FORUM / RUGBY /  Worcester want compensation for Hougaard injury

Worcester want compensation for Hougaard injury

Started by sharkbok46 REPLIES556 VIEWS· 11 Dec 2016, 16:00
sharkbokCaptain23,261 posts
11 Dec 2016, 16:00
11 Dec 2016, 16:00#1

Worcester want compensation for an injury sustained by Francois Hougaard while on Test duty with the Springboks.

Hougaard, who played for the Boks in several Tests 

during the Rugby Championship, 

returned to Worcester with a shoulder injury. 

The scrum-half was set to be sidelined for three months

due to the injury and his recovery is ahead of schedule 

but the Warriors' chief executive, Jim O'Toole,

is adament that his club wants to be paid for the player's 

setback.

"Francois Hougaard came back from South Africa

carrying an injury 

which he suffered during his campaign with them 

and we've had to

pick up the pieces from that," he told the BBC.

"It has been disappointing to lose one of your top players, 

and one

of your highest paid players too, for such a long period.

"He's a freak of nature, in terms of his rehabilitation,

and we're hoping 

he's back a little bit earlier than originally anticipated.

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
11 Dec 2016, 16:05
11 Dec 2016, 16:05#2
 These mongrel NH clubs are dictating terms to national teams now are they ?
11 Dec 2016, 16:07
11 Dec 2016, 16:07#3
This is bizarre. If the Springboks pay compensation- then it would suggest they are liable for any players that get injured while on Bok duty. The SA Curry Cup teams and the overseas teams. 
If these clubs want to pay for international players- they have to accept that they might get injured when playing in tests. 
Some players are also more injury prone like Marcell Coetzee, or Fats Alberts. 
so they would be a big risk selecting them to playfor the Boks-and then having to pay these clubs out.
11 Dec 2016, 16:28
11 Dec 2016, 16:28#4
 I think that Worcester has a point. SARU,  and Bok supporters,  have made no secret that they are not in favour of "traitors" who play abroad but that they will consider them when they need them,  i.e. they have to be there like spare wheels.  They are not elligible for national contracts and are more or less spare parts. 
The clubs on the other hand are the ones who invest in these guys and they invest heavily.  Hougaard was more or less discarded by SARU and the Bulls. SARU tried to keep him on a string by offering to "redeploy" him to the washed up Kings.  He was dropped for the RWC like a bad habit to accomodate yet another quota player. AC tagged him along and when he got injured,  it was more or less a matter of "OK,  you're fcuked now,  now p!ss off back to your club and tell them,  with our complements, to fix you up and to pick up the tab,  while they're busy.  Oh and buy the way,  tell them that you have to be available,  the next time we are in the k@k again." 
11 Dec 2016, 18:34
11 Dec 2016, 18:34#5
Some valid points Ceradyne. Although SARU is an easy target as a centre of incompetence. 
11 Dec 2016, 19:03
11 Dec 2016, 19:03#6
 As per normal the Dunce do not understand anything,   It is not what the Clubs think or what the media and even supporters think - it is what the World Rugby laws about the game say. 
So if the Clubs contract players they must realize that the players are legally compelled top play for their countries when called upon to do so.
They can obviously take out medical insurance and injury costs.  
As far as I m concerned they contract players in their prime after they have made their names on international level and they have contributed near to zero to development of local players - so they saved massively in that regard.  
No sympathy from me in this case.     
11 Dec 2016, 19:54
11 Dec 2016, 19:54#7
or legally compelled to release players for international duty.  True about insurance- although would it cover injury if playing for a different company/team
11 Dec 2016, 21:15
11 Dec 2016, 21:15#8
 If insurance does not cover that aspect  was not the clubs who signed up must be idiotic. 
11 Dec 2016, 21:17
11 Dec 2016, 21:17#9
Trust ou Hangpram to try and misconstrue what I have been trying to say, again.
11 Dec 2016, 21:20
11 Dec 2016, 21:20#10
 The first paragraph as to the above is a lot of hogwash as to what you "think",   For you to think is highly dangerous and can only result in further idiocy on  your part.   

11 Dec 2016, 21:21
11 Dec 2016, 21:21#11
 The first paragraph as to the above is a lot of hogwash as to what you "think",   For you to think is highly dangerous and can only result in further idiocy on  your part.   

