FORUM / RUGBY /  Being Meyer thread.....select the Bok team for Oz

Being Meyer thread.....select the Bok team for Oz

Started by Mozart66 REPLIES1,390 VIEWS· 26 Aug 2013, 16:56
27 Aug 2013, 21:11
27 Aug 2013, 21:11#41

Ou Maaik, buyt you really are a knucklehead, aren't you?

RE: Being Meyer thread.....select the Bok team for Oz
August 27, 2013, 10:52:57

I stopped reading your statement - when I realized that you regard Club games in France as equivalent to anything higher than CC games - and think that they are equivalent to Super 15 - what a dolt!!!!!!!!

You are nothing but  a blithering idiot if you think that the French Top14 is on the same level as Currie Cup games. I am not even going to try and argue that one with you, because it is of no use. I doubt if you ever watch any of those games and if you do, you have just demonstarted how dimwitted you are in any case. You only needed to watch one of the games of the past weekends and compare that to any of the CC games (sans all the current Springboks). There is no comparison. I have said nothing about Super 15. That was your assumption. I have only commented on your comparing it to CC. What a joke.

KR
KruegerRookie14 posts
27 Aug 2013, 21:22
27 Aug 2013, 21:22#42
1. Tendai Mtawarira 2. Adriaan Strauss 3. Jannie du Plessis 4. Eben Etzebeth 5. Lood de Jager 6. Heinrich Brüssow 7. Lappies Labuschagne 8. Duane Vermeulen 9. Fourie du Preez (if not available Cobus Reinach) 10. Morné Steyn (waiting for Johan Goosen to be ok) 11. Bryan Habana 12. Jean de Villiers (c) 13. Robert Ebersohn 14. JJ Engelbrecht 15. Willie le Roux Bench: 16. Bismarck du Plessis 17. Coenie Oosthuizen 18. Steven Kitshoff 19. Andries Bekker 20. Siya Kolisi 21. Cobus Reinach 22. Patrick Lambie 23. Jan Serfontein
28 Aug 2013, 02:43
28 Aug 2013, 02:43#43

Lets be real guys, we can not have a pack with a small 6 and 7 as well as a small centre. We do not play "total" rugby like NZL or Aussies. We play a boring kick and chase game where we rely on hammering the opposition and accumulating points through defence.

Why would you want to take away our only real strength at the moment. Steyn is a boring flyhalf. No use have excitement machines outside him. He wont utilise them in his kick and chase shit.

So we get rid of our big ball carriers like Alberts and Louw and fill them with smaller guys so we take away our only strength of bashing teams up and then we left with a bunch of guys who might be fast enough to get to the breakdowns and "compete" (not steal like Hooper) for the ball all so we can see Morne and Pienaar kick it straight back to them so they can run at us until we are physically fucked and we get big scores put on us as defence is twice as tiring as attack?

We are fooling ourselves guys. We dont have it in us to play a running game. You all have a full go at Saffex for his team but at least the man can "vision" the way he would like to see SA play, and is selecting accordingly. You laugh at him but can anyone say for sure his team wouldn't work because a 60 point turn around in 1 week is damn sure not working already! At least he has the guts to select who he thinks can carry out the game plan he would want to see.

My team comprised solely on what we have available but would not be my bok dream team by any stretch of the imagination. The way I would want to see the Boks play, guys like Stokkies Hanekom and the likes would be nurtured and prepped! Real talents not just big guys who can bash and defend. The best 13 in the world looks like a spider he is so gangly (Conrad Smith) but no one will tell him he is an easy beat!

Fuck all those South African okes that have gone overseas. I dont mean that they are traitors. Good on them for securing their future but we dont need them if they not in our systems. We have enough in our ranks and coming through yearly to keep our stocks up.

Of the guys in SA, we can make a team just as strong as we have now!

15 Lambie

14 Aplon

13 Serfontein

12 De Villiers

11 Engelbrecht

10 Goosen

9 Van Zyl

8 Vermuelen

7 Alberts

6 Fourie

5 Etzebeth

4 Willemse

3 Du Plessis

2 Du Plessis

1 Mtwararira

Lambie had one of his best Currie Cup seasons at 12 for the Sharks and was damn good against the Bulls there in Super rugby this year. No reason with his tackling ability and decision making that he wont do the job there for the Boks to if Serfontein or De Villiers were out!

