FORUM / RUGBY /  The Sharks in total Disarray

The Sharks in total Disarray

Started by clevermike21 REPLIES599 VIEWS· 07 Apr 2015, 09:35
07 Apr 2015, 09:35
07 Apr 2015, 09:35#1

The following article from Supersport Rugby:-

"Springbok flyhalf Patrick Lambie has been ruled out of rugby for six weeks because of a neck vertebrae injury suffered in the humiliating loss to the Crusaders at the weekend, thus increasing the Cell C Sharks’ woes as they try to regain the support of their fans.

The Sharks will travel to Johannesburg at the weekend to face the country's form team at present, the Emirates Lions, in a Vodacom Super Rugby derby with a new flyhalf in Fred Zeilinga, a new captain, and with someone else slotting into the No 7 jersey that was worn by Jean Deysel in the 52-10 defeat to the New Zealand team. Deysel is expected to cop a hefty suspension for kneeing a Crusaders player on the ground, something for which he received a red card.

That of course comes on top of the loss of regular captain Bismarck du Plessis, who is also suspended, as is Frans Steyn. Is it an epidemic? Sharks director of rugby Gary Gold says it isn’t, but he does know his men are up against it and has told the Durban media that it is an emotional time for the team.

And so it should be, for the players showed little signs of any guts or commitment in being buried by the Crusaders, and neither, to be honest, has there been that much indication of them trying to execute a coherent plan for a couple of weeks now, even in their win over the Western Force that preceded the Crusaders debacle.

The pressure will continue to increase if the Sharks don’t turn the corner quickly as more and more people who either work in rugby in Durban or who just support the team are getting disgruntled with the apparent backward step the franchise/union has taken since the then new CEO John Smit unceremoniously showed long serving coach John Plumtree the door a few years ago.

What doesn’t help ease the perception that where it started to go pear-shaped for the Durban franchise was when Plumtree was axed is the success that the Kiwi and former stalwart of the legendary Currie Cup winning 1990 team has achieved since he left KwaZulu/Natal. Since he departed halfway through 2013, Plumtree was the forward coach of a Six Nations winning Ireland team, and is now working with another former Sharks coach in Chris Boyd in driving what so far has been a successful campaign for the Hurricanes in Super Rugby.

The quick change in cultures that the Sharks players have had to endure over the past two years will not have helped, with the Brendan Venter feel good approach being replaced by Jake White’s strict regimented style after just three months, and then White was gone for the Currie Cup and Brad MacLeod-Henderson was in charge, and now Gold is in the hot seat after arriving in Durban just two weeks before the season kicked off because of his Japanese commitments.

That picture is not one of stability, and perhaps it isn’t surprising then that the Sharks are not producing the performances you would expect from them if you look at some of the star players that front them. Whatever the case though, Gold, who hasn’t been responsible for the recruiting of most of the players in his squad and should be working on a long-term plan rather than a short-term one, is under pressure to turn it around, and he does see a small ray of hope.

“It is an emotional time and it is a challenging week for us. People point at the scoreboard, and that is how it should be,” said Gold.

“But I honestly feel this adversity gives us an opportunity for real growth.”

It will be interesting to see what Gold means by that. If the Sharks continue to lose and are knocked out of the conference race, perhaps it will be time for him to shed his team of some of the old stagers and do what Dick Muir did in 2005 by implementing a youth policy and effecting a change of culture directed at building for the future.

With Du Plessis, Steyn, Lambie, Deysel and Willem Alberts all out, the Sharks are now seriously depleted. If they can win without the stars, it should give Gold confidence in backing the youth moving forward. On last week’s evidence though there is going to have to be a big improvement from even those new young players if there is going to be a turn-around in Sharks fortunes any time soon."

COMMENTS
There are some interesting points raised in the article:-
*   The mess made by John Smit since he became Director of Rugby and especially the way he got rid of Plumtree.   The nitwits on this site wanted to blow their fuses when at the time I wrote that it was a mess and the clear successes by Plumtree as a coach subsequently proved that his firing at the time was a total disaster.  The following si of particular importance - highlighting the mess Gold finds himself in:-
 "Whatever the case though, Gold, who hasn’t been responsible for the recruiting of most of the players in his squad and should be working on a long-term plan rather than a short-term one, is under pressure to turn it around, and he does see a small ray of hope." 
*    The red cards of Du Plessis, Steyn and Deysel was no accident.   All three were under-performing and the only way they saw how they could stamp their authority in matches was to indulge in dirty and illegal play.   It was not the first time this year that it happened to Steyn - he got a yellow card for the same reason in the Stormers game - when he picked on Kolbe to show his superiority and that went pearshaped as well.   
*    It was not only the above three that was under-performing.  You can include in that list the rugby-geriatrics brought in by Smit (Botha, Stevens and Wentzel), Gold's newbie in Murrary and especially also Jannie Du Plessis and even the Beast.  None of the mentioned players inspire any confidence and provide any leadership.
*   The most important art of the article is the following:-
"f the Sharks continue to lose and are knocked out of the conference race, perhaps it will be time for him to shed his team of some of the old stagers and do what Dick Muir did in 2005 by implementing a youth policy and effecting a change of culture directed at building for the future."

