FORUM / MIKES GRIPES /  The Biden administration creates a dangerous turn of events

The Biden administration creates a dangerous turn of events

Started by Mozart82 REPLIES3,874 VIEWS· 26 Mar 2023, 20:21
26 Mar 2023, 20:21
26 Mar 2023, 20:21#1

Two pillars of the Biden team are that oil is yesterday’s news and Russia is an implacable enemy. These beliefs have been evident from beginning. But the Ukraine and the subsequent events have exposed the folly of those notions.

Russia’s invasion of the Ukraine would possibly not have happened if Russia felt more respected by the West and the US in particular. All the way back to the Sochi Olympics the negative views of Russia were bound to have repercussions. And with Biden representing the US there was no chance these two leaders could ever communicate.

Putin was clearly emboldened by the Afghanistan debacle and pounced. It was the act of a totally unscrupulous but opportunistic man. He never anticipated the Ukrainian response. 

In the meantime Russia, China and Iran have emerged as a new axis. With no meaningful response from the Biden team the Saudis, who have no reason to trust the US, have pulled  back from their stance on Iran. The Russia/China/Iran axis has the potential to dominate the Middle East, producing the first non U.S. led Middle East since WW2. And with that, the potential to control oil.

Why worry say the Greens? Because there is little evidence oil isn’t going to remain the world’s most valuable commodity for the next 50 years. Lose free access to the Middle East and the West is in serious trouble. 

To make matters worse China is dominant in many of the resources needed for solar power and electric cars. So our policies are literally benefitting our chief rival.

It’s astonishing how quickly Ukraine has redrawn the geo political map. But denying Putin, and by association the axis, a success in the Ukraine is looking crucial. And the US needs to rebuild its alliances in the ME, hard to do with the unnecessary humiliating exit from Afghanistan.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
27 Mar 2023, 00:31
27 Mar 2023, 00:31#2
https://youtu.be/zsiGdmJvyco

27 Mar 2023, 06:39
27 Mar 2023, 06:39#3

Afghanistan...?...Obama did the same in Iraq,  but Biden was responsible for the Afghanistan withdrawal. 

27 Mar 2023, 07:28
27 Mar 2023, 07:28#4

Moffie has been taking history lessons from ou Maaik.

27 Mar 2023, 07:46
27 Mar 2023, 07:46#5

It's a slip, it happens...

27 Mar 2023, 10:54
27 Mar 2023, 10:54#6

Duplicate

27 Mar 2023, 10:54
27 Mar 2023, 10:54#7

Rooinek

You are too stupid not to realize that history repeats itself.   Like the Western Roman Empire collapsed because of moral retardation, escalated by bribery and corruption - Napoleon fell because he was stupid enough to attack Russia -   - the USA is collapsing and declining in influence under a totally corrupt and inept Regime based on the Woke Culture under the present so-called Biden Presidency.      Another six years of that and the USA will not be the most powerful country in the world and will be aa bankrupt one as well.    . 

27 Mar 2023, 12:01
27 Mar 2023, 12:01#8

Trump instructed that USA troops be withdrawn from Syria - the Pentagon undermined it.   Syria is a independent country word-wide  so what are US troops in that country for?   That at best is hypocrisy in the extreme if the Ukraine example is borne in mind.     

27 Mar 2023, 12:34
27 Mar 2023, 12:34#9

Draad

Obama did cause the withdrawal of troops from Iraq and let the way open for ISIS to establish their caliphate in the area of Syria and Iraq they occupied.   He then sent in 200 soldiers into Iraq - but they were forbidden to take part in any operations against ISIS and were there only to train the Iraqi troops - who kept retreating in chaos.    Trump sent the troops back into Iraq to counter the Iran and ISIS operations in that country.   The troops were instructed not to repeat the mess created by Obama and to take on ISIS all-out.   Within three months the Caliphate collapsed  and the Caliph was killed by US troops in Syria.   He then took on the Iran proxy war in Iraq and had the head of the Iran foreign Proxy Wars Soleimane killed - with the Democrats  going into mourning because one of their heroes were killed.   

So where are we now - the US illegally have troops in Syria for what purpose?   The USA has a problem - nobody in the world trust the USA  under the Biden Administration - they also do not trust the USA to honor their treaty obligations.     

