FORUM / RUGBY /  Worst Ever Springbok

Worst Ever Springbok

Started by Wardad37 REPLIES19,662 VIEWS· 23 Sept 2013, 10:33
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
23 Sept 2013, 10:33
23 Sept 2013, 10:33#1

I"m bored so first up your selection for worst bok and why, then later we will do worst AB and so on

To start it off heres my selection just off the top of my head ,mind you theres a rich vein to tap from all teams .

FC. Smit . About 240+lbs 6'6"  able to turn on a dime ,so long as said dime were the width of a football field ,no make that the length of said field .

1 test against the poms which he lost in 1992-93? cant be arsed checking for I am a lazy ,lazy man .

I recall a friend saying as how Smitties main claim to fame was being tackled by some nekkid [ except for socks] fan while Smit was about to score the try that would have won Free State the final ? Oh the shame ! usually its a rugger player tackling some nekkid dude on the field not vice versa !

Selections please then I can name my most useless AB [ and its not Beaver !} preferably someone still alive or from at least the latter part of the last century because recalling from memory uses less energy than tapping out something on the googliser thingy ,as I said I am a lazy ,lazy man .

23 Sept 2013, 11:02
23 Sept 2013, 11:02#2

wassup warhammer, :o)

dont about the worst Bok, but worst All Black would prob have to be simon mannix IMO, one test and if beaver thought he had it bad when he cost us the kong kong test, then he should remember mannix, he was crucified by the media and public.

grubbiest Bok and All Black, easily loe and bakkies.

23 Sept 2013, 11:07
23 Sept 2013, 11:07#3
A too wide question to answer - since there have been so many bad apples in the Springbok team druing the past century. Rather limit it to the last decade - ie from 2003 onwards with special reference to the present team. I would say in the present team there is a close tussle between Kirchner, Alberts, Jannie Du Plessis and Steenkamp and my vote will go to Steenkamp. If De Jongh ever gets onto the bench there would be a dead heat between him and Steenkamp. They would be followed by Kirchner, Alberts and Jannie du Plessis in that order.
23 Sept 2013, 11:15
23 Sept 2013, 11:15#4

Okay, there are two ways of answering this, firstly, the worst player to ever pull on a Springbok jersey and secondly, the worst single performance by a Springbok player . . . because they can be two different things.

In the first instance, I'm guessing quite a few SA supporters might select Jorrie Muller or Dave von Hoesselin as the worst player to pull on a Springbok jersey but I reckon it's almost certainly got to be a quota player . . . some average Joe picked simply because of the colour of his skin. The guys I would nominate are Ettiene Fynn, selected by Harry Viljoen for the June tests of 2001; Bevin Fortuin, selected by Jake White for two tests in 2006 and 2007 and my winner . . . Tim Dlulane, selected by Jake White on the year end tour of 2004. These are guys who were average by provincial standards (and in Dlulane's case, that's flattering him because I don't know anyone who's even heard of him or seen him at provincial level) and who were unfairly elevated to international level where they predictably made fools of themselves.

However, if I'm selecting the absolute worst individual performance by a Springbok in a test match, then I would select Corne Krige for his dirty and cowardly play throughout the humiliating 53-3 loss to the Poms in 2003 as well as his "captaincy" which was nothing short of pathetc. . . marginally head  of Dean Greyling's 2nd half appearance off the bench in the 2012 RC game against the All Blacks when he came on, missed tackles, gave away countless penalties and eventually got yellow carded for a cowardly and cynical elbow on Richie McCaw's head.

I don't think either Krige or Greyling were/are particularly poor players but those were the worst two individual Springbok performances I can recall.

WG
What's going on?Club Pro237 posts
23 Sept 2013, 11:18
23 Sept 2013, 11:18#5

For me it would have to be Naas Botha because theres nothing bad i can say about him. And i hate that.

Worst ever All Black John Mitchell. Totally useless. South Africa can have him ,

23 Sept 2013, 11:45
23 Sept 2013, 11:45#6

Its a toughie as we have had a need at times to select "quota" players so that may tarnish it a bit but I would say Pierre Uys makes a strong claim for it. He played 1 test match at  number 7. It was the Boks 21-6 loss to Scotland at Murrayfield. He was plucked fresh from the Pumas which is a first division team in SA. 

Jorrie Muller was also pathetically bad and it baffles me how he played on the worlds biggest rugby stage. The 2003 WC.. He was simply not a good rugby player!

