FORUM / RUGBY /  The Stormers showed us today why Matfield should retire permanently

The Stormers showed us today why Matfield should retire permanently

Started by clevermike49 REPLIES601 VIEWS· 05 Jul 2014, 21:02
07 Jul 2014, 16:36
07 Jul 2014, 16:36#41
 So, Maaikie. I asked if you were serious about seeing those examples. You haven't confirmed it yet and I don't want you to say that I didn't give you a chance to prevent me from doing so. This is final chance to ask me rather not to post those examples.
07 Jul 2014, 16:40
07 Jul 2014, 16:40#42
 Dofste Doos
Now you cannot read English either - let me repeat the wording of a post I made earlier:-
"Sure - give me a few examples - am looking forward to that one.   And Morne remains the Stade Francais bench player - does that not tell you how really crap he is."

07 Jul 2014, 16:43
07 Jul 2014, 16:43#43

Ruan Botha was far better than Matfield on the day and that is a FACT he not only played against Victor, he "owned" him.

"Tackled" - would be JJ's tackling stats which continue to be amongst the best of all centres playing this S15 - fact......unlike your hero de Jongh with another 50% effort this weekend - boy you really do call them.....about as bad as telling us Morne, Bakkies, Steenkamp and Victor are still the answers - what a bloody joke.

"Break" means just what JJ did on Sat......beating defenders as he did against Savea and Cruden in the test

"Young" means the players that should be playing ahead of useless washed up has beens like Victor or Bakkies......look no further than young Lood

" Case closed" is just that.......you hardly think your interpretation of the facts are ever worthy of consideration.......I mean hell, Morne and Jean were not to blame for the Barrett try, Marcel v/d Merwe was dominated by the Lions loosehead, Hollenbach dominated Jan, Jan only has an inside step..........its all a load of bullshit

07 Jul 2014, 16:45
07 Jul 2014, 16:45#44
 Ruan got a good write up.What youare missing Dr Moz and ou windpomp is firstly both Stormers locks are rookies as locks. Rhodes is a 7 really. Secondly we all shoudl know Deon Fourie is NOT a sound thrower into the lineouts. He si the best  in the country though.
To crwo about wee victor  kg at best -and his lineout forwards winning the lineout is silly really. To ignore the fact victor was outgunned thereafter is also silly. What international side plays a stringbean  kg lock who is uttlerly usless barring the lineouts and takeoffs.Hahahhahahahaha Ruan certainly owned wee vistor barring the lineouts.
Ex Supersport - an Article entitled No doubt about Stormers turning the corner:In other aspects of the game, locks Michael Rhodes and Ruan Botha were outstanding and played a big role in helping the Stormers gain the all-important physical dominance against their opponents. The last mentioned (ie Ruan Boitha oaks) looks a particularly bright prospect and is now playing well enough to erase the concerns about what will become of the Stormers at No 5 lock in the post-Andries Bekker era. (R UAN IS LOOKING VERY PROMISISNG)

So we have a number 7 playing lock and a kid like ruan dominatio=ng the great wee victor.We have victor groupies lamely insisting thIS fraud is what we need as A BOK lock! BWAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHA SIDESPLITTING STUFF FROM TH GROUPIES!!
07 Jul 2014, 16:50
07 Jul 2014, 16:50#45
 Some other quotes from teh Super rugby article:This one for ou windpompThe Bulls were prevented by injury from sending their strongest team to Newlands, but they still weren’t nearly depleted as the Stormers were. There is a player missing, sometimes two, in every tight five position if you look at the following list of absentees: Steven Kitshoff, Ollie Kebble, Siya Ntubeni, Frans Malherbe, Brok Harris, Eben Etzebeth, De Kock Steenkamp, Rynhardt Elstadt. And then at the back they were without Jean de Villiers, Damian de Allende and Kobus van Wyk.

why the change around:the results since Gert Smal arrived as Western Province director of rugby after the overseas tour con firm that the move has brought dividends.
07 Jul 2014, 16:54
07 Jul 2014, 16:54#46
 Beeno
Is the above quote not exactly what I said earlier about physical dominance.  Botha while carrying the ball just pushed Matfield out of the way like he was dealing with a 15 year old boy.
The problem with the whole game was the physical dominance factor among the forwards.   Matfield was dominated by everyone among the Stormers forwards - He was also just pushed aside by Carr as well.   
Mozart wrote songs about Matfield - but if he watch the game honestly even he would be shocked.    
07 Jul 2014, 17:18
07 Jul 2014, 17:18#47
Mike you have to understand the delusion matfiled groupies have re matfiled are very powerful. 
matfiled is a smart conman and has conned these guys totally. They also do not understand the job spec of a tight forward. That matfiled was so dominated by these two rookie locks of the Stormers is shocking. 
That anybody wants matfiled in the Bok side is absurd in the extreme. There was one occassion when vic tor was in the backline and got tackled back meters by an opposing back I think it was.
I get truly embarrassed when victor plays for the Boks. I cringe for the bulle as well.
Meyer you are betwiched by wee victor. May you be delivered ASAP. Ou Frik Du Preez and great locks of the past must turn in their graves!

