FORUM / RUGBY /  Another topic Sasue would not like - cricket News

Another topic Sasue would not like - cricket News

Started by clevermike99 REPLIES1,068 VIEWS· 13 Jan 2014, 12:21
15 Jan 2014, 05:55
15 Jan 2014, 05:55#41

boklogic

Saffex is crazy.   We are discussing ODI's here - bit tests innings. In ODI's players gets one or two innings to get their eyes in and learn the pitch behaviour.  There after that player must score at 5-6 rpo.  

You cannot have a builder in that situation.   What often enough happen is that the partner gets one run from the first ball in an over, the builder fiddle around and get no runs from the next four balls and he result is 2 runs for that over.   The process is repeated the next over.   

The problem with Smith is 80% of the balls he faces is hit in one direction and the opposing teams clog up that area with fielders - and a ridiculously low run rate happens.   I have often seen field changes on the last ball of an over to allow for one run to be taken by Smith and then the situation is repeated in the next over.   He then ends up with the type of run rate I mentioned earlier - 72 runs from 201 balls.    That happened in 8 ODI's = ie 9 runs per innings at  rpo rate of just above 2.

What Saffex would not accept that in those 8 ODI's SA lost 7 and won 1.  He would not accept that you have to score at about 5-6 rpo to be competitive.  The fact that Smith score so slowly - put the lower order batters under serious pressure.   You only need another batter to do the same and then you have lost the match.

Builders essentially belong in test cricket where rpo's is not really important.   In ODI's a builder who is a slow run scorer has no place in the team.  What Saffex fails to realise is that Smith is not selected for the ODI team anymore exactly because of that problem. They tried him in four of the 11 ODI's we played recently and we lost 3 of those.   In the other 7 ODI's he was not selected and we won all 7 of those.   Smith was virtually the only team change made in those 7 ODI's - so where is the problem if it is not Smith? 

15 Jan 2014, 06:19
15 Jan 2014, 06:19#42
Mike, there is plenty Saffex fails to get or understand. Not just 1 thing. It's nearly everything in fact. Problem with Smith is he gets out at crucial times. My take on him is that he falls over his front pad and is often trapped infront. His only scoring areas with any venom is through the onside. In test match cricket, bowlers are aiming to take wickets, not save runs too much early on. This is the reason they bowl much differently to an ODI where it's pivotal to save runs anywhere u can. Defensively, Smith is ok in the off stump test match stuff. He will pull anything short across the line onto the onside, sometimes that goes straight into the air, sometimes 4. Hi risk anyway u look at it. Anything slightly wider and full and he will flash at with a closed bat face. Often resulting in a trickle to mid off or an edge to slip. No real power as the middle of the bat is closed. That is not to say he never gets it right or "has his day" but technically, he is not great. In the odi's the best bowlers are those with variation. 6 balls Yorker length to Smith at variable paces and you can bet your bottom dollar that he will trip over one or play too early. Smith is one of those guys who bring so many modes of dismal into play as he is technically shit and loves to heave across the line.
The same way that test bowlers who can bare a massive load are not always successful in the ODI arena, it's the same for batsmen. The bowlers need to offer variations and lengths and the batsmen need to adjust and capitalise on this type of bowling. Test batsmen can often find this more difficult as they are stroke players not improvisers. SA has been shit at ODI's in the past and Smith is a big reason for that in most big games except that 438 game?? Amla must not play odi either. It's got nothing to do with builders or dashers! It is a much different requirement and one that Smith is no longer up for
15 Jan 2014, 07:47
15 Jan 2014, 07:47#43

boklogic

You have it 100% correct insofar as the technique problems of Smith is concerned. It has been discussed numerous times during matches by the commentators.

I am not sure about Amla though - my problem is that he is a bit out of form at present.

He technically is a good batter - but whether he should play T20 is debatable.   I think ODI's are fine.   In T20 you need the guys that has very good hand-eye co-ordination with the ability to hit balls out of the park.   Amla makes good runs - but he seldom hits a six.

