FORUM / RUGBY /  Moodie

Moodie

Started by Saffolk 166 REPLIES3,009 VIEWS· 28 Aug 2023, 07:46
28 Aug 2023, 07:46
28 Aug 2023, 07:46#1
REVEALED: Canan Moodie, the 20-year-old who is rugby's new superstar, grew up two doors from a drugs den and had to walk 10 miles to training with his brother By Nik Simon For The Mail On Sunday After his display of devastating elegance in the World Cup warm-up game at Twickenham on Friday night, Canan Moodie thanked his big brother, Keanu. He described him as his sporting idol. Why? Because he was the guy who walked the 10-mile journey to training with him through the dangerous streets of Paarl in the Western Cape. It is a long time since all those present in the press box at Twickenham let out a collective yelp of excitement. But that is exactly what happened when the young Springbok got the ball in his hands, playing with the grace and poise that you expect to see from a ballet dancer at the Royal Opera House. Moodie’s rise to the big stage is remarkable. He dodged drugs and gangsters on the streets near his home, overcoming adversity on a journey that reached a checkpoint this weekend with the Springboks’ record victory over New Zealand. Playing against the All Blacks in a packed Twickenham stadium… if you told me that a few years ago I would have laughed in your face,’ said the 20-year-old centre. ‘We all have different backgrounds but mine was gangsterism, drugs. Tough times. Two houses away from me was a drug house. Now, when I go home, things are still there. My parents did well to keep us away from that area, and rugby was the way to stay away from that. Playing touch rugby on the grass or in the road was our way of staying busy. My brother kept me away from all that. When I looked up, he was working hard, walking 10, 15 kilometres to go and train. We didn’t have any transport and he’d do that walk after school. That motivated me. ‘Once I got a bit older, I started joining with him. It was tough, but if you come from a tough environment then you play the cards that you’re dealt. You have a bigger dream and I’ve seen that here today.’ After Friday’s match, South Africa coach Jacques Nienaber compared Moodie to 62-cap All Black Rieko Ioane. They both started out on the wing before moving inside; this was Moodie’s first Test start as a centre, in the No 13 jersey. Moodie described it as the position he ‘fell in love’ with when he first played there at secondary school. ‘In South Africa, we start playing quite early. Under-7 is the first time you play in a team environment. For high school I went to Boland, a small agricultural school with 350 boys. It’s basically on a big farm, staying in a hostel just outside of Paarl. I got the opportunity and I made the most of it. That’s where I got the dream and thought maybe this rugby thing can work.’ Moodie was also into athletics, describing himself as ‘an average guy’. There was nothing average about his latest rugby performance, adding to South Africa’s lethal team of backs who thrive in the wreckage created by their heavyweight pack. Moodie’s intercept and offload in one swooping motion felt like an act of sorcery, before he stepped around defenders as if they were mannequins to score a try that was unpopularly disallowed. Asked where he perfected his footwork, he said: ‘Most of us get our skill in the streets. We play in a road that’s probably five metres wide so you learn that ability to beat guys in small spaces. ‘We used to watch games with our friends or family. At half-time I’d go out into the road and imagine myself in this position. I’d be running in the road alone, kicking the ball and scoring the match-winning try.’ Moodie has the potential to light up the World Cup. Twickenham on Friday was packed with South Africans and the roar of appreciation for Siya Kolisi when he took the microphone after the final whistle was deafening. Kolisi connects with his people in a way of which most rugby players can only dream. Moodie could one day have a similar appeal if he keeps delivering performances like this. ‘Every opportunity I get I want to make the most of it,’ Moodie said. ‘This is what I dreamed of years ago, these are special memories.
MoonroverPro1,973 posts
28 Aug 2023, 19:25
28 Aug 2023, 19:25#2

His high school was that Boland Landbou...stadium we saw in those junior matches recently It's a full boarding school. 

kingcornPro3,695 posts
28 Aug 2023, 19:51
28 Aug 2023, 19:51#3

I think boarding school saved him, keeping him away from those drug dealers and allowing him to focus on sport. 

