FORUM / RUGBY /  Mike, Rooi, Beens and Saffex!

Mike, Rooi, Beens and Saffex!

Started by Plum31 REPLIES609 VIEWS· 02 Mar 2016, 09:02
02 Mar 2016, 09:02
02 Mar 2016, 09:02#1
Care to give us your most experimental Bok teams? If someone said you had to pick a "No fear" team that was as attacking as possible. Giving more credence to talent than experience and thinking more about a team that could all play together for at least five years...rather than winning today. You'll note I never included Moz in this exercise, for obvious reasons ;)
02 Mar 2016, 09:16
02 Mar 2016, 09:16#2
15 Cheslin Kolbe
14 Jamba Ulengo
13 Harold Vorster
12 Damian de Allende
11 Seabelo Senatla
10 Handre Pollard
9. Faf de Klerk
8. Dan du Preez
7. JL du Preez
6. Jaco Kriel
5. PS du Toit
4. Lourens Erasmus
3. Thomas du Toit
2. Malcolm Marx
1. Oli Kebble
02 Mar 2016, 09:24
02 Mar 2016, 09:24#3
Nice team Rooi. I've noticed you're a fan of Kolbe. Oli Kibble is also better than many like to admit. That is a pretty hectic back line. Would you have Jessie Kriel and Combrink on the bench? Actually, who'd be on the bench?
02 Mar 2016, 09:34
02 Mar 2016, 09:34#4
Bench . . .

16 Franco Marais
17 Thomas du Toit (sorry, being dof . . . starting tighthead should be Vincent Koch)
18 Frans Malherbe
19 Hanro Liebenberg (Pieter Steph covers lock)
20 Marcell Coetzee
21 Cobus Reinach
22 Pat Lambie
23 Not sure . . . out of Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Mapoe, Jesse Kriel or Paul Jordaan
02 Mar 2016, 10:12
02 Mar 2016, 10:12#5
15. Willie 14. v/Wyk 13. Kriel 12. de Allende 11. Senatla 10. Pollard 9. Hougaard 1. Kitshoff 2. Bismark 3. Malherbe 4. Etzebeth 5. Lood 6. Kriel 7. Coetzee 8. Arno Botha would be my usual side.
Experimental would be:
15. Kriel 14. Ulengo 13. Vorster 12. Serfontein 11. Kolbe 10. Jantjies 9. Faf 1. du Toit 2. Marx 3. Marcel 4. Willemse 5 . PSDT 6. Kolisi 7. Jacques du Plessis 8. Mtembu 
02 Mar 2016, 11:16
02 Mar 2016, 11:16#6
 My choice will be as follows:-
15  Le Roux, 14  Senatla, 13  Vorster, 12  De Allende, 11  Combrinck, 10  Pollard, 9  De Klerk,  8  Du Preez, 7  Labuschagne, 6  Kriel, 5  De Jager, 4  Etzebeth, 3  Malherbe, 2  Marx, 1  Kitshoff
16  Ntubeni, 17  Nyakane, 18  Koch, 19  Du Toit, 20  Coetzee, 21  Reinach, 22  Lambie, 23  Kriel
I picked players on the basis of performance - not reputation. and prejudice.   It is very early in the season to come up with selections.   There are going to be changes as the season goes on.  
I also did not pick the over-30's since in most cases the players are reputation players without proven performance records.  In my basis performance is a requirement and if that is accompanied by experience, it is a big plus.
Since Pollard may be out for the season I would go for Lambie and Goosen in the June tests.          
02 Mar 2016, 11:42
02 Mar 2016, 11:42#7
 Aaaaaah geee ... does that mean I can't have a go???

02 Mar 2016, 12:00
02 Mar 2016, 12:00#8
 Some folk think that you don't know sh!t from sugar .
02 Mar 2016, 12:02
02 Mar 2016, 12:02#9
 Haaaaahahahahaha!!!
I guess your right.
Well ... I see I'm not wanted so I'll shut my mouth and go sulk in the corner.

02 Mar 2016, 12:50
02 Mar 2016, 12:50#10
 Haha CC of course bro. Let's have it then
02 Mar 2016, 13:13
02 Mar 2016, 13:13#11
Thanks guys. the reason i asked was cos i'd like to know who to keep an eye on this season so i can slate the crap out of you when they play badly haha. Kidding.

Of them all, my personal preference would be Mike's team. Though my team would be a tad different. Obviously since i'm a Lions fan again this year.

Mine would be...

15. Le Roux
14. Ulengo
13. JP(Ja i know some really dislike him, but he's young and has never let us down)
12. Combrink
11. De Allende
10. Jantjies(Based on S15 last year)
9. Faf
8. Duane
7. JL 
6. Kriel
5. De Jager
4. Eben
3. Redlinghuys
2. Akker
1. Kitshoff

It's a pity Kolisi never had a good season last year. I rate him, and Nizam. Note, starting De Allende is transformation positive.  Only because he is Portuguese so he counts as two coloureds. 

