FORUM / RUGBY /  Heyneke Meyer's pre-game speech to the Boks . . .

Heyneke Meyer's pre-game speech to the Boks . . .

Started by Rooinek39 REPLIES953 VIEWS· 23 Oct 2015, 11:46
23 Oct 2015, 11:46
23 Oct 2015, 11:46#1
(With apologies to William Shakespeare)

Fourie du Preez:
O that we now had here
But ten more men to face these All Blacks!

Heyneke Meyer: What’s he that wishes so?
My captain, Fourie du Preez? No, my fair captain;
If we are mark’d to lose, we are enough
To do our country loss; and if to win,
The fewer men, the greater share of honour.
Mandela’s will! Ek se, wish not one man more.
Jislaaik, I am not covetous for another term,
Nor care I rocks about entertaining rugby;
Ek is min gepla if the okes don't like my team;
Such outward things dwell not in my desires.
But if it be a sin to covet the Webb-Ellis trophy,
I am the most offending soul alive.
No, vasbyt my captain, wish not a man to add.
Bliksem! I would not lose so great an honour
As one man more methinks would share from me
For the best hope I have. O, do not wish one more!
Rather proclaim it, Fourie, through my host,
That he which hath no stomach for this match,
Let him depart; his passport shall be made,
And crowns for convoy put into his purse;
We would not lose in that man’s company
That fears his fellowship to lose with us.
This day is call’d the RWC semifinal.
He that outlives this day, and comes safe home,
Will stand a tip-toe when this day is nam’d,
And rouse him at the name of Webb-Ellis.
He that shall live this day, and see old age,
Will yearly on the vigil feast his neighbours,
And say “Tomorrow is the day we beat the All Blacks.”
Then will he strip his sleeve and show his scars,
And say “These wounds I had in that semifinal.”
Old men forget; yet all shall be forgot,
But he’ll remember, with advantages,
What feats he did that day. Then shall our names,
Familiar in his mouth as household words-
Fourie the captain, Habana and Schalk,
Etzebeth and Lood, De Allende and Kriel -
Be in their flowing cups freshly rememb’red.
This story shall the Springbok fan teach his son;
And no RWC shall ne’er go by,
From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be remembered -
We few, we happy few, we band of Bokke;
For he today that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my boet ; be he ne’er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition;
And players back home playing Curriebeker
Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon this RWC semifinal day.

Go Bokke!
23 Oct 2015, 11:53
23 Oct 2015, 11:53#2

Awesome Rooi.....that needs to be copied and framed

Go Bokke!!  

XA
XaviPro1,924 posts
23 Oct 2015, 14:39
23 Oct 2015, 14:39#3
 Nice!
23 Oct 2015, 14:48
23 Oct 2015, 14:48#4
 You couldn't apologize enough to William....a straight lift.
What’s he that wishes so?
My cousin Westmoreland? No my fair cousin:
If we are mark’d to die, we are enow
To do our country loss; and if to live,
The fewer men, the greater share of honor.
God’s will! I pray thee, wish not one man more.
By Jove, I am not covetous for gold,
Nor care I who doth feed upon my cost;
It yearns me not if men my garments wear;
Such outward things dwell not in my desires:
But if it be a sin to covet honor,
I am the most offending soul alive.
No, faith, my coz, wish not a man from England:
God’s peace! I would not lose so great an honor
As one man more, methinks, would share from me
For the best hope I have. O, do not wish one more!
Rather proclaim it, Westmoreland, through my host,
That he which hath no stomach to this fight" etc. etc.

HenryV, ActV Scene II
23 Oct 2015, 14:53
23 Oct 2015, 14:53#5

23 Oct 2015, 15:05
23 Oct 2015, 15:05#6
Moz, I think you missed the point a wee bit! 
23 Oct 2015, 15:07
23 Oct 2015, 15:07#7
You think?

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahaha!
23 Oct 2015, 15:27
23 Oct 2015, 15:27#8

I can just picture Moffie reading my post and getting all excited!

“Hang on, I’ve read this somewhere before! This isn’t original from Rooinek! Let me Google a bit . . . wait, what’s this? This is from Shakespeare’s Henry V . . . well, some of it anyway! Who the heck is Shakespeare? Who cares! Oh my God! This is the greatest day in my life! I finally get to discredit Rooinek! He’s pretending he wrote something that some guy called Shakespeare wrote and he’s changed a few words here and there to make it look like his own work! I have him at last! Quick, let’s copy and paste this and then post it and wait to see how clever everyone thinks I am! This is the best day I’ve had since I found out I was a quarter of an inch taller than Dave (in high heels anyway . . . but no-one else needs to know that). Right, there we go, now to bask in the glory of outing Rooinek as a plagiarist! Dense and Baboon-ou will be so proud of me! This is wonderful! I can’t wait for the adulation! Is this the most exciting thing that's happened to me since I started collecting kettles? Hang on . . . why’s Rooinek replying with a “Duh” picture? What’s he trying to say? What am I missing? He can’t get away with this! It’s not fair! I’ll call the internet police! Why are they saying I’m missing the point? What’s going on? Why is everyone laughing at me? And what is that whoosh sound I can hear . . . almost like a gigantic ostrich egg falling down from the sky to where I’m sitting . . . I’d better look up . . .”