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. I rate him, but he will have highs and lows. I hope he gets all the help and doesn’t become another Elton. Although, I think he comes across really humble in comparison 

29 Aug 2023, 07:30
29 Aug 2023, 07:30#4
Yeah, he'll have highs and lows but so far the kid already has a better highlight reel than some players amass in years. That offload to Willemse after the intercept was very telling. We dealing with a guy that will make good reads, and then take the best option off the advantage. Already ahead of Am for me. Is gonna be Libbok, Moodie and Willemse for years to come. Hopefully AE will be with them until the next WC too.
kingcornPro3,695 posts
29 Aug 2023, 07:42
29 Aug 2023, 07:42#5

Ja, frightening backline, then throw in Gelant at 15, Arendse on the wing and all of a sudden we have a real fast and skilful backline. Both Willemse and Moodie are strong tacklers. Hendrikse is another that I want to see more of. 

My friend in the Cape always raved about the skill level and pace these guys have, but not to physical though. They would run circles around them in club games, but lacked structure and discipline. They also struggled against the big farmers physicality during the maul time. So he always said, players like Willemse in the backline and the big Afrikaner forwards will make them unstoppable.

We pretty much saw that on Friday night. 

Just Arendse and Moodie reaction time was sublime. They are so quick to respond. This approach works if you can force errors. Which I guess the boks game plan is all about 

29 Aug 2023, 07:50
29 Aug 2023, 07:50#6
Lekker times, huh KC?
29 Aug 2023, 09:27
29 Aug 2023, 09:27#7
Geez Plum I can’t believe you don’t get the value of Am in terms of reads, rugby brain etc. He is by far the best in the game when it comes to centres and rugby intelligence Our Conrad Smith but far more skilful
29 Aug 2023, 10:04
29 Aug 2023, 10:04#8

I never said I don't see Am's value. Am's one of my favorites.

I'm just saying that Moodie is a generational talent. There's A+ tier...and then there is S tier. 

And to think, he's gonna get both faster and stronger.

29 Aug 2023, 16:56
29 Aug 2023, 16:56#9
You were stupid enough to say that Moodie was already ahead of Am - what utter ignorant shit
29 Aug 2023, 18:04
29 Aug 2023, 18:04#10

Moodie has a great rugby brain. He reads the game very well, he makes decisions quickly and correctly and has all the skills and pace for a great 13.

We have an abundance of wings but center has been problematic at times. I think for now use him interchangeably at wing and center with the idea it is a enter he will settle.

29 Aug 2023, 18:10
29 Aug 2023, 18:10#11
Yes, Saffex. I make brave calls...I don't rely on reams of punditry to tell me what I should think. When Tendulkar was 17 there were those that said he would score more hundreds than anyone else...and then there were those that said "But Dev". Guess which one you are?
29 Aug 2023, 18:13
29 Aug 2023, 18:13#12
Saffex, please tell us again how DDA is the best 12 in the game and that you know this because many "ooms" told you so. Not to turn turn the knife, but uhh...everyone here agrees with Deus on that one Hahahaha
29 Aug 2023, 18:13
29 Aug 2023, 18:13#13
Duplicate
29 Aug 2023, 19:24
29 Aug 2023, 19:24#14
What the fuck has this got to do with DA huh?
29 Aug 2023, 20:11
29 Aug 2023, 20:11#15
DDA is the best 12 in the game...his relevance permeates everything, always. But it sounds better when you say it, Saffex.
29 Aug 2023, 20:16
29 Aug 2023, 20:16#16
Your stupidity has no limits But please talk us through Moodie ahead of Am You sounding more and more like your idiot mate Doos At least your call involves two class acts unlike your hero telling us Orie is better than Lood
29 Aug 2023, 21:34
29 Aug 2023, 21:34#17
Faster. Bigger. Better reflexes. More versatile. Already has more intercepts for the Boks. Better step. Higher strike rate per games played. More meters made per games played. And I think he's a better defender too....but that's opinion, for now. Is only 20 and looks better every time he plays. Obviously has a much higher ceiling than Am. Now I know you're going to interpret this as me saying Am sucks. So I'll repeat. Am is A+ but Moodie is S tier. For the sake of keeping you calm...instead of just saying "No, because I say so", take each one of the facets I listed where Moodie is better and give me either facts or logical opinions as to why that isn't the case. See this is how we have a civilised discussion. I say something, you rebut my views with views of your by using your words...not your limited range of cusses.
29 Aug 2023, 21:36
29 Aug 2023, 21:36#18
Also, did I say Orie is better than Lood? I've never been a fan of Lood but I'm far less a fan of Orie. Careful now, because I tend to have a very good memory of things I say.
29 Aug 2023, 22:14
29 Aug 2023, 22:14#19