Clevermike, you mention players above that dont come close to being bad players. Get over your hate for Alberts. He is a must for the Boks and if we are to do well, we need him to be playing well. De Jongh, Steenkamp, Jannie and Kirchner are all damn good rugby players. Maybe some of them mentioned are not the best we have at the moment but they are all damn fine players and deserved Boks!

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
23 Sept 2013, 11:50
23 Sept 2013, 11:50#7

Boklogic isnt there a "Jorrie " trophy for dumbassery or something on one of the sports sites ?

23 Sept 2013, 12:01
23 Sept 2013, 12:01#8

Something like that..I think if a player really screws up and has a shocker, you might get someone say, "He had a Jorrie" today!" An absolute game to forget..

23 Sept 2013, 12:12
23 Sept 2013, 12:12#9

@Wardad. If you say that they guy was crap, and I am not saying that he was brilliant, because HE lost a test, than he was actually quite brilliant to be taking on a test side of 15 men all on his own. LOL. You also cannot mock him for scoring the try because of the idiot who rackled the defender. Wasn't his fault now, was it?

@Rooinek. I do not totally agree with you about Tim Dlulane. He was actually a very promising flanker whose career was cut short by a serious neck injury. He should probably not have been in the Bok side in 2004. It was just too soon for him to be included. He was another victim of the quota system that saw players of colour in the Bok side way too soon. He played for the Mpumalanga Pumas and got selected for the Boks, and then moved to teh Bulls the next year. He did play very well and everybody was expecting him to be in contention for a spot in the Bok side again, until he had the neck injury in 2006. He did not just disappear into thin air. He got involved in the Bulls' structures on various levels and with distinction. He has recently been named as the replacement for the famous Wynie "Gemmerkat" Strydom as the Bulls Team Manager, and it had nothing to do with him being someone of colour who is being pushed again. He was the logical choice from within the Bulls structures as Wynie's successor. Not trying to knock you on this. It was just interesting to me, because I have met him when I was involved with one of the Pumas rugby clubs and had frequent contact with a lot of them. I have met him a few times and he was always, to my mind, a very likeable and very hardworking person, and it was sad when his career was ended.

www.rugby365.com/article/55831-dlulane-to-fill-wynie-s-blue-boots

Tim Dlulane will replace long-serving Wynie Strydom as Bulls Super Rugby and Currie Cup team manager next year.

Having represented the Bulls, Blue Bulls and Springboks as a loose forward, Dlulane is well poised to take on the position of managing the first team.

Blue Bulls Company CEO Barend van Graan looks forward to the new appointment.

“Tim has been with us for many years in which time he has worked hard and smart. His dedication towards the company, relationship with players, organisational strength and knowledge of the game resulted in him being an obvious choice.”

Dlulane’s CV is an impressive one with qualifications in sports management, coaching and refereeing. In 2009 he participated in a Professional Athlete Mentorship training programme through the Gauteng Provincial Government. In 2009 and 2010, he worked with SA Rugby as the logistics manager for the South African Under-20 team.

Since January 2007, Dlulane has been employed as the Blue Bulls Junior High Performance team manager with responsibilities ranging from the management of budgets for Blue Bulls Vodacom Cup team, and Blue Bulls Under-19 and 21teams, procurement of equipment and apparel, and day to day organisation.

Perhaps his greatest responsibility has been the co-ordination and management of the Blue Bulls Junior High Performance department consisting of 18 coaches, doctor, physiotherapists, biokineticists, masseuse and baggage master.

Dlulane looks forward to filling the big boots of Strydom. “I have learnt so much from Wynie and look forward to continue with the current structures and powerful team ethic that is synonymous with the Blue Bulls family.”

In my opinion, the worst Springbok ever must have been Kaya Molotana:

The sad part is that he was also a victim of the quota system. He should never have been selected. After his stint on and EOYT, he was without a contract, and he was "forced" onto the Pumas in some sort of deal, that I would not like to discuss. He was just not up to standard. Danie Gerber, who was one of the Pumas coaches told us one evening that he just did not have the skills to be a Springbok centre ever, and I think that if there is one person who would have been able to recognise a good centre, it would have been Danie Gerber. It is not what somebody told me. I heard it with my own ears.

I agree about Corne Krige.

