FORUM / RUGBY /  Meyer's Press Conference After WC return

Meyer's Press Conference After WC return

Started by clevermike25 REPLIES424 VIEWS· 03 Nov 2015, 11:15
03 Nov 2015, 11:15
03 Nov 2015, 11:15#1
The following from News 24:-
"Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer says he knows what it takes to be the best rugby team in the world and would like to have the opportunity to take the team to that level.

Meyer was speaking during a press conference at OR Tambo airport in Johannesburg on Tuesday morning after a few members of the touring party's arrival from London.

The Boks finished the World Cup in third position after beating Argentina 24-13 in last Friday’s Bronze Final.

Meyer has copped heavy criticism in recent times for opting for a conservative game plan, with many pundits calling for his head.   At Tuesday’s press-conference, an emotional Meyer made it clear that he has no intention to call it a day as Bok mentor.

“I want to be part of the solution. I love my country, I want to coach South Africa. I'm very proud of the boys, especially the youngsters for the way they came through,” he said.

“I’m excited about this team. I’m loyal to South Africa and I want to stay in South Africa. More and more of our people leave South Africa and they go and coach in other countries and they get quite good salaries for that as well.

“But I’ve said from day one that I want to keep my head high if I’m finished. I want to keep my integrity intact and I’m here to serve. I really want to make a difference in our country.”

Meyer may have been heavily criticised by rugby pundits but he feels the overwhelming majority of support has been positive after the team overcame a shock first round defeat to Japan to progress to the semi-finals.

“There’s always negativity, but the positive thing for me is that the people have been amazing wherever we have gone, everybody's proud of us, probably 80% plus..."

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) on Monday announced that the positions of the 

Springbok coaching and management team for the 2016 season and beyond will be reviewed by the Executive Council (Exco) of SARU in December.

However, recent media reports have indicated that Meyer’s contract will be extended until the 2019 World Cup in Japan and the coach firmly believes he is the right man to take the team forward.

“I’m there to serve. I know what it takes to win, I know what it takes to be the best in the world, but you have to get the systems in place.

“I’ve got a lot of confidence in SA Rugby as well. They know what they’re doing and they are on the right track. I really think things will be better next year, especially for the national side.

“I’ll write a full report, but for me it’s just about being involved and making a difference in people’s lives... and like I said (I want to) be part of the solution.”

All fine Meyer Jargon - we have heard it all before.   He knows - he knows - he knows.   If he thinks SA will ever become a top rugby country again with the type of rugby they played in the WC - he will miss the pot by the proverbial mile,  You cannot constantly kick away and hand over possession to the opposition and hope to win games.   Using forwards as first receivers of balls from the scrummie is just not on anymore - it neutralizes the backline totally.

There is another interesting remark - which is weird in the  context of wha actually happened and that is the following:-

"I'm very proud of the boys, especially the youngsters for the way they came through,”

Why mention the youngsters at all - according to the knowledgeable experts on this site the youngsters were the failures in the Tournament.  Something does not sound right here.  

There is a bit of positive news included in the above:-

"Springbok coaching and management team for the 2016 season and beyond will be reviewed by the Executive Council (Exco) of SARU in December."

I accept that we may or will be punished by retention of Meyer as coach - but at least the management team - and especially the backline and attack coaches should be replaced by competent people.   If that is not done - we can kiss any further rugby development in SA good-bye. 

