FORUM / RUGBY /  Is Johan Goosen doomed to become a Racing Metro bench sitter?

Is Johan Goosen doomed to become a Racing Metro bench sitter?

Started by Ceradyne52 REPLIES1,379 VIEWS· 02 Sept 2014, 15:08
02 Sept 2014, 15:08
02 Sept 2014, 15:08#1

Racing Metro has offered Jonny Sexton a new four year contract. Looks like they do not have that much confidence in Goosen after all and filling in for Sexton due to injuries, like is bound to happen now, seems to be Goosen's only hope of starting games for RM.

Racing offer Sexton four-year deal now it’s over to the IRFU

Coach Laurent Labit reiterates Parisian club’s intent to build an empire around former Leinster outhalf

First published: Sat, Aug 23, 2014, 01:00

The next move in the Jonathan Sexton saga is for the IRFU to make. That became apparent yesterday when Racing Métro 92 coach Laurent Labit reiterated the Parisian club’s intent to build an empire around the 29-year-old outhalf.

Sexton has been offered a lucrative four-year contract extension by Racing president Jackie Lorenzetti that would keep the Dubliner in the French capital until June 2019. “He has in his hands a contract for four more seasons at Racing,” said Labit.

“The deal for him is simple. Either he signs and ends his career here or he returns to Ireland. This is what he has to think about. But we know him, he’s okay with it. Of course, there are other elements involved. He has a child and he has to go away and discuss it with his wife.”

Sexton has, more than once, expressed the difficulties for his young family being exiled from the natural support base of family and friends.

Not that it was ever Sexton’s desire to leave Leinster. But in January 2013 his agent Fintan Drury negotiated a deal with Lorenzetti that the IRFU were unable to match.

Break new ground It seems that the union must now break new ground to fend off Racing’s latest offer. An Irish player has never been given the security of a four-year contract – nor is it likely they could compete with what is presumably an improvement on the estimated €700,000 salary Sexton has commanded in his first two seasons in France.

Midi Olympique reported yesterday that he has until September 15th to make a final decision.

IRFU chief negotiator HR director Maurice Dowling has been drawn into this process earlier than is usual. Contact renegotiations regularly stretch into the New Year. But the deadline and stakes make this new territory for everyone in Irish rugby.

Before leaving Dublin to join up with the Lions last summer, Sexton said he felt the IRFU didn’t rate him enough to keep him at Leinster. “I’m sure if I was dealing with (Leinster) alone, I think they rate me,” said Sexton. “Maybe I’ll come back some day, maybe not . . .”

There was an attempt last summer to bring Sexton home but the cost of buying him out of his last year proved too costly. Another major consideration in all of this is Ireland.

Joe Schmidt was in Paris recently to discuss the upcoming World Cup season with the most valued member of his squad. Schmidt would have also held talks with Racing over access to Sexton for camps held outside the IRB’s international windows.

Last November Schmidt put Sexton’s hamstring injury, which undoubtedly contributed to the Australia defeat, down to the player’s overuse by Racing following the Lions tour.

Have been allayed However, such concerns have been allayed somewhat by Lorenzetti signing Johan Goosen, the 22-year-old Springbok outhalf, to ensure last season’s heavy workload is not placed solely on Sexton’s shoulders as the club seek to win the French Top 14 and the new European Champions Cup.

“He won’t leave Racing without trying to win something, otherwise it will be a failure for him,” Labit added. “We can be sure of his commitment.

“We sure hope he will stay, especially since his son was born here, and in 20 years will be the outhalf of the France team!”

A counter offer, presuming there will be one, needs to be rubber-stamped by IRFU honorary treasurer Tom Grace and the committee.

“We’ve still got good links with Johnny,” said Leinster coach Matt O’Connor this week. “We’d be very keen to have a conversation if he chooses to come back.”

Leinster first lost Sexton in January 2013. They may lose him permanently in 2014.

02 Sept 2014, 15:14
02 Sept 2014, 15:14#2
Just think of how fresh Goosen and JJ will be by RWC time.....no doubt they will shortly be joined sitting the plank by the great Lomp.  
02 Sept 2014, 15:15
02 Sept 2014, 15:15#3
 Bloody hell. This doos Saf_fex has caused a lot of c rap on this site. This article is about Jonny S-exton.
02 Sept 2014, 15:17
02 Sept 2014, 15:17#4
Not about the best flyhalf prospect since Bennie Osler?  
02 Sept 2014, 15:31
02 Sept 2014, 15:31#5
 The thread is about "the best flyhalf prospect since Bennie Osler". The article is about Jonny S exton
02 Sept 2014, 15:50
02 Sept 2014, 15:50#6
 Following the example of Moirne at Stade Francias?  Unlikely.   Racing metro got the Irish flyhalf and will use him mostly - but Goosen will get enough game time with them.
Unlike Morne he will not botch the games up like Morne used to do when coming from the bench for Stade Francais.
02 Sept 2014, 16:06
02 Sept 2014, 16:06#7
Nah. Morne has started enough games for SF to boot your little theory into outer space. Goosen, on the other hand is highly unlikely to start any important games for RM at this rate. Not unless S exton is injured, as has happened now. One has to wonder whether he would even have been put on until much later on Saturday, had it not been for the injury to S exton.
GT
Gonzo the GreatClub Pro560 posts
02 Sept 2014, 17:47
02 Sept 2014, 17:47#8

goosen will nevet make it in france way too physical. 

