FORUM / RUGBY /  It was on this day....

It was on this day....

Started by Denny61 REPLIES1,186 VIEWS· 22 Nov 2015, 23:59
22 Nov 2015, 23:59
22 Nov 2015, 23:59#1
in 1963 when JFK was assassinated. I was a young snot nose back then and all our news came via a newspaper or radio. I felt horribly upset, wept, and the sadness of his loss lingered with me for weeks. Today, decades later I'm still saddened when I watch replays of his assassination. Is this just me? I often wonder how others took his unfortunate and tragic  passing? JFK wasn't even my President, no-one can tell whether he would have been a good or great one, his cup was left half full or half empty but still that feeling....was it hope?...his charisma? ..charm?... something that endeared him to millions around the world lingers. Or so I believe.
23 Nov 2015, 04:32
23 Nov 2015, 04:32#2
I can clearly remember the day Kennedy was assassinated - I was living and working in Bellville at the time and went to the market to buy some vegetables early in the morning when the news came through and was horrified by what happened.  
What really happened will probable never be known.   The fact that Oswald was killed by a known Mafia associate is what really is unbelievable.  Kenedy's father was associated with the Boston Mafia and made his money from illegal liquor smuggling and the Mafia being involved in the Kennedy assassination case is weird.  That is why there are still questions being asked about that assassination.   
The fact that he was succeeded by the most corrupt president ever in the history of the US - Johnson - was another blot on American history.     
23 Nov 2015, 07:34
23 Nov 2015, 07:34#3
Hey Mike and Denny. Kennedy certainly was the last good president the USA had. I'm your yonger than you guys so wasn't around when it happened but I have often listened to his speeches and have read a pot about him. A total shame. About a year ago I discovered a reasercher who has uncovered some of the strangest facts around Jfk's death. Very few people know about him, but his work seems to give a clearer idea of just how deep the rabbit hole really is. I have linked you a video and I hope that you watch it. He talks about NASA's inception by ex Nazis uder Paperclip and it's beginnings as part of the military. Then also the strange esoteric endeavors of the guys who built the very first rockets in the US, how many key figures including J Hoover all belonged to, wait for it...The Greek Orthodox Christian Church in the Bronx(A strange church with no congregation yet numerous his profile deacons). I cannot recommend watching this talk highly enoug hhttp://m.youtube.com/?#/watch?v=DV6MVsmi6z8
23 Nov 2015, 07:53
23 Nov 2015, 07:53#4
 Plum I've tried the link....It's not working.
23 Nov 2015, 08:07
23 Nov 2015, 08:07#5
 oh, sorry. I linked it from my phone and I forget that old guys don't read links hehe Remove the m. part of the link. Remember the double-click we practicedast week :) I'm just kidding. Here is the link http://youtube.com/?#/watch?v=DV6MVsmi6z8
23 Nov 2015, 08:07
23 Nov 2015, 08:07#6
 I like many others will never know for sure whether Lee Harvey Oswald was the lone assassin, I do believe though that he played a part in the assassination. His unprovoked shooting of Officer Tibbett was an attempt to avoid being arrested and shows a strong indication that he had something to hide. Before leaving home he had taken off his wedding ring and left it for his wife, something strange about that one as he'd never ever taken off his ring previously. He also left her a swag of notes alongside of the ring. Then after the assassination he rushes home, grabs a hand gun and leaves home in an awful rush without acknowledging his wife. There's every indication that Oswald was an unsettled man on the day. Those are my beliefs, smarter people than me have tried to unravel the mystery without any success, I'm not even going to try.
23 Nov 2015, 08:09
23 Nov 2015, 08:09#7
 Tx..."old guys"?...what's dat??
23 Nov 2015, 09:49
23 Nov 2015, 09:49#8
 The talk I now linked correctly will she'd a lot of light for you on exactly who Oswald was and who he was connected to.
23 Nov 2015, 10:01
23 Nov 2015, 10:01#9
 Tx Bud, I've got it. First thing on my agenda after a tough gym session.
KA
KalaedFreddieClub Pro495 posts
24 Nov 2015, 15:18
24 Nov 2015, 15:18#10
 Denny, there is so much disinformation that it would probably never be 100% certain who did what.  America is not just the land where gangsters rule the streets, a different form of gangster rules that country and they do things in a way which protects certain issues at the behest of a group of thugs called Bilderberg.
This is one which seems to give a lot of evidence. 

BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
24 Nov 2015, 19:36
24 Nov 2015, 19:36#11

Hey ou Freddie,

Your YouTube video has once again messed up the margins.

Please man, don't use that fu.ck.ing YouTube icon on the Reply box. Just copy and paste the URL into the Reply box.

Dankie man. 

24 Nov 2015, 20:51
24 Nov 2015, 20:51#12
 Well Denny? What did you think? Oh, the "old guys" comment. Sorry man, if you we alive when the great man was murdered, then you are getting on :) Bring in the age of telameer fixers hehe. I don't know if Kennedy wrote his own speeches or not, but who ever did was very good. Occasionally I listen to them and man, for me, he really knew how to inspire. It wasn't only the US that were robbed of an awesome human, but the world. One a small side note regarding speeches. Jokes about the corrupt interpreter aside. Did any of you listen to the speeches at Mandela's funeral? I listened to all of them and the one that really blew me away was Castro's son's. I know, the Cuban's and the ANC were not exactly angels, but when Castro junior spoke of some of the events and the comradery between them, obviously relayed by his dad, I did feel a bit transported to that time and wondered what it was like to be in their shoes. Two small allies against giants. Balls of fekin steel!
GE
generaltitPro3,164 posts
24 Nov 2015, 22:20
24 Nov 2015, 22:20#13
JFK a useless selfish immoral man...a playboy that had no real love for his wife (Jackie) neither did she...2 ambitious self seeking egoistics climbing the accolade ladder in America but F....... empty...there is no RIP for both of them...That's for sure...the family is plagued by tragedy...thank Bootlegger a..se hole Joe for setting the standards of an Irish family that's cursed.
KA
25 Nov 2015, 07:01
25 Nov 2015, 07:01#14
 RE: It was on this day....
November 24, 2015, 19:36:06

Hey ou Freddie,

Your YouTube video has once again messed up the margins.

Please man, don't use that fu.ck.ing YouTube icon on the Reply box. Just copy and paste the URL into the Reply box.

Dankie man.

Blikkies Bru, did you leave your manners at the last Broederbond meeting?
I see nothing wrong with any margin on my PC maybe you must consider buying a decent computer.
That fu.ck.ing Icon is there for a reason.  If it does not work then the site-admin needs to either remove it or fix it.  
I am really not here to be argumentative but your tone is k@k. Oh, and I do not take "orders" from cyber entities.  Write a complaint to the site-admin regarding your margin issue.  
Dankie man - Eish!

