FORUM / RUGBY /  Bulls vs Dragons

Bulls vs Dragons

Started by Pakie89 REPLIES1,413 VIEWS· 17 May 2025, 15:09
22 May 2025, 08:53
22 May 2025, 08:53#41

"Hit by lightning flying into NY."

What what? Your plane was struck? OMG!!!

"Yes we spent the morning and lunch at the MOMA. Little weak on Post War…saw no great Twombly’s for example. The usual ugly Pollocks. But Starry Night is always a moment and the food is a work of art in itself."

Regardless, I'm jealous!

It's weird how life works with these odd synchronicities. Nothing strange happens for years and then all the strange stuff happens in one day.

22 May 2025, 14:19
22 May 2025, 14:19#42

Another artist in the family Moz

22 May 2025, 15:33
22 May 2025, 15:33#43

Yes, it’s a cool thing Dave.

22 May 2025, 15:40
22 May 2025, 15:40#44

My second time experiencing a lightning strike Plum. It happened to me just after we arrived in the States….also on a Chicago/NY flight. Huge flash of light and a mighty crash. The pilot on that occasion was a southern boy and he laconically informed us we were just ‘discharging a little static electricity’

On this occasion a lady behind me shouted out ‘oh my god what was that’…..verbalizing what most passengers were thinking.

Some dangerous weather in the US this spring. We are having the coldest May in Chicago I can recall.

22 May 2025, 16:34
22 May 2025, 16:34#45

Very cool - my eldest studied music and has now just opened a French wine bar in London, Soho - which is super cool :)

22 May 2025, 17:00
22 May 2025, 17:00#46

I'd for sure need a change of shorts after something like that.

How on earth the plane doesn't just drop out of the sky after a gazillion volts passes through it is a mystery to me.

I was in a prop plane a couple of weeks back and went through pretty calm storm. Inside the plane it felt like we were flying through a tornado.

22 May 2025, 17:47
22 May 2025, 17:47#47

The plane just acts as a conductor….

’When lightning hits an aircraft, it arcs through the fuselage, from the wings and nose, and exits through the tail. All wires onboard are grounded or isolated away from the body, and the electric current passes through the conductive outer shell of the aircraft. The only thing you should hear is a boom and perhaps a light shake.’

In my experience the flash is the most obvious thing. Scary, but not as scary as flying in copters in Greece. I was doing a study for a Greek company in 1980. They had plants all over Greece and a copter to visit them.. roads are slow because of the mountains.

But the owner hired a pilot who had been a member of the Greek aerobatics team. He did one stunt ripping between warehouses 10ft off the ground.

But still not the scariest. That happened when the owners son who was learning to fly took the controls. One time the copter tilted to 45 degrees and dropped a few 100 ft. I haven’t been in a copter since those experiences….hot, noisy, bumpy, dangerous

22 May 2025, 17:51
22 May 2025, 17:51#48

Wine and ice cream Dave…nice. Sounds like your eldest is well set.

22 May 2025, 19:39
22 May 2025, 19:39#49

No ice cream - the chef does do a raspberry sorbet

Chef invested financially which is good as he then won’t do a runner - kitchen staff are renowned for taking flight

The chef is Italian - not French :)

22 May 2025, 20:26
22 May 2025, 20:26#50

Well my eldest brother was a chef and he never did a runner !! :)

22 May 2025, 21:09
22 May 2025, 21:09#51

Well I supply many many restaurants with ice cream and the owners bitch and moan constantly about the turnover of kitchen and front of house staff

22 May 2025, 22:25
22 May 2025, 22:25#52

So basically a flying Faraday cage, Moz. The current passes around the outer shell of the fuselage and wings...the wings...where the fuel is kept. Screw that!!! I'm not mentally equipped to gloss of that many variables. I swear, I'd never fly again.

Rental is Soho is insane, Dave.

They must be pretty busy to keep up.

One of the biggest junkies I ever met was a chef. The guy was a Trainspotting level waste of space. Kitchen staff are much like circus people.

