Give me Lambie over Morne anyday, no contest in my opinion
Some solace for the hard pressed ou Maaaaikie
Give me Lambie over Morne anyday, no contest in my opinion
I do not make up numbers. In the Super 15 semi-final Morne attempted 6 kicks at goal and missed 3 of those. In the Ellis Park test Morne attempted 6 kicks at goal of which he missed 2. You can get confirmation of those stats if you care to check.
However. I will make it easy for you. In the Ellis Park test the Spriongboks scored 4 tries. Morne's total point contribution was 7 points. The seven points was made up of two try conversions and one converted penalty. So he missed to try conversions. Comprehende?
So you take two examples the S15 semi-final in which he missed three from six and the Ellis Park test, where he missed two from six....and extrapolate that to a 50/50 kicker? Hell even that limited example makes him a 58% kicker. And two data points is statistically inadequate....by a mile. Morne is far higher than a 50/50 kicker in pressure situations, my guess would be he would get a lot of votes as the kicker fans would go to if you had to win a test with a tough kick.
Stop sucking it out of your thumb.
Can you read English or are you just manufacturing rubbish? I used the word "crucial" and said there he is 50:50 chance of success. Morne is normally successful in 80% of his kicks at goal - but when the chips are down and conversions absolutely necessary - he can miss up to 50% of those kicks. Just cast your mind back to the last two years - in 2012 Morne's kick conversion rate was less than 50% on average in tests. This year he improved - but in key games under pressure conditions he has a tendeny to fail and I would not make wild statements like you are making to the effect that Morne never fails.
It is not simple - lets analyse the above statement:-
"Sexton Dave? If Sexton was Morne he would have made that crucial kick and Ireland would have beaten the ABs for the first time in a 100 years. You haven't got my point."
Morne's conversion rate is normally 80% on average - not 100% as implied by your quoted statements. I said above that in crucial matches it is NOT 80% and the chances of missing when the chips are really down is considerably less.
In 20 12 Morne's success fate dipped down to a 42% average. There was a marked improvement - but for pressure situations where success could be a low as 50%.
The assumption that Morne Steyn converts ALL his kicks at goal is a an illusion manufactured in your less than fertile thought process about rugby.
Eina - it must have hurt terribly when rubbish statements are contradicted and then out of context comments are made.
According to the gospel of St Mozart Morne Steyn is infallible insofar as kicking at goal is concerned - he never misses kicks at goal. It is of course absolute bull dust.
When I said he in crucial situations - as was proven over the past two years - missed up to 50% of his kicks at goal - back comes the accusation that I must proof he "makes only half of his pressure kicks".
For once stop making absolutely unfounded and unproved comments like
"Sexton Dave? If Sexton was Morne he would have made that crucial kick and Ireland would have beaten the ABs for the first time in a 100 years. You haven't got my point."
Pokkit, slaap julle nie?
Fact is we don't have a reliable kicker other than Steyntjie currently near the Bok setup. This whole kicker/percentage controversy can be settled by everyone being honest in answering the following question:
2015 Twickenham, penalty awarded to Boks 40 metres out against AB and hooter goes - who would you give the ball to win the WC??
Morne, Lambie or Goosen? Just answer the question - nothing more.
(And that palooka Bulls captain Potgieter is not in the team, otherwise he would have gone for touch!!)
You could however paint a different picture, Groenie ...
World Cup Final ... three minutes to go ... we're ahead by 4 ... Kieran Read gets the ball ... targets Steyns channel ... runs right over the top of him and scores under the posts ... winning the match and subsequent WC.
Who should have been at 10 ???
Did'nt answer the question, but............how many world cups to date has been won by last minute tries.............and how many by last minute kicks?? Hmmm......is not the nature of the beast.
I recall you were a lawyer living in Cape Town. Usually inebriated by about three in the afternoon where your posts become disjointed and spelling falters?
Anyone thinking Morne has not had a distuinghed test career is hallucinating. Why do you think in the first palcea top french club is paying big bucks to have him.Morne's fefence over the years has been good, his tactical kicking particualry on the highveldt very good . His goal kicking exceptional. Give he man credit he has been a great servnat of SA Rugby.I wish him well and hope the French experience improves him as a player. Be assured the very astute Meyer who has been roundly praised for his developement of the Boks will be watching Steyns form with great interest.
I recall you were a lawyer living in Cape Town. Usually inebriated by about three in the afternoon where your posts become disjointed and spelling falters?
Anyone thinking Morne has not had a distuinghed test career is hallucinating. Why do you think in the first palcea top french club is paying big bucks to have him.Morne's fefence over the years has been good, his tactical kicking particualry on the highveldt very good . His goal kicking exceptional. Give he man credit he has been a great servnat of SA Rugby.I wish him well and hope the French experience improves him as a player. Be assured the very astute Meyer who has been roundly praised for his developement of the Boks will be watching Steyns form with great interest.
Oopsie ... perhaps you should work on your own language before accusing others of their faults, Pussy Whipped !!
Ever heard of "remove the plank from your own eye before you try to help another with his splinter" ... ???
Christian ???
My arse ... hypocrite is better suited!!!!
Maybe Steyn's contribution during the match brought the situation to the scenario your trying paint.
Had it been another, say Lambie, we may have been up by 14 with no need for a pressure kick.
Lambie had one start as Flyhalf against NZ and we lost that one 40 - 7....
Cerdayne
According to the performance records of De Villiers he played in 23 games for Munster and scored 40 points. So you said he scored 3 tries for Munster - making up 15 points - do you think the other 25 points came from kicking at goal then?
Thanks I made some typing error as to the number of games - he obviously played in only 23 games for Munster in various competitions.
The Truth
The greatest guarantee that we will not win against New Zealand is Morne Steyn - statistically it has been proven over the past three years repeatedly - not only in one game. He is like Saffex said a plodder and a bad one at that.
Beeno
Allow me to quote the above written by you:-
"Morne's defence over the years has been good, his tactical kicking particualry on the highveldt very good"
Just two questions:-
* what went wrong with Morne's defence in the RC in 2013 - his missed tackle ratio was 19% - at least 10% higher than is acceptable?
* what went wrong with his line kicking game in the RC - how come he failed to find touch in 7 penalty kicks taken from the Springbok's half of the field? Two similar cases in the French test.
In 2012 it was Morne's kicking at goal that went to pot - in 2013 it was his defence and his kicking out of hand that went the same way.
Stew . . . sorry, Truth_Fairy . . . just so we know, from what I can remember, you were a Sharks supporter on Kamp SS. Is you mole persona just pretending to be anti-Sharks on this message board or is Stew no longer a Sharks supporter either?
Posts: 8518 RE: Some solace for the hard pressed ou Maaaaikie
January 10, 2014, 08:12:15
Cerdayne
According to the performance records of De Villiers he played in 23 games for Munster and scored 40 points. So you said he scored 3 tries for Munster - making up 15 points - do you think the other 25 points came from kicking at goal then?
Thanks I made some typing error as to the number of games - he obviously played in only 23 games for Munster in various competitions.
At last the doos catches a wake-up. I was paying aroud with all kinds of figures to confuse you, but I kept on repeating your typo, hoping that you would discover your litte mistake but it still took you ages. Fokkit but you are a easy target. Your previous one that you also ould not fgure out was when you decided that Mallett moved Montgomery from centre to no 8.
Uh-oh, looks one of the moles forgot which name he was currently using and posted before he changed it. Wehe!
You cannot confuse anyone. As per normal your info is worth kak - distorted rubbish. 24 matches scoring 3 tries -
Then your hero got another standard - a yellow card for Bakkies - are you denying that one as well - empty doos?