02 Sept 2014, 17:53
02 Sept 2014, 17:53#9
He should have tried Japan.
02 Sept 2014, 19:25
02 Sept 2014, 19:25#10
Anyone who considers Jonny Sexton to be a "prospect" clearly doesn't watch a lot of rugby.
Goosen and Sexton are both injury prone and Racing Metro will probably need a third flyhalf if they hope to challenge for anything.
When he's fit, Goosen will do just fine in France and rugby noobs like Moffie and Gonzo the Gimp will have loads of egg sliding down their stupid faces . . . or should I say, more egg than usual!
02 Sept 2014, 19:50
02 Sept 2014, 19:50#11
Oh sure....coming from the guy who wanted Russell and Pretorius at 10....and discounted Butch James I'm going to worry about your flyhalf views...old Fruit .
02 Sept 2014, 19:55
02 Sept 2014, 19:55#12
Same old story for three years now............ "When he's fit, Goosen will.............". Complete to suit whatever pearl of wisdom you like.
GT
Gonzo the GreatClub Pro560 posts
04 Sept 2014, 01:19
04 Sept 2014, 01:19#13
 gooden has done what exactly when fit? he camt play of a script cant make decisions hes a robot who cant tackle and cant take contact. hes less talented tgan russel was at 10 russel did some goid stuff. goisen is like all the other nothings.... give em 5 more years and he should maybe pissibly drfinitely be the greatest 10 on earth. nah he shot his bolt a few games and was exposed in the bulls loss in the beginning of 2012. its been blind hope since then tgat peddled along the myth. nut france? jeez thats a really tough physical league! i dont think hes gonna make it.
04 Sept 2014, 05:55
04 Sept 2014, 05:55#14
Bonzo the Apemoron
Morne Steyn cam only play off a script, can't make decisions - he's a robot who can't tackle and can't take contact.  
You have the w rong player in your description above - I just added the right one and made some slight corrections.    If here is one no 10 in rugby who is a robot it is dear Morne - even the French cannot get him right - that is why he is the Stade Francais Reject.  

04 Sept 2014, 10:01
04 Sept 2014, 10:01#15
 And then we have this very same clown who accuses everybody who he do not agree with od "bleating BS". Unbelievable.
20 Sept 2014, 18:16
20 Sept 2014, 18:16#16
Racing Metro beat Toulouse by 27-1 6. They only brought their third choice flyhalf on in the last four minutes.

20 Sept 2014, 18:40
20 Sept 2014, 18:40#17
 He's just returned from an injury you malicious tool. 
20 Sept 2014, 18:57
20 Sept 2014, 18:57#18
Doffies 
He is defibnitely going to do better than the dim Morne Steyn at Stade francais - you bloody fool. .  
20 Sept 2014, 19:19
20 Sept 2014, 19:19#19
Shezza

Posts: 1228 RE: Is Johan Goosen doomed to become a Racing Metro bench sitter?
September 20, 2014, 18:40:11  He's just returned from an injury you malicious tool.  
Oh please. He was rested last week as a precaution after a suspected concussion. If it was indeed concussion, he would have been out for at least two weeks. He only missed one. This is from the IRB Concussion Protocol.

"Returning to play after a concussion
• If any symptoms are present or reappear, contact training and playing must be avoided.
• A minimum complete rest period of 24 hours is recommended for adults but a longer "complete rest period" is recommended in children and adolescents.
• Rest from playing or contact training is recommended for a minimum of 2 weeks following cessation of symptoms in children and adolescents.
• A Graduated Return to Play (GRTP) must be completed:     
- for ALL players diagnosed with a concussion     
- for ALL player even suspected of having concussion during a game or training at which there is no appropriately qualified person present
• A GRTP should only be commenced after the completion of the rest period recommended and only if the player is symptom free and off medication that modifies symptoms of concussion.
• Any player with a second concussion within 12 months, a history of multiple concussions, players with unusual presentations or prolonged recovery must be assessed and managed by health care providers (multi-disciplinary) with experience in sports-related concussions and no further participation in Rugby should take place until the player is cleared by a doctor with experience in concussion management."