By the way I agree about the poor ODI record of SA.   I think the problem remains - there are way too many test playing type of natters in our team.  Over the past few year we regularly have had Smith, Kallis and Duminy - basically sound test batters - in a line up consisting of 7 batters.  The other batters were often enough Petersen and Ingram.   Basically we only had De Villiers and sometimes Faf to make runs at the required run rate.   They lately brought in De Kock and Miller and that made a huge difference.   Whereas Kallis and Smith are really not in anymore - they need two more reliable and quick batters.  They tried a couple of other players - but I think all failed badly.

I like what I see of Rilee Rossouw and Reeza Hendricks.   Big hitters who do not go out early.  However - the race issue is always a problem in selection - but Hendricks is a Coloured - so that may count in his favour.

Personally I would like to see in ODI's the following line-up:-

*   Reeza Hendriks

*   Quinton de Kock (w/k)

*   Rilee Rossouw

*   AB de Villiers

*   David Miller

*   Faf du Plessis

*   J-P Duminy

*   Trevor Fillander

*   Dale Steyn

*   Morne Morkel

*   Lonwabo Tsotsobe

That team has the potential of being world beaters.   They should start with them soonest and have them ready for the WC in 2015. 

What they should avoid like a plague is to have the contributors to our dismal record past record in ODI's in the team in future.         

15 Jan 2014, 10:51
15 Jan 2014, 10:51#44
 Geez. Three of you busy arguing and throwing in opinions and all three are getting it wrong.

This is true:

"He will pull anything short across the line onto the onside,....."

...and this as well.....

"Anything slightly wider and full and he will flash at with a closed bat face......"

This is not correct:

"Problem with Smith is he gets out at crucial times. My take on him is that he falls over his front pad and is often trapped infront."

By far the majority (55.4%) of Smith's dismissals comes from being caught out. That is split in caught (34.2%) and caught behind (21.2%) and the caught behinds come from "Anything slightly wider and full and he will flash at with a closed bat face......"

It is also true that he is technically not great and he, himself. has said it many times, which is why he always has to compensate and improvise. If he was technically as good as Kallis, he would have been unstoppable. This just shows how good he really is to achieve the figures that he does despite not being that spot-on. I was totally against him when in his early years but he is probably one of the most repected plyers out there and definitely the most respected test and ODI captain. Yes, I know that he is not the ODI captain any more, but he is still  playing and not being the ODI captain was his choice. He was not sacked as ODI captain.

15 Jan 2014, 11:11
15 Jan 2014, 11:11#45

I have no problem with Smith as captain of the test team.   The issue of captaincy of the ODI team is not as easy as an application by him to be released from the captaincy p that is a face saver.   He may not be sacked - but his non-return to SA after a disastrous loss in the last WC in India - cased serious media problems for him and he was roundly criticized as running away and not facing the music.

That was followed by his replacement as captain.   However, there can be no argument about the ODI record of SA.  Where we are the top test team in world cricket - we were a one stage no 6 on the ODI rankings and is sill no 5.   That is just not acceptable.   We would have gone to no 3 - if it was not for the debacle in the first two ODI's against Pakistan in SA in November.   And Smith was in the team both times.  

I do not think that Smith is the answer at ODI level - his slow bating rate puts to much pressure on lower order batters who must always play catch up. to set a reasonable score.   Smith has not been selected against India in the recent series - he was in the squad - but was not in the team.  

I personally think Smith must forget about ODI's and only play test cricket.   Time to move on to new players and forget about players like Adams and Ingram as well.   They are not the answer and never has been the answer.   

15 Jan 2014, 12:15
15 Jan 2014, 12:15#46
 "And Smith was in the team both times." .........as were 10 other players.

Thing is that everybody makes mistakes in life but only some people acknowledge them, apologises and rectify them. Problem is that some people fail to recognise it when this happens and is done. They prefer to hunt down the cuprits and would keep on bashing the "culprits" for years on end. Even two or three years afterwards.

Graeme Smith: No excuses

Cape Town - Graeme Smith has apologised for not returning to South Africa following the Proteas' exit from the recent Cricket World Cup in India, but will continue as Test skipper.

Smith made the apology at a press conference on Sunday morning.

