FORUM / RUGBY /  Mozart Must Find It Hard Being Always Wrong

Mozart Must Find It Hard Being Always Wrong

Started by clevermike51 REPLIES451 VIEWS· 05 Feb 2016, 01:08
05 Feb 2016, 01:08
05 Feb 2016, 01:08#1
After denigrating Quinton De Kock endlessly for the past year - the following from News24:-
"In the end the rain ruined what had the potential to be a riveting finish, but not before 23-year-old Quinton de Kock had set the Mangaung Oval alight. 

It was De Kock's third century in his last four ODIs and the ninth of his career, but he surely hasn't hit many better. 

Unfortunately, it had to end, but if De Kock had batted for another hour then who knows how close the Proteas would have come to chasing down the mammoth 400 set by England?

The truth is that South Africa had lost one or two too many wickets by the time the heavens opened, and that coupled with their diabolical bowling performance suggests that they probably deserved to lose. 

But the De Kock knock was something special. 

He raced to his 50 off 37 balls, and his century off just 67 balls. By the time the Proteas left the field at 250/5, De Kock was 138* off 96 balls (12 x 4, 6 x 6).

There was a time, not so long ago, when De Kock's readiness for international cricket was worthy of debate. 

His talent has never been doubted, but the trick appeared to be getting him to consistently perform to his ability. 

For a while, and especially during last year's World Cup, the explosive left hander was way off the mark.

That poor run of form cost him his place in the side for a home ODI series against New Zealand in August, while he was also left out of the Test side that toured India.  

De Kock's temperament and his mental approach to his batting was the concern. 

All too often his shot selection when getting out was questionable, with his fearless approach sometimes coming across as irresponsible as time after time he threw his wicket away.

It appeared that the age-old cliche of 'getting your eye in' did not apply.  You never want to restrain a player who has the combination of skill and natural aggression that De Kock has. You want him to play his shots, because that is when he is at his most dangerous. 

But, in De Kock's case, there was the feeling that he needed to spend a little bit of time feeling bat on ball at the start of his innings.

On Wednesday evening, De Kock displayed the maturity that has perhaps been lacking from his game over the last couple of years. 

It would have been easy to panic, and the De Kock of old would surely have thrown the kitchen sink at the English attack from the get-go as the mammoth target of 400 loomed large. Few would have taken issue with that ... if ever there was a time for De Kock to express himself, this was it.   Instead, he was measured.

De Kock will always have that natural attacking instinct - it is a major part of what makes him so exciting - but on Wednesday it was very much a case of controlled aggression as he looked to get after the England attack.

Perhaps it was a case of no longer premeditating, but De Kock seemed to play everything on merit - a good ball was pushed into space for a single while almost every wayward offering got the punishment it deserved.

He is strong, versatile, has an incredible eye and he backs himself to play shots that others wouldn't. 

There will still be moments when he makes the wrong decisions, but the signs are that he is making less and less of those. 

Questions might still remain over his ability to stick around and show a bit of grit coming in at No 7 in the longer format, but now has to be the time to accept that De Kock is South Africa's only logical wicketkeeping option in all three formats moving forward. 

Given how much cricket he still has ahead of him, there is no limit as to what this youngster can achieve in the game. 

If Kagiso Rabada is the future of South African cricket, then De Kock is there standing right next to him. 

And at a time when there aren't exactly a host of youngsters putting their hands up, that makes De Kock precious to the Proteas.

In a batting line-up that has been overly reliant on the genius of AB de Villiers in recent times, he has emerged as another match-winner. 

A top four of De Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (who seems to have found a bit of form) and De Villiers in the ODI side is comforting, and you would back one or two of those guys to get runs every time. 

And with bowling performances like the one we just witnessed, South Africa might need to unearth a few more match-winners between now and the end of the series."

De Kock is a better player as an ODI player than Mozart's hero  Graeme  Smith has ever been,   He has the natural abilities that Smith never had and to prove that he has already at the age of 23 equaled the number of ODI centuries made by Smith in his full career.      

PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 09:05
05 Feb 2016, 09:05#2
1. Ole Cruz2. Morne Steyn signing for Paris St Germain3. Completely ballsing up the time at the Wellington Sevens final
I'd shut the f#ck up if I were you.
05 Feb 2016, 10:26
05 Feb 2016, 10:26#3
 There was, of course, the Bakkies Botha balls-up as well. Our friend argued that Bakkies was subbed by Ali Williams against Exeter, because he was so piss poor. Only problem was that Bakkies left the field to have his faced stitched up after being tramped in the face. The biggest balls-up, though, was the fact that Ali could not replace Bakkies because they started the game together with Ali at 5 and Bakkies at 4 as usual. You just cannot make this sh1t up. 
05 Feb 2016, 11:04
05 Feb 2016, 11:04#4
Sadly..... I remember this thread mentioned by Ceradyne

moolaaPro2,380 posts
05 Feb 2016, 11:09
05 Feb 2016, 11:09#5
 Still waiting for the apology Mike. Bet you wish you'd never started this thread....
05 Feb 2016, 11:18
05 Feb 2016, 11:18#6
 What apology Moola?  The one on how O'Neil fouled up the final last week and the one who stated there was tampering with the match watch on TV going back from -2 seconds to zero.  No apology offered I am afraid. 

