FORUM / RUGBY /  Springbok World Cup Squad Announced

Springbok World Cup Squad Announced

Started by kingcorn36 REPLIES1,672 VIEWS· 08 Aug 2023, 13:37
kingcornPro3,695 posts
08 Aug 2023, 13:37
08 Aug 2023, 13:37#1

Forwards:

Props: Steven Kitshoff (Ulster – 74 caps, 10 points), Vincent Koch (Cell C Sharks – 45 caps, 0 points), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers – 61 caps, 5 points), Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks – 19 caps, 0 points), Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92 – 61 caps, 5 points).

Hookers: Bongi Mbonambi (Cell C Sharks – 60 caps, 60 points), Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears – 61 caps, 75 points).

Locks: Eben Etzebeth (Cell C Sharks – 112 caps, 25 points), Jean Kleyn (Munster – 2 caps, 0 points), Marvin Orie (Perpignan – 14 caps, 0 points), RG Snyman (Munster – 26 caps, 5 points).

Loose Forwards: Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz – 69 caps, 30 points), Siya Kolisi (captain – Racing 92 – 75 caps, 45 points), Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs – 33 caps, 25 points), Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls – 12 caps, 0 points), Duane Vermeulen (SA Rugby – 68 caps, 15 points), Jasper Wiese (Leicester – 22 caps, 5 points).

Utility Forwards: Deon Fourie (DHL Stormers – 7 caps, 0 points), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat – 65 caps, 15 points).

Backs:

Scrumhalves: Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles – 48 caps, 44 points), Jaden Hendrikse (Cell C Sharks – 12 caps, 12 points), Cobus Reinach (Montpelllier – 25 caps, 45 points), Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks – 4 caps, 0 points).

Flyhalves: Manie Libbok (DHL Stormers – 7 caps, 45 points), Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers – 31 caps, 36 points).

Centres: Damian de Allende (Panasonic Wild Knights – 72 caps, 50 points), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins – 13 caps, 0 points), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles – 61 caps, 60 points).

Outside Backs: Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls – 9 caps, 50 points), Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath – 25 caps, 81 points), Willie le Roux (Vodacom Bulls – 86 caps, 65 points), Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks – 38 caps, 115 points), Canan Moodie (Vodacom Bulls – 6 caps, 10 points).

kingcornPro3,695 posts
08 Aug 2023, 13:39
08 Aug 2023, 13:39#2

Orie in, what a joke. So is Mostert etc. Just making sense of this nonsense team announcement. 

So we have a ton of locks, scrum halves, but no decent flyhalves or back row

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
08 Aug 2023, 13:50
08 Aug 2023, 13:50#3
No Thomas du toit?
kingcornPro3,695 posts
08 Aug 2023, 13:57
08 Aug 2023, 13:57#4

I think Trevor bumped him off to get the quota numbers up. 

Kolisi is still injured. I count 14 players of colour. 

No idea how Mpimpi made the squad

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
08 Aug 2023, 14:05
08 Aug 2023, 14:05#5
Deon Fourie instead of Evan Roos ? ….mostly the same 2019 squad….this is the way of SA Rugby, no merit selection…..happy about Esterhuizen though. .19/ 14 split like Mallet and Swys predicted….it’s going to be interesting WC for sure : )
08 Aug 2023, 14:07
08 Aug 2023, 14:07#6

Maybe Kolisi can be swopped for Pollard if he recovers, and kept on as an anthem singer, are there any rules against that?

TH
TheTraditionalistPro4,003 posts
08 Aug 2023, 14:07
08 Aug 2023, 14:07#7

Great quota team. Again.

SA rugby throwing horse manure to mathematics and people who have faith in mathematics.

The contempt, the scorn.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
08 Aug 2023, 14:11
08 Aug 2023, 14:11#8

Why 4 scrum halves? We need recognised 10 or a goal kicker. 

We can't pin our hopes on Libbok

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
08 Aug 2023, 14:13
08 Aug 2023, 14:13#9
Pollard is a Massive blow, so is AM….Kriel is not a AM…he has been doing a bit better…. But still not where he should be….This team selection shows Rassie,s lack of vision…his 19/14 split shows his intend….SSDD : )
AJHPro3,183 posts
08 Aug 2023, 15:23
08 Aug 2023, 15:23#10

Both flyhalves selected are useless and neither are goal kickers of any international standard.

This squad will feast on the "French Frog Legs" with Nyakane at the front of the line but will fail to deliver on the field of play.

The no hope ANC Goats are wasting our time plain and simple.

Deus Ex LemurPro2,355 posts
08 Aug 2023, 15:41
08 Aug 2023, 15:41#11

Am has a higher ceiling than Kriel, but Kriel is not entirely useless. He has a higher strike rate, and these days, his defence is only a little off at worst. The big difference is Am's offloading. However, as we saw throughout last year, that hasn't been very successful in this Bok side.

