SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
SASaffolk Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 18:13#2
Wow Kriel is an openside and certainly is not more physical than Oupa. Physicality is not his thing. Speed and skill is.
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
CLclevermikeCoach57,555 posts
02 Nov 2014, 18:48#3
So you reckomn Bumbling Jannie should be starting. He does not last longer than 3 scrums - after that the scrumming goes backwards at jetliner speed. I would start with Redelinghuys aand use Coenie as a back-up. That would be logical.
But against the Irish Meyer is likely to start with Bubling Jannie. Whether hat would pay off is another question.
When will we ever learn hat Janiie's departure for his medical practice is overdue.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 18:59#4
The first player that should go is useless Matfield.
But you have to love Moffies take on Kriel being a blindside option ahead of Oupa. About sums the man up on a rugby front.
We have Kriel at 6ft ish and 100kg and Oupa at 6'4 and 110kg ish....spot the difference.....not to mention the 6 and 7 they wear.
Classic stuff
But true rugby men would know that Kriel could add value at 6 and moving the impressive Coetzee to 7.
Of the new players added Senatla is the one who could add the most value. Play him ahead of Hendricks. Play Jan at 12 with de Allende at 13. Play Lood ahead of pap Matfield and the Bok side will dominate
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 20:09#6
Kriel is not a 7 never has been never will be
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
MOMozartCaptain49,914 posts
02 Nov 2014, 20:13#7
Vesak would start with Coenie....Oupa would start with a player who hasn't played one second of test rugby, and didn't start for the Lions against WP. Get real, Jannie is the only option, one every professional coach would take given the options.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 20:20#8
And you Coward tell us that Kriel is a blindside you ignorant twat.
Do you know anything about rugby huh?
Damn right I would start Coenie ahead of liability Jannie
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
02 Nov 2014, 20:22#9
Why is Jannie the only option - his scurmming is not up to standard and his play outside scrumming is really poor. If it is only on repuation then we deserve to suffer in the scurms.
Stupid to start with an incompetent - purely because he has experience in incompetency.
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
02 Nov 2014, 20:29#10
If I was Meyer - I would start with Kriel at 6 and Marcel Coetzee at 7. Marcel did play at 7 in some tests and did very well.
Oupa is not to my mind good enough and is in the squad as a quota selection and Burger is an impact player. Howeve r, the problem with that is that we reduce our line out options and Matfield will not be able to go into hiding and call line outs for other players if he feels he is under pressure and may lose line outs - like he did in the last two tests.
Now why is Mozart suddenly touting Kriel? The answer is simple - his dislike of Coetzee remains and anybody else is preferred to Coetzee.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
02 Nov 2014, 20:34#11
Say Oupa I'm missing your response to Pakie's pics on the Goosen location. I'm sure you want to set the record straight.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 20:47#12
Mike that clown Moffie does not even know what position Kriel plays.
Oupa is actually not a bad player at all but he is nowhere near our best 7. I like him though.
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
02 Nov 2014, 21:02#13
Actually I do....I also know Coetzee has played 7 for the Boks most of the last year.....which puts Kriel where? You got it Vetsak. Still I don't think he is a classical 6, his ability as a ball carrier is a long suit. So one forgets about exact designations and looks for combinations. Put him with Louw, a good fetcher, at 7... And we have covered most bases.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 21:18#14
Good one Moffie.......what a load of royal crap you speak.
So you want a little guy playing 7 for the Boks do you. It's about as wise as telling us Louw is a good fetcher.
You still smarting at the fact that Coetzee has rubbed egg all over your ignorant face and long left Louw in the dust as the Bok 6.
Kriel a 7 bwhaaahaaaaa

Captain23,293 posts

sharkbokCaptain23,293 posts
02 Nov 2014, 21:32#15
I have only seen a few games by Kriel. In those games he has not much effect at the point of breakdown which is the primary requirement for a number 6 flank.
A number 6 flank is a breakdown expert, and should also have the highest tackle count.Forget his weight, height or age. If he is not an influence at the breakdown, he will never make an impact for the Boks at 6.
He could just be another Kolisi- a small number 7 playing at 6.
Being smaller than what a number 7 flank should be, does not make a player a good number 6.
Their is no magic weight that makes a player good in his position.
Given that being shorter is closer to the ground, but that does make a players good at the breakdown.
Vermuelen is very effective at the breakdown, but he is a tall player. Lots of scrumhalfs are small players, but this alone does not make the effective at the breakdown.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 21:38#16
Wow Shark you are a special talent.....bwhaaahaaaaa
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
02 Nov 2014, 21:41#17
SB poor old Vetsak can't see that. If you are smaller in his world you play 6, bigger you play 7. The 6 has to be the fetcher.
The fact is Kriel will never be satisfactory as a fetcher against bigger men, he will get blown off the ball too often. But he has been a revelation ball in hand. So he needs help on the other side.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 21:54#18
What is clear is that both Coward and Sharktwat have seen very little of Kriel for both he and Minnie have been very effective at the breakdown all year.
Imagine considering a 6ft, 100kg player as your blindside for the Boks?
Alberts is the model but good old Moffie sees Kriel there....because of his running skills.....bwhaaahaaaaa
Unbelievable stuff......could you be any more exposed for knowing nothing about the game than this?
Kriel is an openside end of, will never feature as a 7 for he simply is not close to possessing the attributes of a blindside flanker.