05 Feb 2016, 11:26
05 Feb 2016, 11:26#7
 C erasdyne
There was no such thread as you mentioned.  I did mention a succeeding match in which Botha did not play making the erroneous statement that it seems as if Williams is seemingly preferred to Bakkies without knowing about the injury - whereupon you came with the injury story - photos and all - which I accepted.
If you want to prefer to stories about postings in the past please make sure you are not doing your normal - spreading BS all over the page. 
You are saying the article quoted by me above is BS.  What an ignorant moron you are.  This thread is about De Kock - who was under constant attack by Mozart for more than a year.
You chose to respond with a lie - but I want to ask you now straight out a serious question.   When Dave and I seriously questioned the selection of Matfield last year Mozart and you went into a state of utter delirium and attacked us all out.  Two months after the WC Matfield started to play for the Saints and was piss-poor in all the matches he played in.   Do you admit now that Matfield should never have been in the Springbok squad?        
moolaaPro2,380 posts
05 Feb 2016, 11:40
05 Feb 2016, 11:40#8
 Gutless Mike. Now we have tampering with the match watch which probably doesn't exist except in your own delusional mind.I suppose this mythical watch goes "tick tokkie" does it??
05 Feb 2016, 11:42
05 Feb 2016, 11:42#9
Nope. I'm not lying. That is your field of expertise.  I am posting from my phone at the moment, which makes searching a bit difficult at the moment. I will, however, post the evidence during the weekend. As for Matfield...... No, I do not agree that he should never have been in the Bok squad.  
05 Feb 2016, 11:43
05 Feb 2016, 11:43#10
Lol..... never a dull moment here  
05 Feb 2016, 11:54
05 Feb 2016, 11:54#11
OK, ou Tokkie. I have found the thread and can post the link. I cannot copy and paste the posts, though. Feel free to read through the thread. 
Bakkies Exeter story
05 Feb 2016, 12:07
05 Feb 2016, 12:07#12
 I read what I wrote and there was not a single mention of the Exeter match you referred to above in what you now quoted.   What I wrote was after the next match and was then corrected by you  with photos of the injury to Botha.
What about the question about Matfield?    
05 Feb 2016, 12:09
05 Feb 2016, 12:09#13
Here is why I remember this thread
Devil's Advocate

Posts: 1108RE: The strange way of Picking French Club players for the Speingbok team
August 19, 2014, 12:56:11

Eina !!

Mike, you were kicked into touch here my good buddy.

In fact, Ceradyne took the mark, waited a full minute, then booted you into the stands to end the game and the argument.

Sjoh !!, you look a bit dim here boetie

Very sadly.... it's 9 months on from this article and I see no improvement from you

Now this.......

Posts: 21090RE: Mozart Must Find It Hard Being Always Wrong
February 05, 2016, 11:26:59

C erasdyne

There was no such thread as you mentioned. 

Eina...... Eina...... Eina.......Eina......Eina......Eina.....Eina....Eina.....
05 Feb 2016, 12:21
05 Feb 2016, 12:21#14
Mike, you posted thisclevermike

Posts: 21091RE: The strange way of Picking French Club players for the Speingbok team
December 15, 2013, 16:00:39

Bakkies did not play yesterday - but he has not been in the Toulon starting line up since his return from Springbok duty.

Ceradyne then posted this

Posts: 5098RE: The strange way of Picking French Club players for the Speingbok team
December 15, 2013, 16:28:59

This was the line-up against Exeter last week. 

15    Drew Mitchell    
14    Alexis Palisson    
13    Mathieu Bastareaud    
12    Matt Giteau    
11    Bryan Habana    
10    Jonny Wilkinson (capt)    
9    Sebastien Tillous-Borde    
1    Florian Fresia    
2    Craig Burden    
3    Martin Castrogiovanni    
4    Bakkies Botha    
5    Ali Williams 

6    Juan Smith    
7    Steffon Armitage    
8    Chris Masoe    
16    Jean-Charles Orioli    
17    Xavier Chiocci    
18    Carl Hayman    
19    Virgile Bruni    
20    Rudi Wulf    

When you are in a hole, you should stop digging. 