07 Jul 2014, 17:48
07 Jul 2014, 17:48#48
Gosh....and there I was thinking Victor was in one TOW and bubbling under in most others during the June tests. HasBEEN you have been wanting to dump Matfield since 2006....hahaha. Eventually he will retire on his own volition. The greatest lock of the open era....MOM in the RWC final....a hero of Bok rugby.... and a phenomenon at 37. And all the small bitter chaps can't even enjoy it. Are we the stupidest set of world rugby fans or what?
07 Jul 2014, 18:01
07 Jul 2014, 18:01#49
Unfoirtunately this is 2014 - not 2007. In 2014 the situation is changed and at 37 Matfield is just not competitive anymore.  He comes up against a youngster like Botha and get out-muscled.   That is the truth of the situation.   
Matfield played when most locks were in the same wight range as he was - but at present the younger ones are heavier and physically stronger than him.   He should go before he further disgraces himself.      
07 Jul 2014, 18:12
07 Jul 2014, 18:12#50
@Maaikie. No ou Pieletjies Pap. I have read that part but after that I just thought that I would give you one last chance. It does appear, though, that you are adamant that you can handle it. You leave me no choice then.

Just to recap. You say that you only report on games that you have watched.

Act 1: The Morne Saga
 Scene 1.

On 3 Sep '13 you said the following:
"I saw him coming on for the game of Stade Francais over the weekend and he was as far as I am concerned bot (sic) a house on fire. His first two relieving kicks did not even reach the sideline and lead to counter-attacks by the opposition."

Having watched the game myself and still had it recorded, I immediately realised that that was not what happened, which led me to believe that you could not have watched the game. I checked on the recording, and for the sake of clarity gave you a run-down, complete with time-stamps) of Steyn's entire time on the field. (Remember at this point what you said to me  about Goosen's kicks earlier. I deliberately made those remarks to see if you would challenge me on the nature of Goosen's kicks.) Some of the points that I highlighted:

"64:28.  Steyn gets the ball about 4m outside of his own 22. So, he can not kick it directly into touch. He kicks it well into the Biarritz 22m. Joe Pietersen who kicks it out just inside of the SF half. The nett result of MS' kick is a gain of about 15 metres and the throw in at the line-out. From the line-out the ball is kicked downfield again by the scrumhalf, not MS. Ball not out. Biarritz kicks it back out on the Biarritz 10m. SF throw."

His second kick was actually a penalty kick after a late tackle on Meyer Bosman.

"66:24. Parisse wins the ball and drives forward. Scrumhalf gets the ball from the maul, out to MS, out to Meyer Bosman. play carries on up to Biarritz 22m where a ruck forms. Scrumhalf out to Meyer Bosman who changes direction and pases to MS, out to no 8, to Parisse, to no 9, to Bosman. A maul forms. Out to no 9, to MS, to Meyer Bosman to no 14, who is taken out over the touchline. They are called back for a penalty and a yellow card against Biarritz for a high late tackle on Bosman.

67:32. MS takes the penalty and kicks for touch from well within the Biarritz half.

67:55. SF take a deep throw in the line-out and they win it at the back. The ball goes from the scrumhalf directly to Bosman who came cutting in from outside centre."

His second kick came less than 4 minutes from full time and that kick was clearly not intended to go out. The reason was that they wanted Biarritz to  run at them. That was what they were doing the entire game. Biarritz kept on doing it and it failed every time.

"76:25. MS gets the ball inside his own in-goal area and kicks the ball downfield. Not out. This was the first time sonce (sic) he came on 16 minutes earlier that he did not kick the ball out from insside (sic) his won 22m. The ball is passed in-filed to Joe Pietersen who makes who carries the ball up before being taken down. A rcuk (sic) forms and Stade is penalised. They tap and go. Get up to 2m from the SF goal line before they loose the ball forward, the no 9 gets the ball but is driven out over the touchline. So, the ref calls them back for a scrum from where Biarritz lost the ball forward."

