FORUM / RUGBY /  The Great Erasmus using a ‘burner account’?

The Great Erasmus using a ‘burner account’?

Started by Mozart58 REPLIES1,187 VIEWS· 26 Jul 2021, 04:34
26 Jul 2021, 04:34
26 Jul 2021, 04:34#1

Apparently there are accusations by some including Squidge that Erasmus has created a second account which he is using to set up a dialogue with himself. The second account makes some controversial points and Erasmus reluctantly agrees.

Lights on the roof, waterboy duty and now the man is allegedly talking to himself, pretending it’s a real dialogue.

This is bound to be a distraction, silly rather than serious, but if true not the mental stability we’d like to see in a Bok coach.

26 Jul 2021, 07:43
26 Jul 2021, 07:43#2

Fat Rassie is all hype and nothing else.

Always has been.

He should put the pizza down ... forget about his parlor tricks and focus on the job at hand.  

Selecting on merit might also help the cause.

moolaaPro2,380 posts
26 Jul 2021, 10:33
26 Jul 2021, 10:33#3
I’d like you guys to tell me what Nienaber actually does! Why did Rassie chuck in the coach’s role and supposedly take a back seat as Rugby Director (if that’s the right terminology) when he is clearly running things from the sideline! I feel for Nienaber who just seems to pace around upstairs holding his walk-in talkie! I don’t get it…
moolaaPro2,380 posts
26 Jul 2021, 10:34
26 Jul 2021, 10:34#4
That’s walkie talkie!
AU
AugenöffnerPro6,974 posts
26 Jul 2021, 11:06
26 Jul 2021, 11:06#5

Josè is afraid of responsibility, and Crutch builds the core of the Bok gameplan, installs it and coaches it. Josè can't coach, just make poor substitutions and make the players feel happy inside, with warm fuzzy feels. Without Crutch, Josè has no coaching record to speak of. 

26 Jul 2021, 12:02
26 Jul 2021, 12:02#6

kingcornPro3,695 posts
26 Jul 2021, 12:51
26 Jul 2021, 12:51#7

Rassie made some serious lapses in judgement  and seem to be to sentimental when it comes to certain players. The man loves Mapimpi because of his background. I think that is great but sometimes his emotion and sentiment gets the better of him. 

We had no leadership, Kolisi got exposed and how on earth do you throw a 9 point lead away with school boy errors. The real WC captain, Duanne is not around. 

Just wish Rassie would stop with the window dressing. I think his plan with the Black players is just to get them to hold up an end long enough for the better players to come onto the field fresh. 

But when your game plan doesn't work and  your actually starters that has been warming the bench are fed up of not getting to start, effects their self believe and they don't really get into the game. 

my Pack would have been

1. Kitshoff - Thomas the Tank
  2. Marx -  Bongi
  3. Koch - Louw
  4. Etzebeth 
  5. De Jager - RG
  6. Kolisi (not a fan)
  7. Steph
  8. Dan Du Preez - Coetzee

26 Jul 2021, 12:52
26 Jul 2021, 12:52#8
What a load of utter shit
26 Jul 2021, 12:54
26 Jul 2021, 12:54#9
King I like your pack except Ox Nche is good and had a great game as did Nyakane. Malherbe once fit is an absolute rock
26 Jul 2021, 13:59
26 Jul 2021, 13:59#10

Hahahahahaha is all SO EXPECTED. The Boks lose a close fought test the could just as well won and the haters who have been so embarrassed by Rassie's great RWC etc pounce.

Lets reverse things and assume that the Lions players had played virtually no international rugby for 18 months and only had three or so warm up matches. Assume the Boks had being playing tests and were fully match fit with guys like Vermulen, Lood, Snyman and the front rowers Kitshoff, Marx and malherbe all fit and firing etc.

I am confident the Boks would have won and by more than 5 points!

Dr Mozzzz will never forgive Rassie for rubbing his snout in it! World coach of the year, team of the year, Player of the year. Hahahhahahahahahahaha

Now all we get is this bitter vitriol from the haters.. 

As Cobus Visagie CA (SA) said - Rassie is the most brilliant rugby mind he has encountered. Many have expressed similar views.

Now Nienaber is absolved from all blame. Nobody here knows exactly how things work in the Bok camp. BUT that doesn't stop the haters.

Another thing is very apparent especially with the Org. The players faulted are the players he doesn't like. Hence Lood who did okay and Allende who was one of our best backs were useless.  Its all SO PREDICTABLE. You could give these guys their Org ratings before the match was played.