11 Dec 2016, 21:49
11 Dec 2016, 21:49#12
I know that it is a massively tall order but why don't you try to to understand what I was trying to say before attacking me instead of my argument. I cannot believe that you have really "accidently" missed what I said. If you really do not understand that then, I'm afraid, I really cannot help you. I just cannot get myself to spend time trying to educate you. Not at your age.
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
12 Dec 2016, 00:56
12 Dec 2016, 00:56#13
 The country of origin has the biggest investment in players,NH clubs just swoop in and steal the finished article that has had had huge amounts on time and money invested .Maybe a transfer payment of some sort is in order .Anyway I for one am sick to death of the talent drain by these NH theives ,they should try developing their own fecking talent .Getting to where the NH clubs put themselves above national teams with their boring mudclomping rugby.
12 Dec 2016, 02:17
12 Dec 2016, 02:17#14
So what was Hougaardt to do? His country dropped him like a bad habit. He did not have a franchise. Should he have sat at home and twiddle his thumbs or play computer games until some clown decided to recall him?
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
12 Dec 2016, 09:32
12 Dec 2016, 09:32#15
 Or some clown is gotten rid of ? Still a bit saucy of Worcester.
12 Dec 2016, 10:18
12 Dec 2016, 10:18#16
 Some clown did call him back to the Springbok squad - and that gave the Dunce great happiness and then played him on the wing.  
12 Dec 2016, 10:53
12 Dec 2016, 10:53#17
 @ Mike. Luister jy onnosel etterkop. Ek gaan maar hierdie vir jou in 'n ander taal probeer verduidelik want jy is of moedswillig of jy sukkel rerig om Engels te verstaan.  Niemand wou vir Hougaardt hê nie. Almal het gedink hy is te k@k. Worcester het hom 'n kontrak aangebied. Nou vra ek vir jou ook. Wat moes hy gedoen het? Vir hulle gesê het: "Nee dankie, ek wil liewer hier met my duime sit en speel totdat iemand weer hopenlik van my onthou", of moes hy die kontrak aanvaar?
Hy het vir hulle gaan speel en die oomblik toe hy, onder 'n ander afrigter, weer die tipe spel lewer wat hy kan, gryp die p@epol van 'n Bok afrigter hom weer met albei hande aan en toe speel die aap, wat met 'n kortkop meer onnosel is as jyself, hom boonop uit posisie. Om alles te kroon is die SA lot se mediese ouens net so deur die k@k soos jy en AC en sien hulle nie eens dat hy beseer is nie. Nou moet Worcester die gelag betaal? Ek sou net so moerig gewees. 
Ek kan verstaan dat dit jou nie sal pla nie, want jy is min of meer op dieselfde intelligensie vlak as AC.
On behalf of the English speaking people on the forum:
"Listen, you stupid oaf. I am going to try and explain this in another language because you are either too thick or you are really struggling to understand English. Nobody wanted Hougaardt. Everybody thought that he was too crap. Worcester offered him a contract. What was he to do? Tell them that he had rather sit at home and twiddle his thumb, hoping that somebody might remember about him again?
He chose to go and play for them and the moment that he, under a different coach, started to deliver the kind of game that he can, he was grabbed by the asrehole of a Bok coach. who is marginally more stupid than you, and played out of position. On top of that, who is on par with yourself and AC, did not even notice that he carried an injury and now Worcester has to carry the can. I would have been equally p!ssed off. 
I can understand that it wouldn't bother you because you are, more or less, on similar intelligence levels to AC.
12 Dec 2016, 11:26
12 Dec 2016, 11:26#18

Posts: 5697 RE: Worcester want compensation for Hougaard injury
December 12, 2016, 10:53:17

I can understand that it wouldn't bother you because you are, more or less, on similar intelligence levels to AC.

Sies Ceradyne

How can you insult AC like this

12 Dec 2016, 11:28
12 Dec 2016, 11:28#19
 Askies my kroon.
12 Dec 2016, 13:53
12 Dec 2016, 13:53#20
 Listen Dofdoos - the thread has zero to do with Hougaard as a player - it has to do with the audacity of Worcester to claim compensation for an injury while Hougaard was on national duty.
You are totally clueless as per normal when it comes to the SA Rugby set-up.   So one has to accept that your comments about the SA medical personnel is clueless as well,  there is nothing wrong in that set-up - medical doctors still maintain on the whole a high standard and your insult is uncalled for - dofdoos. 
As to the coach - you followed your village idiot boss Mozart in welcoming Coetzee's appointment and I was one of the only people on site who said he would fail horribly in that position.   So who was right about that one dofdoos?    

12 Dec 2016, 14:18
12 Dec 2016, 14:18#21

Mike.... do you drink?