Wehe! Sometimes I almost feel a bit sorry for the doddering old fool . . . then I get over it!

23 Oct 2015, 15:33
23 Oct 2015, 15:33#9
 So explain to me....what did I miss? I assume there is something more than a few "Jislaaik's" and "Fouries" inserted without guile in a famous speech. Some language of your own that makes the 98% Shakespeare content something different from the original.
23 Oct 2015, 15:34
23 Oct 2015, 15:34#10
 Your serve.
23 Oct 2015, 15:41
23 Oct 2015, 15:41#11
Mozter lighten up man! You are taking this waaaaay to seriously! 
“Hang on, I’ve read this somewhere before! This isn’t original from Rooinek!...." Rooi, very well done! Had me laughing! 
23 Oct 2015, 15:44
23 Oct 2015, 15:44#12
Translation: "Uh-oh, I better pretend I didn't miss the point . . . oh dear . . . why did they take away that darned edit function? Now I cannot see anything for egg! "
23 Oct 2015, 15:53
23 Oct 2015, 15:53#13
No I got the point....the problem is it never changed the content, just a few names, spiced by a few "Jislaaiks"....even by your low standards, pretty poor. Have you tried this on the Roar.....waaaaaaahahahahahahaha. 
23 Oct 2015, 15:56
23 Oct 2015, 15:56#14
 Off to golf, while I'm gone why dontcha highlight the words you changed so we can better appreciate the original content? Wehe!
AG
AgPleezDeddyClub Pro900 posts
23 Oct 2015, 15:57
23 Oct 2015, 15:57#15
 Haha, rooi, gave me a laugh man! 
23 Oct 2015, 15:57
23 Oct 2015, 15:57#16
Pffffffffhahahahaha! Maybe someone else better tell this crimson-faced, humourless and self-important old fop to take whatever tiny little shreds of dignity he has left and leave this thread.
23 Oct 2015, 17:27
23 Oct 2015, 17:27#17

Moffie at what point did Rooi imply this was his own?

It was bloody well thought out.....enjoy it instead of getting all pathetic about it 

23 Oct 2015, 18:38
23 Oct 2015, 18:38#18
Ou rooitwit trying to imply a man of Dr Miz's sophisticstion would not know who wrote this famous speech etc. Ou rooitwit can such a simpleton!!!! BWHAHAHAHA at his funniest when not even trying.
23 Oct 2015, 19:19
23 Oct 2015, 19:19#19
Baboon-ou, you are such an embarrassingly servile suck-up. 
Hope your "Dr Miz" (sic) throws you a few crumbs for your efforts . . . once he manages to get all that egg wiped off his stupid face!

23 Oct 2015, 19:36
23 Oct 2015, 19:36#20
 Bwahahahahha lets face it your childish take on matters is hilarious!! Itrs like a game of pretend pretend! Bit like evolution!
But full marks for trying rooitwit. Keep up the good work etc.  Nice having you back as the comedy here always reaches new levels.

23 Oct 2015, 20:47
23 Oct 2015, 20:47#21
Breath mints please Baboon-ou. If you're going to lick someone's tailpipe clean in such a fawning and sychophantic manner then at least have the decency to take a few breath mints when you're done. Thanks.
23 Oct 2015, 21:07
23 Oct 2015, 21:07#22
 Frame it Dawie....but I'm guessing it never occurred to an illiterate like you that the AAS simply changed a few words in a famous speech. "That needs to be copied and framed"....... funny stuff. 
23 Oct 2015, 21:16
23 Oct 2015, 21:16#23
 MOZ AND i HAVE SPENT MOST OF THE YEAR DISAGREEING ABOUT PLAYERS.W ILL OU ROOITWIT EVER GET ANYTHING RIGHT! 
23 Oct 2015, 22:16
23 Oct 2015, 22:16#24
Um Moffie...did you miss Rooi s opening sentence....helloooo 
Guess dumb Beenkop missed it to
Talk about a bunch of thick pricks.....can people really be this stupid?
23 Oct 2015, 22:44
23 Oct 2015, 22:44#25
Baboon-ou doesn't have the intelligence to grasp anything that anyone might be dumb enough enough to tell him but in Moffie's case it's more than just stupidity, it's also a total sense of humour failure coupled with a bitter and spiteful desire to belittle everyone who the sneering and self-important old bore believes is beneath him . . . which is pretty much everyone!
Baboon-ou is as thick as two very thick planks tied together with a very thi ck piece of string but he's relatively harmless. Moffie on the other hand is honestly one of the least likeable people I've ever encountered on the internet or anywhere else.
23 Oct 2015, 22:54
23 Oct 2015, 22:54#26
 I find you funny AAS ....a trumped up little would be intellectual who fails at everything he tries and hits the bottle when Mr AA isn't around.  I guess the Roar became a whimper.
23 Oct 2015, 23:18
23 Oct 2015, 23:18#27
I think you will find that Rooi's clever manipulation of a classic to tie in with a great sporting moment will have been favourably received by all.
It's just such a pity you saw fit to spoil it with some spitful childish dig that exposed your stupidity.
It's plain to see that the author was referenced and that Rooi was having some clever fun.
Why is it that you have to be such a dick most of the time?
24 Oct 2015, 00:27
24 Oct 2015, 00:27#28
 Actually, Rooinek, I think you've just committed Treason ! You can't use those speeches for anyone other than we English !!!  

