FORUM / RUGBY /  Top 100 Men's Rugby Players

Top 100 Men's Rugby Players

Started by bobbok...77 REPLIES1,964 VIEWS· 19 May 2025, 23:37
21 May 2025, 15:35
21 May 2025, 15:35#41

I regard PSDT very highly.

...but that doesn't mean that I regard Dawie as not being deluded.

21 May 2025, 16:03
21 May 2025, 16:03#42

Let me help you Dave. There is a huge difference if you commit two defenders. If you don’t the second player is free to fetch over the tackle. So in 30% more of his runs than Etzebeth there is potentially a fetcher available to hunt over Dud. Perhaps that’s why you see so little ‘second effort’ in Dud’s runs..he is concerned with ball protection.

21 May 2025, 16:05
21 May 2025, 16:05#43

Vaccine/Timestamp/Drinksbreak wallowing in images of the male nether regions. Come out of the closet man, you have very little time left.

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
21 May 2025, 16:22
21 May 2025, 16:22#44

Exactly plum and this Rooi Tit Doos is one to talk, with his head so far up Dawie,s ass, the Brown rings is visible around his neck…

Shut the hell up Rooi Doos and practice what you preach…

21 May 2025, 16:25
21 May 2025, 16:25#45

We'll never get Saffex to admit that PSDT has never been ball carrier.

PSDT is a tackle machine, relied upon to make hits. He's not a linking player and he's not a ball carrier.

What Mostert does close to the ruck is what PSDT is mandated to do slightly further afield.

It's that simple. Mostert and PSDT are Rassie's two tacklers. Mostert makes more tackles than PSDT and PSDT makes bigger hits than Mostert.

...of course, this is what we see in the field, but boy Dawie obviously sees beyond the veil and through the fog of rugby, the many invisible ball carries that the rest of us mortals are oblivious to.

21 May 2025, 19:27
21 May 2025, 19:27#46

Wow Moz so when operating in traffic you only ever encounter two defenders, no third to effect the turnover?

Strange as so much of what we see these days is gang tackles often involving two defenders but what do I know

Fact is PSDT carries just as effectively as Eben does - I know that thanks to my observations and the gainline stats backs this fact

Imagine being that ignorant that you believe PSDT is not used as a Bok ball carrier - fuck me in the previous WC he was our go to primary ball carrier - Plum is there anything you do know about rugby - if it’s not Roos at 12 it’s PSDT does not carry in traffic - unfucking believable

You are funny

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
21 May 2025, 19:45
21 May 2025, 19:45#47

Ball-Carrying Style:

Du Toit's ball-carrying has been criticized for being upright and not as effective as some other players. This can be attributed to his focus on tackling and being a physical presence, as opposed to being a skilled ball carrier, according to Rassie Erasmus on Planet Rugby.

21 May 2025, 21:33
21 May 2025, 21:33#48

Out of interest, if PSdT is such a poor ball carrier and just makes a few process tackles every game, what is he doing at #3 in a Ranking of rugby's top players?

How did he get two World Rugby Player of the Year awards?

Is everyone else very stupid and you experts are the only ones who see how average PSdT is?

Is that what you PSdT-bashers would have us believe?

Your Emperor isn't wearing any clothes . . . and you Servile Gimps are the ones who should be telling him. Shame on you all.

21 May 2025, 21:44
21 May 2025, 21:44#49

I rate Mostert extremely highly and his primary function is tackles...

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
21 May 2025, 22:18
21 May 2025, 22:18#50

Every Rugby player ( Even Blondie) has there strengths and weaknesses.

The article states more positives than negatives about PSDT, but it’s confirmed by Rassie himself, what Pieter,s main tasks are.

I rate Pieter for what he can do good, but are not naive enough to add skills that is clearly not his forte.

21 May 2025, 22:41
21 May 2025, 22:41#51

Mpuff where did you drag that utter shit from that PSDT has been criticised for his upright carrying style?

Do you have a lucky packet that you drag this shit from?

His carrying style is no different to Eben, Lood or RG’s and for that reason just as effective

Stop making shit up

Yeah Rooi these clowns have it right and it’s just luck that PSDT is ranked number 3 and has won world player twice

I mean world rugby is an unprofessional organisation they have no idea what constitutes a great player - they would not dare use merit to award these accolades it’s all about the hype and a bit of luck

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
21 May 2025, 23:05
21 May 2025, 23:05#52

Well there is one thing we can agree on…..WR has become a unprofessional organisation :)

Saffolk, would you have rated/ Liked Mostert more if he was blond ??