25 Nov 2015, 08:27
25 Nov 2015, 08:27#15
 Freddiie
There will always be questions asked about Kennedy's assassination.  I could not believe that Ruby shot Oswald while surrounded by Police officers - a known Mafia associate shooting Oswald was another serious discrepancy.  I believe that the so-called Warren Commission was a cover-up for what really happened.
However, what was interesting was your reference to the Bilderberg group.   I have studied this group for years and the problem is there is no real evidence linking them to anything.   What is known is the following:-
*   The Bilderberg GroupBilderberg conferenceBilderberg meetings, or Bilderberg Club is an annual private conference of 120 to 150 people of the European and North American political elite, experts from industry, finance, academia, and the media, established in 1954.
*    It was initiated by several people, including Polish politician-in-exile Józef Retinger, concerned about the growth of anti-Americanism in Western Europe, who proposed an international conference at which leaders from European countries and the United States would be brought together with the aim of promoting Atlanticism—better understanding between the cultures of the United States and Western Europe to foster cooperation on political, economic, and defense issues.
*     Retinger approached Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands who agreed to promote the idea, together with former Belgian prime minister Paul Van Zeeland, and the then head of Unilever, Dutchman Paul Rijkens. Bernhard in turn contacted Walter Bedell Smith, then head of the CIA, who asked Eisenhower adviser Charles Douglas Jackson to deal with the suggestion. The guest list was to be drawn up by inviting two attendees from each nation, one of each to represent conservative and liberal points of view. Fifty delegates from 11 countries in Western Europe attended the first conference, along with 11 Americans  
*     At that conference iPrince Bernhard of the Netherlands was appointed the Chairman and it was decided that their should be annual conferences to discuss issues.   However, there never are any agenda's made public, no minutes kept and  the conferences do not take any resolutions - but the above is justified by the members so as to allow members to freely speak their minds on issues.
It is not sure what really is discussed at the Bilderberg Conference   It is this secrecy that cause outsiders to believe it is a sinister group seeking to control the world.   Whether they in fact do is an entirely different question.   What is clear is that the Dutch Royal family is a clear interest group.   Prince Bernhard remained chairman of the Group  until the  Lockheed scandal in 1976 - but an ordinary member until Queen Juliana abdicated in 1980.  He was then succeeded by Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands and I assume when she abdicated  in 2013 King Willem Alexander took over from her.
After Queen Wilhlmina abdicated in 1948 - a strong personality who interfered in government from time to time - the Dutch Royal Family was always noted for liberalism and I do not think they are into the world government concept.  They have no political power and is above politics.  What they are not above is the enhancement of the massive family fortune of the family.  This was started by Queen Wilhelmina and everything with the prefix Royal or Koninklyke indicates a 51% shareholding by the family - hence Royal Dutch Shell and KLM.   
There are vastly varied comments about what the family fortune is really worth.   When Queen Wilhlmina died in the early 1960's the family did not pay death estate duties to the Dutch Government, but made a donation of $500 million instead.   Their art collection and jewelry collection - reported to be worth more than Queen Elizabeth of England - is held in a Trust and is passed on from King/Queen to the successor so as to keep it intact for the Dutch people.   However, the family - despite their massive wealth - lives very quietly and plainly, but  in a major way remain involved in pan-European cultural organisations.   
What I am driving at is that ii is highly unlikely that they would involve themselves in any controversial organisation - it is just not their style and they guard their popularity among the Dutch populace with extreme care - because without that they would lose the throne and their business investments opportunities would be drastically reduced.  
The latest situation is that Queen Maxima - an Argentinian - is closely involved in integration of new immigrants and refugees in the Netherlands - something not done by other European nations,   Maybe it is her Argentinian roots that account for that involvement.              .                 
25 Nov 2015, 12:30
25 Nov 2015, 12:30#16
Seb, i hear you. Though, same as with sports people, I don't care about people's personal lives. I care about the job they do. Much to often in the past has the perfect familly man, who believes in the right God and who does.just the right amount of charity work...been the most corrupt fker. Yes, I know that politicians are supposed to be examples, though I am not sure why. The only example I want from a politician is a good example of.how to run a country. The list of nice guys who were actually evil turds is practically endless. JFK was, and still is a brilliant example of a strong leader who cared about his people, was uncorruptable and had vision. How many of that kind of person grace parliaments around the world today? Very few. Why? Partly because the JFKs of this world got silenced. It's sad on so many levels. The official explanation? A magical bullet that bounced of off numerous bones through various people fired by a marksman who was rated below average, using a rifle that was not able to achieve the required accuracy over the distance in the conditions. A marksman who was then silenced by gangster. In the words of Lee himself "I'm just a patsy." He was killed because he didn't wanna play ball with the very same people Dwight warned about in his farwell address.
25 Nov 2015, 15:58
25 Nov 2015, 15:58#17
Plum
I suppose what you are referring to is the following remarks contained in Eisenhower's farewell speech:-
"He elaborated, "we recognize the imperative need for this development ... the potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will persist ... Only an alert and knowledgeable citizenry can compel the proper meshing of the huge industrial and military machinery of defense with our peaceful methods and goals, so that security and liberty may prosper together."  
You may have a point there - although there were already some involvement in Vietnam during Kennedy's time as President - it was limited.  Immediately after Kennedy's death the US involvement expanded massively.   Problem was the war was fought by the North Vietnamese with the same weapons the US soldiers were using - so the industrial establishment in the US was effectively arming both sides - massive profits in that.  