Hope it's a good game tomorrow and Good Luck all
24 Oct 2015, 00:33
24 Oct 2015, 00:33#29
 Poor old Dave....ever the boot licker.
24 Oct 2015, 00:53
24 Oct 2015, 00:53#30
Just calling it as it is old boy.......give it a bloody break man
24 Oct 2015, 01:30
24 Oct 2015, 01:30#31

"But if it be a sin to covet honor"
da DUM, da DUM, da DUM, da DUM, da DUM.....Iambic pentameter Five iambs per line. Standard for formal dialogue in Shakespeare. Now compare it with the AAS' rip off. 
"But if it be a sin to covet the Webb-Ellis trophy"

No Iambic pentameter. In fact a horribly unbalanced seven and a half iambs per line. That's why it falls off the tongue like a gob ball. I warned the AAS before about this kind of thing when he came up with some of his childish rhymes, without any consistent beat. Seems the lessons haven't taken.

All it is, is a bunch of "jislaaiks" clumsily replacing the words in a great speech, with no regard to the underlying rythm.
24 Oct 2015, 01:56
24 Oct 2015, 01:56#32
" lambic pentameter " ? I think you mean iambic !! 
24 Oct 2015, 05:15
24 Oct 2015, 05:15#33
 I do as can clearly be seen by my reference to "iambs".  
24 Oct 2015, 06:30
24 Oct 2015, 06:30#34
 We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile,
And gentlemen in England now-a-bed
We few, we happy few, we band of Bokke;
For he today that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my boet; be he ne’er so vile,
And players back home playing Curriebeker

Oh dear my "boet" for my "brother"...hahahaha. Deep stuff but unfortunately throwing off the iambic once again. Same for Curriebeker. It could be rescued with " And players now in the Curriebeker". No need for "players to play"...hahaha ....it's kinda understood.

I suppose it's a bit harsh to poke holes in such a slap dash effort, but it's all part of educating the AAS. No pain, no gain.
24 Oct 2015, 06:31
24 Oct 2015, 06:31#35
"I find you funny AAS ....."
Well, there's the difference, Moffie. I don't find you even the slightest bit funny. The lies you spread on this forum about Dave's obesity, Ou Maaik's alleged perversion and my supposed drinking problems aren't even mildly amusing and only serve to demonstrate what a childish, dishonest and nasty piece of work you are.
It's actually no coincidence that your Servile Gimps . . . the fawning, grovelling arselickers like Dense, Baboon-ou and Desert Fool also happen to be the stupidest posters on this site. The other posters may tolerate your infantile obsessions and your sneering, condescending and pompous manner but I reckon they all see you for the weak and deeply unpleasant little person that you are.
"Lambic pentameter"? Wehe! What's that, chump? Counting every five steps that Patrick Lambie runs? LMAO!
24 Oct 2015, 07:00
24 Oct 2015, 07:00#36
 Wehehe pfffft rooitwit taking a bit of banter so seriously. Toys are all out ghe kott! Lighten up oak.
24 Oct 2015, 10:19
24 Oct 2015, 10:19#37
Rooi your twist on William was brilliant....good work. I have saved it 
24 Oct 2015, 11:22
24 Oct 2015, 11:22#38
 Yes Mozart....I can see the mention of " iambs " but I can also see the two mentions of " lambic pentameter " ........ 

As for you, Rooinek.......it's Treason, I tell you. Plain and simple Treason ! To the Tower ! 
24 Oct 2015, 11:57
24 Oct 2015, 11:57#39
Becs, the word "treason" implies betrayal of your own people. I only have 50% English ancestry which I think is enough to get me off the treason charge.
24 Oct 2015, 13:14
24 Oct 2015, 13:14#40
 Well if you could count to five chump....maybe you wouldn't have botched all those edits of the St. Crispin's Day Speech. Just try to remember...."da Dum, da Dum, da Dum, da Dum, da Dum.......hahahaha......or in your case da DUMB.