FORUM / RUGBY /  More racist quotas

More racist quotas

Started by Beeno183 REPLIES1,113 VIEWS· 07 Sept 2014, 20:07
07 Sept 2014, 20:07
07 Sept 2014, 20:07#1

ExSport 24

Cape Town - SARU have devised a transformation strategy which will see half the Springbok team represented by players of colour by 2019.

According to Rapport's website, the Transformation Strategic Plan aims to bring all of South Africa's representative rugby teams, along with domestic teams in line with national targets in five years.

Furthermore, the introduction of quotas at amateur level and schoolboy rugby will also aim to provide a more diverse talent pool from which unions can choose from.

Earlier this year, sport minister Fikile Mbalula lashed out at the sporting bodies of athletics, cricket, football, netball and rugby, saying that they are falling behind with transformation and development.

Currently, only 27% of the Springbok squad is represented by players of colour, with 8% being black, namely Zimbabwean-born Tendai Mtawarira and Trevor Nyakane.

SARU have also set a mandate for Heyneke Meyer to select at least five black players to his squad for the 2015 RWC in England as well as include seven players of colour in his match-day squad in the lead up to the tournament.

The transformation strategy will also aim to have 30% of national coaches required to be of colour, with at least a third of that number being black.

SARU cited that provinces have failed to embrace transformation because of the lack of development structures needed to identify developing talent for players of colour and that the Transformation Strategic Plan will be monitored annually. 

If we do not pick on merit we are doomed. It's that simple. Only our very best will do. Away with anc racism. Away with anc corruption. Away with anc self serving nonsense. Away with the anc period - a bankrupt organisation.

07 Sept 2014, 20:11
07 Sept 2014, 20:11#2
 If this is implemneted we can all become wee ab fans and enjoy all the RAWs etc. Hahahhahaha - but seriously I will support any team playing against the Boks if we have sides selected on race. If I bother to watch rugby at all. 
sharkbokCaptain23,294 posts
07 Sept 2014, 20:22
07 Sept 2014, 20:22#3
Most white rugby players are A frikaans speaking as their first language, even the Sharks players are mostly A frikaans, and Durban has more 1st language English speakers than anywhere in the rest of SA. I dont know if it would be possibale to have a whole Sharks team with players as their first language being English and other languages not Afrikaans .
Most coloured rugby players are also first language A frikaans speakers. 
I am not sure if the other cultures in South Africa have the same commitment to rugby, and are often supporters and players of other sports codes. Not sure what it is like in School.
07 Sept 2014, 20:31
07 Sept 2014, 20:31#4
 Sharkbok if a player is picked on skin colour rather than merit it is racist. It also means the side selected will not be your best. Try that and we are completely stuffed. 
Make sure you have other sporting interests. 
VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
07 Sept 2014, 22:55
07 Sept 2014, 22:55#5
It's time to set up an agency aimed at recruiting young white players to ply their trade overseas. There will be money to be made in facilitating the mass exodus of white players.
07 Sept 2014, 23:01
07 Sept 2014, 23:01#6
 Why stop at rugby players ?
BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
07 Sept 2014, 23:55
07 Sept 2014, 23:55#7
  Bean Brain, after we kick yr yarpy butt on Saturday yr gunna wanna make a few changes anyway...SA has a history of racist quotas so nothing new mate...
07 Sept 2014, 23:56
07 Sept 2014, 23:56#8
 Voetsek, hier was so 'n dik ou met die naam Saf-fex wat gesê het dat dit alles hierdie onnosel donnerse Springbok afrigter se skuld is. Dit is glo omdat hy oorsese spelers gekies het dat die jong spelers oorsee gaan speel het.
08 Sept 2014, 00:00
08 Sept 2014, 00:00#9
 Weak brycy weak.
08 Sept 2014, 00:25
08 Sept 2014, 00:25#10
 Go do one Brycy you complete pillock.
BlikkiesPro1,526 posts
08 Sept 2014, 00:40
08 Sept 2014, 00:40#11
 A few years ago Oregan 'pine' Hoskins forced the Boks to wear an armband during a test and the slogan on the armband read: Say no to racism. Well, maybe we should frame one of those and send it to him.
VO
VoetsekRookie41 posts
08 Sept 2014, 00:47
08 Sept 2014, 00:47#12
 Vlagshit was there a 50% quota in place when saffex said that yo u dom doos
08 Sept 2014, 03:22
08 Sept 2014, 03:22#13
 Nee man, Voetsek. Dit is swak maniere om nie te antwoord in die taal waarin jy aangespreek was nie.
08 Sept 2014, 04:03
08 Sept 2014, 04:03#14
 Now lets look at the number of players in the team on Saturday:-
Of the 23 players listed 2 were blacks (Mtawawrire and Nyakane), and three were coloureds (Habana, Hendricks and De Allendre).   That I think would eb the minimum number of players allowed by SARFU for any match day squad. 
Insi=far as match day squads go - I can see another Black player (Senatla) replacing Hendricks) in the squad and ultimately a Black would also replace Habana.     Matfield and Botha can easily be replaced by Black players - they would be no loss.   
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
08 Sept 2014, 04:11
08 Sept 2014, 04:11#15
 Maybe its time you bit the bullet and went all out to tap into that huge talent pool .Short term pain long term gain maybe ? To many outside SA it looks strange that your team doesnt reflect the make up of your population.
08 Sept 2014, 04:20
08 Sept 2014, 04:20#16
Oumaaik, how can we take your comments seriously when you know that there are virtually no Black locks even playing provincial rugby ? Although we could drop rugby & play league instead & you'll be pleased cos Matfield would definitely be too old for the nonstop nature of that game .
moolaaPro2,380 posts
08 Sept 2014, 04:21
08 Sept 2014, 04:21#17