Have the USA got any allies left in the ME nations - especially not in Syria -  and outside of it Saudi Arabia bolted to Russia and China  and so did Iran with the Syrian Government being supported by both Saudi Arabia and Iran.   Turkey - with the second biggest army - is on paper a NATO member, but is co-operating with Russia and China as well.  Nobody wants the US involved in the ME anymore.

The fact is countries worldwide realize that they will have to adjust their co-operation if they wish to survive.

27 Mar 2023, 15:37
27 Mar 2023, 15:37#10

Apologies I got my wires crossed…now corrected.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
27 Mar 2023, 18:59
27 Mar 2023, 18:59#11

When Biden was elected I predicted he was going to destroy America.

Anything can be infallible, economies can collapse when built with paper, intangible assets, bonds and overprinting of money with  deceit and manipulation. The military industrial complex is a evil parasite that feeds the neo-cons through conflict, robs the people and will die if there are no wars.

President (General) Eisenhower warned America about this.

The doing away of the gold bullion standard in the seventies, I think under Nixon, was the biggest mistake and controlling economies and weaponising with petro-dollar. Rather have a liquid economy that's backed by resources and commodities and real assets than "ponzi schemers", ie Bernard Madoff former chairman of Nasdag.

Got a shock the other day when I invested some time back in Franklin Templeton Fund and found out they were involved in Ukraine Bonds (Rothschild). I've sold off my units.

The attitude of American exceptionalism, greed, materialism and false pride precedes that of a fall.

USA wake up and clean up before it's too late. Your days as the ruling hegemon are coming to an end.

27 Mar 2023, 19:40
27 Mar 2023, 19:40#12
So Chabal how does this new order look. Whose moral beliefs do you buy into?
27 Mar 2023, 21:04
27 Mar 2023, 21:04#13

Moz art

My problem is the Democrats in the USA has a program to destroy moral values totally.   when a country like the USA are being run on an unconstitutional basis there is indeed a problem.   They want to control the minds of kids when they are at their most vulnerable by promoting the Woke Culture and instill hatred of their parents and family life of children.

Everything in the USA and all arguments when issues are nowadays discussed are always based on alleged racialism.   Their arguments are always divisive and the increasing crime rates are directly linked to the malfunctioning of the Government which apparently have no idea how the USA democracy is under threat.   

They are manipulating the voter system to ensure that people can vote without identification and through manipulation of the voters role will have illegal migrants without identification and one wonders what dishonesty will be used to destroy democracy in the USA.

27 Mar 2023, 21:05
27 Mar 2023, 21:05#14

Du plicate

27 Mar 2023, 21:05#15

Duplicate   

27 Mar 2023, 21:05#16

Duplicate

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
27 Mar 2023, 21:44
27 Mar 2023, 21:44#17

Mozart, if you cannot see the moral issues yourself then you yourself are part of the problem.

If hypocrisy, disrespect,deceit, lying, framing, manipulation, twisting facts, painting false pictures, hatred, paranoia,profiting from violence and disruption, arrogance and national exceptionalism , just to name a few, does not bother you, and you are voluntary bias and indoctrinated  then it's a fruitless exercise.

The advantages of multi polar world are in simple terms obvious, it means that each nation is their own and they are free from dominance, interference and bullying to name just a few. If do your research there are many unbiased articles on this.

Also ask yourself a simple question are the following nations better off after USA interference:

Vietnam, Afghanistan, Yugoslavia, Venezuela,Libya, Lebanon, Georgia, Yemen, Syria, Iraq, Iran and Horn of Africa, not to mention what's left of Ukraine....and watch what will happen in Myanmar, Taiwan, Thailand, Indonesia and Pakistan and don't be surprised.

Lovely moral country with a huge plank in their eyes groping and trying to take the speck out of their "brothers" eye.