25 Nov 2015, 16:05
25 Nov 2015, 16:05#18
...and then the game evolved even further to the point where the enemy is made harder to kill because now the very army that fights them is the same one that trains them. First they're friends and we train them, then we find a reason go invade them and the war drags on and in because for some reason they know how we think. Where it did cost X to kill one, it now costs X x Y. Cha ching. And as I think you said Mike, the guy who came in after Kennedy, well we all know what a scumbag he was. Kinda telling.
XA
XaviPro1,924 posts
25 Nov 2015, 16:13
25 Nov 2015, 16:13#19
 Mike. The NVA were armed by Russia and China. The SKS, Ak47 and Dpm 62 are all soviet weapons.  America was arming the south or ARVN.
25 Nov 2015, 16:18
25 Nov 2015, 16:18#20
A line from my talk at a high school public speaking event I had where the topic was "Con" As Ed Murrow once said about Vietnam. "If you are not confused about the situation then you don't really know what's going on." ;)
BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
25 Nov 2015, 16:32
25 Nov 2015, 16:32#21

This is what your YouTube video do to the margins

25 Nov 2015, 17:21
25 Nov 2015, 17:21#22
 xavi
The Vietcong has as much weapons from Russia and China as they have from the US manufacturers.   This is obviously denied by the US Goverment - but it has been confirmed by other ahgencies years ago when the Vietnam War was topical in the decade after 1965.     
25 Nov 2015, 17:37
25 Nov 2015, 17:37#23
 Blik, it looks like that on my phone and laptop too, but not everyone are affected. Sometimes my phone is affected and not the LT and vv. Sometimes people complain and everything is fine from where I sit. YouTube almost always stuffs the margins, but I too forg ot about it in the past.
25 Nov 2015, 17:44
25 Nov 2015, 17:44#24
Oh yes, Kennedy cared so much for his own people that he almost had them blown to kingdom come with an atom bomb ! Dear Lord ! 
As for him being a good President ? Really ? A corrupt, morally and politically bankrupt man from a family of Nazi supporting criminals who would do anything to grasp power, create more power and maintain that hold on power ? Oh and I forgot to add stinking hypocrites into the bargain. 
Not for one moment should anyone with a brain cell, or grasp of history, believe he was killed by Lee Harvey Oswald, nor should they fall for the fairytale surrounding the Kennedy " brand ", rapidly shrinking as it is. 