Posts: 12967 RE: Is Johan Goosen doomed to become a Racing Metro bench sitter?
September 20, 2014, 18:57:04 Doffies 
He is defibnitely going to do better than the dim Morne Steyn at Stade francais - you bloody fool..  
Yet another opinion. This thread is about Goosen. Why don't we discuss Morne on this thread  http://www.sarugby.com/forum.cfm?threadid=11012  ?

20 Sept 2014, 19:23
20 Sept 2014, 19:23#20
 Okay smart arse, you know better than the Racing Metro coaching and medical staff. You don't have the slightest inkling to the extent of his concussion so best to keep you trap shut.
20 Sept 2014, 19:46
20 Sept 2014, 19:46#21

Shezza

Posts: 1229 RE: Is Johan Goosen doomed to become a Racing Metro bench sitter?
September 20, 2014, 19:23:58  Okay smart arse, you know better than the Racing Metro coaching and medical staff. You don't have the slightest inkling to the extent of his concussion so best to keep you trap shut.
WTF? I have not queried the  fact that he was rested for a week or nothing. You were the one who made a big thing of his return from injury. You cannot see the wood from the trees. He clearly did not suffer concussion. If he did indeed suffer a concussion, they would not even have been allowed to have him on the bench until net weekend as per IRB protocol.
20 Sept 2014, 23:19
20 Sept 2014, 23:19#22
This guy could get concussed by a particularly close shave....fragile understates the case.  
20 Sept 2014, 23:34
20 Sept 2014, 23:34#23
  Fpoeitog
Dreaming about injuries a gain!!!!!
21 Sept 2014, 00:20
21 Sept 2014, 00:20#24
I think that Racing Metro remembered what happened when Lopez got hold of Glaasen, two weeks ago. This was what Lopez did to him:

He was so rattled that he did this minutes later:

They knew that, against Clermont, there was not only his direct opponent Toby Flood to deal with. There were also the Clermont loosies, Nyang, Tekori and particularly Thierry ("The Dark Destroyer") Dusautoir who would be on his case. It looks like they made sure that Dusautoir was subbed before they sent Goosen on.
They know what Dusautoir did to Jamie Roberts.
21 Sept 2014, 00:41
21 Sept 2014, 00:41#25
Pathetic watching him trotting behind the movement.  
21 Sept 2014, 07:54
21 Sept 2014, 07:54#26
 The three morons
This hate campaign against  Goosen - based really oin nothjing - all because your favourite Morne is failing so badly, is laughable and absolurte moron junk as per normal.
What does th two video clips proof - dofdoos?  The first one a hard tackle by an opponet - so wghhat - was it the fuirst hard tackle somebody had to take.  The second one was an attempted kick to be followed up and nobody followed it up.   So what - that is a strategy that mostly work - and did not workk out in this case,.
How dim can you get?   
21 Sept 2014, 09:08
21 Sept 2014, 09:08#27
That kick was so kak that there was no time for anybody to even try to follow up. He was subbed  less than two minutes after that and has played 4 minutes since then.
21 Sept 2014, 11:07
21 Sept 2014, 11:07#28
 It was not worse thn 20 kicks of Morne - he reguularly made kicks that sone Ccommentators went so far as to say it was BS.   The kick could have been followed up effectively since t was many meters before the collector of the kcik - so it was not Kak.   The one of Morne that lost the Aussie test and any hope of being competitive in the RC - now that was KAK.
Morne could not be subbed since the Aussies scored at the end of the game - and he has not played 1 minute rugby since then.  Maybe he would get a chance to play a few games for Stade Francais - but that is only maybe.  
By th way - you rate the kick as KAK - but the AB's try it regularly.  The team who never does is the Blue Bulls - so you do not understand the concept attached to kicks like that - hence the KAK story.

21 Sept 2014, 11:07
21 Sept 2014, 11:07#29
 It was not worse thn 20 kicks of Morne - he reguularly made kicks that sone Ccommentators went so far as to say it was BS.   The kick could have been followed up effectively since t was many meters before the collector of the kcik - so it was not Kak.   The one of Morne that lost the Aussie test and any hope of being competitive in the RC - now that was KAK.
Morne could not be subbed since the Aussies scored at the end of the game - and he has not played 1 minute rugby since then.  Maybe he would get a chance to play a few games for Stade Francais - but that is only maybe.  
By th way - you rate the kick as KAK - but the AB's try it regularly.  The team who never does is the Blue Bulls - so you do not understand the concept attached to kicks like that - hence the KAK story.

21 Sept 2014, 13:11
21 Sept 2014, 13:11#30
 I didn't make a big thing about his return from injury, I said he was on the bench because he had only just returned. 
"Rest from playing or contact training is recommended for a minimum of 2 weeks following cessation of symptoms in children and adolescents."