If not, please start  

12 Dec 2016, 14:48
12 Dec 2016, 14:48#22
 No I don't drink and that is why I do not hold with befuddled brains.   Ceradunce is out of control - he just is finding a reason to make the thread into some fools paradise in bring in the issue of performance of Hougaard into the whole stinking mess.  
Instead of looking at the legal requirements as to be expected f=in this case - he started a whole drooling campaign about how ill-treated Hougaard was and how he was forced to join Worcester.   That never was the topic - he made it the topic and ignore the legal implications totally. 
Hougaard did not have a good last few years in SA and his performance was seriously problematic.   He went to Worcester and on club level reportedly did better causing the Clown Coach to call him up for national duty.  
The clown started him out of position as a wing - where he was atrocious and when he benched the scrummie Hougaard was moved to scrummie - where he was not any better.   So the recall was a mistake - but that is no reason to make H ougaard the hero that was left in a mess and the injury claim of Worcester as a result.    

12 Dec 2016, 14:53
12 Dec 2016, 14:53#23
 Jirre, ou Tokkie, are you deliberately trying to come across as an obnoxious qunt, or does it come naturally?
"So one has to accept that your comments about the SA medical personnel is clueless as well,  there is nothing wrong in that set-up - medical doctors still maintain on the whole a high standard and your insult is uncalled for......"
Well, they did miss the injury to Hougaardt. Something that only took a routine medical examination.

English club unhappy with the Springboks over Hougaard injury

But the part that has upset the club is that the problem apparently went undiagnosed by the Springbok medical team and was only picked up when Worcester made Hougaard undergo routine medical checks upon his return.

Worcester's high performance director Nick Johnston said in a statement: "We are extremely disappointed that Francois returned to the club with an undiagnosed injury.

"As a club‚ player welfare is our priority‚ and we will be using our every resource to ensure that Francois has access to the right surgeon and that he receives the highest level of support during his rehabilitation.

"The Warriors medical department assessed Hougaard on his return to Sixways [their stadium] and diagnosed the player with a shoulder injury.

"Hougaard visited specialist consultants following the diagnosis and was given an MRI scan to allow the club to fully understand the extent of the injury. "The scan confirmed that Hougaard will need a Biceps Tenodesis and rotator cuff repair and will be ruled out of action for 10 to 12 weeks."

That, then is the, according to you, high standard of the SARU medical team.
"As to the coach - you followed your village idiot boss Mozart in welcoming Coetzee's appointment ...."
That is right up there with your other blatant lies, such as Morne Steyn signing with Paris St Germain and Bakkies Botha being replaced by Ali Williams due to poor form. Kindly provide me with evidence....... any evidence... where I have welcomed Coetzee's appointment. It must be due to  that confused brain of yours. The one that is still somewhere between a state of: "My friend, JZ, is a good oke and JZ is a bad oke". 
Watch out, mate, just now someone might decide that you are the perfect candidate for the same treatment that Randle McMurphy got, not that it would make much of a difference, in your case.
12 Dec 2016, 15:28
12 Dec 2016, 15:28#24

Posts: 24804 RE: Worcester want compensation for Hougaard injury
December 12, 2016, 14:48:07

No I don't drink   

You may need to reconsider that Mike

For your own benefit, I promise

Going out on a good bender is like having a fantastic shag...... it relieves all the built up tension, and still leaves you with a smile on your face

I could be wrong here, but I detect a slight.... slight bit of tension on your behalf, especially when communicating with Mozart or Ceradyne

Maybe I'm wrong

12 Dec 2016, 15:35
12 Dec 2016, 15:35#25
 "I could be wrong here, but I detect a slight.... slight bit of tension on your behalf, especially when communicating with Mozart or Ceradyne"
We are his Nurse Ratched..... 
In reality, though, we are probably closer than his Dr Spivey. 
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
12 Dec 2016, 16:18
12 Dec 2016, 16:18#26
 "mm juicy fruit "
kingcornPro3,695 posts
12 Dec 2016, 17:11
12 Dec 2016, 17:11#27
 Well, the blame can easily be placed at Saru's feet, but this is nothing new. England went through the same about 5 years ago where the clubs are the ones forking out the wages only to lose a player for the season. In most cases the Internal union has to fork out the compensation. 
The sooner we start implementing central contracts the better we will be off. England has managed to put an Elite Squad of 45 players with an understanding that they share the wages and risk with each club. 

