FORUM / RUGBY /  Rugby Championship 2013 - Barrett Try (Ellis Park)

Rugby Championship 2013 - Barrett Try (Ellis Park)

Started by Sun-Tzu93 REPLIES995 VIEWS· 09 Feb 2014, 14:01
10 Feb 2014, 14:33
10 Feb 2014, 14:33#41

Wrong Sun, JJ was no better placed to stop Barrett than Morne was.......both made contact with Barrett.

As for JJ vs Taute in the speed stakes........you must be joking.......JJ is one of the fastest players in SA......that is his strength, he has the pace of a wing and great feet.

As for his hands.......I cannot begin to understand how you can conclude that his hands are anything but good.

His beating of Savea was classic.......something no other 13's in SA could have pulled off......it was all about pace.........its JJ's pace and feet that add a whole new dimension to outside centre play.

I rate Taute as a 13, but JJ is much better  

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
10 Feb 2014, 14:35
10 Feb 2014, 14:35#42
 I said quick off the mark, not faster. And JJ was not good distibuting.
10 Feb 2014, 14:38
10 Feb 2014, 14:38#43

His pace off the mark is quicker than most........he is explosive.......certainly quicker than Taute

You are wrong regarding his distribution.......look no futher than his brilliant pass to Willie off the wrong hand after beating Savea......it was brilliant.

His hands for a 13 are more than good enough.........you need classic hands at 10 and 12.......not 13.......his hands are fine  

10 Feb 2014, 15:59
10 Feb 2014, 15:59#44

I think it's fair to say HM wasn't convinced.

10 Feb 2014, 16:35
10 Feb 2014, 16:35#45
Then why would he award him a central Bok contract?  
10 Feb 2014, 16:51
10 Feb 2014, 16:51#46
Why didn't he start him against France, Scotland and Wales....he is probably hoping he will improve his unfortunate tackling. 
10 Feb 2014, 18:34
10 Feb 2014, 18:34#47

Mozsty

We need a good 14 desperately and Fourie is not the answer - De Jongh mott even a consideration - and the hope is that Engelbrecht -

*   improve his tackling technique; 

*   avoid running straight at defenders thus getting tackled easily; and

*   improve his reading of the game and passing.   

The first two can be corrected by coaching - the third one is not easy to correct.    

10 Feb 2014, 19:35
10 Feb 2014, 19:35#48
JJ is a robot....that's what everybody is missing. Do robots ever really succeed. I can't think of one. Modern defences are breached first in the mind.
10 Feb 2014, 23:17
10 Feb 2014, 23:17#49
He did not start him as he wanted to see what Fourie had to offer given Fourie's availability was only for the EOYT.......if he wanted JJ's defence to improve then he would have wanted Jean's to improve even more, given that in the last 4 tests JJ and Jean played together against Oz and NZ.......JJ's defensive record was better than Jean's and thats a fact you cant hide from.

JJ a robot......wow if he is a robot, I'd hate to know what the hell the likes of Fourie and Jean are.......JJ has far more attacking clout than these two...........JJ has pace and feet.......Jean and Fourie have neither........they run good lines and have good physicality.........that is robotic  
10 Feb 2014, 23:42
10 Feb 2014, 23:42#50

If there is a  robot in the Springbok team - look no further than Morne Steyn,   Never make decisions based on real situations on the ground - play according to instructions - do not know when to kick or when to pass,  Just refer to Messam's seco nd try at Ellis Park as an example,     

10 Feb 2014, 23:57
10 Feb 2014, 23:57#51

Fury for all his faults is a thinking player....likewise Jean. Can you ever imagine JJ tapping the ball past the tackler as Jean did for Habana's try in 2012. Nope never in a hundred years....he doesn't react quickly enough. Robot means a process player, one without vision....JJ in short.

As for Jean not having pace, an argument you have been selling for years...that's also dead wrong. His pace is obvious on the field of play...and when the Stormers did their 40 metre sprints last year he was the second fastest stormer, just a tick behind Habana.