22 May 2025, 22:30
22 May 2025, 22:30#53

Excuse me, Plum…….i was kitchen staff and a waitress for my brother in my youth. I’m nothing like a circus person…..I even have a phobia of clowns ;)

22 May 2025, 22:48
22 May 2025, 22:48#54

Plum rent a month is £9K and his spot only seats 50ish

Thankfully he negotiated not having to pay rent for his first 8 months - he is literally 2 weeks into the venture

Lease is for 10 years

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
22 May 2025, 22:52
22 May 2025, 22:52#55

Circus folk, "Carnies“….I can smell the cabbage:) ……Austin Powers

22 May 2025, 22:55
22 May 2025, 22:55#56

Yep, carnies :)

22 May 2025, 23:24
22 May 2025, 23:24#57

You have a phobia of clowns because you took too much LSD in your kitchen working days Becs.

...like all you cooks and waiters do.

I've seen yall, walking like Johnny Depp in Fear and Loathing as you bring my starter with them clammy hands and dilated pupils.

22 May 2025, 23:29
22 May 2025, 23:29#58

Good luck to him, Dave.

It works out to £6k a month. Soho is mega busy, So if they do decent food they should be able to make it.

What's the menu like?

22 May 2025, 23:39
22 May 2025, 23:39#59

Yep, we were all coked up in my kitchen. I was so far gone I twice went out with South Africans !!! ;)

23 May 2025, 00:11
23 May 2025, 00:11#60

Menu is up Moz’s street - posh nosh

Fried courgette, rouille, trout roe

Escargot, seaweed, pine nut cream

Lamb tartare, spring vegetables, goats cheese

Crab tart, bisque

Poached chicken, rice, brown butter

Bavette, egg yolk emulsion

Red mullet, bouillabaisse, tapenade

23 May 2025, 17:46
23 May 2025, 17:46#61

I'd go for the red mullet bouillabaisse...

Served with tapenade on toasted baguette slices.

I'm a sucker for Mediterranean cooking.

Few people prefer fish over red meat, I'm one of those heathens.

With fish there just so many choices and favours.

We had an extended stay in PE a few years back. Went out and did some deep sea fishing but we felt like commercial fisherman because between four of us we filled a wide floor standing freezer about halfway up with one morning's fishing. We caught lucies, yellowtail, mussel crackers. Bit unfair because our hosts knew the best spots and had what I can only assume was high grade fish finder.

Took turns for the next three weeks making fish on the braai, in the oven, in tinfoil among the coals, fried...haha we even made fish pasta.

I could eat like that indefinitely.

23 May 2025, 18:39
23 May 2025, 18:39#62

Musselcracker has to be one of my all-time favourite things to eat but it's on the red list so not sure how or why you were able to eat it.

23 May 2025, 18:42
23 May 2025, 18:42#63

Jirre but you okes eat fancy. I know only from tjoppies en boerewors en bobotie and maybe a stuffed chicken breast if I get really adventurous. Or a snoek on the kole.

23 May 2025, 19:25
23 May 2025, 19:25#64

I find it hilarious that you and I like so much of the same stuff, Rooi. Probably because I know it annoys the living shit out for you.

We actually caught two musselcrackers...one of them weighed 19kgs - my niece caught it. Not being a fisherman at all my cousin had to tell me to check up on the boat captain who soon after catching the musselcracker offered to clean some of the fish for us.

No idea about red lists Rooi. This was around 3 or so years ago.

My favourite fish pasta recipe...

Cut up some smoked salmon, fry it in olive oil, garlic and red Kikkoman soya sauce for about 3-4 minutes. HAS TO be Red Kikkoman

Chuck in some chopped tomatoes.

Once the tomatoes have simmered into a sauce, pour in enough single cream until the sauce is about the same shade of pink as the salmon was raw.

Let that simmer while you cook the pasta - MUST be spaghetti.

When the pasta is almost ready, chuck a bag of small leaf spinach into the pasta sauce. It'll reduce very quickly.

23 May 2025, 22:24
23 May 2025, 22:24#65

I’m the opposite I don’t like any seafood

Can’t beat a good steak or rack of ribs or spicy chicken wings

If I knew how to send images I’d send some of the dishes

24 May 2025, 01:01
24 May 2025, 01:01#66

Oysters are top of the food chain…the flavor and the risk.