The halfbacks are the worst to ever go to a WC for the Boks. If we had a 10 who could defend, I'd say we could manage. I'd actually be tempted to put Esterhuizen at 10 more than Libbok. We really are in a mess with this. Jantjies should have been in there. Perhaps we'll see Willie play 10 again as he did against New Zealand for 80 minutes. 

The outside backs are mostly one-dimensional track running turnstyles.

Kolisi is the premier quota of world sports. He has no leadership, and cannot perform to any reasonable standard. I cannot think of a worse captain in Springbok history. In fact, I cannot think of a worse captain in world sports! Perhaps Harry Maguire comes closest. 

08 Aug 2023, 15:44
08 Aug 2023, 15:44#12
Please explain to me why the FUCK the squad needs 4 scrumhalves???
08 Aug 2023, 15:46
08 Aug 2023, 15:46#13

Are you telling me you know better than Erasmus? Imagine the arrogance to question the greatest coach in rugby history. The negativity and pessimism. U nreal. 

08 Aug 2023, 15:47
08 Aug 2023, 15:47#14
Fuck off you cunt
sharkbokCaptain23,225 posts
08 Aug 2023, 15:52
08 Aug 2023, 15:52#15
The tragedy of AM means we are going to be stuck with Jessica Kriel at 13.

I wonder if it is now too late to experiment with Delande at 13, and Esterhuizen at 12. 
Or Willemse at 13 etc
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
08 Aug 2023, 16:11
08 Aug 2023, 16:11#16
Yes they should use last two warm up games to try those combo’s….see what works the best….In the last game against Pumas, I noticed that Libbok missed the more easy kicks and got the more difficult ones over….so leave the corner ones for Libbok and the rest Kolbe or faf…happy also for Jean Kleyn and Orie is not the Worst lock I’ve seen, but there is better….oh well if by some miracle Boks do reach the Final, history is in our favour as all the WC Final’s we have reached, we won.
08 Aug 2023, 16:27
08 Aug 2023, 16:27#17
Definitely worth trying Esterhuizen and de Allende as a combo - they could inter change roles but our coaching staff is not progressive enough for that - it will be Kriel at 13 because he knows the system Much like Willemse now down as the second flyhalf when before he has been down as a utility player So with Pollard out, instead of bringing Jantjies in they are now going to bank on Willemse and Libbok at 10 So instead of selecting 3 scrumhalves and 3 flyhalves they select 4 scrumhalves and one specialist 10 backed up by a utility player Cry me a fucking river Rassie you complete fucking idiot
kingcornPro3,695 posts
08 Aug 2023, 16:53
08 Aug 2023, 16:53#18

Exactly my point, looks like they will persist with the bomb squad. All opposition have to do is front up to our pack. 

Don't worry about giving away penalties and just slow our ball down.

Yeah not having a 10 is fucked up. 

I would have at least given Jantjies crack if he was in the training camp to see if he still has it

08 Aug 2023, 17:02
08 Aug 2023, 17:02#19

As I predicted the oaks are in a complete froth. Oh the angst on display! 

Everyone of these armchair critics knows more about the players than Rassie. They are all far cleverer, wiser and more knowledgeable about the game than Rassie.

They all know exactly what Rassie is planning and they all know it won't work and the Boks won't make it out of the pool stages. Not too different to the previous World cup where experimental Bok sides had a few hiccups. 

If it were true about how wise the oaks posting here are,  it would indeed be a privilege to be posting on this board but alas to many mamparas saying mampara things. Losing the few marbles they have under the pressure of the squad announcement. 

The Mozzzzquito and Deus are salivating at the prospect of the Boks crashing. Kingcorny has joined these two doomsayers who have been highly embarrassed by Rassie and are thirsting for revenge. They can't wait to tell all and sundry I told you so. 

If perchance we do well it will of course be because the other sides were below par. 

Meanwhile us real Bok supporters wish the team well and hope whatever Rassie is planning bears fruit. 

08 Aug 2023, 17:15
08 Aug 2023, 17:15#20

Damian cannot play 13. Willemse will not be able to better Kriel at 13 either. It's a terrible idea to try either of the two. Damian's defence is more exposed at 13, and his general play is far worse in space. This is just the way it has to be now. Cross your fingers that Kriel doesn't get inured!

08 Aug 2023, 17:23
08 Aug 2023, 17:23#21
Shut up Doos we don’t care what you think Stupid prick
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
08 Aug 2023, 17:24
08 Aug 2023, 17:24#22
Esterhuizen and Kriel could also work…they were not bad together vs the Pumas.
08 Aug 2023, 17:30
08 Aug 2023, 17:30#23

The Mozzzzquito and Deus are salivating at the prospect of the Boks crashing. Kingcorny has joined these two doomsayers who have been highly embarrassed by Rassie and are thirsting for revenge. They can't wait to tell all and sundry I told you so. 