Now Saffex, I believe that last week I said something along the lines of, great players make it look easy, and like everything is in slow motion. I spoke about Moodie's ceiling, said I'm picking him as an all-time great for the Boks...seems SARugbyMag must be reading my posts because they are basically paraphrasing everything I've said about him here..

KEO...if you're gonna use my opinions then at least credit me.

This video was posted an hour ago by SaRugbyMag

And it would seem that some pundits agree with my assessment. I know you love pundits...note what Keo relays about what pundits are saying about Moodie. Though I suspect he is reading this forum and just taking my word for it hahaha

Watch this from 11:42.

Does this make me a pundit...and does it mean you should let me give you your opinions?

29 Aug 2023, 22:16
29 Aug 2023, 22:16#20
I was talking about Doos you idiot Your take on Moodie vs Am is a joke starting with Moodie being bigger Wrong One would swear intercepts was defining - are you really this stupid?
29 Aug 2023, 22:18
29 Aug 2023, 22:18#21
Keo bwhaahaaaa
29 Aug 2023, 22:35
29 Aug 2023, 22:35#22
You must have loved their take on DA - did you listen and learn huh?
29 Aug 2023, 22:46
29 Aug 2023, 22:46#23

Listen, you fake... 

When you finally grow the pair of testicles required to actually debate instead of acting like the hobbling and frightened little retard that it's very clear you are, then let's talk.

Your cuss words only tell me that you really are a keyboard warrior. It's like you're stuck in 1994 internet and haven't realised how pathetic you sound. The internet has been around for a while now. Nobody thinks you're tough...okay? We just think you're dumb.

You tried to sound tough but you come across as braindead.

Now, the thing about braindead people, like yourself, is that they don't realise how they come across. Idiots don't know they're idiots...that's you bud. God, imagine being semi-mobile and acting like a tough guy on the internet....hahahaha you twat! 

I put down some clear points there but you are too lacking to actually refute any of them....literally too stupid. Literally. I mean...literally!!!

Now, you tried to refute one...and here's how far you got...

"Your take on Moodie vs Am is a joke starting with Moodie being bigger"

Am 186cm - 93KG....Moodie 190cm 90KG...which one of those would say is bigger? A joke indeed.

It's you that's the "prick" here bud. It's you, in your semi-mobile state that has "fucked himself" more times than anybody on this site. You're the only one who resorts to the types of insults that primary school kids use when their words just won't work for them. All you...you pathetic, weak, little wanker.

It's really amusing that someone who hobbles around the park for exercise gives it the big one on the internet. Is this your safe place? Is this where you feel just as strong as the other boys...haha you joke.

So I'll do the same...you hobbling, fat, useless, very dumb, little foul-mouthed, witless windbag.

If we're gonna regress to this, let's do...I promise you I'll win.