Can't see anything but a gain for the Boks really. Players "of colour" are faster, have an affinity with the ball in hand and show considerable flair; something totally lacking in the current Kickboks team!

So what's the problem??

08 Sept 2014, 04:48
08 Sept 2014, 04:48#18
 Mooolah, why are there so few Maori playing cricket .....Players "of colour" are faster, have an affinity with the ball in hand and show considerable flair; something totally lacking in the current BlackCaps team!

So what's the problem??

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
08 Sept 2014, 05:23
08 Sept 2014, 05:23#19
 Cos Maoris find cricket dullllllllll and slowwwww ....
moolaaPro2,380 posts
08 Sept 2014, 07:02
08 Sept 2014, 07:02#20

How did the subject change to cricket Blubbok? We're ok though as they're already called the "Black Caps".

Can't wait until they change your rugby team to the "Blackboks"!

08 Sept 2014, 10:39
08 Sept 2014, 10:39#21

Bringing in quotas isn't gonna change anything with Meyer at the helm.

In fact the inclusion of Senatla and Sithole might just up the standard of rugby played at test level currently.

08 Sept 2014, 10:44
08 Sept 2014, 10:44#22
Since when does a sporting team need to reflect the racial make up of the population? No matter how many times you say it, it still stinks of nothing but crooked racial politics.
08 Sept 2014, 11:13
08 Sept 2014, 11:13#23

We've been forced to accept mediocrity as the standard in this country. It's become the "acceptable" norm to some.

You see it in all of society ... business, schools, politics ... why not in sport? Hell you even receive tax benefits if you join hands with the incompetent.

It's never dawned on these fools that to partake in a sporting event means that one actually has to compete. To them it's a social get together. Of course they'll wanna partake. There may be a handout or three to enjoy. 

Inferiority complexes should be registered as an disease. It's infiltrated all of society and that to our detriment.

My only hope is that they replace the beloved Springbok emblem with a three legged pot ... or some other meaningless ethic symbol.

It's uncanny how they're so talented at turning everything they touch to sh!t !

08 Sept 2014, 11:28
08 Sept 2014, 11:28#24
Excuses are the drink of preferment for ou warped DUD. Hahahahahaha
You have to love ou maaaaaikie lack of logic replace two non performers like victoe and bakkies(Much better than victor) and replace them with two substandard black locks - if youcan find two. Man what a winning formuale. 
While Oz and Nz bust thier gut to be the best we are mainly concenred about the demograhics - bwahahahahahahaha. If anybody thinks we can achieve our potential playing players who are not the best we are heading for a huge fall. 
hakwaPro4,146 posts
08 Sept 2014, 11:41
08 Sept 2014, 11:41#25
 There is a certain irony to this post - Hakwa gently pointing out the truth again (and again) 
08 Sept 2014, 11:44
08 Sept 2014, 11:44#26
 ou warped DUD inadvertently makes a point. The vast majority of black folk much prefer soccer. Nothing wrong with that. But  ou warped DUD thinks our team must reflect the demograhics regardless of this and regardless of aptitude for the game!!!! the anc should recruit the oak!! Does anybody know another country insisting players are selected on skin colour? 
I cant help wonder if the wee abs reflect the demographics of the country? Anybody know? Maybe there are too many polynesians, given how extraordinary they are - bwahahahahhahahaha
Then we have sweet ou mooooo la being all racist and dear Brycy as well.
If this is the general kiwi view of things then any hope of them protesting against this anc driven racism is gone. Obviously there were kiwis who protested against apartheid but it was not on principle it appears?
Beeno unmasking the hypocrisy at play.  

hakwaPro4,146 posts
08 Sept 2014, 11:53
08 Sept 2014, 11:53#27
 Beeno unmasking himself as a racist more likely
ClaydogClub Pro691 posts
08 Sept 2014, 12:08
08 Sept 2014, 12:08#28
Moola your basketball team the Tall Blacks also seems to discriminate in regards to height.
BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
08 Sept 2014, 12:10
08 Sept 2014, 12:10#29

Bean Brain defending the last bastion of white supremacy in Seth Afrikka...the horse might have already bolted there mate...

WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
08 Sept 2014, 12:59
08 Sept 2014, 12:59#30
 At least the Boks arent ageist I suppose , our team is like the boks only on opposite day.....And I suppose now the shoe is on the Black Guys foot its inevitable that they will be lining up some white butts to kick into line eh beandip ?Our team is over represented by us wee brown peeps ,not that we care about such rubbish as we have a long history of inclusiveness .But with your history I can see it would be a tetchy subject .

08 Sept 2014, 13:16
08 Sept 2014, 13:16#31

Brycy ... I have a question for you.

The wheel was supposedly invented in Mesopotamia around 3500BC. That's now way back before Moses.

Yet in 1652AD, the Hollanders (Dutch is apparently a swear word) arrived at the most southern tip of Africa where they found much to their astonishment, bare breasted natives, walking to the river with jars of clay u-top their heads, for the sole purpose of gathering water.

That's 5000 years later. Still not a wheel to be seen. No cattle drawn cart. Just a string of loincloth wearing maidens with clay jars, off to the river.

My question ... is white supremacy really a fallacy ... or could there be a little substance to this??

Just curious ...

08 Sept 2014, 13:18
08 Sept 2014, 13:18#32
 W'daddy we are regularly advised who should be selected by the rugby union's president, politicians, trade union officials & The Bishop .
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
08 Sept 2014, 13:39
08 Sept 2014, 13:39#33
 Those Sumerians wher actually dark skinned followed by the more Semetic Akkadians and wot-not so ....not a white dude invention then !And what about Great Zimbabwe ?
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
08 Sept 2014, 13:43
08 Sept 2014, 13:43#34
 Blobbok maybe you need more rugby playing Bishops and Union dudes ? I dunno you guys have inherited a pile of merde thanks to those old white blokes and their nasty ways .Sins of the father it seems .Beandip should appreciate that .
08 Sept 2014, 13:52
08 Sept 2014, 13:52#35
Clean and Beans, tread lightly guys, you'll get yourselves kicked off the site! Not trying to be liberal or anything, just saying that Saff apparently got the boot over racial comments, so rather leave racial ideologies alone.  
What I will say is the following, there is very little interest in rugby in most of the South African cultures. In general, white, especially white Afrikaans folk and a large section of the coloured community follow rugby, and therefore the pool of players from those groups is relatively large. The pool of "blacks" or people of Asian descent, who for political, historical or whatever other reason do not feel drawn to rugby, is much smaller. If the negative stigma attached to rugby was addressed and a more inclusive ideal implemented, the interest within these population groups would grow, and South Africa as a nation would benefit from it. To try to force a certain number of players out of, as it stands now, a very small pool of black and Asian players, is just short sighted and will ultimately weaken the team.   
08 Sept 2014, 14:07
08 Sept 2014, 14:07#36

Really ??? Sa ffe x ... gone?

What's happened? I see there's a filter of sorts now.

Did you know that Du tc h is a swearword?

Thought this was a unique board. Turns out it's the same as the rest.

Oh and by the way ... my comments above isn't fabricated nonsense. It's fact. If they wanna kick me off so be it.

08 Sept 2014, 14:27
08 Sept 2014, 14:27#37
Mr S was gone....he has returned now. Long story, not going into it now !!!!  
08 Sept 2014, 14:30
08 Sept 2014, 14:30#38
Clean they have to cater for everyone on these sites, kids, foreigners etc etc. I like your comments, so it was just a heads up, but you are a big boy and its your call. 
Is Saff back? Good stuff! Some changes over the weekend while I was away. 

08 Sept 2014, 14:34
08 Sept 2014, 14:34#39
Yes he is back, prepare for endless lists of players, many arguments and an ongoing battle with Mozart. The fact that he is short and fat has already been mentioned. It's like he never went away   
WA
WardadPro6,663 posts
08 Sept 2014, 14:37
08 Sept 2014, 14:37#40
 As I said before you cant "pass the Dut-chie on the left hand side " no Dut-ch Caps or clog-wogs neither .Yes maybe creating a more inclusive environment might be the go , I know for a fact that some Black Saffas dont feel too happy about the Bok emblem still .
↓ LOAD MORE (page 2 of 3)