Snarks just demolished da Bools in Durbs...my WP up next vs Da Liars in Cape Town...glorious day in CT... BTW the only loss vs SA opposition last season for the Stormers was vs the Lions in CT.
Rugby in South Africa on Newyear's Eve
Gaan nou vuur aansteek!
Better not take them lightly again
Good start!!! 7-0...great to watch when the Stormers gets going.
Old man Deon scores off the lineout maul...12-0
Manie hits the left post...
Lions the only team to defeat the Stormers in Cape Town sonce Dec last year.
Old man Deon having a blinder...again.
12-3
Dan Dup Scores!
19-3...$pilled some Amstel on the floor...must be more careful...the rugby is very much distracting...
Deon forces another crucial penalty!@!
Halfway.
Stormers are cruising their way through the game.
The lions making a bit of a comeback, but coaching could be an issue for them.
The lion's prop is huge, but unfit.
Libbok is a reliable kicker, much better than Willemse.
Flip, were you bitten by Mike under a full moon Shark?
'Card, don't be flippant ....... happy new year everybody
..flipp ant....LOL!!!!
Happy happy Blob!
I watch both games and now wants to throw in some real discussion points. First of all Willemse really had a star game and even though he is not a good goal kicker as Libbok he was as far as I am concerned the MOM.
The one thing I think is a problem is the coaching of Jake White. He has been proven to be a Houe on fire in his first year and failing in his second year. It happened in the case of -
* the Springboks - good in 2004, poor in 2005 and 2006
* the Brumbies - good in 2012, going nowhere in 2013
* the Sharks - good in 2014 - but fired at the end of the season
* Montpellier - good in first season - and questionable in second season
* The Bulls - good in first season - early signs in second season bad.
You are a very dishonest man Mr Clever. How can you look at yourself in the mirror? The Boks were good in 2005 as well as 2004. 2006? Not bad for suffering close to thirty injuries. We've never before or since had a season so littered with injuries. We lost Bakkies and Jean on the eve of an All Black test. These are not exactly ideal circumstances. As it was, we lost some close games but ended with back-to-back wins against New Zealand and Australia, and broke England's hold over us. 2006 was a crucial year for Bok rugby. It also showcased the ability of Jake to adapt his systems and grow the team, something the likes of Erasmus and Nienaber cannot do!
As per the Brumbies? In 2013 they finished 4th in the regular season with 10 wins. The Saders in 3rd with 11, Bulls with 12, and Chiefs with 12. So, yet again, it was a successful season. The Brumbies went on to reach the final where they lost 22-27 (2 tries to 1). It was also the year Jake defeated the British Lions with a shadow Brumbies side, dubbed a miracle by MSM.
Jake has been successful everywhere he goes. Not only that, he leaves behind structured etc which serve these teams well for over a decade. Jake is the very best coach South Africa has ever produced by far.
Jake was highly successful with the Sharks, totally eclipsing the underwhelming tripe served up by Plumtree. The Sharks were a contender, and had they not been hamstrung by the likes of Lambie, they'd have probably achieved even greater success. I have never seen the Sharks play with that level of solidity again.
As for the Bulls? I watched a little of them. I think he has done a reasonable job with what he has at hand. I don't regard most of the names I see in his team as good or great players. I certainly do not doubt his coaching.
Every team that discards Jake always looks like a fool and suffers the consequences of that ignorance.
l'Grande Merde
I normally have prove of the above. The Springboks managed to win the Tri-Nations in 2004 and went down to second in 2005 and last in both 2006 and 2007. The Aussies beat the Springboks in 2--5 by 49-0 and the AB's in 2007 beat them 33-6.
O - I must my memory refreshed. The Brumbies played the Bulls in the 2013 quarter-final and they were losing until they got some critical help from Morne Steyn and won the match. That resulted in him reaching the semi- where they had to play the Cheetahs and managed to beat them at home by 1 point to reach the final.
Since White could not get the Aussie coaching position he broke his contract with the Brumbies and came back to SA - where he got the coaching job with the Sharks. The Sharks managed to get into a quarterfinal at home against the Highlanders in Durban. In the Round Robin game the Highlanders beat them by a cricket score in match totally buggered up by Fat Fransie, - but somehow managed to beat the Highlanders and then had to go to play the crusaders in New Zealand and lost against them badly. The performances were not all that hot - but the Sharks got into the quarterfinal because the other SA teams were bad. White got fired at the end of the season and in his book Smith claimed he should never have been appointed and failed as a coach.
I look a t rugby objectively and not parrot BS on site.
Mike, do you ever think before you speak/write? The Boks defeated Australia three times in 2005. They were minutes away from winning the Tri Nations. Australia sealed win over the Boks in 2006 after the siren had sounded with a Mortlock penalty. New Zealand managed to claw back a win away after the Boks stunned them. With a massively depleted team, they were competitive and took great strides in expanding the squad, developing the game plan and breaking the hold of England over the Boks. Back to back wins over a star studded Wallaby and All Black sides with a patchwork team was a good achievement. Erasmus has never seen what a strong New Zealand and Australian side looks like as coach figurehead.
The Springboks went backwards in 2005, 2006 and 2007 in the Tri-Nations. If the WC was not due in 2007 - White would have been fired for gross incompetence at the end of 2006.
How many massively depleted teams are used by you to excuse losses? Dave is still waiting for you to come up with the names of the injured players being the reason for the Springboks going through to the final.
You spout total BS on site and then want people to believe you. I look at results - not at excuses to try and get the results explained. When the results re narrow a critical look is necessary - but especially in 2006 the results were never narrow.
Backwards? The Boks defeated the Aussies, and came close to beating them away with a highly patchwork team, leading 20-0 at half time. They held the strongest All Black side of all time to 9-3 until the last 15 minutes - Bismarck's three costly penalties took the game away from us. The home game against New Zealand was close fought, and basically came down to Rocokoco coming off the bench after a controversial spear on Paulse a while before that. In the end, even the Kiwi press accepted that Jake outsmarted Henry in his timing for the World Cup, and his player management. His plan to rest key players and preserve them opened the door to players who became staples for well into the next decade. You are too shortsighted to see and learn Mike. I honestly don't know what prompted you to name yourself "Clever", aside from an inferiority complex. Your knowledge of Bok rugby is abysmal to say the least, and that's before we consider things beyond basic trivia.
l\Grande Merde
My knowledge of Bok Rugby is according to you abysmal - your knowledge of ruby is non-existent. You wrote about close matches - yet in the case of the recent matches which were close you make out that it is the recent small differences do not count and you called that catastrophic for Bok rugby.
My question is what about the 49-0 loss against the Ausies in 2006 and 33-6 loss against the AB's in 2007? What about the Springboks being last on the Tri-Nations log in both 2006 and 2007?
"My question is what about the 49-0 loss against the Ausies in 2006..."
What a kak day...my bakkie got stolen with a bak vol Rooikranz, a case of beer and bag full of lekker braai tjops and wors on that very same afternoon....will never forget that.