A thorough house cleaning is needed and if Smit is averse to that - he should be part of the cleaning up.   The rest of the old guard - the Du Plessis Brothers, Francois Steyn, Willem Alberts and especially the two geriatric locks and Stevens should b e shown the door - since none has been any good this year.    

07 Apr 2015, 09:49
07 Apr 2015, 09:49#2
"It was not only the above three that was under-performing.  You can include in that list the rugby-geriatrics brought in by Smit (Botha, Stevens and Wentzel),"
Not trying to be pedantic, but isn't there just a slight possibility that the esteemed Brendan Venter also, at least, had something to do with this?

I find it interesting that both the Sharks and the Stormers' coaches are constantly under fire, despite each of them having obtained the services of two high profiled boffins, who were going to steady the ships, in the background, i.e. Brendan Venter and Gert Small. 
At least the Bulls' Frans Ludeke is "fking" up all on his own, and do not need somebody to help him doing so. 
07 Apr 2015, 10:09
07 Apr 2015, 10:09#3

On odd occasions you do write real gems.   Yes - I must agree that the geriatrics was probably brought in jointly by Venter and Smit.  However - that does not remove the fact that it created a disastrous situation.
You will find that the real attack on Coetzee centers around his insistence on playing the three so-called midgets in the backline.   That is clearly political and there is very little Smal can do in that regard without the support of Coetzee.  The only option he has is to wait until Coetzee is gone and get some assistance from the new head coach  to get the situation corrected.     

07 Apr 2015, 10:16
07 Apr 2015, 10:16#4
Worst Sharks performance in living memory.

Even before all the cards were dished out the Sharks were dreadful. When the Crusaders started losing players to yellow cards the Sharks were even worse . . . I think they conceded two tries while they had a 2 man numerical advantage . . . and the actions of Jean Deysel were just beyond pathetic.

A disgraceful performance. It's not just the lack of discipline and the poor handling skills, it's the perseverance with the Joke White kicking game that disappoints me. The Sharks were known for decades as a side that treasures possession and keeps ball in hand and since Joke White they've lost that identity . . . along with any semblance of skill or commitment!

I see Jean Deysel has received a 7 week ban. At least he pleaded guilty and admitted that he was deeply ashamed by his actions, but enough is enough and I won't lose any sleep if this violent thug never plays another game for the Sharks.
07 Apr 2015, 10:17
07 Apr 2015, 10:17#5
 Coetzee hasn't always only had the "midgets"....................
07 Apr 2015, 10:37
07 Apr 2015, 10:37#6
 Rooinek
As far as I am concerned the ban of 7 weeks is mild compared to what Deysel really deserved.   This guy has to be as thick as a plank - he does not learn from a torrid history of dirty and illegal play and consequal actions against him - a real disaster to have in the team. 
The article to my mind clearly sums up what went wrong with the Sharks since Smit's appointment and the firing of Plumtree.   What irked me at the time was the constant garbage written by the main liar on this site attacking Plumtree because he was honest enough to deal conclusively with the Fat Fransie of that time.  Warning after warning did not help and it is clear now that the people who opposed the Plumtree idiocy was in fact correct.
Jake White made a terrible hash of the squad.  Despite constant poor performances by Steyn - he kept him in the team so as to implement his kicking game plan.   Problem is the last time Steyn made an accurate out of hand kick was probably in 2007 - since then his kicks were inaccurate garbage destroying any idea to play constructive "ball-in-hand" rugby.   What White with the active help of Fransie  did was to destroy any semblance  of backline play.  No wonder the players refused to renew their contracts unless White was shown the door. 
The damage was done and the only way ahead now is start building a proper squad without the senior passengers.   