11 Feb 2014, 00:15
11 Feb 2014, 00:15#52
Oh boy, so all those times JJ put Jean, Kirchner and Willie into space was not vision?

For a start, your 13 is a finisher, not a creator.......he is not there to be slight of hand or looking to ignite his outside backs through vision and creativity.......he is there to run off the creativity of his 12, there to take the attack to the next level in terms of speed and to feed his wings or fullback running a great line.

Take JJ's beating of Savea on the outside.......it was classic and with that he linked perfectly with Willie, by drawing the defender and executing a perfect pint point long pass off his wrong had to Willie........that is vision.......much like his setting up of Kirchner for his try against Oz.

All these takes on JJ are simply not true.......he has all the software and hardware to make the perfect 13.......a finisher with great pace and feet and more than handy enough hands.

Jean is quick enough, but nothing special.......JJ would leave him in the dust 

11 Feb 2014, 01:08
11 Feb 2014, 01:08#53
Dave you really have to find a second example...the accidental dummy he sold Savea (nobody was more surprised than JJ) has outlived it's usefulness.   
11 Feb 2014, 01:14
11 Feb 2014, 01:14#54
Ah yeah accidental dummy wa s it? Let me guess, had Jean thrown the dummy it would have been classical.......you are an open book Moz.........that Savea beat showcased the beauty in JJ and you are still smarting so many months later.........prior to that, you told me JJ only had an inside step and bang came the classic Savea beating........accidental dummy.......I have heard it all......I'm guessing his stepping of Cruden was a trip and his running through Conrad Smith was a tumble?
11 Feb 2014, 01:14
11 Feb 2014, 01:14#55
Duplicate
11 Feb 2014, 03:09
11 Feb 2014, 03:09#56
Duplicate....now there's an understatement.  
11 Feb 2014, 05:35
11 Feb 2014, 05:35#57

There is something I agree with as to what you call "process player" and I stated   something similar when I wrote about Engelbrecht having to improve his reading of the game - very difficult to do.

However, this problem is normally made worse if there are more "process players" in the backline of a team and that has unfortunately been the case in the Springbok team over the past  few years.  The nearer these players are to the forwards - the worst it becomes for proper backline functioning.

The top of the list of process players must inevitably be Morne Steyn.  In 2012 the second player in the backline in that category was Francois Steyn and the third one was Kirchner,   That was a certain recipe for dead backline syndrome - a sign of lack of thinking backline play.

You have always been very selective in application of the term to players.   You mentioned it in respect of some players - but not to others.   You for instance never applied the term to Morne Steyn,   You applied the term to Marcel Coetzee and Labuschagne to discredit their high work rate - while never applying it to Willem Alberts - the real dead head player amongst the loosies - who has a very low work rate to boot.

I agree about Engelbrecht - but be fair and give the full list when discussing the term and its implications for team performance.   

11 Feb 2014, 06:44
11 Feb 2014, 06:44#58
 I agree Kirchner and Coetzee are  also process players.  Labuschagne is much more creative, but unfortunately doesn't have the horsepower for test rugby....he would be dominated in the collisions.

11 Feb 2014, 06:57
11 Feb 2014, 06:57#59

Two responses - but what about Morne - the main problem case - Francois Steyn and Alberts?  Why the silence about those three?

Your assessment on Labuschagne is based on nothing - just prejudice,  You condemned him before you even saw him playing in  a match - ie during the Cheetahs away games last year - so let that one be.

Has Alberts showed anything that makes him a thinking player with stamina?  He has to be replaced early because despite a very low work rate - he runs out of steam early.  

Comments on Morne, Francois Steyn  and Alberts will be appreciated.    

11 Feb 2014, 14:04
11 Feb 2014, 14:04#60
 Labascagne at 107kg's these days should be fine physically at the highest level
11 Feb 2014, 14:50
11 Feb 2014, 14:50#61

I am waiting for Mozart response here - it would be interesting to see - but he is cornered here and that normally result in absolute silence or a move to circumvent the issue.   