03 Nov 2015, 11:59
03 Nov 2015, 11:59#2
 Mike, I'm also loyal to Bok rugby and...and ...and.
My perceptions:
  1. We fell short with strategy....limited game plan, no surprises.
  2. Over reliance on older players and not enough building of xp for younger ones.
  3. Played the wrong games to play for the players we picked...Morne would have done better than both other 10's for the specific game plan we used. We could also have picked flankers at 12 and 13.
  4. We need some changes in the coaching setup and selection policies
  5. Whoever SARU fire or retain, must be done in a way to at least keep some continuity in the team and to the extent that they make sure that replacements are actually clearly better and more capable than the incumbents.
  6. Emotion and public pressure should be taken out of the equation and they should at least have a few expert consultants have a look at it and do some recomendations.
  7. Something needs to be done and changes should be made, we can't go on and hope things get better.
  8. I think there should be a brain trust of rugby experts that should be able to advise and even override the coaches decisions from time to time.
  9. None of this will happen though.
03 Nov 2015, 12:13
03 Nov 2015, 12:13#3
 Draad
You are 100% correct in your assessment of the situation.  I look at some stats and believe we had a flyhalf and center pairing of Burger and Vermeulen.     
03 Nov 2015, 12:14
03 Nov 2015, 12:14#4
 Did NZ fire Graham Henry after the 2007 RWC?
03 Nov 2015, 12:20
03 Nov 2015, 12:20#5
 What the hell had that to do with it Ceradunce?  Meyer's record over the past 14 moths was atrocious - Henry's record over the 14 months before the 2007 WC was excellent.  Huge difference - but to much for your bird brain to absorb.   What a blooy idiot you are.    
03 Nov 2015, 12:24
03 Nov 2015, 12:24#6

November 03, 2015, 12:20:10

What the hell had that to do with it Ceradunce?

Yep. I was too ambitious again. I really thought that you would get that. Never mind.
03 Nov 2015, 12:37
03 Nov 2015, 12:37#7
 Still don't understand what the word PERFORMANCE means Doffies?
03 Nov 2015, 12:40
03 Nov 2015, 12:40#8
 Nope. You are the one that do not know. Every time you get yourself painted into a corner you through in the term "performance". No matter what the discussion is about. 
03 Nov 2015, 12:47
03 Nov 2015, 12:47#9

Lets hope the politicians for once step in and put pressure on the board to get rid of the massively incompetent coach given the board are too stupid to make that call themselves.

Giving poor Paige 3 min in a nothing game with a handy lead was insulting - it had token written all over it.

Viva ANC!! 

CA
carpetmuncherPro1,667 posts
03 Nov 2015, 15:02
03 Nov 2015, 15:02#10
 ceradyce what was henry's winning % before 2007 ??? if i am not mistaken 85% or even higher
cannot compare the 2...henry added to the all black pattern what did meyer do ???? the direct opposite he has taken us back 10 years. 
sorry meyer can try to fight for his job all he wants lets hope he gets ousted....i cannot bare to watch another term of his style of play...
come 2019 we would be lucky to clear our pool with this goon at charge.
he is right about one thing though we have the talent sadly we lack the talent in the coach's box
03 Nov 2015, 15:48
03 Nov 2015, 15:48#11
 Henry was not left with virtually bugger all by his predecessor. 
I am not saying that HM was perfect and is the be all and end all. We (SA) have a track record of not sticking to a coach...... ever. There is not even a need to try and prove that. It is clear as daylight. Many are bitching about HM having players from RWC 2007 in the squad. 
I know that the squad was not everybody's cup of tea but the youngsters of the 2015 RWC squad is much different than what was "carried over" after 2011. Henry had a great core of players that he "inherited" from his predecessor. 
There are many who would like to believe that HM has developed and built nothing. That is simply not true. 
Have a look at this:
"Jake White players" (players capped by Jake White in his time) in the 2015 RWC squad.FDP
JannieRuan PienaarJean de VilliersBryan HabanaJP PietersenBismarck du PlessisJannie du PlessisEight in total
"PDV players"Schalk BritsBeastAdriaan StraussMorne SteynFrancois LouwLambieWillem Alberts
MvovoKirchnerNine in total
"HM Players"Frans MalherbeNyakaneLoodPSDTEtzebethKolisiDuane VermeulenCoenie OosthuizenRudy PaigePollardDe AllendeKrielLe RouxSerfonteinFourteen in totalAdd to that fourteen, some of the others who did not make the squad and who would probably be in form for 2019. Players like Koch, Redelinhuys, Carr, Whiteley, Reinach, Lewies, Mohoje, etc and you have a core of at least 21 players for 2019. That is two more than what PDV inherited from JW.
Hansen only had two more of his "own caps" in his squad than HM had of his own in his squad.