07 Apr 2015, 11:43
07 Apr 2015, 11:43#7
Its not just the Sharks, all our teams are crap this season! The Bulls just have a shart coach and even though they are strong on paper, their totally predictable game plan and lack of imagination cancels out any potential they hold. Cheetahs are the same as always, a shock win here and a shock win there.....normally at the expense one of our teams that still has a hope of achieving something. The Sharks.....say no more! The Stormers are just boring and are exactly where they deserve to be on the table. The lions won three games on tour, which is great, but they did so against the kakkest teams in Australasia and now they have won a home game against a rubbish Bulls outfit. Of course that won't stop people from jumping on the "Lions are the team to beat" bandwagon, but the truth is, we don't have one team that could win a semi-fina, l let alone a final. We have the players in this country to do well, but I think our rugby culture is just incapable of keeping up with the game as it changes.  
Right, I've had my rant!
07 Apr 2015, 11:58
07 Apr 2015, 11:58#8
 Bluebok
A really good summary.  It was the same last year - the Sharks was in the play-offs because they lost one less game in the round robin stage than the other two competing SA franchises did. They were crap then and they are crap now.   By luck the Sharks won the play-off game against the Highlanders - a team that beat them easily in Durban in the round robin phase.  So all the brouhaha about how good thw Sharks were last year was and remains a load of BS.
Like 2014 - 2015 seems to develop into another disastrous year in Super 15.  

07 Apr 2015, 12:03
07 Apr 2015, 12:03#9
Bluebok, the Bulls are a markedly different side when Handre Pollard is playing. Pollard takes it up a lot flatter and he changes the entire dynamic of the Bulls backline which creates a lot more room for Burger Odendaal and the outside backs.

Of course you're going to look crap with a donkey like Jacques-Louis standing in the pocket and trying to win the game with place kicks, but with a fit Pollard back and on form, I'd give the Bulls a shot at winning a semifinal game.

Hopefully the Lions can find a bit of consistency but for the rest I agree, we're not looking very good this year.
07 Apr 2015, 12:27
07 Apr 2015, 12:27#10
Rooi, I agree regarding Pollard, but even when he is playing, the Bulls are hardly setting the world on fire! Look, there is still time for our teams to find a bit of form, but I am pretty certain that form is not the issue. I just did so much head shaking at the telly this weekend its not even funny!
Worst of all, when making my predictions on Super Bru, I somehow screwed up and predicted a Cheetahs win against th e Brumbies instead of the other way around as I intended. 
Eish! 
07 Apr 2015, 12:37
07 Apr 2015, 12:37#11
I don't know which was more embarrassing this weekend . . . the Sharks inept and gutless display; Deysel's moment of madness; Eben Etzebeth's boorish and infantile attempts to be the tough guy or my own hopeless performances in Fantasy Rugby and Superbru predictions.

Just a crap weekend of rugby all round . . . the one and only bright spot being Faf de Klerk's brave decision to go for the win instead of the tie and Armand van der Merwe's powerful finish . . . but even that is sounding dodgy if you believe Pierre Spies' claim that they used the wrong ball and the quick tap should have been disallowed.
07 Apr 2015, 12:58
07 Apr 2015, 12:58#12
 12793 Topic: Jean Deysel returns . . .Rooinek

February 09, 2015, 09:59:02

The Sharks have received a boost with the news that bruising flanker Jean Deysel has returned from Japan and he's already been fast-tracked into the Sharks S15 squad.

And from above....

I see Jean Deysel has received a 7 week ban. At least he pleaded guilty and admitted that he was deeply ashamed by his actions, but enough is enough and I won't lose any sleep if this violent thug never plays another game for the Sharks.

07 Apr 2015, 13:14
07 Apr 2015, 13:14#13
 Rooinek with respect Savea was being very brave by slapping Etzebeth first and the latter showed remarkable restraint by not sending him to hospital for a face  reconstruction.  it happened in the second half when the Hurricanes was under constant pressure - and I think Savea's intention was to get a more violent response so as to get Etzebeth carded.   I would call Savea as being  boorish and infantile or worse in his attempt to get Etzebeth off the field of play.   I know you hate Etzebeth with a vengeance - but he is really in the clear here.      
07 Apr 2015, 13:48
07 Apr 2015, 13:48#14

Yeah, the baiting was childish.

We don't know what led to what. Looks like Burger was involved in some pushing & shoving on Savea before that but that also could have been in retaliation. All part of the handbag stuff that is not good sportsmanhip but goes on.