Of course when Rassie wins the opponents were not up to scratch etc. Win a RWC and you are still no good. Beat NZ in NZ and it counts for zip. After all Rassie had some fun with some lights years ago so please dont talk deflect by talking about his Currie Cup wins. Hahahahahahaahhahahhahaha how to make a clown of yourself. 

You must admit the hatter and haters here are hilarious!

And no I would not change the starting Bok front row based on what we saw. I would want very good reasons for their poorish performance. Was it just a technical problem that can be solved in a week? 

Remember this front row demolished England in the RWC so what happened, they had a great RWC all round. Look likes Malherbe was very badly underdone for starters and possibly also Kitshoff who could not out scrum his opponent. 

Ox and company have EARNED another start in my book. Anyhow those closer to the team will have to assess matters.

No more flimsy packs please! At a minimu m Kwagga must go. 

26 Jul 2021, 14:12
26 Jul 2021, 14:12#11

"Dr Mozzzz will never forgive Rassie for rubbing his snout in it! World coach of the year, team of the year, Player of the year. Hahahhahahahahahahaha"

It seems to be the crux, yes...close with the difference as thin as a polony skin...after almost 2 years without any test rugby...and very sparse first class rugga for most of the local South African players...one should think we rather lost narrowly against the Japs for all the doom and gloom BS...

Beenz, Malherbe was on the bench because he's returning from injury/covid...maybe the after covid symptoms played some part?...worse than anticipated?

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
26 Jul 2021, 14:35
26 Jul 2021, 14:35#12

Ja, Beeno, it is indeed amazing...it was a marginal win and ofcourse the Lions are a good side...there was no disgrace.

You would have thought that the so-called "experts" with so many accounts of watching and "analysing rugby, still think that one swallow means it is summer...hahaha.

Looking forward to the last laugh. So fragile these okes are...if we even won by 1 point you would not hear from them but turn it around then the naysayers start boasting about their insights...LOL.

Yes the Boks were a bit lean in the pack but it's an experiment for a bigger picture and better result...a twea k here and there and Bob's your uncle.Rassie won't panic...he is a good coach, period. 

One wonders what makes the naysayers tick...do they prefer to be right rather than win...something really wrong in their mindsets.

Cannot wait for the next test and yes it will be hard but that's the type of rugby that is best.

26 Jul 2021, 14:38
26 Jul 2021, 14:38#13
Spot on Beenkop and Draad You have to love these complete fools It’s sooo predictable Kolisi, de Allende, PSDT, Lood, Kitshoff and Rassie were all kak But Mostert and Kwagga were brilliant Fucking joke a minute
SE
SebPro2,680 posts
26 Jul 2021, 15:03
26 Jul 2021, 15:03#14

A good coach remains calm and does not panic. In 1974, although not the professional era, the best Lions side ever, if not the best rugby side ever, toured our country. They won 3 tests and one draw.The Boks were strong then but the coach (cannot remember) panicked and virtually everyside chosen for each test had major changes...it went pearshaped...bad to worst. The last test however was a draw however but it was fouly drawn, by hook and by crook. It just did not do any credit to the way it was neutralised and Willie John  McBrides side walked tall.

My late father said that was our trouble, drastic changes destroy a side, it kills team spirit. Rassie won't do that...he is a deep thinking man that understands players and knows the meaning of spirit and heart as huge assets to a side. 

26 Jul 2021, 15:08
26 Jul 2021, 15:08#15

Mozart will believe anything that he can use in his attacks on Erasmus - now suddenly he believe some rumor by Squidge - when he did not believe what Squidge said after the WC final.   The man is a raving looney I am afraid.     

26 Jul 2021, 15:22
26 Jul 2021, 15:22#16

Yes, yes ….I’m hater. Or in non woke language a bit of a sceptic  about the Great Erasmus. Never much liked him after he chickened out when Cockbain bliksemed him. 

The Springboks under Erasmus are playing the most limited game plan since readmission….boring, one dimensional rugby. Probably more likely to win than Mike’s expansive game, but awful to watch.

There are a few more of us. I agree with these comments of Woodward’s. Of course I said this was likely from the off:

‘It looked comical, it was comical, and I am surprised South African Rugby are allowing it to happen.

“Erasmus is still coaching the team in all but name, but that’s not his job. He needs to butt out.

Woodward has suggested that Erasmus should take a step back from the Springboks on the coaching front and that Warren Gatland is ‘eating him for breakfast’.

“His job now is to appoint the coaching team and let them get on with it, offering advice when asked but no more. He has become centre stage again. All the pre-match banter is conducted between him and Gatland — and Warren is eating him for breakfast.’

…….

So I guess if Rassie’s a genius, Gatland is Einstein.

