Hi John.
The great pretender is a dork and i hope the ABs tackle his lanky arse into oblivion.
Hi John.
The great pretender is a dork and i hope the ABs tackle his lanky arse into oblivion.
Vote the spammer off Plummie, you dolt.
Pak, Im also not sure about this oke.
What makes you think he's a spammer?
Re Pendergast - I cannot wait for his to be be blown over by the Bokke. Great with ball in hand, but a liability without it.
John isn't a spammer, Pakie.
If you didn't have your face buried inbetween Hollie's boobs 24/7 you'd know that John is one of the chaps from the site articles - I think
See under his name...it says "Ref"
Also, I thought of a new business venture for you. Pakie se Pies. Haha and if you change just one letter in that name it could be a vleispaleis ;)
...and for that I wanna lifetime supply of pepper steak pies please.
And on that note, why do other pies even exist?
I could argue a case for mutton curry...but if you order a chicken and mushroom, cheese and onion, mince or plain steak pie then we can't be friends because you have no culture.
I'm with you Plum, only I have a slightly different order. I'll look for the mutton curry pie first and if they don't have it I'll have the pepper steak. If they don't have that then I'll eat something else. They are the only two pies for me.
Careful, Rooi.
We are both mega fans of Javier Bardem in No Country...and now we both like the same pies!
If you manage to get your hands on The Sea Inside from 2004, do watch it. Also Bardem, before he was big time, and it haunts me to this day.
how the f did this convo go from Prendergast to pies so quickly?
To be fair, I'm sure it's not only us. What self-respecting person would buy a chicken and mushroom pie or a cornish pasty? I think other pies are made just to push the sales of the only two that count.
Will check out The Sea Inside.
Pak, Im also not sure about this oke.
What makes you think he's a spammer?
The profile only joined the site today and proceeded with 3 duplicate posts. Strikes me as spammy but, of course, this may be one of those extremely rare instances where I am wrong. Maybe Ed can enlighten us before his friend gets voted off.
Regarding pasteitjies, I'm not big on pepper steak. A proper home made mince sausage roll, not the mass produced stuff that looks and tastes like it has donkey ball paste inside, but a proper one is a delight. So too 'n lekker sparerib or pulled pork pie properly seasoned. We also once, long ago, made excellent springbok pies but the recipe was experimental and is long gone now. I mean, I'm not really a venison oke, but those pies slapped. A good mutton pie, curry or not, is always good - again, if you season it properly. Nah man pies are too much fun to restrict it to just one type. So much experimenting to do for the adventurous culinary tosser. Chicken mushroom can fuck right off though.
I'll let you know when Pakie se Piel is up and running, Plummie. Just have to stroke out some of the details and stiffen my resolve.
"how the f did this convo go from Prendergast to pies so quickly?"
Entropy, my friend.
"Chicken mushroom can fuck right off though."
Good save.
lets not judge too quickly.
you muffins have kicked a few okes off of here before he got a chance to breathe.
This jonny oke made a relevant post.. and like Mike, he managed to post 3 times.
Be patient my little dumplings.
Tim Rodber used to be very complimentary about my dumplings, Chippo ;)
The padstal right outside Robertson makes one mean-ass venison pie...but pepper steak, mutton curry or plain steak are my go to's in that order...Houwhoek outside Grabouw on the way to Caledon/Hermanus is my favorite pie haven....man, you can't go wrong...and damn, these Yanks only eat fruit pie, pecan pie...and the sacrilegeous abomination called pumpkin pie...WTF?
You lot do love your pies !
Becs
come on over. I’ll show you the best pie in SA.
I can get a pretty decent Shepherds Pie from the Fresh Market near me Draad…if you have one in your neighborhood that might be worth trying.
Ha ha ha, Chippo. How could a girl refuse an offer like that ?!
JohnAdam, please make a few more posts...the banning x is mesmerizing...
" can get a pretty decent Shepherds Pie from the Fresh Market near me Draad…if you have one in your neighborhood that might be worth trying"
I'm sure I'll find something like that, but it's not the same thing really...it's a dish, not really a pie...you get chicken pot pie here...the Walmart frozen ones are terrible, but I'm sure a farmer's market will have proper ones... there's an Amish market sometimes in Old Town Spring which is basically part of Houston... I'm dying to get time to go there when it's open...fantastic little town inside a city if you can believe it...you can get everything here if you take the time to look...I even had proper biltong and koeksisters and I didn't look too hard to find it...
Bumped into a Saffa biltong joint by coincidence in would you believe boughtiki holiday town, La Jolla.(CA)