We have enough guys coming through too like Venter, Hanekom, Howard, De Allende. We have enough talent. Fuck this kick and chase shit its won us nothing since the sheep shaggers caught on to us out in 2010!

There is no reason at all we can play like NZL and Aus. None at all but our selections are fucked.

WG
What's going on?Club Pro237 posts
28 Aug 2013, 13:01
28 Aug 2013, 13:01#44

Boklogic hey Kiwi who are you calling sheep shaggers ?

The Aussies , the Welsh or was that a bit of self depreciating humor?

North Harbour is'nt the best place to be living given how crap your teams playing either so i'm guessing it's very hard to identify with the local team but you can still support the Mighty ABs buddy.

28 Aug 2013, 14:14
28 Aug 2013, 14:14#45

I think Meyer's dream starting 15 would look something like this ...

Kirschner

Basson

Ndungane

JJ

Serfontein

Morne

HouGat

Spies

Du Plessis

Stegman

Kruger

vd Merwe

Kruger

Ralapelle

Greyling

This should bring him to the point of an orgasm.

28 Aug 2013, 15:26
28 Aug 2013, 15:26#46
Clean Cunt why don't you man up and give us your side........we need a good laugh on here after Meyers latest squad selection. Entertain us you twat - pretty please
TT
The_TruthClub Pro471 posts
28 Aug 2013, 15:26
28 Aug 2013, 15:26#47

15. Willie - hehehe (The fact that he caught one of the 4 high balls kicked at him makes him the best choice!!!)

14. de Allende 13. - bwahahaha

JJ 12. Serfontein - acceptable, but Jean is the captain and did nothing wrong!

11. Habana - acceptable, best choice at the moment, but a little ineffective!

10. Lambie - bwahahaha!!!

9. v/Zyl -bwahahahaha!!!!!

1. Beast - acceptable

2. Bismark - acceptable, but Strauss is still better at the moment

3. Coenie - At 3? bwahahaha

4. de Jager - bwahahahahaha!

5. Etzebeth - Deserves his spot

6. Brussouw - Bwhahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!

7. Elstadt - Bwhahahaha

8. CJ Stander - Bwhahahaha!

16. Strauss - The fact that you have Strauss and Bismark both is okay... (Your only selection success)

17. Nkanyne Family of pikanyne? - Overweight slob

18. Jannie - One of the better props but lazy

19. Jacques du Plessis - bwahahaha! selected because of his hairstyle, because hie play is nothing to write home about

20. Kolisi - Better than Brussouw, but that tells you how crap Brussouw is!!!

21. Reinach - he is okay

22. Jean - Is he on the bench for development purposes.... bwhahahaha!!!

23. Mvovo - Bwahahahahaha!!! based on what???

FUCK! I enjoyed that laugh....

10/10 for comedy value. 5/23 for the selections.... One can expect a similar win ratio of 21%, with a team like that!!!

28 Aug 2013, 15:29
28 Aug 2013, 15:29#48
TwatOut why don't you man up and provide your insightful choice of Bok side little man........take your time......I suggest a google. How your bum buddies on the SS site doing, you still holding hands?
28 Aug 2013, 15:48
28 Aug 2013, 15:48#49

Haaaaahahahahahaaaaaa!!!!

Now now Stupid ... there's no need to be so vulgar.

I take it you don't like my team above ... huh???

I mean ... it's got HouGat in. Honestly thought you'd approve. I know you would have preferred Jantjies in as well but hey ... you can't have your cake and eat it. I really expected the big thumbs up from you, Stupid.

Must say your team was an absolute scream. I guess we can look forward to some drastic changes to your team next week again, huh?? It seems to change every time you post one on this site. Can't make up your mind, huh???

So tell me ... did you manage to get that red nose I suggested??