Smith, much to the anger of fans in South Africa, decided against returning home after the Proteas' quarter-final exit against New Zealand, and instead flew to Ireland to propose to his girlfriend, Morgan Deane.

Smith will marry Deane in August in Cape Town, before the Proteas take on Australia, starting in October.

Smith vowed to "work hard to get his form back in order to perform at his best" and has committed himself to the future of SA cricket and asked the fans for their support.

"With the benefit of hindsight, my decision to not return home directly after the World Cup should have been explained sooner," said Smith, reading from a prepared statement.

This was his first public appearance since the Proteas were skittled out of the World Cup by underdogs New Zealand who recorded a 49 run victory in the quarter-finals in Dhaka on March 25.

The team arrived home shortly after their shock defeat, minus their captain, as Smith, controversially, chose instead to go to Ireland to spend time with his pop singer girlfriend, now fiance, Morgan Deane.

While Cricket South Africa went to great lengths to say Smith had cleared the decision with them before the start of the tournament, it seemed an odd arrangement as the team were expected to reach the semi-final stage, if not the final, of the competition in what many people thought was South Africa's best chance of bringing home the trophy.

Apart from the home advantage the Indians and Sri Lankans enjoyed, no team stood out as favourites this time - unlike in the previous three tournaments that were dominated by the Australians.

"I know that my extended absence from South Africa has been the subject of much comment," said Smith.

"I apologise and make no excuses for it but I ask the South African fans to understand that I was feeling incredibly emotional at the time.

"What I did not take into account was the public's reaction to this decision."

Smith returned to India after his sojourn in Ireland for the Indian Premier League but sustained a knee injury in the second match of the tournament and was unable to work through it.

"Time is on my side to get fully fit," he said as the Proteas' next assignment is only in October against Australia, at home.

"Once the new coach is appointed, I will work to get back to my best physically, mentally and technically."

"I know the South African fans demand a lot from us and, as captain, I am held responsible. My captaincy means nothing unless I can back it up with my performance.

"I’m proud of what I've achieved as a player in the past and want to get back to that and I want to enjoy my cricket again."

Smith reiterated that he made what he considered the correct decision at the time when taking into account the disappointment and emotions he felt.

"I made the best decision at the time for where I was emotionally and in my personal life, but it's definitely understandable that the fans were disappointed."

Smith said there were exciting times ahead with a new coach being officially appointed on Monday, although the cat is already out of the bag in what is being termed "the worst kept secret in cricket".

Meanwhile, former Proteas' opener Gary Kirsten is expected to be named as the next Proteas coach following an Executive Council meeting of Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday.

Another former Proteas' great, Allan Donald, who turned down the chance to oversee New Zealand's bowlers, is expected to be named as one of Kirsten's assistants, alongside Warriors coach Russell Domingo.

I have not seen captain as devastated by an exit from a WC series likem GS was in 2011, in a long time. Go watch the clips, of the post match interviews, on ESPN. The  last time I saw a captain in such a state was Richie McCaw in 2007. It can only be a most professional and dedicated captain that would react like that, following such a  loss. 

15 Jan 2014, 13:24
15 Jan 2014, 13:24#47

Why this long article.  The issue has nothing to do with Smith's subsequent apology after the India fiasco.   It has nothing to do with the poor run rate and resultant loss of the SA team in the quarters  either. It has nothing to do with the discussions after the match either.

It has everything to do with Smiths form over the past year in ODI's and whether he should continue to play for SA  in that format of the game.    There is not one word said about his captaincy of the test team and continued participation in that format of the game.   Nobody in his right senses would argue that he should not continue as a test cricketer.  

This discussion started of with the issue of T20 cricket and the selection of a eam in that format of the game.   Whilst Smith and Kallis is not in the squad for T20 selection - I left them out of the list of top performers in the domestic competition and the realistic selections based on that.   Saffex wanted to have a seizure because I left out Smith form that format of the game and it dragged on - becoming an issue of ODI's.

You missed the point completely about the following quotation:-

"And Smith was in the team both times." .........as were 10 other players. "

Lets look at recent history.