02 Mar 2016, 13:25
02 Mar 2016, 13:25#12
15 Jaco Kriel

14 Kobus Van Wyk
13 Harold Vorster
12 Damian de Allende
11 Seabelo Senatla
10 Handre Pollard
9. Faf de Klerk
8. Dan du Preez
7. M Coetzee
6. Jaco Kriel
5. Lood De Jager
4. Eben Etzebeth
3. F Malherbe
2. Malcolm Marx
1. Steven Kitshoff

02 Mar 2016, 13:35
02 Mar 2016, 13:35#13
Beens, i know Jaco Kriel is good. But honestly man, he can't play Flank and FullBack!

Ja Ja i know you meant Jessie. Sorry, couldn't resist.

Also, you've left Duane out. Geez you Stormers fans . Man leaves the squad and he is dead to you. The dark side man. The dark side!
02 Mar 2016, 13:49
02 Mar 2016, 13:49#14
 Haaaaaaaaaahahahahahahaaa!!
This boards got me in hysterics today.
Thanks Beandip. At least it's on par with having both Danie and Roussouw in your team.

02 Mar 2016, 13:50
02 Mar 2016, 13:50#15
 Sorry Plumpie its Jesse Kriel.
How ou rooitwit can leave out Etzebeth beggars belief. I think Eben scares the wits out of poor rooitwit 
02 Mar 2016, 15:32
02 Mar 2016, 15:32#16
JP is nearly 30......that is not young Plum  
AG
AgPleezDeddyClub Pro900 posts
02 Mar 2016, 18:44
02 Mar 2016, 18:44#17
If I had to pick a completely uncapped team, it would be this: 

15. Kolbe/Gelant
14. Ulengo
13. Vorster12. Esterhuizen
11. Senatla
10.Du Preez
9.  De Klerk
8.  Du Preez7.  Du Preez
6.  Kriel
5.  Mostert
4. Jenkins3. koch (I know he's been capped, but deserves another go)2. Marx
1. Kitshoff

Purely to see how these guys cope in a test
02 Mar 2016, 19:46
02 Mar 2016, 19:46#18
 Not an Eben fan Deddy?
AG
02 Mar 2016, 20:21
02 Mar 2016, 20:21#19
 I've picked an uncapped team, Draad. (Koch aside)If I included current players, Eben, Lood, De Allende, Jesse Kriel would all be involved
AG
02 Mar 2016, 20:22
02 Mar 2016, 20:22#20
I'm a massive fan of Eben, really think he could be our best ever of he fulfils his potential 
02 Mar 2016, 20:41
02 Mar 2016, 20:41#21
 Ok, I've missed the obvious. 
02 Mar 2016, 23:38
02 Mar 2016, 23:38#22
 Nice side APD 
03 Mar 2016, 08:27
03 Mar 2016, 08:27#23
Haha Saffex. I thought he was about 28. Guess it's true that black don't crack. Made another blunder too. Posted one of the Du Preezs as lock on another thread. Seems nobody noticed that one. Anyway, one thing is very clear when one looks at these teams. We have a ton of talent and Meyer was tool for doing so poorly with so many brilliant players at his disposal. Bloody disgrace really.
03 Mar 2016, 08:31
03 Mar 2016, 08:31#24
Also, I see that Rosco never made it into anyone's team. Watched him for the Pumas a few times last year and he seemed promising. He's done well for the Blitzes too.
03 Mar 2016, 11:46
03 Mar 2016, 11:46#25
 Not one of the teams selected here & on 2. A team of Vetsak's "bests" 
reflect the racial transformation obligations that the selectors will face.
If we have to have 50% black representation by 2018, then surely
we'll be 'advised' to select a minimum of five poc. players & two for
the bench for this year's international season ....... that's approx. 30%.

So maybe all the armchair selectors will need to reconstruct their teams ?
03 Mar 2016, 11:52
03 Mar 2016, 11:52#26
 blobbok
I thought about the issue and then decided to post the merit team I would like to see - not the SARU politico's one.  
03 Mar 2016, 12:02
03 Mar 2016, 12:02#27
 Alraait, appreciate your honesty, maar boet, its reality check time .
03 Mar 2016, 14:39
03 Mar 2016, 14:39#28
 There are a few players that can be included - but they will not strengthen the team - they may in fact weaken the team.   However, there need to be a balance.  If players are in fact on par - preference should be given to the player of colour.  When there is no such parity - the best player should be selected.    
03 Mar 2016, 15:16
03 Mar 2016, 15:16#29
 "If players are in fact on par - preference should be given to the player of colour."

Racial discrimination is fine then.
03 Mar 2016, 15:22
03 Mar 2016, 15:22#30
 Look doos - racial discrimination is never acceptable on my part - but I clearly states the be st player must be selected.  You really are the dimmest of the dim - now piss off dim c u n t.
03 Mar 2016, 16:09
03 Mar 2016, 16:09#31
 Touchy? 
ebst? 

03 Mar 2016, 17:44
03 Mar 2016, 17:44#32
Well if two players are totally on par, then from a transformation point of view it makes sense to pick the non-white. That is discrimination but our constitutional right to not being discriminated against is limited by the word "unfairly". Haha fair discrimination. Oxymoron ;)