28 Aug 2013, 16:05
28 Aug 2013, 16:05#50
Clean Cunt, stop being a little girl and just man up with your side, not what you think Meyer would like........I can help you a little, your 9 is Rory........provide us with the rest for a good laugh. As for me changing my side on a weekly basis, do you think lying somehow gives you a little credibility. Just provide us with your side arsewipe, we need a laugh. Rory at 9 sets the precedent.....
28 Aug 2013, 16:18
28 Aug 2013, 16:18#51
Lets get serious chaps......none of you guys have picked the Wooly Bully. But so far I can't say I've seen a significant improvement on Meyer's team....although I do like Dan Dan and BL's teams. Funniest new posting has to go to THETRUTH....no offence Dave.
28 Aug 2013, 16:27
28 Aug 2013, 16:27#52

There you go Stupid.

1 Morne Mellet 2 Bismarck Du Plessis 3 Marcel Van Der Merwe 4 Peter Steff Du Toit 5 Eben Etzebeth 6 Derrik Minnie 7 Arno Botha 8 Jacques Engelbrecht 9 Rory Kockett 10 Marnits Boshoff 11 Bryan Habana 12 Jan Serfontein 13 Pat Howard 14 Anthony Volmink 15 Patrick Lambie    

Happy now??

TT
The_TruthClub Pro471 posts
28 Aug 2013, 16:34
28 Aug 2013, 16:34#53

Selecting a team is tough, hey!.

Keep the 23 as it was.

Damn, and to think they pay me to do this!

28 Aug 2013, 16:45
28 Aug 2013, 16:45#54
Clean Cunt, I bow to your superior knowledge.....let me guess, Botha, Steph du Toit and Howard will be playing with or without their crutches You really have no fucking clue do you?
28 Aug 2013, 16:47
28 Aug 2013, 16:47#55

Stupid is ... well ... stupid ... at the best of times.

He doesn't have two brain cells to rub together, as you've clearly noticed, Truth.

He's been spouting all season long as to the brilliance of HouGat. Now I see he no longer selects him as the Bok 9.

Poor dear's totally confused. Think it's all the weed he's smoking. He prefers to float around in some hazzy cloud and confuses reality with his hallucinations ... hence the stammering we're forced to endure. 

Aaah well ... he's pretty harmless ... brings a laugh at times ...

CA
carpetmuncherPro1,667 posts
28 Aug 2013, 17:30
28 Aug 2013, 17:30#56

well if meyer could help it he might just pick who ate all the pies steenkamp the captain hey......you cant say never never with old meyer

29 Aug 2013, 00:54
29 Aug 2013, 00:54#57

Clean Cunt we know you are one ignorant twat when t comes to rugby - hell one only needs to look at that joke of a side of yours if there were any lingerings of doubt......I mean Mellett, Minnie, Engelbrecht, Kockott, Boshoff and Volmink as starters.........are you serious, what bloody rugby do you watch?

But lets put aside your pathetic ignorance and focus on how fucking stupid you are. Hougaard has had an ankle op you ignorant fool so how the hell could I select him - hellooooooo

Its about as sharp as you selecting Steph du Toit, Arno Botha and Howard given all 3 are injured.

Wake the fuck up you idiot and stop making a complete idiot of yourself. Better still shut the fuck up as you are embarrassing yourself. Actually keep it coming, you are such easy pickings.....love your Bok side by the way, bloody insightful stuff.....I'll be sure to takeyou more seriously in future. 

BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
29 Aug 2013, 01:29
29 Aug 2013, 01:29#58

My team:

1. Beast (good for the first say 25 minutes) and should be sub by Coenie on halftime.

2. Strauss

3. Jannie

4. Etsebeth

5. Bakkies (if PSdT is not ready)

6. Flo

7. Minnie

8. Vermeulen

9. Fourie d P

10. Morne

11. Habana

12. Jean

13. JJ

14. Le Roux

15. Lambie

Bench: Coenie, Bismarck, Adriaanse, Lood de Jager, Pienaar (better than Van Zyl or Hougaard), Serfontein, Catrakillis

And I know Hoskins will get a heart attack when he sees this.