*   Smith opens the batting in the first 2 away ODI's in the Gulf States against Pakistan.   In both cases he batted slowly and ineffectively making in the 2 ODI's 35 runs from 59 balls.   The first ODI we won by a whisker (one run with a problematically low score of 183 runs0) - the second one we lost badly.

*   Only one change is made to the team for the next three ODI's.   Smith is replaced by De Kock and we beat the  comprehensively.

*   Back in SA against the same team and the only team changes for the ODI's are Smith and Kallis.   Both failed in the batting and we lost the first ODI badly.

*   That is followed by the 2nd ODI.   Again Smith failed but Kallis made 50 runs taking 90 balls to make it.  Too slow a run rate an we lost the ODI.

*   Last ODI against Pakistan - Smith the only tam change - and w won the ODI.

*   ODI's against India - Smith Is out and we beat India by huge margins. 

You could spread the blame to all players - but the  above indicates clearly where the real problem was.  The omission of Smith caused a complete turnaround in team performances.   If it happened once - it was no argument - but it happened repeatedly.

15 Jan 2014, 14:07
15 Jan 2014, 14:07#48
" Ceradyne

Why this long article." Because you brought u the issue in your previous post.

"*   Smith opens the batting in the first 2 away ODI's in the Gulf States against Pakistan.   In both cases he batted slowly and ineffectively making in the 2 ODI's 35 runs from 59 balls.   The first ODI we won by a whisker (one run with a problematically low score of 183 runs0) - the second one we lost badly." 50/50..... it proves nothing.

"*   Back in SA against the same team and the only team changes for the ODI's are Smith and Kallis.   Both failed in the batting and we lost the first ODI badly." No Boet, you have your facts mixed up.

In the first ODI we lost by 23 runs. Smith got 12 off 16 at a rate of 4.5 per over. His strike rate was higher than both the Pakistan openers. Kallis got 50!!!

"*   That is followed by the 2nd ODI.   Again Smith failed but Kallis made 50 runs taking 90 balls to make it.  Too slow a un rate an we los the ODI" Wrong.Kallis made 50 in the frist ODI.

I will admit that both Kallis and Smith did not do well in the second ODI we only lost by one run. That game was mostly lost by our bowlers..... for a change.
These were our bowling averages:
D W Steyn     4.33
L L Tsotsobe     5.22
R McLaren     7.89
J H Kallis     6.13
Imran Tahir     4.13
J-P Duminy     11
Pakistan bowling averages:
Junaid Khan     4.67
Anwar Ali     5.57
Saeed Ajmal     5.75
Mohammad Hafeez 5.5
Bilawal Bhatti     9.75
Shahid Afridi     4.22

As you said, we won the third ODI with De Kock in for Smith but De Kock only got 15 in that game. His runrate was also not dramatically faster than Smith. He scored at 5 rpo compared to Smith's 4.5 in the first ODI. This time around our bowlers also fired as usual.
SA Bowling:
V D Philander     10    2.6
L L Tsotsobe     10    3.8
R McLaren     8    3.5
W D Parnell     8    3.4
Imran Tahir     10    5.6

Pakistan bowling:
Sohail Tanvir     7    5.48
Anwar Ali     2    7.5
Bilawal Bhatti     8    4.38
Saeed Ajmal     10    3.4
Abdur Rehman     9    4.44
Sohaib Maqsood     2    5.5
15 Jan 2014, 14:18
15 Jan 2014, 14:18#49

CHICKEN shit please do us a favour and refrain from commenting on cricket........its bad enough having to endure your pathetic ignorance and stupidity when it comes to rugby but your takes on cricket is just something no reader should have to put up with.

You are too fucking stupid to comment on anything

For the record, Faf is a dasher and that is a FACT

If you fucking wake up for once and read what I posted........you will find that I mentioned the fact that dashers at times, need to build as Faf and AB do in the Test arena

Now fuck off you ignorant worthless twat  

15 Jan 2014, 14:19
15 Jan 2014, 14:19#50
Vlag, nothing I have said is incorrect  
15 Jan 2014, 14:24
15 Jan 2014, 14:24#51
I do not quite agree with your basher/builder/dasher theories.....
15 Jan 2014, 14:29
15 Jan 2014, 14:29#52
Well counter it then  
15 Jan 2014, 15:00
15 Jan 2014, 15:00#53

You must be excruciating stupid.   12 runs from 16 balls represents  FAILURE by an opening batter.   Same applies to 50 runs off 90 balls - in tests wonderful,  in ODI's very problematic.   That means that nearly a third of all balls to be bowled are utilized to score 50 runs.   Not good enough.   In any event - this is about  Smith not Kallis - doos.  

