrong. Kolisi, Lood, Damian, Steph, Willemse, Fassi and the like must go. We need to put the ball in the hands of our best players and put our best defenders in primary positions. This is simple stuff. Then the gameplan needs an entire overhaul. It isn't cutting it.
It's never impossible that we beat New Zealand, but it's not likely. They absorb our physicality and make us look absolutely bereft of ideas. On attack, we have regressed markedly since 2018. This is the most limited Bok side in my lifetime. They simply have nothing but the shallow high balls and mauls. Their shapes, patterns and set plays are a 2/10. Before yesterday I thought there was a little bit of progress but after yesterday I simply give up.
So tell us Dave, what happened when almost exactly this team last played the ABs. I guess your theory is we got better during Harrasmus’ chicken run?
The funny thing is this. The only game under Josè where we were the dominant team and he buggered it up! You just can't make this stuff up. Best Bok coach? Best coach in the world? You've got to be kidding me. There are dozens of coaches that are better than this. I used to talk to grassroots Aussie coaches and they laughed at this kind of coaching.
New Zealand kept us at arms length that day and we had nothing. The truth is the Josè bag of tricks emptied in 2018 so he hung his hat on the simplist of models and got lucky. I believe he likes thiss simple model a lot because he can control everything. Nothing is left to the player to think. Just do. Josè is quite obviously a control freak. Well, he has regressed the Boks. No Bok shone in that World Cup. The Lions series was the greatest letdown to pretty much everyone. The lowest quality rugby you could possibly fathom. All we have is kick and hope, with the odd pop to a blunt runner. Skop 'N Pop. Where are we now? Bottom of the pile on attacking output. Even with a game advantage and we still are 3rd and 4th. After years of howling about kicking, how Meyer's wins were moral losses, how we needed more ambition yada yada yada, after all that, you plastics settle for this. You are too ignorant to see how exposed you all are. South Africans... wow. Nothing quite like it.
You guys always talk a good Bok game - yes exactly that - talk about it.
The Bok physicality has never worried the AB's and nor has it hindered the AB's beating the Boks.
It is very easy to sit there and talk about it - But that does not mean much when the Ab's are on the field.
It is more to the point that you hope that Boks can do this / The Boks can do that - They normally can't when they play the AB's.
It's a bit arrogant claiming we will beat NZ. We certainly have a good chance, but the Allblacks remain the benchmark and deserve the respect they've earned over the years.
I am sure the AB's look forward to their next meeting with the Boks.
Saffex will be way off the mark with his predictions again.
Springbok record vs New Zealand in the professional era:
Played 62
Won 16
Lost 44
Drawn 2
Why are we beating our chests?
'Say it isn't so Joe'
Would have been a shorter answer if you'd asked it the other way around but here you go, based on the last two respective starting XVs only . . .
15 Willie le Roux / Damian Mckenzie14 Cheslin Kolbe / Will Jordan13 Lukhanyo Am / Rieko Ioane12 Damien de Allende / David Havili11 Makazole Mapimpi / Sevu Reece10 Handre Pollard / Richie Mo'unga9 Cobus Reinach / Aaron Smith8 Jasper Wiese / Ardie Savea7 Franco Mostert / Akira Ioane6 Siya Kolisi / Dalton Papalii5 Lood de Jager / Sam Whitelock4 Marvin Orie / Brodie Retallick3 Thomas du Toit / Nepo Laulala2 Malcolm Marx / Codie Taylor1 Trevor Nyakane / George Bower
That's 10 All Blacks to 5 Springboks. Marx vs Taylor is a 50/50 but I gave us the benefit of the doubt.
Ja, we have had very few chances of beating the all blacks. The only chance you may get is straight after a world cup when they change coaches and trying to figure out where to go next. Even then they win most of their games.
The only time the boks actually dominated the All Blacks was back in 2009. We won all our games against them, not to mention a bok laden babarians team were able to beat the All Blacks that year, but they bounce back the following year and dominated rugby for 9 years with back to back WC, although the 2011 win was questionable and the AB were all over the show. 2015 was probably their best year. But they came undone against the lions and drew the series.
They also made a massive error by bringing inexperience players into the team that should never have started. The did the same in the WC where the swapped Smith for younger players and it backfired.
Maybe they get to arrogant with young players who end up loosing them the game.
Richi Muanga is an unbelievable talent. Probably better than Dan Carter. Just so frustrating that NZ can produce these players.
Yes, I want to beat NZ, all the time. But lets get real.
Yes, I had this crash ball rugby Rassie has brought on. But we are winning most of our games.
Although, Johan Goosen and Jake White showed how the boks can be beaten.
But the boks are playing to their strengths. We have very big skillful players in our tight five and can easily put out 3 world class tight fives. So why what Rassie did is right, but wish we could do a bit more.