03 Nov 2015, 16:18
03 Nov 2015, 16:18#12
 Nice post Vlag.  Trouble is we already know Koch, Reinach, Mahoje, Lewies, Whiteley, Carr, Redlinghuis, PSDT, Kolisi, Coenie and Serfontein are never going to make it in international rugby. Fogettabout them.
Of the remainder Vermeulen, Etzebeth, Pollard and Le Roux are genuine inc.umbents.

Next most viable are Nyakane, Lomp and Allende. Of these I'd bet on Nyakane. Lomp wont sustain the intensity and Allende cant spark anything, he has to get comfortable taking the ball at pace.
I wouldn't count on Kriel at centre, Malherbe at tighthead or Paige. Although Paige may grace a lot of sub benches for obvious reasons. Malherbe is fatally flawed with his laid out position and I don't think Kriel has the upper body strength to defend effectively.
Make no mistake our centre pairing was a no show in the knockouts.
03 Nov 2015, 16:52
03 Nov 2015, 16:52#13
What a load of utter crap......but Vic is better than Lood and Jean better than Kriel......bwhaaaahaaaaaaaa  
03 Nov 2015, 17:00
03 Nov 2015, 17:00#14
 As per normal the BS flows like lava from Mozart and Ceradunce with their fatally flawed brain malfunctioning.    This is the hatred of Mozart in full display - coupled with the lies he normally spouts in such cases.
He would never accept that the worse flaws in the WCC squad was all his favourites with Matield, Jannie (his national treasure) and the useless Alberts topping the list.
What can one expect from two people incapable of understanding  of what the word performance means insofar as ruggby is concerned.        
03 Nov 2015, 18:36
03 Nov 2015, 18:36#15
 Vlag and Moz, Meyer got the makings of a very good team when he got the gig, and yes, he capped quite a few new ones. However, he also gave quite a few duds too much game time and some of his newbies got too little. Hind sight is perfect, but Snorre took a better prepared team to the RWC. Stupidity made him miss the SF. His own and some stupid actions by his senior players. HM was no better than Snorre, only spoke slightly less kak in interviews. 
03 Nov 2015, 20:35
03 Nov 2015, 20:35#16
Meyer and Snor are about par ie equally crap 
03 Nov 2015, 21:01
03 Nov 2015, 21:01#17
 Ja but Snor beat the Allblacks trice in one year....Meyer once in 4 years. I'd rather take that stat, with the loss against Scotty than 1 victory against NZ, draws against Argie and Wales AND losses against Argie and Japan. Snorre must be LHAO ATM!
03 Nov 2015, 21:08
03 Nov 2015, 21:08#18
Yes Snor has a better record....and of course never lost to Argentina and Japan. 
Meyer is really crap - I can't begin to comprehend why his retention is open to debate. 
Let's hope it's not in the name of continuity and building for the future. The clown has had 4 wasted years 
03 Nov 2015, 21:31
03 Nov 2015, 21:31#19
 Not defending Snor by any way, but we all thought he was thr sole reason why were not top of the world at that stage and that even a half decent coach would take us there. Meyer, Bok rugby's  messiah! Not to be and not even slightly better than the fool everyone made Peter out to be.
03 Nov 2015, 21:36
03 Nov 2015, 21:36#20
"However, he also gave quite a few duds too much game time and some of his newbies got too little."
The same happens with every coach. Who produced the biggest duds? Who knows?
Streauli:Warren Britz, Deon de Kock, Shaun Sowerby, Friedrich Lombaard, Pierre Uys, Norman Jordaan. I am not 100% sure but IIRC, he dropped Joost for Norman Jordaan.
White:Henno Mentz, Eddie Andrews, Jong Nokwe, Tonderai Chavanga, Bevin Fortuin, Hilton Lobberts, Jaco Pretorius, Kabamba Floors.
PDV:Earl Rose, Waylon Murry, Popgun Grant, Barend Pieterse, Wian du Preez, Heini Adams, Riaan Viljoen, Bandise Maku, Davon Raubenheimer.
Do not forget that PDV lost to makeshift Leicester Tigers and Saracens teams.
I read somewhere that Naas also had a  mouthful about the Japan and Argentina issue. His memory is short. He has a loss to the Jaguars, in Bloem in the 80s, to his credit.
03 Nov 2015, 21:47
03 Nov 2015, 21:47#21
 Agreed, a lot of couches backed duds, but IMO Meyer went for older players as backups for positions where he already had experienced incumbents. ..that is a bit daft in my book.
03 Nov 2015, 21:51
03 Nov 2015, 21:51#22
 Ceradunce
What has the past coaches to do with the present debacle.  Meyer had a sh!t game plan - he selected reputation players without regard to performance, h failed to build up a squad for the WC because of his constant delusion about the reputation players without regard to present performance.
HE WAS UTTER CRAP - THAT IS ABUNDANTLY CLEAR.    .  
03 Nov 2015, 22:03
03 Nov 2015, 22:03#23