...or perhaps you could get someone else to take your place in the fight and then live vicariously through their victories. You know the way you assume your son's success makes anything you say have any relevance. He's the smart one boet...you're the moron that runs out of road all too quickly. I mean that figuratively...because we know that in your cripple and atrophied, state...even the shortest road is a tad long for you.

Like I said, all day bud...And I'll win.

29 Aug 2023, 23:32
29 Aug 2023, 23:32#24
Fuck me Fruitloop I seem to have hit a nerve - could it possibly be your fuck up of posting a video of your pundits exposing your utter ignorance when it comes to DA You are so fucking stupid shooting your self in the foot you dumb fuck Only a fucking idiot would declare that Moodie is better than Am at 13 - that’s the kind of declaration a complete rugby fuckwit would make But best of all is the further evidence that you have it so wrong when it comes to DA - fucking hilarious Their call for DA was without a shadow of a doubt Fuck me you must feel sooooo fucking stupid Moodie is 89kg, Am is nearly 10kg heavier so yes dumbfuck Am is bigger - wake the fuck up Keyboard warrior you say - is that your best shot? Would you like to fight me? I’m a cripple you say, where did you suck that shit from? Fuck me that’s pathetic - grow the fuck up Now talk me through your pundits take on DA bwhaaahaaaaa Fuck me if ever there was an own goal You dumbfuck
29 Aug 2023, 23:57
29 Aug 2023, 23:57#25
You're the definition of a keyboard warrior. A sad little tosspot that tries to act smart, falls right on his cripple arse, and then resorts to pathetic name calling. And you'll only do that on the internet because IRL most of the girls in the pub would slap you up. You told me yourself that you struggle with mobility...remember, when you spoke about your pathetic exercise regime that involves you limping around the park. Dumb people usually have bad memories. A man that has problems with gravity but acts a big boy here bwhahahahahah!!!! Nah, no nerves here. Just gonna refute your points by reminding you of what a sad "self fucker" you are. Apparently that's what we do here. Let's see how you long you can hold out. Tell me how, how does it feel knowing that talent skips a generation and your kid is the smart one? I know you're slow, but even you should be able to do the math on that one. Hahaha I can just imagine. Your lightie bringing his chommies round and old Saffex regurgitates the opinions pundits gave him...tells them what hard place SA is and how he was the hardest if the hard in a hard place. Hahahahahahaa They probably just smile and nod as you drop your "wisdom" on them. If you want, I'l tell you what they're thinking while you're running your mouth. Old limping oom from SA that swears he was a beast once...long long ago. In their minds they're thinking...Tthis fat nerd, really?" You lame joke of "man". Hahaha
30 Aug 2023, 00:01
30 Aug 2023, 00:01#26
Cripple bwhaaaa So dumbfuck how stupid are you feeling with that own goal huh? Should I call you own goal king or is it queen tough guy?
30 Aug 2023, 00:05
30 Aug 2023, 00:05#27
Keo you beaut :)
30 Aug 2023, 01:11
30 Aug 2023, 01:11#28
Oh, so Keo is correct...or is he incorrect. I'm guessing old keyboard warrior won't answer that one. ...cos right about now he's realising his conundrum. You don't remember telling us that you could barely jog? You really don't? Perhaps I should dredge up the post. I remember posting some motivational shit for you, while thinking, what a loser you are. A fat git, that just sat his lardy arse on the coach for so long that he basically crippled himself. What was it that gave out? I'm gonna guess your knees couldn't hold up...to much flab, to little structure? I'm right, aren't I? Lol your exercise is hobbling from the bedroom to the PC to be a big boy on Ruckers. Are you claiming benefits, Saffex? You are, aren't you? "DDA is the best 12 in the game, bru!"...he tells himself in the deepest voice he can muster. Go on, tell us the root of your semi-mobility? You sad little wanker.
30 Aug 2023, 06:09
30 Aug 2023, 06:09#29

Hey guys

What a fantastic Wednesday this i s ......... I hope you all have a fucking awesome one...

