FORUM / RUGBY /  Stormers V Bulls

Stormers V Bulls

Started by Plum224 REPLIES1,103 VIEWS· 12 Mar 2026, 09:58
12 Mar 2026, 09:58
12 Mar 2026, 09:58#1

Is anybody else as amped for this game as i am?

The Stompies have faded into oblivion recently and the Bulls are starting to look like a well oiled machine since Akker was joined by Swys junior.

As far as I'm concerned this is a must-win for the Stomps. I think Dobbo is feeling the heat right now. For all money, it's looking like a few easy wins at the start of the season may have papered over some cracks and now that we're getting to the business end, the wheels aren't fully off but the bolts are for sure loose.

Meanwhile, Kaptein Elrigh is back and moving right into the excellent form he was in prior to that disgusting injury. Good news is that Henekom is back at the end of the month too...geez I've missed him! I seriously hope Cameron can remain injury free and get some game time against the ABs. We've sort of forgotten that what Sacha is to the backs, Hannas is to the forwards.

Anyhoos, I'm quite amped for the game and looking froward to the match thread.

Don't worry, Draad, I'll be here to console you and Beeno hahaha

12 Mar 2026, 11:39
12 Mar 2026, 11:39#2

Let's hope they play some rugby and it's not the boring arm wrestle of their previous encounter. But yeah, I'm hoping for a good one too. Bulls will need to cement their recent improvement here and show it's not just a flash in the pan.

12 Mar 2026, 17:18
12 Mar 2026, 17:18#3

I think tis gonna be a cracker.

Lets hope Willemse is at 15 and the Roche at 12.

And i hope Roos doesn't try to bring his Hulk to Loftus cos it never goes well for him on the Highveld when he tries that kak up here. Seriously wish he would wise up in general because the Boks are never gonna pick him if he keeps dreaming about having a green skin.

XA
XaviPro1,924 posts
12 Mar 2026, 17:46
12 Mar 2026, 17:46#4

"And i hope Roos doesn't try to bring his Hulk to Loftus cos it never goes well for him on the Highveld when he tries that kak up here. Seriously wish he would wise up in general because the Boks are never gonna pick him if he keeps dreaming about having a green skin."

Sheriffs in town, Louw'll give him the long arm of the law.

I think its gonna be a slugfest and I'm hoping all come through without any serious injuries regardless of outcome. I want all our teams at full strength later in the year when the AB's turn up. No watered down provincial games. Any 2nd choice Boks should be playing.

12 Mar 2026, 18:52
12 Mar 2026, 18:52#5

Indeed, Xavi. The Bulls pack in general is monster.

Feel bad not mentioning Marcel because his return has also seemed to play a role in their recently changing fortunes.

12 Mar 2026, 19:05
12 Mar 2026, 19:05#6

Who knows when Cam Hanekom might be available for selection again?

12 Mar 2026, 19:47
12 Mar 2026, 19:47#7

"Who knows when Cam Hanekom might be available for selection again?"

Can't remember which podcast, but they said end of March.

12 Mar 2026, 20:49
12 Mar 2026, 20:49#8

Hope he comes back the same player...

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
12 Mar 2026, 21:30
12 Mar 2026, 21:30#9

Projected Stormers Matchday 23:

1. Ali Vermaak 2. Andre Hugo Venter 3. Neethling Fouche 4. Salamander 5. JD 6. Ruan Ackerman 7. Ben J Dixon 8. Roos 9. Cobus R

10. Sacha 11. Zas 12. Willemse 13. Simelane

14. Hartzenburg 15. Galant

Reserves: Lukanyo Vokezela, Mchunu, David Sands, Adre Smith, Ruben V Heerden, Paul de Villiers, Stefan Ungerer, Jurie Matthee, Deon Fourie.

Our best lock pairing is not starting. Paul should also start. Willemse should play at fullback, and Gelant should not be near the starting line-up.

Roos is not in good form and not strong enough for 8th, in my opinion. Jurie has been in better form than Sascha and should be starting.