But if Engalnd, Irealnd, Wales, Australia etc were able to play this brand of rugby and win, then they would. Yes, it is not entertaining, but it gets results
Saffex, I'm not bashing De Allende and Am. I like them both and I'm pretty sure they're the best combo we have available but they're not nearly as creative or effective on attack as the All Black centres. I think I'd pick Am ahead of Jack Goodhue or Anton Lienert-Brown but not ahead of Rieko Ioane. I'd pick both David Havili and Ngani Laumape ahead of de Allende and I'm not sure if you've seen the Waikato centre Quinn Tupaea yet, but he's a monster who's only appeared in one AB test so far but already looks destined for greatness.
Your question implied we were dealing with the current sides but if I had to pick the best possible combined AB/Springbok XV I reckon it would still be at least 10-5 to the All Blacks . . . at best.
Have to disagree on Reiko Ioane Rooi. ALB is by far our best centre and can play either 12 or 13. The only reason Reiko is there at present is because ALB had a minor knee niggle. Reiko will be shunted back to wing as he doesn’t quite cut it at centre. ALB and Goodhue (injured) are our best midfield combination with Ennor close behind and Quinn Tupaea waiting for his chance in the wings.
I know which midfield I’d rather have.
Note this is my own personal opinion not a “fact” as the know all Saffex would say.
Oops, left Havili out altogether there. What depth we have!
I'd far rather you were right but I don't think you are.
I think us Springbok supporters in general overrate our own backs and underrate the All Blacks forwards. I don't think we'll get too much change out of the set pieces and I have no doubt the All Blacks will be more effective than us in using what possession they get.
Hopefully we'll see who is right in a few weeks time . . . and that doesn't mean I won't be supporting the Bokke.
If you switch some of the players against Argentina, with players that are now available-
15 Willie le Roux / Damian Mckenzie (tie). 14 Cheslin Kolbe / Will Jordan13 Lukhanyo Am / Rieko Ioane12 Damien de Allende / David Havili11 Makazole Mapimpi / Sevu Reece10 Handre Pollard / Richie Mo'unga9 Faff De Klerk/ Aaron Smith8 Duane Vermeulen / Ardie Savea7 Franco Mostert / Akira Ioane6 Siya Kolisi / Dalton Papalii5 Lood de Jager / Sam Whitelock4 Eztebeth / Brodie Retallick 3 Malherbe / Nepo Laulala2 Malcolm Marx / Codie Taylor1 Trevor Nyakane / George Bower
As good as Brodie is, you have to find a place for Eben in the combined team...one of the 2 will have to play 5...2 best locks in the world by some distance, and both play 4...if I have to choose, I'll reluctantly pick Eben...he is the better classic 4. Brodie brings more to the general game, but Eben is the better enforcer and does all his lock duties par excellence. (IMO...moola) Vital cog in the Bok engine. ..and every team he plays for.
I agree Eben is the best lock in the game today….has been for the last two years. Aaron Smith has looked brilliant in the Oz matches. I’m not particularly sold on Havili. To me it looks more like 50/50 in players….but
The NZ scrum looked vulnerable against Oz. And al most regardless of who we have chosen in the front row our scrum looked dominant against the Lions. I think it won us the series. If NZ don’t have the means to scrum reliably the Boks could surprise us.
Seriously, what does this lumbering oaf actually deliver . . . other than his laughable "looks how tough I are I can even smiles for you" routine?
Yes, he may be useful if you're in a gang of armed Dutchmen picking on a little coloured bloke but we're talking about usefulness on the rugby field here.
For one thing Etzebeth is the best short lineout jumper in the game….never loses his own throw and often wins crucial lineouts against the throw.
Bakkies is the better enforcer and more of a hard ruck hitting player. Eben is very strong and a reliable defender. He often sets the tone for a game. When Eben is in the mood for battle he lifts the entire team. Before the Wellington test of 2018, it was Eben who rallied the troops before the game. It was Eben who set the level of intensity of the Boks. Whilst Damian and Steph were floundering out of their depth, the likes of Eben and Mostert fought to keep the Boks in the game. It sums him up. We have a lot of passive players in the team, Eben isn't one of them. He is a real competitor like Frans, he wants to face the challenge head-on and dominate the opposition. If he ever has an off day or is contained, it has a telling affect on the Boks. Like the Lions series. We need to make him more of a focal point.
"Seriously, what does this lumbering oaf actually deliver . . . other than his laughable "looks how tough I are I can even smiles for you" routine?
Yes, he may be useful if you're in a gang of armed Dutchmen picking on a little coloured bloke but we're talking about usefulness on the rugby field here.
Comments like these show just how much of a bigoted doos you really are. Welsh dwarf with a chip on your shoulder...get a life arsehole...or do the country a favor and p!ssoff back to Wales.
The Bok physicality is not effective against the AB's.
The AB's play what is in front of them so any assessment about their performances against the Wallabies is way off the mark.
When the AB's play the Boks there is a completely different mentality and the dynamics will be completely shifted.
All the statements on here have always proved wrong when playing NZ.
Even Mallets comments are way off the mark - The so called Bok forward dominance has never worked against NZ.
So - The Boks will beat NZ is all hypothetical bullshit.
Trying to talk a good B ok game in reference to NZ just does not work.