You carry on as if you try to counter my arguments about Smith performing poorly in ODI's and produced nothing at all - just your standard bullshit.   In the recent series just tell me one thing - how come we are basically guaranteed to lose games when Smith is in the ODI team and won with ease if he is not?

Then also give me one good reason why Smith should be in the team ahead of De Kock.  

Lastly nobody but you on this site is idiotic.  Don't tell us that for an opener to score 12 runs from 16 balls is a huge success story.   

15 Jan 2014, 16:00
15 Jan 2014, 16:00#54
Hahahaha. You bring in Kallis and get the facts wrong and then you call me a doos. That is your typical behaviour as usual. The moment that you paint yourself  in a corner the Tourette's kicks in. Jy redeneer soos 'n passer. Al om jou eie gat. You implied that we won that third ODI because Smith was replaced but the guy woh replaced him got a mere 15 runs himself and we still won the match. So, was Smith to blame for the previous losses then? Did our poor bowling in the first match play no part in the loss of the second ODI?

You, my friend, have a problem. You always like to pin the blame for a loss on one or two players. And guess what? It is always the players that you love to slag off all over the show. FFS, you even slag off your "pets" when we win.
15 Jan 2014, 16:11
15 Jan 2014, 16:11#55

Posts: 6663 RE: Another topic Sasue would not like - cricket News
January 15, 2014, 12:29:51 Well counter it then 

I agree that there are players who has the natural ability to come out and moer almost every ball out of the park (bashers) from the word "go". There are also players who do not have that natural ability (builders).

The real good batsmen are, however, those who can do both if and when required. All of Smith, AB, Amla, Kallis and Faf, for instance, have proven that they can do both. So neither of them are one  or the other. All of them have proven that they can do one or the other as the game plays out. All of them can be both a basher and a builder even in the same innings. Jacques Kallis is the perfect example. He can/could start batting and frustrate the crap out of everybody by going for 1 or two runs per innings and then put up a score of 80+. Then by the end when you go back and look at his figures for the innings you are quite surprised to find that he ended his innings at 4 or 5 rpo. In other words he could have been building an innings because that was required at the time, and when the time is right to have a go, he starts bashing the ball out the park. It has everything to do with the state of the game.

So, in principle,  I do not disagree with you about the, let's call it, terminology. I disagree with the players that you have placed in the different styles, which is why I said that I do not quite agree with you.......
15 Jan 2014, 17:01
15 Jan 2014, 17:01#56
@mikey,

regarding the title of the thread, its not the topic which i have an issue with, but the where u choose to post that topic in a rugby thread.
a simple scroll down in the main forum page will show u that there is a designated cricket section where u and other like minded cricket mad posters can post to ur hearts content.

but as cloudy mentioned in another thread, the lack of rugby at the moment is why theres so many non rugby related topics, so for now i will say que sera sera and bite my tongue.

but once the SH rugby season is on the way, i trust u will abide by forum regulations and not let the cricket section go to waste, for every cricket thread posted in the rugby section, is one less rugby thread for us to see and comment on should we choose, :o)

as it is, i will say this thread hasnt been a complete waste on me, while it was nearly impossible for a cricket novice like me to understand/keep track of the cricket conversations i did read this beauty from saffex,,,

"CHICKEN shit please do us a favour and refrain from commenting on cricket........its bad enough having to endure your pathetic ignorance and stupidity when it comes to rugby but your takes on cricket is just something no reader should have to put up with."