This very fact is as obvious as they come. Moffie you are in a corner AGAIN poor thing. Best of all you are relying on ignorant Sharktwat for support....classic
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
02 Nov 2014, 22:20#19
No corner Stinkgat, just acknowledging the obvious, Kriel can never succeed as the primary fetcher against Oz and NZ.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
02 Nov 2014, 22:24#20
Oh so Kriel can't for the Boks but the likes of Hooper can for Oz and Cane or Todd can for NZ......wow old wise coward you really are a bright spark
02 Nov 2014, 23:02#21
@saffex
Were you battered and abused by your father as a kid whenever he disagreed with you?
You have a real problem brother.
Why do you find it so hard to have a debate?
Whenever anyone opposes your comments or says something you don't agree with, you get frightfully outraged!
Why??
I agree 100% about your Kriel sentiments and I don't agree with Moz, but I can say it without cursing, belittling and insulting him, his family and his rugby knowledge every time.
Come on bro, don't let the English culture (or lack thereof) get the better of you.
Debate with respect you fu* kng rabbit!
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
03 Nov 2014, 00:01#22
And I totally accept that we have different points of view. Which creates a point of interest as we get more data on the YE tour.
RORooinek
Captain18,117 posts
RORooinekCaptain18,117 posts
03 Nov 2014, 13:01#23
Funny thread!
Jaco Kriel the blindside flanker! LMAO!
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
03 Nov 2014, 15:04#25
How many times have you watched Lions matches when Kriel was at 6? I would not express an outright opinionwithout adequate proof of his ftching and ball protection abilities without having proof of it. Just a suggetion.
CLclevermike
Coach57,555 posts
03 Nov 2014, 15:39#27
You are not counting on Meyer - he will sub Burgr to replace Mohje. He has plenty of options at 7 - with Whiteley also in the squad.
Mozart is the guru with silly pronouncements. - like within half an hour after the Scottish game last year pronoincing what a wonderful game Bakkies had - whilst he was in act mediocre.
His dislike of Coetzee is so pronounced he would do anything to get him out of the squad - so the tale of no fetching being spread. The same with Kriel - he probably saw him playing in two gams so now he is suddenly touting Kriel - with the proviso that he can't fetch eiiher so we can continue with Louw at 6. I am afraid that our guru is a farce spreading false tales all the time solely aied at ceain doubts about players threatening his faoutie incumbents.
On this sit Mozart is he equivalent of Jannie du PLessis - he iss our falsely dinetiied "national treasure"
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
03 Nov 2014, 18:28#31
Hahaha....and who said Biltong is not brain food.
BEBeeno1
Captain40,032 posts
BEBeeno1Captain40,032 posts
03 Nov 2014, 21:43#32
Moz your thinking style is too much for snaster and rooiwit. ou maaakie is so easily l;ed astreay!
What the oaks dont get is that even a rugged little guy like Brussouw started getting knocked off the ball after a good start to test rugby.
No our two best number 6 players right now are Louw and Coetzee. It's a waste to have Kriel doing the fetching and not succeeding - his strength is to play wide and use his pace. A lot quicker than bent read etc. Kriel must be used wisely. Then he will make an impact.
BEBeeno1
Captain40,032 posts
03 Nov 2014, 21:43#33
Moz your thinking style is too much for snaster and rooiwit. ou maaakie is so easily l;ed astreay!
What the oaks dont get is that even a rugged little guy like Brussouw started getting knocked off the ball after a good start to test rugby.
No our two best number 6 players right now are Louw and Coetzee. It's a waste to have Kriel doing the fetching and not succeeding - his strength is to play wide and use his pace. A lot quicker than bent read etc. Kriel must be used wisely. Then he will make an impact.
BEBeeno1
Captain40,032 posts
03 Nov 2014, 21:43#34
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
03 Nov 2014, 21:57#35
Chip chip the day I need your advice you ll be the first to hear from me.
Do you really think Moffie merits my respect you retard?
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
03 Nov 2014, 21:58#36
Beenkop commenting on matters rugby....bwhaaahaaaaa
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
03 Nov 2014, 22:04#37
Well Hasbeen it wasn't even worth going there. According to the peanut gallery there is only their way or the highway. It's the old kill the idea syndrome. When you participate in ideation sessions the controller always tells you that somewhere in the group there are some " kill the idea" participants. Guess who in this thread.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
03 Nov 2014, 22:11#38
Moffie get this into your stupid head Kriel has never played 7, will never play 7 for the simple reason that if you are going to use him as a running flank it will be as a link player not a bruiser who is going to seek contact.
The fact that you think Kriel is not a true fetcher confirms just how little you have seen of him. Kriel a 7 how pathetically stupid.
Good one old timer....One of your best....actually it is your best. It surpasses wanting useless Jacobs ahead of Fourie.
Long live Beethoven, I mean Mozart
MOMozart
Captain49,914 posts
03 Nov 2014, 22:22#39
Firstly you are wrong, Kriel played 7 for the Lions when Grobelaar played 6. Secondly I'm not suggesting Kriel play 7, I'm suggesting if he plays 6 he will need help at the breakdown. Thirdly this is clearly too difficult for you, so don't worry about it..Schalk is going to be on the bench.
SASaffolk
Captain30,741 posts
03 Nov 2014, 22:37#40
Moffie stop speaking kak Kriel is a 6......who is Grobelaar by the way?
Kriel only played 6, with Minnie, Teklenberg and Britz featuring at 7 and Whiteley at 8.
Try again