07 Apr 2015, 15:17
07 Apr 2015, 15:17#15

Oh sure Etzebeth's action ranked alongside the Sharks loss and Deysel's flying knee. That folks is pure bias. The AAS just can't wait to turn on Etzebeth......just as he always does with Schalk.

But I guess when you predict great things for the Sharks because Frans is out, and you then lose by a landslide it makes you a little vindictive.

07 Apr 2015, 15:41
07 Apr 2015, 15:41#16
 Mozart as is - with Fransie's atrocious record for Super 15 for the Sharks I am afraid  the loss could even have been bigger,   Fransie's defense stinks to high heaven - the second wors t as a 12 in SA last year and no better this year.  
Just as an aside have you found out your mistake in your attacks on Plumtree  yet and the disastrous effect his firing had on the Sharks - a problem which got worse during the time of Jake White and now Gold? 
07 Apr 2015, 16:10
07 Apr 2015, 16:10#17
 Come on ou Maaikie. You are making such an issue about Jake White. What were your opinion of him when he was appointed?
07 Apr 2015, 17:08
07 Apr 2015, 17:08#18
I was always in favour of Jake White as a coach - especially in 2007.  However, I also realized his limitations - especially insofar as backline play is concerned.   Jaske apparently also realized it and got Eddie Jones in to help him coaching the backline.   I was against him being fired in 2007 as coached of the  Springboks.
White wnt to the Brumbies and did well there - he did not fiddle around with their game plan and got Larkham on board to deal with backline issues - while he dealt with the forwards.
Now onwards to the situation with the Sharks.   First of all  i had serious reservations about Plumtree's dismissal - there was factionalism in that squad and the dismissal would not have helped the situation - it would have made it even worse. 
When White was appointed I thought that he would improve matters and supported his appointment.   However, White made a critical mistake - he did not get a top backline coach to deal with the issue of backline play and devised a game plan where the halfbacks would kick the sh!t out of the ball and in the rare event of the ball being past - the center would crashball.   Part of the plan was fine - that is if their was any accuracy in execution.  When Lambie was injured he moved Steyn to flyhalf and the kicking game became inaccurate and only a way to pass over possession to the opposition.  Like in the case of the rest of the public of KZN it frustrated the hell out of me.
The problem was that the factions became more serious during the time White was coach and was personified in the form of Steyn and a few other players - who could do no wrong and the rest who was constantly the target of Whites increasing irritability.

However, the faction issue  was papered over because - by losing one less match than the Stormers and the Bulls, the Sharks ended up on top of the SA conference and was in the play-offs.   After the semi the storm broke into the open.  The contracts of some  players had to be renewed and they refused to renew it as long as White was in charge.
Despite my initial support of him I gradually lost faith in him in 2014 and by the time he was leaving I was - like most other fans = delighted by his departure,
I think Plumtree's departure  set in motion a chain of events that led up to the present disastrous situation.                 
08 Apr 2015, 12:38
08 Apr 2015, 12:38#19

" Its not just the Sharks, all our teams are crap this season!"

..."this season"??....it's where we differ, all our teams have been plain damn ordinary for a long time, our competitors have improved while our teams have languished. Fans are gatvol and are now looking for answers....the answer my friend is blowing in the wind if I can steal a line from the great Bob Dylan.

Some on here are that dumb to believe we play better with a given scrummie or flyhalf, truth be told and I bow to the thinking that backline play is only as good as it's collective intellectual property and skills.

There is no magic bullet in any flyhalf....forget it, the year is 2015.

08 Apr 2015, 13:31
08 Apr 2015, 13:31#20
Dense, I'm pretty sure that when bluebok said "our teams" he was referring to South Africans, not ill-bred and cowardly turncoats who ran away from South Africa's problems and now slag off the new country that gave them a second chance.

Just clearing that up because your use of the term "our teams" is pretty confusing for those of us who know you to be an opportunistic bandwagoner with no loyalty, class or integrity.
08 Apr 2015, 14:52
08 Apr 2015, 14:52#21

The misanthrope in full song again. Sadly he never had the skills or the guts to make it elsewhere so he hates those who did.

09 Apr 2015, 12:31
09 Apr 2015, 12:31#22

Exactly right Moz, the bitter, sad and lonely bastard didn't

make the cut in Duh  Duh Pretoria so how on earth was he going to make it anywhere else? Best thing he ever did was to stay put in his comfort zone, then again it's the kinda end result you expect from a born loser.

Say, Rooi-boy, tell us again, how was the "bruising Jean Deysel going to BOOST the Sharks"?

Bwhahahahahhahhahahahaha