BokBFClub Pro421 posts
12 Dec 2016, 17:13
12 Dec 2016, 17:13#28
 Cera, I object to you linking Mike to a qunt 
" Jirre, ou Tokkie, are you deliberately trying to come across as an obnoxious qunt"
I have rarely met one that I could not get along with or find the good in.If you feel the need to use the term maybe you could call him 1/2 a qunt..?  
12 Dec 2016, 17:53
12 Dec 2016, 17:53#29
 There is, of course, another term that can be used. An Army colleague of mine used to call someone a zunk, and then explained that a zunk is something that looks, feels and feels like a qunt, except that it does not have a hole which means that it is has no use for anybody. CleverZunk?
12 Dec 2016, 18:02
12 Dec 2016, 18:02#30
Hougaart case sounds like another example of SA authorities not taking care of players welfare. There are too many cases where players have repeat injuries, play hurt or where young talent is squandered because they are rushed into the Boks only then to be considered a failure.
12 Dec 2016, 18:25
12 Dec 2016, 18:25#31
 @JW, that is highly insulting towards the SARU medical team. You do know that "...medical doctors still maintain on the whole a high standard and your insult is uncalled for....",  don't you? In case you are not too sure about that, just ask our friend, Mike, he'll confirm that. He has asked Meyer Bosman's mum.    
12 Dec 2016, 19:06
12 Dec 2016, 19:06#32
 Dunce
You are becoming more stupid by the day.   Why is Rupert Honorary Vice-President of the European Golf Tour - it certainly is not for being an innocent bystander.
However, you have fled from SA and knows absolutely nothing about the situation in the country at present.   Stay away Doos - we do not need you here.  
12 Dec 2016, 19:26
12 Dec 2016, 19:26#33
Is this not the best example of clutching at straws?  
Why are you afraid to discuss the Rupert question on the thread that deals with it? 
Why are you so scared to carry on the discussion about Hougaardt, Worcester and the incompetency of the SARU medical team, or whether or not I supported AC as national coach?
BTW, who the feck are you to think that I need your approval to be here? You are a worthless lying fecking nobody after all , ou varkballas.
I am quite prepared to answer your question about Rupert on the appropriate thread. Go ask it over there and I will give you an answer but be prepared to, once again,walk into the cupboard door and come away with a broken nose........... again.
13 Dec 2016, 08:57
13 Dec 2016, 08:57#34

Please

No more broken noses

Mike, just concede..... prevent the pain bro 

13 Dec 2016, 09:04
13 Dec 2016, 09:04#35
Giving up on knocking that sheis ter for what he really is - NO.   He is a expert in writing BS on this site and then goes on about side-issues as if they are the main issue on a particular thread.   That is his style - he never has an original thought in his empty skull.
Must admit I think I must do what I do with the Traditionalist - just not read his BS unless it pertains to actual rugby issues which is as rare as a hen having teeth.  
13 Dec 2016, 10:12
13 Dec 2016, 10:12#36
 Come on, zunk, do you stand by your opinion of the SARU medical team, yes or no? When and where did I support AC. Two simple questions..... for starters.
TT
The_TruthClub Pro471 posts
13 Dec 2016, 10:32
13 Dec 2016, 10:32#37
StupidMaaik: " ....it has to do with the audacity of Worcester to claim compensation for an injury while Hougaard was on national duty."

That is probably the most stupid statement I have ever read!

13 Dec 2016, 14:11
13 Dec 2016, 14:11#38
 The trooth Fairy
You are as stupid as they come and the fact that you act like an idiot is just normal with you,   Go and read the Laws of World Rugby and then come back and apologize - don't be a moron like your ass fly compatriot is.  
13 Dec 2016, 14:23
13 Dec 2016, 14:23#39

Posts: 24812RE: Worcester want compensation for Hougaard injury
December 13, 2016, 14:11:33

The trooth Fairy
You are as stupid as they come and the fact that you act like an idiot is just normal with you,   Go and read the Laws of World Rugby and then come back and apologize - don't be a moron like your ass fly compatriot is.  

TT
The_TruthClub Pro471 posts
13 Dec 2016, 16:08
13 Dec 2016, 16:08#40
 OK StupidMaaik... Let's refer to Regulation 9 in the World Rugby Handbook then...

I specifically refer to page 197 of the rugby handbook, in Appendix 3 of regulation 9, where it is expressly stated in paragraph 2, sub-paragraph 2.1, that the "Union" is responsible to have medical cover in place to cover the player and "where applicable" to cover the "Primary Employer". The Union of course being the South African Rugby Union.