I think the most stupid act by a Bok ever, must have been Bakkies' headbutt on Jimmy Cowan. Cowan was an idiot on the day, and on many other days as well. I never liked him and still do not like him. He stiil has that stupid arrogant way about him at Gloucester. He did piss of Bakkies earlier on in the game but Bakkies' retaliation was stupid and no matter how a big fan of Bakkies I am, he pissed me off that day. The moment that I saw the incident happening, I wanted to throw a brick at the TV. That was stupid and really cost him. What was interesting about that incident was what happened during his hearing. He was told, by the chair of the hearing, that he has a reputation and that (at the time in 2010) he has hords of yellow cards to his name and that he keeps on collecting them regularly. Bakkies' reply: "Mr Chairman, my last yellow card was in 2003."

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
23 Sept 2013, 12:20
23 Sept 2013, 12:20#10

Nah mate I just think poor old Smit was funny ,by all accounts useless but funny ! And did Molotana become a commentator after 1 test against Italy or Portugal or something ?

TT
The_TruthClub Pro471 posts
23 Sept 2013, 12:25
23 Sept 2013, 12:25#11

Tim Dlulane was a young player selected on the 2004 EOYT while he was at the Pumas (at age 23, which is reasonable for a forward.) After that he was out of the game for a while due to injuries. He then moved to the Bulls and consistently won the team's internal performance awards he also had a very high work rate and consistently made the most tackles in the team. 

In 2006 he got injured when one of the vertebrae in his neck was fractured during a Currie Cup match and never played again.

http://www.iol.co.za/sport/neck-injury-may-end-dlulane-s-rugby-career-1.561173

Anyone who calls him a "quota player" on the basis of his skin colour alone is a racist in my opinion. Dlulane was an exceptional player, with a career cut short by a serious injury.

hakwaPro4,146 posts
23 Sept 2013, 12:57
23 Sept 2013, 12:57#12

Bismarck - strong as an ox and twice as smart!

sharkbokCaptain23,230 posts
23 Sept 2013, 13:11
23 Sept 2013, 13:11#13

Braam VanStraaten.All he could do was kick for poles and tackle. 

The worst flyhalf to ever play at international level for any team.

kingcornPro3,695 posts
23 Sept 2013, 13:43
23 Sept 2013, 13:43#14

I remember Tim, he was actually a really fine player, but left out by single minded provincial coaches. We could have said the same of Habana had he not been such a great success. White was under a lot of pressure to get black players in the bok team. He whent one step further and created and accelleration programme to try and get black players with potential and oppertunity to commit to rugby. For example, when Nokwe played for WP he was still living in a shack and had to take loads of taxis just to get to the training ground. Through this programme they were able to get him a car so that he can make team practicies. 

The reason i like Jake White is the work that he did in the background which everybody seems to forget. He was also responsible for getting Gabani Bobo back in rugby after deciding to become a rasta. 

White merely identified black talent and knew that he had to put a lot of work to get them recognise by the unions. 

If you look at habana's introduction to bok culture, he only had a hand full of currie cup games and got selected to tour with the boks to New Zealand. Nobody knew who he was. Came back and scrorred some great tries in the curry cup. On his debut at Twickenam, even though we lost, when he came on the whole game changed. He simplied gassed players out wide, I would never forget his first try. It was shear magic. 

Jake knew the potential in Tim and was it not for a bad tackle on the worst rugby player ever, earl the pearl rose, he would have had quite a few bok caps against his name.

So for me there are a few bad players and I wouldn't bring quota players in. Earl Rose, this guy just didn't like to tackle or getting tackled. I remember watching a mid week game where the boks played Leicester and he dillebarated got himself in the wrong position not to tackle, I will never forget it. I could see leicester going down the wing, earl just kept back tracking and going in field instead of using the touch line to force the guys wide. The worst part is that the boks lost to Leicester and my father in law very kindly brought it up at my wedding in handing me the DVD of when leicester beat the world champions. 

So fuck you earl rose.

Other players i thought that was terrible were Gaffie Du Toit, this guy just couldn't wear green. Kankowski springs to mind, couple of bulls players. Wannenberg especially. 

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
23 Sept 2013, 13:49
23 Sept 2013, 13:49#15

Rooinek ,At the very least Corne Krige did man up about how ashamed he was about deliberately setting out on mayhem and dragging the other boys into it with him ,strangely enough after Jannies Labuschange was red carded ! Was it that game where his coach said Our boys didnt concuss themselves " only to be shown footage of Krige punching a bok out by mistake ? Hoot that is but hahaha! 

Sharkbok does that make Van Stratten like Morne only he can tackle too ? hahaha takin the pizz !