ok, excuse me while i ROLMFAO BIG TIME,
15 Jan 2014, 17:15
15 Jan 2014, 17:15#57
 Hahaha Dasher hey....Dave I see you still believe in Santa...but you missed Dancer and Prancer, Donder and Blitzen. 
15 Jan 2014, 17:26
15 Jan 2014, 17:26#58
sasuke uchiha

Posts: 3891 RE: Another topic Sasue would not like - cricket News
January 15, 2014, 15:01:54 @mikey,

regarding the title of the thread, its not the topic which i have an issue with, but the where u choose to post that topic in a rugby thread.
a simple scroll down in the main forum page will show u that there is a designated cricket section where u and other like minded cricket mad posters can post to ur hearts content.
But we have to bear with League, NFL, Aussie rulesm sailing and whatever other kind of BS that is out there . Fact is that for the average SA sports enthusiast rugby and cricket are right at the top next to football. It is nobody's fault in particular that the kiwis unfortunately falls out of the bus when it comes to cricket.

15 Jan 2014, 17:44
15 Jan 2014, 17:44#59
@ceradyne,

"But we have to bear with League, NFL, Aussie rulesm sailing and whatever other kind of BS that is out there. Fact is that for the average SA sports enthusiast rugby and cricket are right at the top next to football. It is nobody's fault in particular that the kiwis unfortunately falls out of the bus when it comes to cricket. "

did u see the sarugby.com forums dedicated to league, NFL, aussie rules, sailing and other BS???
neither did i

did u see the sarugby.com dedicated cricket forum???
i know i did.

and really, cricket pot shots against me on a rugby thread???
how very south african of u, but fair enough, as  a saffa lord knows u got no rugby ammo to fire at anything NZ, :oP
15 Jan 2014, 17:49
15 Jan 2014, 17:49#60

Vlag, its dasher, not basher.......there is a difference.........basher would be a Klusner and to some extent Miller.

I also pointed out in my post that dashers like AB or Faf are able to build and builders like Smith and Kallis are also able to dash when circumstances dictate.

But in essence my point was that an ODI batting line up should comprise at least 2 builders who's responsibility it is to try bat through the innings....ie a Smith, Amla or Kallis.

But as you say its not and exact science.......but I was trying to explain to DomMike that an ODI side needs a builder or two.

15 Jan 2014, 17:51
15 Jan 2014, 17:51#61
Moz, one of my dogs is called Bliksem!  
15 Jan 2014, 17:58
15 Jan 2014, 17:58#62
 Whatever you want to call them. Mike still won't understand.

"But in essence my point was that an ODI batting line up should comprise at least 2 builders who's responsibility it is to try bat through the innings....ie a Smith, Amla or Kallis." That is where we have a slight difference. Real good batsmen can do both. It is a matter of decision making. When to be more causes and when to be more adventurous. Even someone who is known for coming in and hitting the ball out of the park straight away, Albie Morkel can be a  builder in the longer format. In his one and only test innings he got something like 58, IIRC, playing proper cricket strokes and batting responsibly.
15 Jan 2014, 18:01
15 Jan 2014, 18:01#63
 J A Morkel b McDonald 58  71  10  1 81.69
15 Jan 2014, 18:05
15 Jan 2014, 18:05#64
 @Sasu. The cricket forum is hidden away at the bottom of the page and out of site. That is why there is not a lot of activity on  it. In any case. You know the drill. You don't like it, don't read it. That is what I do with all the league drivel. I just skip past it.
15 Jan 2014, 18:27
15 Jan 2014, 18:27#65
 @Sasu. I had a chat with Barlee. He said that it is just something he does to try and get rid of dodgy registrations. If you register and then post something asap, it is not a problem. Many of the registrations are spam generated registrations. So, what he does is to check new registrations after a few days and if nothing has been posted , he deletes the account. He has checked the contact form again and it does work. So just register again, and then post something. 
15 Jan 2014, 18:47
15 Jan 2014, 18:47#66
Yeah but bats are given certain responsibilities.......Amla is tasked with staying there.......but that does not stop him from putting the bad ball away or accelerating once he has his eye in
15 Jan 2014, 18:59
15 Jan 2014, 18:59#67
 And of he gets out first ball ?
15 Jan 2014, 19:13
15 Jan 2014, 19:13#68

That's cricket and why you should have another 2 builders in the line-up

15 Jan 2014, 19:22
15 Jan 2014, 19:22#69
 If you have class players,you don't need "builders". You can use them on Kalaedfreddie's construction sites.
15 Jan 2014, 19:39
15 Jan 2014, 19:39#70

Saffex and Ceradyne

I noted your dubious support for the Sa ODI team.   We are ranked 5 in the world - way below where we should be - and you support all out the players that got us there and will keep us there.