29 Aug 2013, 01:34
29 Aug 2013, 01:34#59
Pretty good team Blikkies, I particularly like the pack. I'm fine with the backs generally, but aren't you concerned about JJ's defence.....he looks like the weakest link.
BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
29 Aug 2013, 01:44
29 Aug 2013, 01:44#60

Yes I am Moz, but in Jake's days we had a similar problem with Jean and at that stage Juan Smith was asked to patrol Jean's channel. So far we could not do something similar because Alberts is not a good defender, while Minnie certainly is.

29 Aug 2013, 02:31
29 Aug 2013, 02:31#61

So what is the issue with JJ's defence then? He has missed one obvious tackle in 6 tests and that was due to Jannie a prop not being in a position to defend his channel.

This issue with JJ's defence is just rubbish. 

29 Aug 2013, 03:12
29 Aug 2013, 03:12#62

Blikkies, have you any evidence of Jake asking Juan to patrol Jean's channel? It just seems a little "obsurd" at international level that a player needed to be "babied" dont you think. On defence, the role of the 8th man would be to run cover just behind the backline in the event of any first time tackles being missed or players being beaten. Seems Juan would have to be super human to have to  watch the blindside which is very often the first point of attack today and also have to get around the scrum for arguments sake to be in position of a centre missing a tackle.

Seems it would be easier to find a centre who could tackle so our flankers could do their job?

Alberts is a damn good defender. No easy metres with him. Seems there is a little infatuation with international players and their defence these days. All these players are good tacklers (not Jantjies) and not going to miss too many head on tackles. In JJ's case, he is just fine in the tackle, he sometimes just gets himself in the wrong field position to effect it. As much as these players are strong tacklers, the opposition are strong runners. A strong runner is always going to beat a tackle if he gets away from the shoulder and onto the arm. A strong tackle with the shoulder is always going to bring a strong runner down.

I guess what I am saying is that we must look further into JJ's "problem" than just saying he has problems on defence. Is it maybe a flaw in our defensive pattern. JJ does pretty much what Conrad Smith and Ben Smith do for the AB's. Conrad often comes way up ahead of Nonu to snuff out attackes, especially if they are stretched out wide. He is so good at that but the difference is that the AB's trust the man on their inside and that comes with confidence in playing together for so long and working hard at it. Whether Smith has Woodcock, Mealamu, Whitelock or John Key inside him, he trusts the man to make the hit. He also has enough experience to know when the man is likely to be beaten by pace and he will adjust. JJ is a puppy whilst Conrad is an old dog.

Jake implemented the rush defence. It worked brilliantly in 2009. Can anyone guess why?? Simply because that backline had been together for 3 or 4 seasons prior. They know each others games so well, they know the game plan so well, they have done it countless times before that it just feels right. Structures are ingrained in them. What are we doing to JJ's game now if we kick him to the curb before he has had time to learn his partners game and the new structures around him?

It would be a bit cocky to think that we are going to go through a rebuilding phase but we must just come and topple a settled and great All Black team with years together. Fuck sakes who expected us to be in a winning position in Dunedin last year? I expected us to get tramped!! NZL were complacent I think! They read the papers. They knew what people were saying. They thought they just needed to rock up. Thats my feeling.

This is the problem with SA. We want results and we want it now. JJ must be better than Conrad now! Morne has won us titles before. 5 below par games and he is kak and must never see a Bok jumper again. Lambie comes in, his confidence is low and he too is now useless!

SA we need to grow up boytjies because we are forever going to be "searching" for that perfect team, that must just come over night with no investment, all the while NZL are investing in and nurturing 5 fly halves at the moment that their 5th choice is better than our 2nd choice along with players in every other position to fuck us up for the next 10 years. We are a fickel bunch and today a player is hot property, one bad game and he is yesterdays news!

I am sure some guys on her never played this game. I went to George Campbell. Smaller, co-ed school near the Ice rink in Durban. We were second tier school and on the brink of stepping up. We were used by teams like Glenwood, DHS, Northwood, Westville and Michael House as confidence builders. I played 3 years of 1st team. 2003 Grade 11 (I was 15 years and 11 months) when I played my first game for 1st team as we were not big enough to have an under 16 grade so it was under 15 to open's. In my first year, we were hammered 67-0 by Westville, 46-5 by Michael House, 29-3 against DHS and in the 70's vs Glenwood.