23 Sept 2013, 14:37
23 Sept 2013, 14:37#16

kingcorn

RE: Worst Ever Springbok
September 23, 2013, 13:43:11

I remember Tim, he was actually a really fine player, but left out by single minded provincial coaches.

Not quite true. He was a regular and a key player at the Pumas where he became a Bok and then moved to the Bulls, who paid big money to get him. He was a key player there as well and was MOM in the CC final in 2006. Nope, the only times that he wasn't a regular was when he had injuries.

DD
dan danRookie46 posts
23 Sept 2013, 21:03
23 Sept 2013, 21:03#17

i can think of four guys who should never have come close to being a bok, Devon Raubenhiemer,Dale Santon,Kabamba Floors and Hilton Lobberts. Jorrie Muller and Meyer Bosman are terrible as well

23 Sept 2013, 22:47
23 Sept 2013, 22:47#18

Albert v/d Bergh

24 Sept 2013, 11:05
24 Sept 2013, 11:05#19

Wardad, FC Smit was a WP player. He got tackled by Brian Barnof in a Currie Cup semi final. And yes, it was an open try line and yes, he only wore his socks and WP lost the game. When FC was tackled by the Free state spectator, he knocked on and the ref gave the scrum to the cheetahs and they scored and won the game. They lost in the final the following week I think.

Worst Bok performance must bre Greyling last year with Krige at Twicks a close second. In Krige's defence, he was coached by Strauli ag the time I think.

24 Sept 2013, 12:01
24 Sept 2013, 12:01#20
Eddie Andrews
SE
SebPro2,680 posts
10 Feb 2022, 07:29
10 Feb 2022, 07:29#21

Molotana probably and Braam Van Straaten and Dean Greyling not bad calls either...ugly players, dull as dishwater and absolutely lacking in panache and style.

Thought this an interesting topic in a negative way, that was 8 years ago should be more to add to list. Quite a lot sadly of the posters have gone, some we know while others I guess were just tired of the same old thing.

Now rigor mortis has set in at Ruckers and all the topics are childish tiffs between almost senile old men...banter has gone and has been replaced by personal character assassinations.

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
10 Feb 2022, 16:10
10 Feb 2022, 16:10#22
Maybe it’s a bit over reacting on your side Seb....normal everyday things, people, there minds are all not normal anymore because of how life has become.....happiness, freedom and the stress of Financial implosion has preoccupied people’s minds.....to such an extent that it works on a persons mojo....therefore you will have unhappy people letting of there steam on site....not saying that it’s correct or in any way up building, but understandable.....so maybe the way to go, is to in courage people to protect there minds and try to keep hope and enjoy life’s good moments and not to allow personal negative things to creep in and influence a person self happiness.....instead of breaking down and focusing more on negative things....I am sure that when life gets a bit more bearable, all these posters will be back and you can have your excitement back....in the meantime make the best of what you have now. :)
10 Feb 2022, 17:58
10 Feb 2022, 17:58#23

Actually Chabal the tone would improve if you would stop these whiny posts.

10 Feb 2022, 18:14
10 Feb 2022, 18:14#24

As for the worst ever Springbok, the answer is obvious…..Luke Watson. Not only a total flop as an international player he is the only Springbok who wanted to barf on the Bok jersey. 

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
10 Feb 2022, 18:38
10 Feb 2022, 18:38#25
100% my choice to.....Luke Puke was not even a good Rugby player what a disgrace !
10 Feb 2022, 23:44
10 Feb 2022, 23:44#26
Luke Watson was a class player with a pathetic agenda Not even close to being the worst Bok ever Albert vd Bergh Braam v Straaten Ross Cronje
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
10 Feb 2022, 23:49
10 Feb 2022, 23:49#27
Oh my goodness dave now I am really surprised?? I did not expect that, especially because of his small stature:)
11 Feb 2022, 00:01
11 Feb 2022, 00:01#28
He was a bloody good player - won super rugby player of the year - you don’t do that being a crap player. He was good over the ball and very good in general play - one of the best linking opensides I have seen At 100kg he was more than big enough for an openside He was a fantastic player but a complete doos thanks to his dad
11 Feb 2022, 00:07
11 Feb 2022, 00:07#29
List of worst Boks ever Top of the list has to be Earl Rose Followed by Lourens Adriaanse then Ross Cronje then in no particular order: Bevin Fortuin Bared Pieterse Heini Adams Davan Raubenheimer Thando Manana Kaya Molatana Marco Wentzel Albert vd Bergh Pat Cilliers Elrich Lubbe Marvin Orie Ruan Dreyer Julian Redelinghuys Marnitz Boshoff Franco vd Merwe Braam v Straaten Rob Kempson
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
11 Feb 2022, 00:33
11 Feb 2022, 00:33#30
Marnitz Boshoff was actually not that bad as fyhalf, but was plagued by injury ....and Pat was quite a descent tight head prop and did not force his way into the springbok squad as old Cheeky Junior:)
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
11 Feb 2022, 00:39
11 Feb 2022, 00:39#31
Oh ja and Rob kempson was a tough dude not a bad prop either.....although sometimes a bit reckless ....Earl rose the Golf Club Napster....LMAO...after getting “ lekker dronk” drove his car right into “ Oos Kus Fisheries “ in Gordons Bay. :)
11 Feb 2022, 01:56
11 Feb 2022, 01:56#32
No - Pat Cilliers was kak as was tiny Rob Kempson
11 Feb 2022, 05:27
11 Feb 2022, 05:27#33