25 Nov 2015, 17:54
25 Nov 2015, 17:54#25
 It's his Irish ancestry that clinched it for you Becs, come on, admit it.
25 Nov 2015, 18:08
25 Nov 2015, 18:08#26
As far as I know Becs, one of his greatest achievements was his appeasement strategy which resulted in avoiding nuclear war. Do you know of any corruption or anything along those lines where he was involved? Labeling the man's legacy a brand is a touch cynical for me. But cool, my one braincell would like to know why you think he was a bad president. Far as I know, he was a straight arrow. I'm not sure. I've never managed to count my braincells actually. Seems strange as they are so important and I've had them for such a long time. Oh wait, that some not so subtle aggression. Are you a Brit Becs?
25 Nov 2015, 18:14
25 Nov 2015, 18:14#27
 And English. 
XA
XaviPro1,924 posts
25 Nov 2015, 18:23
25 Nov 2015, 18:23#28
 @ Mike. The Vietcong would of been armed with anything they could get their hands on including American WW11 and French weapons but the NVA were armed and supplied by the Chinese and Soviets.
25 Nov 2015, 19:05
25 Nov 2015, 19:05#29
 Oh my word ! You do realise there would be no need for appeasement if he had not taken them to the brink of nuclear obliteration in the first instance, don't you ? I mean, really ? And that relations with Cuba have just these past few weeks, and much to the chagrin of a massive chunk of the American population, only begun to thaw ? 
The Kennedy's are a brand ! Are you really that naive ? A straight arrow ? Straight arrows do not involve themselves with the Mob, I'm afraid ! Trawl some history books for yourself, seems like you need to....instead of reading the fairytale versions of the Kennedy's. Don't tell me, is " Titanic " your favourite film perchance ? 
Draad, you should know by now, my father is Southern Irish. What is your point ? A corrupt, morally bankrupt, politically dangerous individual is just that, regardless of my nationality. 
Oh and another thing, America would have entered WW11 far sooner if nasty Joe Kennedy hadn't held such power and influence. He was so anti Jewish and pro Nazi that he did everything he could to keep America out of the War and was fully supportive of the Fuhrer. As I said, lovely family. 
25 Nov 2015, 20:14
25 Nov 2015, 20:14#30
Becs are you angry? My apologies. I was asking you a question. Can I just say, don't insult me. If you want to have a little rant, I'm sure there are many other trees to bark up. I know many awesome Germans, but now I shall have to blacklist all of them, since many of their grandparents were Nazis. You get where I'm going with that. I never asked you about the Kennedy family legacy, i asked about JFK's legacy, since that is who we are talking about. I asked you if you knew of any corruption JFK was involved in, and your answer was that he had ties ro the mob. Well any person who ever buys weed is probably also evil since two steps up the chain from the dealer there is some scummie guy who probably beats his wife. You get where I am going with that too I guess. So I'll ask you again, can you share anything? And, are you part Jewish?
Arthur JohnPro1,748 posts
25 Nov 2015, 20:36
25 Nov 2015, 20:36#31
 Kennedy's were criminals with loads of money who tried to get out of the mob by going into politics and finally paid the price for their sins.
They double crossed the mob plain and simple.
KA
25 Nov 2015, 21:56
25 Nov 2015, 21:56#32
 Getting far too serious here...

George W. Bush, in an airport lobby, noticed a man in a long flowing white robe with a long flowing white beard and flowing white hair. The man had a staff in one hand and some stone tablets under the other arm.

George W. approached the man and inquired, "Aren't you Moses?"

The man ignored George W. and stared at the ceiling.

George W. positioned himself more directly in the man's view and asked again, "Hey there! Aren't you Moses?"

The man continued to peruse the ceiling.

George W. tugged at the man's sleeve and asked once again, "HEY THERE! Aren't you Moses???"

The man finally responded in an irritated voice, "Yes, I am."

George W., a bit peeved at this point then asked, "Why the cold shoulder?"

To which Moses replied, "The last time a bush spoke to me I ended up spending forty years in the wilderness."