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
24 May 2025, 06:41
24 May 2025, 06:41#67

In Mosambik you take them freshly of the rocks with a bit of Tabasco sauce, lemon juice and black pepper….

Really nice:)

24 May 2025, 10:26
24 May 2025, 10:26#68

Eish, Moz...the texture though haha. I need to work up some liquid courage first.

Lol Dave doesn't like seafood. How about seafood curry, Dave? Still a no?

...yes, we wanna see pictures of the dishes, Dave. Or just send us their website, now that you got us all hungry.

24 May 2025, 11:11
24 May 2025, 11:11#69

I think oystes are very overrated. The Eben Etzebeth of the sea. Not saying I don't like an oyster but I don't get all the fuss.

Before you advise me, I've had Knysna oysters plain, with tabasco, with lemon, with tequila, with pepper and with stroh rum . . . so I have tried them in many different ways.

Now perlemoen . . . there's something to eat out of a shell. The Pieter-Steph du Toit of the sea!

24 May 2025, 11:37
24 May 2025, 11:37#70

I cook a lot. I'm a foodie. I even watch cooking shows on TV like Australian Master Chef.

My wife always complains that I only discovered my love for cooking after the kids left home but I'm making up for it. I cook every meal, mostly for one or two but sometimes for 16 or more.

I grow nearly all my own herbs. I visit markets at least twice a week for interesting or different ingredients and I'm adventurous. I get great ideas from Chat GPT.

I use anything from a wok, an oven, a pressure cooker, traditional pots and pans, slow cooker, potjie and, of course, a braai.

I cook Indian, Cajun, Greek, Italian, French, Chinese, Mexican and pretty much any cuisine you can think of. I've tried making my own sushi and while it tasted good, the presentation was poor . . . but I will try again.

I don't really do baking or desserts but I do make a restaurant quality baklava.

Any other foodies out there?

24 May 2025, 14:09
24 May 2025, 14:09#71

Australian masterchef is great sooooo much better than the British one

I have a good mate who makes a living selling oysters at Greenwich market in London

He makes a killing

I tried one a few years ago with tobacco, lemon and an onion garnish - fucking awful things

I’ll send photos - how do you post images on here - videos are easy but not images

24 May 2025, 14:45
24 May 2025, 14:45#72

test

24 May 2025, 16:10
24 May 2025, 16:10#73

Images are pasted next door to the video icon, the one that looks like a cable.

24 May 2025, 20:44
24 May 2025, 20:44#74

I’ve tried that

24 May 2025, 20:53
24 May 2025, 20:53#75

Oysters are horrid !!

24 May 2025, 21:19
24 May 2025, 21:19#76

Saffex, the site that you use to make the image url can mess it up and give you extra parts of the address that screws with Ruckers system.

Try this...

1) Create the url on the site you normally use.

2) Copy the url address

3) Paste the url address into chat GPT

4) Also paste the below prompt into chat GPT

"Create a standard url from the one posted here. It is for a forum"

5) Copy the url it creates for you

6) Go to Ruckers, type sone text in a thread where you want past the image.

7) Hit enter to go to a new line

8) Click the O-O button next to the video button above the post box

9) Paste the ChatGPT create url into the pop up box

10) Submit

24 May 2025, 21:20
24 May 2025, 21:20#77

11) Don't take IT advice from Denise.

24 May 2025, 22:56
24 May 2025, 22:56#78

Plum I need you to explain line one :)

Create the url on the site you normally use. - I don’t use a site I just want to copy a photo or image from either on line or in my library

24 May 2025, 23:21
24 May 2025, 23:21#79

Text

sharkbokCaptain20,097 posts
24 May 2025, 23:24
24 May 2025, 23:24#80

-------

The image editor is hard to use. It used to just be right click and copy and image, then paste.

Now that box must be used to insert the image address link - not the image itself.

Sometimes you have to put text above and below the image....

------

↓ LOAD MORE (page 3 of 3)