21 May 2025, 23:27
21 May 2025, 23:27#53

No but if he had been a redhead he would have been my favourite powder puff of all time

22 May 2025, 01:00
22 May 2025, 01:00#54

All you groupies can come up with is opinion and hype. He tackled ‘tirelessly’ in the WC….nope, he tackled tirelessly in the final.

Against Ireland he made 13 tackles, same as Doris.

Against France he made 9 and missed 5….way less tackles than Mostert at 13 and Malherbe at 12.

Against England he made 9, way less than Mostert at 16

Against NZ he emptied the tank and made 28, more than Fourie at 20, but Fourie was playing hooker.

In aggregate across all 4 top contests he made 59 tackles playing 320 minutes….Mostert made 54 playing 225 minutes….far more tackles per minute played.

The facts blow up the BS all the time. Dud Toit was high energy against NZ, for the rest he was productive but not unusual. I believe his manic tackling was very productive in the WC final, but he has reached that intensity in perhaps 5 of his 80 plus tests.

Contribution by effort can’t be sustained and isn’t. The hype, the drivel that runs out of commentators mouths, the lack of attention to detail, to numbers…is what gives you a WC player of the year whose contributions can only be found in one statistic.

And popularity or the lack therof is what denies the best lock who ever played the game the same acceivement.

22 May 2025, 09:11
22 May 2025, 09:11#55

This lines up exactly with how i view PSDT. He is supposed to put in less hits than Mostert but make them count more.

The only time i notice him during games is when he flattens somebody now and then. Granted, one doesn't notice every single thing every player does in a game. I submit that Roos could do his job, likely with greater output and efficiency. Though, Roos doesn't offer much in the way of lineout jumping...but he'll more than make up for that with how he could get around around the park.

I like PSDT, he's put everything on the line for the Boks and his speech in the WC probably made a difference. But when you start telling me what a prolific ball carrier he is then i can only question your acumen. He's very lacking in terms of attacking play. From memory i recall him diving over a ruck to score, feeding Jessie against Wales and charging down the England backs along with Eben to dive on one. Oh and against France he collect what was probably the best offload of DDA's life to then pass it to Jessie who put Kolbe in with that grubber.

But i maintain that Roos is just as strong, faster, has better hands and can actually run in traffic.

If PSDT is an athlete, Roos is a super athlete with a much better all round game.

22 May 2025, 14:27
22 May 2025, 14:27#56

Your problem is that you are too stupid to work out the difference between carrying in traffic and in open space

The Bok plan is to use their big units to carry in traffic - that includes PSDT for obvious reasons

It’s not about him being prolific it’s about him putting his body on the line in the process as do Eben, Lood and RG - and he is no more or less effective in carrying in traffic than those 3

Its only about gaining a metre or two

How stupid even thinking of Roos in the same position - what a pathetic utilisation of Roos’s skills that would be and definitely less effective [search: single men in my area] operating in traffic

His input would be as ineffective as powder puff Mostert’s ball carrying in traffic is

22 May 2025, 15:57
22 May 2025, 15:57#57

In the whole WC Dud made 7 dominant tackles/ Mostert made 4. But Dud missed 12 tackles and Mostert missed 2. Would one trade 3 dominant tackles for 10 tackles made….depends.

But given the vast number of tackles Mostert made at 97.5% success it’s very doubtful we would have won the WC without the cork.

22 May 2025, 16:36
22 May 2025, 16:36#58

Mostert made a dominant tackle?????

Id love to see footage of them - no chance in hell he made dominant tackles - certainly not unaided

I’ve never seen Mostert ever make a dominant hit

22 May 2025, 17:36
22 May 2025, 17:36#59

Dave...all teams use their big units to carry in traffic.

Setting up phase play is 90% of what happens.

What you are not understanding is that PSDT isn't prolific in that role. He's as good at carrying traffic as what you'd expect a Bok flanker to be.

His main role is to make hits. We could have any number of loosies carrying in traffic with the same or better results.

22 May 2025, 18:02
22 May 2025, 18:02#60

I think that’s why Rasmus continues to be fascinated with Wiese…..like Albert’s he can break tackles and provide momentum. But of course offloading is not encouraged.

22 May 2025, 19:42
22 May 2025, 19:42#61

Wrong Plum he is going to be more effective carrying in traffic as a flanker given he is effectively a lock - so having say BJ Dixon or Elrigh Louw at 7 is not going to be as effective in traffic - it’s small margins but they add up

Clearly PSDT is highly rated as a ball carrier by the coaching staff for if he was not he would not have been their go to for so long. The shift of him playing wider is very recent

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
22 May 2025, 20:33
22 May 2025, 20:33#62

Wiese is a much better ball carrier than Stef…lower centre of gravity and packs a punch.