And the IRB rules that you copy and pasted mentioned only children and adolescents stop playing rugby for 2 weeks, not professional rugby players. The Racing Metro medical staff could've passed him as fit but warned the coach, you don't know what's happening behind closed doors. 
21 Sept 2014, 14:36
21 Sept 2014, 14:36#31
 Who cares...if this guy had any confidence he would be trying to secure the Bok  place, that was handed to him on a platter. We have moved on.
21 Sept 2014, 15:09
21 Sept 2014, 15:09#32
 Who cares - We have moved on from the 30 years-old Morne - who always was a poor flyhalf - not necessarily from the 22 year-old Goosen - who has ample time to devleop fuirther.  
21 Sept 2014, 17:04
21 Sept 2014, 17:04#33
@Ou Maaikie, you keep om dragging Morne into this like you normally do. You are a some piece of work, aren't you?

@Shezza. You tried to create the impression that he was coming back from a lay-off. He hasn't. He was dropped for one game, by the look of things.

The IRB laws that I quoted are not the laws for children and adolescents. It only mentions that they are more severely effected and takes longer to recover.

What I quoted was straight from the IRB concussion protocol.
21 Sept 2014, 17:08
21 Sept 2014, 17:08#34
 Look you make out that Goosen is poor - I am just p[ointing out that your favourite Morne Steyn is atrocious.   Goosen never cost us a chance in the RC - Morne did it twice in two years.   
So by th way Goosen is not allowed to get concussed - but Read and a lot of other players are.   Weird approach.   
21 Sept 2014, 17:08
21 Sept 2014, 17:08#35
 Look you make out that Goosen is poor - I am just p[ointing out that your favourite Morne Steyn is atrocious.   Goosen never cost us a chance in the RC - Morne did it twice in two years.   
So by th way Goosen is not allowed to get concussed - but Read and a lot of other players are.   Weird approach.   
21 Sept 2014, 18:07
21 Sept 2014, 18:07#36
Eish Ou Maaikie, you really are struggling to get out of this one, aren't you? Your idol has not had a chance to stuff up a RC game. The fact that you keep on saying tat Morne has done so, does not make it true either. Your problem with this story is that I cam back up my arguments, while you cannot. You keep on trying to back out of the game time of Steyn v Plisson at Stade Francais. The joke is that you are actually the one dragging it into each and eery possible argument and every time I wipe your nose in the fact that you are lying.

Now to get to your idol. I have not said that he is not allowed to have concussion. I am doubting whether he has actually had concussion. When you look at the facts, it is more likely that they do not have much confidence in him. Had he really been concussed he would not even have been on the bench this past weekend. Remind us about Frans Malherbe's concussion.
21 Sept 2014, 21:09
21 Sept 2014, 21:09#37
 Both Read and Malherbe was off for months with concussion.  They were badly concussed - there are various levels of concussion in case you do not know.  In some cases it takes months in other cases days to get over the after effects.
What you are writing is crap you suck out of papers added to by yourself.
Just another reminder.  His performances indicate that Morne has been "concussed" for years.  Nobody can bugger up as badly as him on a continuous basis  - without any reason whatsoever.    So lets be easy on the guy and said he was brain-defcient in his performances.       
21 Sept 2014, 21:19
21 Sept 2014, 21:19#38
Goosen's whole waning reputation is based on few runs through open field back in 2012. Now he appears to be very nervous about physical contact. You can forget about Goosen. Lambie andJantjies are also toast. We have moved on to a solid, stable chap in Pollard and mental stability distinguishes him from Lambie, Goosen and Jantjies.
21 Sept 2014, 21:24
21 Sept 2014, 21:24#39
And once again the Einstein manages to drag in some BS opinion about Morne Steyn because he just do not have the grey matter to stick to the point.

Your idol, Goosen, was so kak in the only game that he started that the commentators remarked that  that was not the way that he was going to claim the spot that Jonny Se-xton will vacate at the end of the current season. His coaches must have though the same because he was subbed less than five minutes after that atrocious piece of play and he did not receive any knocks between that kick and the time when he was subbed. The only big knock that he took was when Lopez floored him in a perfect tackle and of you look closely you will see that he did not take a knock to the head. Nee boet. They took him off in an effort to try and salvage the game.
21 Sept 2014, 22:19
21 Sept 2014, 22:19#40
 Dofdoos
Lt me e frank -- I look at prefformances of players - not at prejudice.   There is clearly one ting for =any person who can think on rugby issues.   Morne is th worst flyhalf we have had for years - he cost us dearly in 2012, 2013 and this year in the RC.   I do not ahve idols in rugby - but if I have to select a Springbok flyhalf from Morne Steyn, Goosen adn Lambie - the one I would never ever have selected as worse than the others   is Morne Steyn.  
It is only fools without any thinking abilitythat would say otherwise.   
I think myr has got it right at this stage - Pollard with Lambie as back up.   
As Kakpraat 'n sieekte was - het jy ebola.