Beanbag, what the heck are you prattling on about? Thirsty for revenge? Embarrassed? Yes I am embarrassed by a team that is playing badly and a coaching team that has been ridiculed by some of the best minds in the game. On the contrary, I want the Boks to the best of themselves. If you think this is it, then you have very low standards or don't think much of South African rugby. 

08 Aug 2023, 17:42
08 Aug 2023, 17:42#24
No Mpower there is no way in hell de Allende will be dropped and for what reason and especially since Am is no longer there de Allende is a certainty and rightly so
08 Aug 2023, 17:56
08 Aug 2023, 17:56#25

I have only one thing to say . . .

GO BOKKE!!!

kingcornPro3,695 posts
08 Aug 2023, 18:27
08 Aug 2023, 18:27#26

Okay Beeno, please tell me which team ever selected 4 scrum halves? 

If there is an injury they can at least call up one of their reserves. 

The lack of a genuine 10 bothers me too. 

They were so stubborn in persisting with Willemse when he doesn't even play there for the last 2 seasons at the Stormers. 

They had a chance last year to bring Libbok into the team earlier. They could have tried him against Wales but they opted for Jantjies who only had 30 min under his belt. 

Only when Willemse bombed that decided to bring Libbok on the end of year tour. 

Blinkers, absolute blinkers. 

They had all of these alignment camps etc 

08 Aug 2023, 19:09
08 Aug 2023, 19:09#27

Willemse is lightyears ahead of the useless Libbok. So our worst possible scenario has materialised. This would is exactly like Goosen going to the 2015 WC as our only 10. Could you imagine that? Ireland and Scotland must be licking their lips. Years to plan, and this is it! One injury to our backs and we are in very serious trouble. One viable 13, no test quality 10s, and for all the 9s we have only one looks the goods. Steph and Kolisi making up the loose trio, and Thor who was quite poor. It just doesn't make any sense. This is an inferior WC team t o the 2003 side. 

AJHPro3,183 posts
08 Aug 2023, 19:40
08 Aug 2023, 19:40#28

I thing a good possibility is that Esterhuizen and de Allande will be a great combo at centers.

The problem is at #10 with the two clowns that they have selected.

But have to agree with Saffex about having four scrumhalves in the squad as well.

Some have concerns about Thor but fear not we have "Shorty" Fourie, Pieter and Kaptein covering for him but luckly the selectors had the insight to add Mostert, Smith and Weise to cover those three.

08 Aug 2023, 19:51
08 Aug 2023, 19:51#29

That's my man Rooitwit. But please take off that Welsh Rugby jersey you wear night and day!

08 Aug 2023, 20:24
08 Aug 2023, 20:24#30

Kingcorney just because you and I can't see the plan doesn't mean there ain't one. 

08 Aug 2023, 22:00
08 Aug 2023, 22:00#31

09 Aug 2023, 06:06
09 Aug 2023, 06:06#32

Without Pollard there aren't really better options at 10...a concern yes, but what else?...there's a reason Jantjies got dropped...4 scrummies...would rather drop one for a 3rd hooker, Deon hasn't played hooker in years.

09 Aug 2023, 10:11
09 Aug 2023, 10:11#33

kingcornPro3,695 posts
09 Aug 2023, 12:29
09 Aug 2023, 12:29#34

If Manie can play like he did in 2022, get all of his goals, not drop a game and just keep knocking them over then we should be fine, but he hasn't so it is a massive concern

09 Aug 2023, 13:45
09 Aug 2023, 13:45#35

Agreed Kingcorn, I like what Manie brings to the table.

So far, he has looked best for the Boks when:
1. His scrumhalf provides a quick service (e.g. Williams, Hershell Jantjies)
2. When Esterhuizen is on his outside. Delande turns everyone into Morne Steyn

If Manie gets quick possession and he has Esterhuizen and Leroux on his outside, I think the Boks can score more tries than any other flyhalf in South Africa.

His overall game is good enough, except for his recent pole-kicking.
I wonder if Faff is covering 10 as backup to Willemse, if Libock is injured.

Pollard is on the standby list, but at this stage- surely it is too late to bring back a player that has been injured.

XA
XaviPro1,924 posts
09 Aug 2023, 14:23
09 Aug 2023, 14:23#36

09 Aug 2023, 14:35
09 Aug 2023, 14:35#37

The kicking in BA is always kak when windy, due to the nature of the stands...Manie kicked well enough for the Stormers for the last 2 seasons, so I really don't see it is a problem...he's been the best SA 10 for the last 2 seasons  ...by a country mile...it's not his fault Rasnaber didn't give him enough game time for the Boks.

GO MANIE!@!