Fiune supporters - you are.

15 Jan 2014, 20:00
15 Jan 2014, 20:00#71
 Well, let me  tell you first of  all that I am  not really a fan of ODIs and not a T20 fan at all. The interesting part, that you conveniently seem to miss out on, is the fact that we slipped down the rankings since Smith relinquished the captaincy. During the 2011 CWC we were the hot favourites to win the tournament but we were taken out by NZ, who seem to have their flash in the pan games during these tournaments. Not too long ago we had the no 1 spot in  all three disciplines.
15 Jan 2014, 20:17
15 Jan 2014, 20:17#72

You obviously are not a supporter of SA when world wide championships are held = hence you cannot identify why we have slipped so badly in the ratings.

Smith's captaincy situation has zero to do with it.   The reason basically is that we keep playing test cricket players in the ODUI squad - the chief culprit being Graeme Smith.   Other countries have completely different ODI squads from the test side and the players are specially selected for the purpose. 

In SA we try and make test players ODI players and most of them cannot adjust witgh a result that there are serious flops in the system that needs to be corrected.      

15 Jan 2014, 20:50
15 Jan 2014, 20:50#73
 "You obviously are not a supporter of SA when world wide championships are held = hence you cannot identify why we have slipped so badly in the ratings."

If I made that remark, you would probably have called me a doos  again.

Be that as it may. I am as big an SA supporter as one  could be, but I stay in touch with reality. The ODI rankings are extremely volatile and can change from series  to series. You only have to play around with the ICC Rankings predictor to see that in action. That is why I do not pay much attention to the short formats of the game. I couldn't care less how we do on the T20 rankings table and a little more about the ODI rankings table.

Every time that you start debating anything about cricket, you expose yourself. I am not saying that I am an expert on every thing about cricket, but there are a  lot that you do not understand. You clearly have no understanding of the role of the captain in cricket. I am one hell of a AB fan but we have suffered in quite a number of ODI because of his captaincy. He is learning but he still does not seem to be able to always get his field placings spot-on. In addition he battles to sort out his bowlers and when and how to use them. Just a few remarks regarding this. In any case, I am sure that you would try and find  something else about Smith to piss about.

15 Jan 2014, 22:44
15 Jan 2014, 22:44#74
@ceradyne,

"@Sasu. The cricket forum is hidden away at the bottom of the page and out of site"
i see, because of its location at the bottom of the site, u can only post there if ur prepared to make the journey and are accompanied by a hobbit, a wizzard and a group of dwarves??? o_O

"You know the drill. You don't like it, don't read it. That is what I do with all the league drivel. I just skip past it"
oh absolutely, not reading something im not interested in is a motto i blog by.
but my main issue here is that every new cricket thread posted on the rugby section, pushes one older thread out which might contain a rugby thread i or others may wish to comment on.

u may have also noticed my name was mentioned in the thread started by mikey, and i like mikeys posts, so my attention was easily caught.

as frequent as i and others may post here, we are not all here every day and the chance to talk rugby which is something i can do non stop.

its only cricket threads where i feel the need to speak out, other topics which include non sporting related topics do have a place in the rugby section as they have no where else to go.

but again, as cloudy mentioned before, its SHs rugby off season, so i have no real problem with it at all.

i just hope that SA rugby trophy cabinet dosent deter the locals from talking rugby during the rugby season, a very real possibility IMO,

"@Sasu. I had a chat with Barlee. He said that it is just something he does to try and get rid of dodgy registrations. If you register and then post something asap, it is not a problem. Many of the registrations are spam generated registrations. So, what he does is to check new registrations after a few days and if nothing has been posted, he deletes the account. He has checked the contact form again and it does work. So just register again, and then post something. "
spam generated registrations??? even with all the security measures they have in place like retyping numbers from obscure pictures??? thats a little odd, but ok.