Oh... and just by the by ......please keep this to DDA and leave DA out of this very heavy discussion.... 

I am starting to feel like I have to respond... to defend my honour.... lol

All jokes....as I said, have a fabulous Wednesday guys

30 Aug 2023, 08:01
30 Aug 2023, 08:01#30
Own goal queen it was not Keo that was salivating over DA it was your other pundit, don’t recall his name But that’s not the point, the real point here is what a fucking dumbass you are Imagine being so fucking stupid posting a video to back up your take on Moodie which is exactly how I feel about the player except for the ignorant take on him being ahead of Am - fucking idiot and then in the same video expose you for your utter ignorance regarding DA You keep banging on about me being a cripple which I’m anything but and my sons whom I’m extremely proud of - it’s making zero impression as it’s a load of utter shit much like your take on DA You are just fucking stupid you pathetic own goal queen Why not talk me though that video again - bwahhhaaaaa - fucking idiot How embarrassing for you
30 Aug 2023, 09:02
30 Aug 2023, 09:02#31

I never said the video backs up my take...Safex, you immeasurably slow nonse.

I said that pundits seem to be stealing my views, thus I am a pundit, and because you are too dim to have any opinions of your own, and you rely on pundits for your opinions...apparently now I'm a pundit...e rgo...you should let me give you your opinions.

Now, I know that's a lot to process...but if you try really really hard perhaps you could get halfway there...and I'll get a TLB to pick you up and carry you the rest of the way because we both know that no man, or group of men, or an army of men on steroids is strong enough to pick up your lardy ass and carry you the rest of the way.../

hahah you FAT loser!!!!

Bwhahaha

30 Aug 2023, 09:05
30 Aug 2023, 09:05#32

But in all seriousness...how's your " exercise" routine going? Have you gotten to the point where you can get both feet off the ground at once yet?

HAHAHAHA!

30 Aug 2023, 09:09
30 Aug 2023, 09:09#33

My Wednesday is going well ..... actually fucking brilliant.... just saying

30 Aug 2023, 09:24
30 Aug 2023, 09:24#34
Same here... springtime, birds chirping, cranking out some work...have a lovely lunch booked.
Damn, I mentioned food.
Sorry, Saffex. 
30 Aug 2023, 09:29
30 Aug 2023, 09:29#35

I saw Dave at the marathon recently...

30 Aug 2023, 09:57
30 Aug 2023, 09:57#36
Queen we know you used the video clip to reference Moodie but you are too fucking stupid to realise you scored a DA own goal in the process There is stupid and then we get you Got to love Keo’s mate bwhaaaahaaa How embarrassing you poor little thing Now tell me one more time how fat I am and be sure to include my son in your pathetic attempts to deflect your stupidity You are such easy pickings
30 Aug 2023, 10:23
30 Aug 2023, 10:23#37

No, easy pickings are the stuff in your fridge.

But listen, since I'm now a pundit, and I've known you for a long time...give me your email address and I'll send you my takes early.

That way it'll be much easier for you to pass them off as your own.

I mean, if you never have opinions of your own...you may as well get other's opinions early.

All I ask in return is that you eat one less cheeseburger a day.

See how giving I am...contributing to both your integrity and health in one go.

30 Aug 2023, 11:50
30 Aug 2023, 11:50#38
Hey easy pickings, given your newly self proclaimed pundit status give us your take on DA Let’s see if you have the brains to reverse that own goal Stupid queen and while you are at it don’t forget to include how fat I am and why not bring my family into it again in your pathetic attempt to deflect your utter stupidity Stand up queen make us proud
30 Aug 2023, 12:36
30 Aug 2023, 12:36#39

Who woulda guessed....

My Wednesday afternoon is even better than my Wednesday morning ....

Life is good.

30 Aug 2023, 12:50
30 Aug 2023, 12:50#40
Mine too DA...just a lovely 400grm fillet.
↓ LOAD MORE (page 2 of 5)