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
11 Feb 2014, 18:23
11 Feb 2014, 18:23#62
Michael, your question is redundant. So I should imagine you'll be waiting some time yet!
11 Feb 2014, 19:27
11 Feb 2014, 19:27#63

Sun Tzu

The question is not redundant.   It is factual.   Mozart is too involved in his own dreams to give an honest answer.  He knows - like everyone else who is not rugby ignorant - that Morne Steyn, Francois Steyn and Alberts are NOT thinking players - but robotic,  They t ry the same thing over and over and play according to instructions - without summing up the situation quickly and acting accordingly.

The issue is and has been clear to rugby lovers all over the world - also at Stade Francais - that Morne Steyn is the slowest thinking flyhalf in top class rugby and if the other two ever think - it would be a miracle.  

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
11 Feb 2014, 19:31
11 Feb 2014, 19:31#64
 "Mozart is too involved in his own dreams to give an honest answer."

Pot; Kettle; Black.

Michael plummeting through the sky, but clinging for dear life to the rock of fact. Too bad then that the rock is in fact his head. But it's 'ayt G; in the end the statistic will bare out he made a landing.
11 Feb 2014, 19:42
11 Feb 2014, 19:42#65

Sun Yzu

Clouf 9 stuff again - no answer forthcoming,  Almost as dense as Morne Steyn and the others mentioned are on the Rugby Field.    

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
11 Feb 2014, 19:48
11 Feb 2014, 19:48#66
 Michael, my only dilemma is that you are too ignorant to understand how throroughly exposed your lies are. You have been routed, dismantled, sacked. Master Tzu has smote you like the ant under hammer.
11 Feb 2014, 19:51
11 Feb 2014, 19:51#67

Sun Tzy

Keep on being delusional - I obviously cannot help you. 

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
12 Feb 2014, 12:37
12 Feb 2014, 12:37#68
 Worry not for me, you have enough trouble on your hands helping yourself. Brutally exposed!
12 Feb 2014, 12:53
12 Feb 2014, 12:53#69

Sun Tzu

Nobody is ever exposed by a load of garbage dressed up as facts.   Your "facts" are no facts at all - because you try and warp them to fit your purpose - namely a praise singing exercise about the at times poor Morne Steyn - who has let us down badly in crucial tests.

You cannot identify his weaknesses because you absolutely refuse to look at his performances objectively - and you ascribe qualities to him that he has never shown.   Morne is not and never will be an all round acceptable flyhalf - he is robotic and very one-dimensional - with one positive attribute - namely his kicking at goal.

That is what bothers his Club as well - they thought they were getting a better product when they signed that contract with them.  The problem is their agent has listened to the hype and like you and others ignored the performances and now Stade Francais has a flyhalf at high cost that they perforce have to use as a bench player.

Is a Club bench player good enough to be an international flyhalf?  That is the key question and only the really ignorant will answer yes to that question.

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
12 Feb 2014, 13:00
12 Feb 2014, 13:00#70
Michael, I have let the video do the talking. No hiding behind numbers, none of the usual deceit; just plain as day video footage. You on the other hand stubbornly refuse to accept the truth, and in so doing, resort to the most absurd nonsense to justify yourself. You claimed Morné lost the Ellis Park test and were proven a liar. You claimed that Morné gets targeted and were proven a liar. You claimed Morné cannot tackle and were proven a liar. Everything that comes out of your mouth has either been a lie or complete nonsense.

"You cannot identify his weaknesses because you absolutely refuse to look at his performances objectively - and you ascribe qualities to him that he has never shown."

Really? Well, nothing you claim has been a weakness. I merely state he can defend well enough on his own and can make decisions. All of these have been proven to be true.

"That is what bothers his Club as well - they thought they were getting a better product when they signed that contract with them.  The problem is their agent has listened to the hype and like you and others ignored the performances and now Stade Francais has a flyhalf at high cost that they perforce have to use as a bench player."