26 Jul 2021, 15:30
26 Jul 2021, 15:30#17
Woodward the most useless rugby scribe out there? Would that be the WC side that scored more tries, beat more defenders, gained more metres and players made more clean breaks than any other side in the comp? So if we are achieving all this playing boring one dimensional rugby and thrashing England in the final - what does it say about the other sides playing the game? Try again Moz - we just don’t believe you
26 Jul 2021, 15:59
26 Jul 2021, 15:59#18

Sir Clive to you Dave. Useless or not he makes a valid point, Erasmus should allow Nienaber a proper chance to do his job.

He’s the CEO that retires at 65 but stays on the Board haunting his successor. It rarely works out well in the end.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
26 Jul 2021, 16:00
26 Jul 2021, 16:00#19

Weight versus skill, I know is a contentious subject because it's actually neither in extremes but within the parameters of acceptable balance. You get people that can only visualise in black and white, others see things in shades of grey (old age and somewhat cynical) and then others that not only can adjust their insights to either/or and shaded vision but also see all colours to the rainbow, ie the complete picture.

The game has changed over the years and heaviness and weight has almost become an absolute today or so most believe.

Poor old Kwagga and yes like Keegan Daniel (both outstanding players) have been discarded by some.

But, I cannot really understand this completely or do we always throw the baby out with the bathwater.

I was thinking of the great Springbok captain, Tommy Bedford who played No 8 for Natal and SA. He partnered loosies like Piet Greyling, Jan Ellis and Frik Du Preez. Oxlee once told us at Collegians that Tommy was the smartest and most effective rugby loosie he ever came across. Well he was a light weight but I suppose the trios balanced out and they played to a varying and creative game plan. 

I guess, it's how they are used...you cannot expect Kwagga to fulfil Duane's roll obviously but something quite different to another gameplan.

26 Jul 2021, 16:07
26 Jul 2021, 16:07#20

"Yes, yes ….I’m hater. Or in non woke language a bit of a sceptic  about the Great Erasmus. Never much liked him after he chickened out when Cockburn bliksemed him. "

Nah, the dislike was Day 1...the "chicken" BS was just another cheap shot you couldn'twait to land...don't bring "woke" into this...not even close to being the same thing...you never gave the Rassie-Team a chance...and you still look p!$$ed off because we won the RWC...it's obvious... some of the facts you mention are true, and you have good arguments and insights,  but the crux of your conclusions regarding a few people are dead wrong...similar to Rooi rubbishing Scalla in favor of Watson back in the day...sad to watch...actually similar to the "woke" agenda BS...irony is a b!tch.

26 Jul 2021, 17:14
26 Jul 2021, 17:14#21

The Cockbain incident was before Day 1….it happened when Erasmus was a player. He was doing exactly what he has taught Dud Toit to do…. charging up on Larkham. It was a surprise tactic and quite effective, till Cockbain punched him out. After that Rassie faded away.

So that novel bit of our defence was actually an old tactic.

But do stop whining Draad. Erasmus contrived to lose this test..,,by showing his hand in the A game and by not competing last year…..the chicken run.

Still I agree it was very close….a game of halves….decided by chicken calls from the video ref.

Why is honesty such a hard thing for you and Bok fans in general. We won the WC fair and square, but that didn’t make us the best team in rugby. Losing to the ABs in the pool game put that in perspective. 

RA
RassieNewbie1 posts
26 Jul 2021, 17:23
26 Jul 2021, 17:23#22

Fokoff

26 Jul 2021, 18:32
26 Jul 2021, 18:32#23
Neinaber is not equipped to do the job on his own - he has never gone solo before, has always been by Rassie’s side. Rassie was transparent from the start. He said as director of rugby he would remain hands on with the Boks when it came to coaching but would hand over all the other responsibilities of coaching over to Neinaber so that he could also dedicate time to sorting out SA rugby as a whole. In order for him to accomplish that he needed a puppet to fulfil the role Neinaber is now. Neinaber is no doubt grateful for the elevation and is cutely aware he is not equipped to coach the side on his own. In effect Rassie was never giving up the crucial elements of coaching the side. He has just handed over the auxiliary shit that goes with the job
sharkbokCaptain23,233 posts
26 Jul 2021, 18:40
26 Jul 2021, 18:40#24
Yes, coaches are often director of rugby and head coach at the same time. 
All he has done is spread his job load over 2 people.
Director is above the head coach, so it makes sense for Nienaber to be the head coach.
Nienaber never played professional rugby, and he has never been a head coach - so it makes sense that he is head coach on the condition that he is a Rasse clone. 