Rassie said it and knows that Stef,s main job is to tackle….he is good at that.

In my opinion he is a better lock and as a lock, he can still make all his hits and win us line out ball.

22 May 2025, 21:07
22 May 2025, 21:07#63

Rassie has never said that PSDT’s main job is to tackle, that’s a lie

Wiese is a different beast when it comes to carrying - his build accounts for that. There are not many of his type about

22 May 2025, 23:14
22 May 2025, 23:14#64

"There are not many of his type about"

...at the Bulls alone you have Marco and Marcel.

Both better at carrying in traffic than what PSDT is. Lol even Akker is better at gaining ground in traffic - yes, I know he can only play at 2.

Regardless, there are plenty of those guys about.

Dave, I feel like you are just gonna have accept that PADT is a tackler, that's his job.

I want to see Ruan Venter leave the Lions and cross the Boerewors curtain to the Bulls. I'm telling you, if that guy gets with the right team and right coach, he's going to be unstoppable. I don't blame him for being half arsed this year, the Lions are a shambles and I wouldn't put myself on the line for them either.

22 May 2025, 23:21
22 May 2025, 23:21#65

Kak man V Staaden is kak and Marcel gets stopped in his tracks these days

The only similar player to Wiese are the du Preez twins

23 May 2025, 11:14
23 May 2025, 11:14#66

Umm...van Staden was bunking people all over turbulent week when he played at 8. You need to watch that game.

And Marcel is playing some the best rugby of his career right now. Much of the Bulls recent positives are centred around what Marcel doing.

Watch the games, Saffex

23 May 2025, 16:39
23 May 2025, 16:39#67

How about Kobus Wiese….bigger than Jasper but still blocky. He seems to break tackles with ease. If the Boks had an effective hard yards ball carrier we would be more formidable…..and if that player could offload, the world’s their Kumamoto oyster.

23 May 2025, 17:22
23 May 2025, 17:22#68

Indeed Moz, Elrigh Louw is also a good carrier that makes yards and busts tackles. So gutted that he got injured. But I see that Kobus Wiese's injury isn't that bad after all.

From the Bulls alone, Rassie could select at least 4 players that make more yards in the tight stuff than PSDT, if that's what he wanted.

But he wants a tackle bot, so he picks PSDT. Not saying that there's anything wrong with being a player that specialises in tackles.

Mostert, the Tackle Bot God, is one of my favourite Boks ever...but I'm not deluded enough to pretend that he's there to carry across the advantage line.

23 May 2025, 18:45
23 May 2025, 18:45#69

You know you're dealing with rugby noobs when they start blabbering about "Kobus" (sic) Wiese instead of Cobus Wiese.

Call me pedantic but if you don't know the difference between Kobus Wiese - the 1995 RWC-winning lock -and Cobus Wiese - the Bulls lock who can play so effectively as a loose-forward - then you're a rugby noob who should be reading more and posting less.

23 May 2025, 19:07
23 May 2025, 19:07#70

Rooi, there are a bunch of player names that I get wrong.

I can't spell half the Shark's player's names.

Phil Collins couldn't read music...

23 May 2025, 19:22
23 May 2025, 19:22#71

ButtPlug, I am well aware of your many . . . ummm . . . limitations. You don't need to remind me.

Not a huge fan of Phil Collins and I know the song so I'll waste no further time clicking on it.

Don't you have a bum to sniff?

23 May 2025, 19:37
23 May 2025, 19:37#72

Lol bad week, our RooiBallas?

"Take a cookie. I promise, by the time you're done eating it, you'll feel right as rain."

23 May 2025, 23:52
23 May 2025, 23:52#73

I like Cobus Wiese - big powerful lad who gets stuck in - am sure he will be capped this year

23 May 2025, 23:57
23 May 2025, 23:57#74

He does get injured quite a bit though.

24 May 2025, 00:34
24 May 2025, 00:34#75

Cobus Wiese?

24 May 2025, 00:54
24 May 2025, 00:54#76

Yeah. He did when he was at Sale..

24 May 2025, 01:05
24 May 2025, 01:05#77

Anybody who doesn’t know there are drinks breaks in cricket shouldn’t post at all. I ask you what is worse, choosing the wrong of two valid ways to write a name or thinking Columbus was vaccinated.

ROFL!

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
24 May 2025, 06:17
24 May 2025, 06:17#78

I can remember he had a massive knee injury at Sale in 2023…and recently he had a ankle injury…

He is a great Player and is having a good run with the Bulls, fingers crossed.