Watson was a total flop on the test stage despite being PdV’s big project. A small fellow he was always indistinguishable from Craig Davidson. For a while he looked good next to Schalk because Schalk did all the work. But the ABs took him apart….and then he wanted to puke on the jersey.

11 Feb 2022, 10:22
11 Feb 2022, 10:22#34
Disagree Watson was not a flop at all playing test rugby - he was solid and one could hardly judge a player playing a handful of tests under a self inflicting cloud. Hardly small at 103kg The AB’s never took him apart Watson was a class act - far better suited to 6 than Schalk ever was.
11 Feb 2022, 17:48
11 Feb 2022, 17:48#35

Schalk was an awesome 6 until his neck injury….he outfetched McCaw and George Smith in the 2004/2005 TN. Watson was dropped, very reluctantly by PdV when the evidence became clear that he wasn’t test material.

Look at the timeline:

DateAgePositionOpponentResultScoreVenueProv09 Jun 200723FlankSamoaWin: 35-8 Ellispark, JohannesburgWP07 Jun 200824FlankWalesWin: 43-17 Free State Stadium, BloemfonteinWP14 Jun 200824FlankWalesWin: 37-21 Loftus Versfeld, PretoriaWP21 Jun 200824FlankItalyWin: 26-0 Newlands, Cape TownWP05 Jul 200824ReserveNew ZealandLose: 8-19 WestPac Stadium, WellingtonWP12 Jul 200824ReserveNew ZealandWin: 30-28 Carisbrook, DunedinWP09 Aug 200824FlankArgentinaWin: 63-9 Ellispark, JohannesburgWP16 Aug 200824ReserveNew ZealandLose: 0-19 Newlands, Cape TownWP23 Aug 200824ReserveAustraliaLose: 15-27 Kingspark, DurbanWP30 Aug 200824Reser

Watson told a public gathering on 3 October 2008 that he had to stop himself from vomiting when he wore the Springbok jersey, and referred to black players such as Zola Yeye who during apartheid had been excluded from national selection.

……….

He gets dropped after all the hoopla about how he was going to show up Jake White and then a month later he’s contemplating barfing on the jersey. Do you think it was about Yeye or about getting dropped? A totally hyped player and a spiteful one.

11 Feb 2022, 21:22
11 Feb 2022, 21:22#36
Schalk was a great player but not an openside despite having to operate there to accommodate Juan Smith Schalk was probably best suited to 8, especially considering the skills he showed playing for Saracens For the Boks he mostly operated like CJ did for Ireland. He always targeted traffic to set up the next phase. He wore 6 but played like a 7 Watson got dropped for reasons that had nothing to do with rugby I read he regrets his behaviour and would do things differently now - stupid boy - what a waste of a good talent
MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
11 Feb 2022, 22:10
11 Feb 2022, 22:10#37
I read that he is Pastor Luke Watson now.? His sermon is called “ The real me”
AJHPro3,183 posts
12 Feb 2022, 19:31
12 Feb 2022, 19:31#38

Agree that Puke Watson was a good rugby player but........

he was influenced by his Dad and and became a political rugby player and that totally destroyed his creditability both on and off the field.  

His comment about `puking` on the springbok jersey to university students was the final straw for me.

If he is a minister now I hope it is because that is the only way he should be able to speak to his father `Cheeky Watson` for what he did the the EPRU.

Slime balls both of them.