You then responded with this

Posts: 21091RE: The strange way of Picking French Club players for the Speingbok team
December 16, 2013, 13:34:12

OK

There was no tam announcement before the broadcast started.   Did not know Bakkies was injured and the game against Exeter was not on TV.   Theweek before that Bakkies was on the bench - that game was telecasted here.

Mmmm
Am I missing something here

05 Feb 2016, 12:31
05 Feb 2016, 12:31#15
 Time to stop digging, ou Tokkie. You are halfway to China already. 
You started that thread on 15 Dec 2013. That was the day after Toulon played Exeter in Toulon, the game that Bakkies did not play in. That was due to the injuries sustained in the previous week against the same Exeter Chiefs side in Exeter. 
05 Feb 2016, 13:11
05 Feb 2016, 13:11#16
  Ag Balls - you mentioned that I was wrong and specifically the Exeter Match - which was never mentioned by me in the thread you referred to.  I accepted the fact that Bakkies was injured and not able to play after you clarified the issue.  What you wrote above is utter BS - but that is to be expected from you.   You now admitted that the thread was started a week later when Botha was not in the team.  The same two teams playing each other in subsequent weeks is impossible in the case of the Hei neken Cup comp - so try again.   
Now answer the one pertinent question I asked you about Matfield - or do you -prefer to hide about that as well.       
05 Feb 2016, 14:45
05 Feb 2016, 14:45#17
Ag FFS you blithering idiot. There were two games. The first one was on 7 Dec between Exeter Chiefs and Toulon in Exeter. It was in this one that Bakkies was injured. That was also the one where, according to you, Bakkies was subbed by Williams, when they have actually both started the game. 
The second one was in Toulon, the following weekend, also between Toupon and Exeter Chiefs. That was the one where Bakkies was not in the team at all, following his injuries. It was the day after the second game that you started the thread that I quoted. 
The irony is that, on another thead, you actually still tried to save some face by saying that even though he left the field he was playing crap in any case. That was despite the fact that you haven't even seen the game, otherwise you would have known why he left the field and, more important, that he wasn't replaced by Williams. 
05 Feb 2016, 15:39
05 Feb 2016, 15:39#18
 Listen dofdoos
This one is a completely new angle.  There were NO two succeeding games on two weekends between Exeter and Toulon - or was Toulon playing them first in the English championship and the next week in the Heineken Cup championship.   No team in the Heineken Cup play two games successively.  I vaguely remember that at the time Bakkies was injured in a game against Bordeaux.   
You must really be the dimmest doos ever.   I thought the New Year would bring some clarity into the pig sh!t you call your brain - but it did not happen.  The thread was about Quinton de Kock - not about Bakkies Botha.
However, Bakkies opted out of selection for the Springbok team - realizing he is not competitive anymore.  You - the dimmest ever - and the idiotic Mozart supported him to the last moment and you aolso supported Mozart, Morne Steyn and the rest of the useless lot ending up in the Springbok squad.  That shows how really braindead you are when it comes to sport and sport selections.  
What about commenting on Matfield's performances for the Saints?             
05 Feb 2016, 16:03
05 Feb 2016, 16:03#19

"This one is a completely new angle.  There were NO two succeeding games on two weekends between Exeter and Toulon"

Matter of fact there were: 7 December 2013 at Sandy Park and 14 December 2013 at Stade Mayol.

"Jonny Wilkinson came off the bench to break Exeter’s hearts for the second successive week as European champions Toulon moved to the top of their Heineken Cup group."

05 Feb 2016, 16:08
05 Feb 2016, 16:08#20
There. You have just proven the point that I have made so many times. You know fark all. In the old Heineken Cup they used to play the two home and away games on concecutive weekends. The two games in question were played on 7 Dec 2013 in Exeter and on 14 Dec 2013 in Toulon. Now go check that and come back and admit that you have been talking k@k and that I am correct. 
As far as Matfield and Northampton is concerned, I have not watched one of the games. I have told you many times that I mainly follow the Top14 and I support Toulon. Since Toulon and Northamptopn are not in the same pool. I therefore have no business watching Northampton games at this stage. 
05 Feb 2016, 16:37
05 Feb 2016, 16:37#21
 It does not matter that I was wrong about what happened three years ago - what matters is that you are consistently wrong and so is Mozart.
I frankly do not care ab out what happened to Bakkies 3 years ago - at least he ahs had the decency to rule himself out of the Springbok squad because he realized he was not up to standard and there were better players around.
The piss poor Matfield was in the Springbok squad and so was the similarly poor Morne Steyn.  You supported both guys all the time - now suddenly you do not watch the games they played in.  I know that it is an old trick of Mozart to write about player performances in games he has not seen and you apparently switched off when your favourites misfired so you can defend them when they are criticized. 