November 03, 2015, 21:51:06

Ceradunce

What has the past coaches to do with the present debacle.  Meyer had a sh!t game plan
Read the thread, doos.
04 Nov 2015, 01:23
04 Nov 2015, 01:23#24
Dofdoos - aka Stupid C U N T
Listen delirious poes - Meyer's plan always was to go into the WC with a selection of players from the previous two or even 3 WC's and he constantly licked the backsides white of retired players to return to play.
He therefore wanted to cater for only a few additional players - less than 12 - whom he could then pick extra to his dream squad.  That plan went awry because of retirees and he was forced to pick more new players than he anticipated.   
Why did his selection went awry - because some of the players retired again and some of them were just plain and simple not selectable anymore.  The result you stupid C U N T was that he ended up with a squad of totally inexperienced newbies coming to the scene at the RC this year.
Building up a squad is when potential players are used repeatedly and not once or twice and then discarded - not to be used again.  Hansen did not go into the WC with players with less than 14 apperances - the only really inexperienced players he selected was Milber-Skudder and Naholo and the only one he ended up using in the play-off was Millner-Skudder.   The rest of the players he used all had been build up in playing in tests over the past two to three years.
With Meyer it was a case of suddenly being faced with a crisis with chaotic selections with the start of the RC.  In the case of the centers he ended up with having two players at center with only 3 tests playing as a center pairing.  He never planned for having thoise two in the squad together.  His centers for the tournament was the constantly injured Jean de Villiers - the hopeless Fourie (who turned up at the June training camp in a shocking physical condition - forcing Meyer to send him packing and the hopelessly poor performing Francois Steyn.  Through absolute heroism on the part of De Villiers to overcome his November 2014 injury - only he ended up being avilable for selection even though he was not matchfit.
The strong of hospital ward cases he selected was amazing.  People out o tgby for as long as 14 months became a serious reality,  None of those cases - bar Vermeulen who was out for only 3 months before squad selection - had actually produced any performance records during that period.   
He never did a proper assessment of the players he wanted to pick originially.   Matfield was a disaster in the tests he players in and his deficient physicality reduced our Tight 5 to a tight 4 - with in contributing to losses in half the tests he played in.  Alberts was a hopeless case - his last half - decent game was in 2012.  Morne Steyn was different - he caused massive problems in the 2014 tests he played in and was never really used in tests since then - yet he was on vacation in England as part of the squad.  In the same way one can deal with every one of the has-beens and never-has-beens he cluttered the squad with.
On the other side - he never gave younger players the opportunity to build up experience either from the bench of starting against poorer teams  like Hansen did.
So as to say that Meyer did buil d uo a usable squad is absolute BS - he ended up with a string of inexperienced youngsters and I mean totally inexperienced.       .                    

MonsterBokClub Pro442 posts
04 Nov 2015, 04:47
04 Nov 2015, 04:47#25
 The 'Brain trust of rugby experts" that Draad was referring to should defiantly include the expert guidance of the following.MOZzie DUMB FOXCERADUNCE
04 Nov 2015, 06:24
04 Nov 2015, 06:24#26
 Grow up Monster you little twerp.