25 Nov 2015, 22:08
25 Nov 2015, 22:08#33
 Freddie

26 Nov 2015, 07:51
26 Nov 2015, 07:51#34
Ok Becs, i did some reading last name night and here are the events leading up to the Bay of Pigs fiasco and the Cuban Missile crisis, which is what I assume you are referring to when you say Kennedy almost had his country nuked. Most of this I have already know, though obviously not in such detail. Note some things first. It was Eisenhower who made 13Million Dollars available to the CIA to plan the overthrow of Castro. JFK felt betrayed by the CIA because of the Bay of Pigs and as a result fired the CIA director. There is an interesting fact here and one which contradicts the idea that he was eventually assassinated by the mafia. This same ex-director was the man put in charge of the investigation into Keneddy's murder. I doubt the mob could have arranged this obviously biased investigation. Anyway, here is the list. It really made my one braincell hurt trying to follow it. 1959 January 1: Fidel Castro assumes power after the Cuban Revolution - see Cuban Timeline 1960 December 19: Cuba openly aligns itself with the Soviet Union and their policies. 1961 January 3: The U.S. terminates diplomatic relations April 17: "The Bay of Pigs" - A group of Cuban exiles, backed by the US, invades Cuba at the Bay of Pigs in a failed attempt to trigger an anti-Castro rebellion June 3-4: Khrushchev and Kennedy hold summit talks in Vienna regarding the Cuban Missile Crisis 1962 August 31: Senator Kenneth Keating tells the Senate that there is evidence of Soviet missile installations in Cuba September 11: Soviet Foreign Minister, Andrei Gromyko, warns that an American attack on Cuba could mean war with the Soviet Union October 14 : A U-2 flying over western Cuba obtains photographs of missile sites October 14 - 17: The Joint Chiefs of Staff strongly advise Kennedy to make an air strike ( the discussions are referred to as the EX-COMM's ) October 18: Gromyko assures Kennedy that Soviet Cuban aid has been only for the "defensive capabilities of Cuba." October 22: Congressional leaders are shown the photographic evidence of the Soviet missile Cuban installations and the President addresses the nation regarding the Cuban crisis October 22: U.S. military forces go to DEFCON 3 October 23: Kennedy receives a letter from Khrushchev in which Khrushchev states that there is a, "serious threat to peace and security of peoples." Robert Kennedy speaks with Ambassador Dobrynin October 24: Soviet ships, en route to Cuba, reverse their course except for one. US Military forces go to DEFCON 2 October 25: JFK sends a letter to Khrushchev placing the responsibility for the crisis on the Soviet Union October 26: Khrushchev sends a letter to President Kennedy proposing to remove his missiles if Kennedy publicly announces never to invade Cuba October 27: An American U-2 is shot down over Cuba killing the pilot, Major Rudolf Anderson October 27: A U-2 strays into Soviet airspace, near Alaska, and is nearly intercepted by Soviet fighters October 27: Kennedy sends Khrushchev a letter stating that he will make a statement that the U.S. will not invade Cuba if Khrushchev removes the missiles from Cuba October 28: Khrushchev announces over Radio Moscow that he has agreed to remove the missiles from Cuba In return the US agrees to the withdrawal of US nuclear missiles from Turkey ending the Cuban Missile Crisis. So that's it. In one address to the US during all of this Kennedy actually talks about how everyone inhabit this planet, and that we all breathe the same air etc and promotes diversity. This is hardly a right wing or Nazi stance Becs. I ask again, what did he do wrong and how was he a criminal and a bad president? Yes, he was a playboy, but i dont see any problem with this. And really by politician standards...if being a playboy is your worst attribute then you are golden in my book.
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
26 Nov 2015, 08:23
26 Nov 2015, 08:23#35
 Well obviously JFK was so sexily sneaky that while the Russkis were busy looking at Marily Monroes boobies all ajiggling he sneaked past them into Cuba and swapped out all those defensive missiles and swapped 'em for nukes .When asked at the border what was in his trousers he replied " I've gotta rocket in my pocket ....!"Truth is behind the scenes he worked feverishly to broker a face saving deal that had the US removing nukes from Turkey .Whatever he was he's better than what followed immediately after,
26 Nov 2015, 08:31
26 Nov 2015, 08:31#36
Hey Wardad I'm just confused by Becs' statements because he seemed to fall into the middle of a situation sparked by events prior to his taking office, and he seemingly dealt with it all pretty well. I can't understand how he was the cause of it all...as Becs says. I'd like to know though, as if true, I may have to re-evaluate my stance. I know the mob bosses weren't happy about the shutting down of casinos and Us businesses weren't happy about the loss of farms and sugarcane investments. But this was always secondary to the issue of Cuba aligning with the Russians. I'm confused haha
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
26 Nov 2015, 10:03
26 Nov 2015, 10:03#37
 Hoover and by extension the FBI despised JFK because his brother was hammering away at organized crime which Hoover had denied even existed ,he refused to go near them and while him being pictured in a cocktail dress among other things may be apochryphal its still funny as !JFK held his nerve when it counted the Russkis blinked and a deal was made to keep everyone alive ,Ronny Raygun would have pushed the button what with his old-timers disease probably making him think he was in yet another B-Movie !Who cares who he was boinking ,look at all the republicans including the last great republican president Eisenhower who was busy under the bonnet of his driver in England during WW2 hehehehe.....
26 Nov 2015, 11:50
26 Nov 2015, 11:50#38
@Wardad haha He did hold his nerve. I like your description. Getting a Russian to blink ain't no easy task. And true, I couldn't give a hoot who he was bonking. Just the same way I couldn't care less about Tiger's wood going astray, pun intended. Guess I'll wait for Becs to deliver some clarity since he/she seemed pretty convinced about corruption and Nazi sympathising. While reading about all this again last night I ended up reading about Tom Jones and Old Blue Eyes during their Vegas adventures. Those guys were pure quality.
26 Nov 2015, 12:00
26 Nov 2015, 12:00#39
 "I'd like to know though, as if true, I may have to re-evaluate my stance." Nothing wrong with your stance on JFK mate....nothing at all. I wouldn't change it because of one person's bitterness and jaundice.
KA
26 Nov 2015, 12:01
26 Nov 2015, 12:01#40
 The English are so uppity, but that royal antie who parades and waves is also from a long line of Nazis.  Changing names from the German to some thumb suck name is what they do.. Who was Mountbatten before they "renamed" them.
Research