I have told you at the time that, had the Stade forwards not fouled up at the ruck, Stade would have won a turn-over or a penalty where Joe Pietersen was taken down.

Had you watched the game, you would have known all  of this.

Scene 2.

You are still hell-bent that I was bullshitting, saying that I was wrong in my summary of the play.

"Just to check the game again to see whether you - the great thinker who believes the French Top 14 is above CC level - I watched the game again and you were wrong on virtually every count - but that is to be expected."

I then even made a video of that entire part of the game, posted it on YouTube, gave you the link and asked  you to correct me, from that video. You never did that. You duck and dived and eventually pissed off with your tail  between your legs..... again.

Act 2: The Bakkies saga

Scene 1.

Early in October 2013 you declared that you were watching Bakkies in the Top14 and that he was useless. Useless to such an extent that he wasn't even on making the starting XV for Toulon. You have allegedly watch the games and he never played anymore. I then gave you all the games that he played in and IIRC he started more than 80% of their games. Remember that you said that you watched him play. Remember also that you say that you make judgement on what you have seen.

Then on 29 October comes this revelation:

"Both you and Ceradyne are fools about players like Bakkies.   The last time I saw Bakkies play for Toulon he was carded for dirty play.   I often saw only half of games of Toulon and never saw Bakkies. "

Now that yellow card, my friend, was early in 2013 in the 2012/13 season. That remark was an admission that you have not seen Bakkies play in about eight months!!!! But you only comment on games that you have seen.

That argument, BTW, led to how kak Toulon was and how they were on a  downward slope because of how crap Bakkies and Johnny Wilkinson were. How did that turn out in the end? When I told you that you know fokol  about the nature of the French Top14, you wouldn't believe me and said the following:

"Doos you are lying as per normal.   I said Toulon is on the skids - they lost crucial games - actually four in total and they drew in one game  and they  have two of the highest paid has-beens in their team.  I saw Toulon losing a number of games myself - and I saw myself that in one of the  rare cases where Botha did make it to the second half - that he was carded.  (But you said that the last time you saw him play was when he was carded early in 2013. That was his first yellow card atToulon. He got a second one early this year, IIRC.) You lie and then pretend to tell the truth - five losses does not count and neither does 1 draw.   How many rounds have been played?  Then give me the Toulon's winning percentage if you dare.   The others played the stronger teams and lost - Toulon their losses came against weaker teams - bar the Toulouse one. 

Indicentally after writing this I went to my bedroom and the Toulouse -Toulon was on replay.   Wilkenson missed two penalty kicks at goal and also a dropped goal in the last second of the game - not so hot those misses."

Even after I gave you all the facts and stats that you asked for, you still  maintained that Toulon was basically on the road to nowhere. Boy did that come back to bite you in the arse?

Once again, on the same thread, you confirmed that you do not watch all the games, yet you still maintain that Bakkies is crap, as I will show you in Act 2 Scene 2 . For this, though, we will stick to the following:

"Thanks for the info - a 50% win record - and I think that is bloody poor for the cup winners of last year - and they have more high-flyers than most of the other teams.    The competition must be competitive to produce those kind of results.   I tried to watch all the games possible - but not all games are broadcast especially of the Top 14 - but the Heineken Cup games are.   Some shockers there as well - but the Irish teams seems to be riding high - the English teams not so and he French teams around 60-40."   

Again. How did that work out in the end? What happened to the high-riding Irish teams?

Scene 2

Yet another attempt to prove that Bakkies was done at Toulon and that Ali Williams was now preferred to start, ahead of Bakkies. You reported that you watched the HC game against Exeter and that Bakkies was so poor that he was taken off and replaced by Ali Williams. That must have been your biggest blunder, bar the Morne Steyn/Paris Saint Germaine one.

The facts were that Bakkies was stamped on in a ruck,  and had a number of severe cuts to the face and was then replaced by Suta. The reason he was not replaced by Ali Williams was that Williams was actually Bakkies' regular lock partner at no5.

Something that you surely would have known if you really watched the games. Fact is that you still did not know the extent of the injuries to his face, as you were pissing about him being left out at the following game. It was actually after he was left out for that game that you came up with the idea that he was left out because of his poor showing and early substitution against Exeter.

There are many more Acts and Scenes that I could show you, like the Amla saga, but I just could not be bothered. The above should be good enough.

You are a fucking liar per excellence ou Maaikie, but keep it up. At least, you are a laugh a  minute. It is fun watching you make a doos of yourself every now and again.