Roche, Luke Burger, and Markus Muller should be in the squad. Roche should start at 12.

Mchunu is a ten times better loosehead than Ali and should be starting. Sazi has also been playing well.

Salamander is only there because of his family influence. Deon Fourie should not be in the starting line-up at the expense of Louw Nel and Marcelle Theunissen.

Please retire Deon, it’s the Young Guns turn now!

Dobbo is busy losing the plot badly, in my opinion. I wonder what he is thinking. He is not the right man for the job anymore. We do have much better players to pick from.

The Bulls will give us a hiding on Saturday!

12 Mar 2026, 22:27
12 Mar 2026, 22:27#10

I was moaning about Dobbo last season and then when they had their good run at the start of the season people gave me stick for it.

Vindication is the only thing sweeter than revenge.

Galant shouldn't be playing rugby. The homie's eyes are way too far apart haha

MP
MpowerPro5,061 posts
12 Mar 2026, 23:08
12 Mar 2026, 23:08#11

VODACOM BULLS

1. Gerhard Steenekamp

2. Johan Grobbelaar

3. Wilco Louw

4. Cobus Wiese

5. Ruan Nortje (Captain)

6. Marco van Staden

7. Elrigh Louw

8. Jeandre Rudolph

9. Paul de Wet

10. Handre Pollard

11. Stravino Jacobs

12. David Kriel

13. Canan Moodie

14. Sebastian de Klerk

15. Willie le Roux

16. Akker van der Merwe

17. Jan-Hendrik Wessels

18. Khuta Mchunu

19. Ruan Vermaak

20. Reinhardt Ludwig

21. Nizaam Carr

22. Embrose Papier

23. Devon Williams

This is a good team. The forward pack is killer. I feel sorry for Ali Vermaak against Wilco Louw.

The loose trio battle is going to be tough, and it will be interesting to see how Ben J Dixon and Roos do.

Our locks can stand up to them, hopefully with Ruben or Adre Smith joining JD quickly. David Kriel is a formidable inside centre, and Moodie needs no introduction.

Both wings are very capable. They have excellent players in Reinhardt Ludwig and Ruan Vermaak coming off the bench. Nizaam Carr and Embrose Papier are also in good form.

I am hoping the Stormers can do something, but this Bulls team, coming off three wins, will be very formidable.

13 Mar 2026, 05:26
13 Mar 2026, 05:26#12

Good Bulls team...no weaknesses...maybe Paul de Wet... wasn't fond of him when he played for the Stormers, but with that Bools pack, I don't think he'll be put under pressure.

13 Mar 2026, 06:59
13 Mar 2026, 06:59#13

That's a terrible looking Stormers side if it turns out to be the matchday. Probably the two most boring wings in the competition, and that from Pocket Rocket Country. Why is Paul Div on the bench? Where is Vorster for the Bulls? Oupa Willie and Gelant should cancel each other out so no 16th man for the Bulls.

13 Mar 2026, 15:57
13 Mar 2026, 15:57#14

Stormers:

NM

Ntuthuko Mchunu

AV

Andre-Hugo Venter

NF

Neethling Fouche

AS

Adre Smith

JS

JD Schickerling

DF

Deon Fourie

BD

Ben-Jason Dixon

MT

Marcel Theunissen

SU

Stefan Ungerer

SM

Sacha Mngomezulu

LZ

Leolin Zas

DW

Damian Willemse

RN

Ruhan Nel

Suleiman Hartzenberg

WG

Warrick Gelant

------

JK

JJ Kotze

VM

Vernon Matongo

SS

Sazi Sandi

PD

Paul De Villiers

HD

Hacjivah Dayimani

IK

Imad Khan

JR

Jonathan Roche

WS

Wandisile Simelane

13 Mar 2026, 16:05
13 Mar 2026, 16:05#15

I'm sure Gelant has photos of Dobbo fingering a donkey or something.

13 Mar 2026, 16:13
13 Mar 2026, 16:13#16

Where's Roos?