26 Jul 2021, 19:08
26 Jul 2021, 19:08#25
Exactly
AJHPro3,183 posts
26 Jul 2021, 19:57
26 Jul 2021, 19:57#26
The test was a close game irrespective of either Erasmus's or Neinaber's choices or plans.
No use knocking the guys the score is history and two tests to go.
Rally the troops and prepare for action but please will someone in the SARU ensure that 23 of the top players are selected irrespective of faith, color or language.
GO Bokke!!!
AU
26 Jul 2021, 20:24
26 Jul 2021, 20:24#27
The plastics are drunk on denial.I've gone through the entire game: Lood had no production, Damian was a total cul-de-sac. 10% of team possession, whers did it go? 3 passes. Our entire midfield must have accounted for about 14 passes at most. 11, 14 and 13 had a little over 1% of total team possession. This is not quality rugby. What did our best chances come from? Hacks upfield hoping for a bobbling ball to go our way. Great stuff. Steph? Where was the production? I keep asking and noone can tell me what he did. Point me to something tangible. I already have everything he did logged. But please, go ahead. 
26 Jul 2021, 21:19
26 Jul 2021, 21:19#28

Point taken Augie….the man has got a great engine they say, but apparently no indicators, breaks, accelerator pedal….and certainly no steering wheel. 

But back to the Great Erasmus. This latest ‘trick’ pretending to be in a dialogue, when he is both Tweedle Dumb (sic) and Tweedle Dee….is a new low point in Bok professionalism. Incredibly immature.

26 Jul 2021, 21:25
26 Jul 2021, 21:25#29
Rassie is the best coach the Boks have had
AU
26 Jul 2021, 21:27
26 Jul 2021, 21:27#30

José isn't even a coach. Strip away what Crutch has done, what are we left with? No team José has ever coached has been a well-round functional team. Everything is on defence and kicking. Without Crutch, José is just Dick Muir; fanciful ideals that can never work, with zero application of said ideals.

26 Jul 2021, 21:33
26 Jul 2021, 21:33#31
Shut up you ignorant prick You are so fucking stupid that you think Neinaber is the real deal The physio
26 Jul 2021, 21:41
26 Jul 2021, 21:41#32

"But do stop whining Draad"....you're the one whining your arse off ever since Rassie had some success...

AU
26 Jul 2021, 21:46
26 Jul 2021, 21:46#33

I never said Crutch is "the real deal", I said he is the one doing the actual coaching. José is not the defence guru, he is certainly not an attack guru. It'sd all going to catch up to him in the end. José is that people guy in the work place who doesn't pull his weight, and eventually gets found out. How fortunate it is that he is in South Africa. It takes a looooooong time for the penny to drop. 

26 Jul 2021, 21:54
26 Jul 2021, 21:54#34
Ah so the physio is doing the coaching Fuck me you are profoundly stupid
AU
26 Jul 2021, 22:06
26 Jul 2021, 22:06#35

Cheeto Education Material: https://www.rugbyworld.com/tournaments/rugby-world-cup/jacques-nienabers-journey-physio-springboks-defensive-mastermind-105327

CA
CanterburyClub Pro160 posts
26 Jul 2021, 22:42
26 Jul 2021, 22:42#36

This is a laugh.

Rassie needs to get the fuck out of there.

Director of coaching as so called water boy - Fuck what next - Will he name himself in the bloody team if they lose the next test?

This is a complete joke

26 Jul 2021, 22:59
26 Jul 2021, 22:59#37
Cantwat No one gives a fuck what you think
26 Jul 2021, 23:13
26 Jul 2021, 23:13#38

‘But on Sunday events took a peculiar turn when he retweeted a post from an anonymous user showing some “questionable calls” by the officials against the world champions.

As part of the retweet, Erasmus adds: “Thanks. This is rugby – sometimes calls go for you and other times they dont”.

In a twist, the anonymous poster named ‘Jaco Johan’ uses the same type of graphic – a yellow circle – to highlight the examples of alleged foul play as Erasmus does on his official account.

Additionally, the user whose bio reads “The real Rassie Erasmus” has tweeted only twice and on both occasions the content was of well-edited video clips implicating the Lions in dangerous play.

It has led to claims on social media that Erasmus has been interacting with himself on Twitter, continuing a bizarre series for the former Springboks back row whose waterboy act on matchday has been mocked by Gatland.’

……

Is this embarrassing or what!

26 Jul 2021, 23:32
26 Jul 2021, 23:32#39
Wow that implicating evidence is sooooo emphatic
26 Jul 2021, 23:47
26 Jul 2021, 23:47#40

Now now Dave don’t pretend you are a lawyer….if it wasn’t true do you think Erasmus might have issued a correction? You betcha!