05 Feb 2016, 16:46
05 Feb 2016, 16:46#22
 To move the spam down in topics .
05 Feb 2016, 17:13
05 Feb 2016, 17:13#23
Look ou Tokkie, I definitely have no interest in watching games for the sake of having ammo for your infantile BS. Not if you have no clue what you are talking about in any case. You started this thead just to have another go at Moz, which is fine. I have no problem with that. It is part of the game om these kind of forums. Fact is that Poi named a few blunders if their own and I added one more. You chose to ignore the ones that Poi mentioned and chose to tackle the latter, which is fine as well. When you got your arse kicked again, you decided that it is too far in the past. 
The irony is that Moz' issue with QDK started out when you were shouting for GS to be booted out and replaced by QDK and that, my friend, is also a few years in the past. Now, suddenly, after one good innings by QDK, years later, you suddenly claim to have been vindicated. You are a farking joke, mate. 
05 Feb 2016, 17:32
05 Feb 2016, 17:32#24
 I was not shouting for Smith to be replaced by De Kock - that is another lie.  Smith was pathetic in an away series against Pakistan and he had to come back to SA for some reason or other.  He was replaced by De Kock who played like a star in a series lost by Pakistan.  Immediately thereafter Pakistan came to SA to play in a three match ODI series and Smith was back in the team - who lost the next two games - basically because Smith was piss-poor.  He was told then by the Protea coach that he had his last ODI game and left the squad in a huff.  De Kock replaced him and the Proteas won the next game.
That was the end of Smith in ODI's and deservedly so.  It was not necessary to write anything about him - he ruled himself out of ODI's by constant piss poor performances over an extended period.   When one said that Mozart want to have a seizure - but that remains a fact of life.
Not years later - dofdoos - De Kock was brilliant in most games he played in and scored in just over two years as many ODI centuries as Smith scored in his whole career.  There is no need to vindicate oneself.   The man had a relatively short period when he went out of form after an injury - but always was a class act.   
You are a farking joke yourself.  
05 Feb 2016, 18:12
05 Feb 2016, 18:12#25
I am not even going to bother showing you the evidence again. It is a waste of time. Every time you challenge me and every time I produce the evidence only for you to start backtracking and sidelining the issue. If I really felt like it, I would have floored you again, just like I did on this thread already, but it does get a bit boring sometimes. 
05 Feb 2016, 18:15
05 Feb 2016, 18:15#26
 Wasting time is of the essence for bored people.
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 19:26
05 Feb 2016, 19:26#27
 Jeez, Mike is a damn liar
05 Feb 2016, 19:39
05 Feb 2016, 19:39#28
 Aren't you an atheist? I thought you didn't belie ve in damnation and all that shyt!
05 Feb 2016, 19:45
05 Feb 2016, 19:45#29
 PS, it boosted my post count, but I'm not into keepinhg those kinda scores.
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 21:12
05 Feb 2016, 21:12#30
 Sure, sure Draad.  Go have a lie down now, I think you need it.
05 Feb 2016, 21:26
05 Feb 2016, 21:26#31
 Poi-e, I'm having a ball, look at  topic s 19 to 27 and ask around. 
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 21:41
05 Feb 2016, 21:41#32
Sure you are Draad  
05 Feb 2016, 21:51
05 Feb 2016, 21:51#33
 Any idea as to why I've been  spamming  the site yet?
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 21:56
05 Feb 2016, 21:56#34
 Have a lie down Draad, you've earned it with your anti spamming crusade.  
05 Feb 2016, 21:59
05 Feb 2016, 21:59#35
 Fools paradise!  Enjoy.
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 22:01
05 Feb 2016, 22:01#36
 You've earned your rest, I look forward to reading of anti spamming exploits in the media, you'll get a medal for this.
05 Feb 2016, 22:03
05 Feb 2016, 22:03#37
 So you can't answer with reason and are trying to save face?
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 22:08
05 Feb 2016, 22:08#38
Well done Draad, you are a true hero of the Internet, your kids will be so proud of you for your efforts in making this forum a safer place for all!!
05 Feb 2016, 22:16
05 Feb 2016, 22:16#39
 Still no answer? Who's the internet hero now?
PE
poi-ePro1,044 posts
05 Feb 2016, 22:22
05 Feb 2016, 22:22#40
 Oh you are ye who banished the spam threads, mighty smiter of the fake post.  You truly are the Internet's justice!