13 Mar 2026, 17:42
13 Mar 2026, 17:42#17

Roos is injured apparently.

BULLS: (damn good team)

1 Gerhard Steenekamp

2 Johan Grobbelaar

3 Wilco Louw

4 Ruan Vermaak

5 Ruan Nortje

6 Marcell Coetzee

7 Elrigh Louw

8 Jeandre Rudolph

9 Embrose Papier

10 Handre Pollard

11 Kurt-Lee Arendse

12 Harold Vorster

13 Canan Moodie

14 Sebastian de Klerk

15 David Kriel

16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels

17 Alulutho Tshakweni

18 Mornay Smith

19 Cobus Wiese

20 Nizaam Carr

21 Marco van Staden

22 Paul de Wet

23 Willie le Roux

13 Mar 2026, 18:27
13 Mar 2026, 18:27#18

Bulls look way stronger . . . but the Stompies have Sacha and DW.

13 Mar 2026, 18:51
13 Mar 2026, 18:51#19

Shows you how much respect Sacha gets.

I just wish Dobbo wasn't his coach.

The Stormers as a unit aren't far off the Sharks at the moment for looking clueless.

They really need a coach that can end the silliness and Gelant syndrome there.

14 Mar 2026, 12:04
14 Mar 2026, 12:04#20

My pick for MOTM

"8. Jeandre Rudolph"

14 Mar 2026, 13:59
14 Mar 2026, 13:59#21

Do we use this as a match thread sommer?

14 Mar 2026, 14:00
14 Mar 2026, 14:00#22

Congrats Marco van Staaden on his 100th cap.

14 Mar 2026, 14:02
14 Mar 2026, 14:02#23

Good idea, Paks.

Unfortunately, I have family over for the game so I'll be in and out.

Apparently it's antisocial for me to be on my phone :/

Stupid social norms

14 Mar 2026, 14:02
14 Mar 2026, 14:02#24

Bulls look strong but they have a few weaknesses. Paul de Wet is one of those.

14 Mar 2026, 14:04
14 Mar 2026, 14:04#25

Kurt-Lee Arendse with another excellent take.

14 Mar 2026, 14:04#26

Apparently it's antisocial for me to be on my phone :/

Yeah, people eh? Useless.

14 Mar 2026, 14:04#27

Good pass by Moodie and Kurt-Lee is in. 5-0.

14 Mar 2026, 14:05
14 Mar 2026, 14:05#28

Hang on . . .

14 Mar 2026, 14:05#29

Haha that didn't take long

Moodie as cleans ever with they wife ball

14 Mar 2026, 14:05#30

Struggling a bit to find a stream but it looks like Arendse just scored.

14 Mar 2026, 14:06
14 Mar 2026, 14:06#31

No try. Knock on by De Wet.

14 Mar 2026, 14:08
14 Mar 2026, 14:08#32

Try cancelled, time for the Stonpies scrum to be demolished

Howzit Rooi

14 Mar 2026, 14:10
14 Mar 2026, 14:10#33

Score is 0-0 so guess there wasn't a try.

14 Mar 2026, 14:10
14 Mar 2026, 14:10#34

I finally have a stream so I'll try to keep up now.

14 Mar 2026, 14:11
14 Mar 2026, 14:11#35

Haha the Stompies don't want that smoke

14 Mar 2026, 14:14
14 Mar 2026, 14:14#36

Damn nice pressure scrum from the Stormers

14 Mar 2026, 14:15
14 Mar 2026, 14:15#37

Seb beats Willemse in the air.

14 Mar 2026, 14:16
14 Mar 2026, 14:16#38

Not Sacha's best kick...

14 Mar 2026, 14:16
14 Mar 2026, 14:16#39

Sacha just hoofing it away but it appears to be working . . . Stompies over but I think a foot in touch.

14 Mar 2026, 14:17
14 Mar 2026, 14:17#40

Nel with a big fend on Pollard. Stormers have gotten purchase from the high ball and Hartzenberg seems to be in. Yeah touch.

↓ LOAD MORE (page 2 of 6)