Who are you to speak on behalf of an entire organization that does not include you? Provide evidence. But then all of what I have seen regarding your Stade assessment has been wrong or a lie anyway, so I won't hold my breath for a credible retort.

"Is a Club bench player good enough to be an international flyhalf?  That is the key question and only the really ignorant will answer yes to that question."

More snaking around the issue. Nobody stated that a player with an aptitude only for club rugby should be played at test level given a better alternative is available. Morné has an aptitude for test level, and secondly there isn't a better alternative.
12 Feb 2014, 13:03
12 Feb 2014, 13:03#71

Sun Tzu

The video's are doing the talking - but there is a huge difference in interpretation between what you wrote and what actually happened.  That is the key issue - comprehende?   

Sun-TzuClub Pro713 posts
12 Feb 2014, 13:17
12 Feb 2014, 13:17#72
 Wrong again goof! You neglect to review the footage with any degree of honesty. You refuse to acknowledge that Smith was Morné's man, you refuse to acknowledge the pod of forwards that he had to watch for, you refuse to acknowledge that Beauden ran away from Morné and into JJ. You simply haven't a clue or are a desperate liar. The footage of his other defensive moments you also portray incorrectly. You throw stats around saying he missed tackles, but you neglect to acknowledge the footage where he was ran at only twice and made all of those tackles. The others were either chase downs in a clean up job or covering for others. All of his misses were chasing no hope tackles from behind, but two of those chases directly prevented certain tries. You dislike the footage for that reason, it damages your argument. Severely!
13 Feb 2014, 12:14
13 Feb 2014, 12:14#73
 Bump.
13 Feb 2014, 15:59
13 Feb 2014, 15:59#74

Dof Dose

Did Morne attempt a tackle on Morne?  Yes or no

Did Morne missed the tackle?  Yes or no

Did Morne use the wrong tackle technique> Yes or no

Was he blameless in Barrett scoring that try? Yes or no

Just stick to facts and not try and explain through v erbal diarrhea the inexplicable 

13 Feb 2014, 16:02
13 Feb 2014, 16:02#75
 Vlag, you going for that bump sums up what I mean about you as a person
CW
cwvdmerweRookie50 posts
13 Feb 2014, 16:52
13 Feb 2014, 16:52#76
 Ja, jy's 'n wrede sadis, wat hule herinner aan hoe dom hulle is!
13 Feb 2014, 16:56
13 Feb 2014, 16:56#77
Dutchie your obsession with me is becoming a little concerning......stop yapping at my heels like a little bitch......get a life and maybe start by trying to contribute something meaningful on this site.........well, maybe that is a bit of a stretch??
13 Feb 2014, 17:06
13 Feb 2014, 17:06#78

Posts: 9088 RE: Rugby Championship 2013 - Barrett Try (Ellis Park)
February 13, 2014, 13:59:45

Dof Dose

Did Morne attempt a tackle on Morne?  Yes or no

Did Morne missed the tackle?  Yes or no

Did Morne use the wrong tackle technique> Yes or no

Was he blameless in Barrett scoring that try? Yes or no

Just stick to facts and not try and explain through verbal diarrhea the inexplicable 

Now how do you like this one:

Dof dose:

Number 1: Did Morne attempt a tackle on Morne?  Yes or no. Huhhhh?
Number 2: Did Morne missed the tackle? Huhhh?.... again.

13 Feb 2014, 17:11
13 Feb 2014, 17:11#79

Dof doos

Really - the lack of answers to simple questions indicate how really idiotic you are.

13 Feb 2014, 17:19
13 Feb 2014, 17:19#80
 There is nothing more to answer. Your arguments have been dealt with quite comprehensively. I only bumped this thread to see if you would respond to Sun Tzu's last reply and I was not disappointed in yet another laughable, nothing reply. Only difference is that this time around it contained a few funny balls-ups as well. That was that for my daily laugh. Thanks.
↓ LOAD MORE (page 3 of 3)