i was a member a while ago, and posted a few times on various threads, but i couldnt remember my login name and when i checked the members list, i couldnt find it anywhere.
it wasnt sasuke, but it was a sasuke related name which i use when blogging anywhere online on any forum, so i would have recognised it instantly.

in saying that, the login name i tried to register with was copycat_ ninja, may try again in the near future, as its obvious SS moderators will not be responding even though the automated email reply when i used the contact form said to sit sight tight and wait, :o/
15 Jan 2014, 23:02
15 Jan 2014, 23:02#75
Nonsense ........Amla, Smith and Kallis are builders - that's their style and how they are comfortable playing the game.......class has nothing to do with it. They are class builders who are more than capable of dashing if the circumstances dictate.

Mike your take on Smith is about as pathetic and ill informed as Beenkops take on Matfield
15 Jan 2014, 23:06
15 Jan 2014, 23:06#76
@Sasu.

its only cricket threads where i feel the need to speak out, other topics which include non sporting related topics do have a place in the rugby section as they have no where else to go.

There are 30 topics on the index page. One of them is a cricket thread.............

spam generated registrations??? even with all the security measures they have in place like retyping numbers from obscure pictures??? thats a little odd, but ok.

Trust me. I have seen them in the past. As you know, there is hardly any site that is safe from hackers and spam. That is just a bit of extra human intervention, since that site was also compromised a few years ago. But in any case. Suit yourself. There have been quite a number of new members without any problems. Clean Cut being one of them. Whatever his intentions for registering was.

15 Jan 2014, 23:23
15 Jan 2014, 23:23#77
@ceradyne,

"There are 30 topics on the index page. One of them is a cricket thread............."

are u suggesting that the ratio of one cricket thread per 30 spaces is always the ratio???

and what thread was bumped to make way for that one cricket thread???
16 Jan 2014, 10:27
16 Jan 2014, 10:27#78
 Saffex, you dom kont, you actually go on to contradict yourself. These guys are not builders or dashers. They would all love the opportunity to build an innings as every quality bat does but if they need to score fast, they can all flick a gear. This is what makes them the top 7 batsmen in the country. They are neither builders nor dashers..That is a nonsense call. They are simply what is known as quality Test batsmen..
You are so dumb bro.. just read the shit you wrote here: "I also pointed out in my post that dashers like AB or Faf are able to build and builders like Smith and Kallis are also able to dash when circumstances dictate."
Gee whizz brainiac. Has it ever occured to you that the play the situation? Smith and Amla can open the batting. If they are 105/0 after 17 overs, then they lose a wicket, Kallis can come in and play his shots too because if they lose him for like 15 runs in 9 balls, that takes us to around 135/2 after 20 or so overs. Great plat form to launch. If we lose say Amla for 7 and we are something like 13/1 after 5 overs, then of course Kallis will come in and play differently..
Come on Saffex..The situation determines how the batsmen will play. They must just be good enough to execute..Fuck man..Dont overthink it Saff man..You are tying your stupid self in knots!
16 Jan 2014, 11:12
16 Jan 2014, 11:12#79

Sas you have to love this........if confirmation of stupidity was ever required - here we have CHICKEN commenting on cricket again.....wow.

A wise man would have kept his gob shut ages ago........but not this stupid prick

I bet you know more about the g ame than this baboon 

16 Jan 2014, 11:49
16 Jan 2014, 11:49#80
 Ha ha classic..Now he cries for Sas to get involved and deflect some heat off him..Sas has a go at me, Dave responds something like, "good one Sas!" and then he thinks the joke is on me..
Come now Saffex..Please fight your own battles. Your'e a big boy now.
Come Saff, tell us again how builders and dashers are born..Tell us again how Jantjies should be in the Bok team and JJ has cemented his place..Saff, you are the only stupid one on here.The only oke that just doesnt get it!
↓ LOAD MORE (page 3 of 3)