There is no real starting point, but we may as well begin with 1714. Queen Anne died, and her direct Stuart line came juddering to a halt. This caused a thorny problem because her 50 (or thereabouts) closest suitable relatives were all Catholic, so distinctly non grata. They were passed over, and in the end Georg Ludwig, the Protestant Prince Elector of Hanover, got the job, and our royal house changed from Stuart to Brunswick-L?neburg-Hanover, bringing with it a wealth of connections to the ancient royal houses of Welf and Este.

It is worth pausing to note that, until recently, members of the Royal Family had no surname. They customarily used first names and the name of their house, which was inherited from the father (Richard the Lionheart was a Plantagenet, Henry VIII was a Tudor, George I was a Hanover).

Accordingly, the House of Hanover ended with Queen Victoria, and her descendants took the dynastic name of her husband, Prince Albert, which was also German: Saxe-Coburg-Gotha, a branch of the eminent House of Wettin.

When World War One bred increasing anti-German sentiment in Britain, astute observers noted that Kaiser Bill was Queen Victoria’s grandson and our King George V’s first cousin. In recognition of the delicacy of the position, George V changed the name of his royal house from Saxe-Coburg-Gotha to Windsor, after the castle. At the same time, he also took the modern step of adopting Windsor as a surname for his family.

On her accession, Queen Elizabeth II chose to keep the name Windsor, and in 1960 the Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh announced that they wanted their descendants who do not have an HRH title to be Mountbatten-Windsor. (Mountbatten is the Duke of Edinburgh’s adopted name. His German-Danish-Greek royal lines are Schleswig-Holstein-Sonderburg-Gl?cksburg on his father’s side, and Battenberg on his mother’s.)

Well, so much for the German genealogy – not to mention customs. The Royal Family still opens its presents on Christmas Eve, following the German tradition, which Prince Albert was particularly keen on following.