We had a young team. Next year (2004), we acquired a new scrum-half and 8th man on bursaries. The rest of the team bar maybe 2 players was the same. We beat Michael House 11-7, beat DHS at their home 24-21, Lost 17-7 to Glenwood (they were 17-0 up after 5 mins and aided by some dodgy calls), lost 27-13 to Westville (8-8 halftime) who were the team to beat in Natal that year. All results can be found on the net of course.

What changed in a year? Playing together, knowing each other and practicing game plan and structures until it became routine! I just read that Campbell beat Glenwood for the first time ever this year. Big ups to them ;-) Smaller school but stand together!

JJ is a good player. Why must he not be afforded the opportunity to prove that and settle before we spit him out and he becomes another "failure" of SA rugby?

sharkbokCaptain23,297 posts
29 Aug 2013, 04:12
29 Aug 2013, 04:12#63

@Boklogic. 

JJ has been great this year on attack, and he is perhaps the quickest outside center at test level in the world in 2013.

He must surely be the fastest player in the bok team with Habana no longer at the same speed he was in 2007.

JJ brings an extra dimension to the bok backline with his pace but he also has other attributes as an outside center.

The try he setup last week vs Argentina was classic center play. He drew the defence and then threw a perfect long pass for his winger to run onto a full speed that was unstoppable. 

He is not a Taute who did not contribute much on attack in his first year in the same position, but he has himself admitted to defensive errors in his allignment.

The try he missed last week he had the player in his arms but still fell off and the Argentinian player made it over the line to score.

JJ was the player in the position to most likely be able to stop the try. 

Time will tell, but it was a costly error and a run that he could have stopped, and probably by his own admission. 

Over the next few weeks of playing the best 2 backlines in the world twice, away and at home- the boks defence is going to be tested.

JJ will see how he reacts to playing against the best.

29 Aug 2013, 05:54
29 Aug 2013, 05:54#64

Yeah for sure Sharkbok. Fully agree. I just wonder what the coaching staff are doing to address this. Do we have a "dirt trackers" backline that is running against our starters at practice so they repeat the defensive drill 100 times over until it feels like 2nd nature.

JJ should not be dropped from SA rugby or dropped as a centre because he is not currently 100% there. We can hide a flaw on the wing because he will find himself at centre at some stage on defence. We need to fix the problem and make it a strength. JJ should maybe come off the bench in this away leg. Reason being, there is less pressure and the AB's and Aussies have no doubt seen what everyone else has and will be attacking his channel with runners off either shoulder and make life hell for him. Maybe Serfontein should start with Jean and JJ come off the bench. Constant game time and practice and he will sort that out. Before long, him and Serfontein can take over.

29 Aug 2013, 05:57
29 Aug 2013, 05:57#65
Ceradyne Talking of idiots - if there is a real village idiot on this Board - it is you - the absolute brainless. No I am wrong - you do have one malfunctioning brain cell - so you are not entirely brainless. French top 14 games and even highlight packages are shown fully on TV here and I watch them regularly. The teams comprise substantially of ex-foreign players who are way past their prime. So what is so special about them. The foreign players are virtually all over 30's or near to it and they would not play CC rugby in SA anymore unless they play for Grade 1 teams. You are a bloody idiot to think otherwise. The only thing that help them are the present French and Argentinian players playing for them - not the lot of semi-retirees. Of the present six who signed up with them - all related to Bulls rugby at one stage or another - only two are really acceptable. The rest played in the Bulls team who were 4th on the CC log last year. Best advice - don't show your lack of intelligence on the site like you are always doing.
RE
redsmanPro1,710 posts
29 Aug 2013, 06:45
29 Aug 2013, 06:45#66
Chiliboy and Crusty the Clown added to Bok squad......................... are you guys serious??????????????? Or are the bulls that good...>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Surely there's some quota politics at play here???
RU
RugganutClub Pro183 posts
29 Aug 2013, 08:06
29 Aug 2013, 08:06#67

We are not serious but our coach is. Sack the f@%ker !