27 Mar 2023, 23:18
27 Mar 2023, 23:18#18
So if it wasn’t for the US Europe would probably still be under a German Reich. South Korea would certainly be part of North Korea. Japan would still be an aggressive military power. Your multi polar world means a Russian/Chinese world with Iran ruling the roost in the ME, unless it was Iraq enhanced by all of Kuwait’s oil.
Vietnam and the invasion of Iraq were mistakes, but Iraq invaded Kuwait a few years earlier, much like Putin invaded the Ukraine, a totally unacceptable act. Afghanistan should have been a pure punishment exercise for the destruction of the Word Trade Center.
You talk a lot about greed and conflate that with the wars. Not one of these wars resulted in anything but a huge economic loss….they were geo/political  wars.
So what has Russia done for the world….what moral values does it represent. The floor is your’s.
28 Mar 2023, 01:43
28 Mar 2023, 01:43#19
“ The advantages of multi polar world are in simple terms obvious, it means that each nation is their own and they are free from dominance, interference and bullying to name just a few. If do your research there are many unbiased articles on this.” Careful what you wish for. A multi-polar word is a world containing a perpetual power vacuum. I’m not convinced that i want that, or that anyone that has thought it through properly would want that either. Having the USA lead the way isn’t a perfect path, but it’s a long way better than the next best option. That’s how i see it anyway.
28 Mar 2023, 07:18
28 Mar 2023, 07:18#20
"hypocrisy, disrespect,deceit, lying, framing, manipulation, twisting facts, painting false pictures, hatred, paranoia,profiting from violence and disruption, arrogance and national exceptionalism"
Hmmmm . . . now who does that sound like?
SE
SebPro2,680 posts
28 Mar 2023, 10:09
28 Mar 2023, 10:09#21

Mozart the facts are that Nazi Germany would have easily decimated all of us without the Russians (Soviet Army). The Battle of Stalingrad and resilient resistance was the main turning point.

Also, often hidden from us is "Operation August Storm",referred by Russians as "Manchurian Strategic Offensive Operation" where Japan mustered over 700,000 soldiers, in which included about 1200 tanks, 5300 military pieces of equipment and 1800 aircraft were lost. This was a massive defeat done in only 3 weeks between August and September in 1945. USA often fails to unleash these facts and claims that the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki defeated Japan. US Navy did a mammoth task in defeating a larger Japanese Navy...Imperial Japanese Navy was considerably bigger in size and the navy boys were valiant.

But USSR obviously finished the Japanese army and this was what ended WW2.

Those who paid the greatest sacrifice of all were staggering, often excluded :

Russia 24 million

Germany 7.7 million

Japan 2,8 million

France 567000

UK 450000

USA 418000

Russia has paid it's dues about 20 fold and all of us would not have existed.

Furthermore their contributions to art, music, literature and culture are enormous. Too big to list in full.

Just to remind you of a few.

Tolstoy and Pushkin, Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev (Peter and the Wolf), Alexei Savrosov (painting "the Rooks have Arrived" and Ivan Kramskoy's "Christ in the Wilderness"

Plum, a fair and honest answer but it is, I think a product of perception created by propaganda and bias.

Before placing judgement on people and what makes them tick, do honest research and preferably get to know them. You certainly don't get the truth from media, even google most times without further research and certainly the opposite from Hollywood.

Just a question,how many wars and interference in other countries has China and Russia been involved in recently in comparison to USA/NATO ? Makes you think, how wrong our ideologies are.

28 Mar 2023, 11:18
28 Mar 2023, 11:18#22

Seb, I'm not basing that opinion on the general population of countries. 

You find good people anywhere you go. Russia, USA or China...most people living in those places are good. 

Putin tells it like it is, and I like that. But Russia isn't a democracy under Putin. China isn't a democracy either. One can say that not all people want to live in a democracy, but that doesn't fly because democracy underpins everything positive humanity has achieved. And who in their right mind doesn't want to know that their voice counts for something?

The USA and its allies, for the most part, have lead the way in upholding democratic human rights. Of course, the democratic narrative has been used to bring about tragedies and war crimes, but that is the exception, not the norm. Dictatorships, on the other hand, sit at the other end of the spectrum where the positives of the absence of democracy has sometimes been a good thing but that has been the exception and not the rule.

I'm not happy with the way the world is. I don't think that anybody really is. But I'm convinced that the more say dictatorships have at the international table the worse off we all are. 

28 Mar 2023, 12:26
28 Mar 2023, 12:26#23

Plum

Democracy in the USA is being undermined on a regular basis and another 5 years of Democratic Party control will destroy it totally.   Using the FBI and CIA for political persecution is a major sign of that - using the open border policy to get  supporters in that would legally and mostly illegally voting without prove of identity and residence - brainwashing of people by the media and in schools and universities - attacks on moral values of people - undermining of law and order in the USA - are all examples that Democracy in the USA is under attack and bound to die.   Democracy is precious - in the USA at present it is an abomination.            

28 Mar 2023, 12:26
28 Mar 2023, 12:26#24

Duplication

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
28 Mar 2023, 13:20
28 Mar 2023, 13:20#25

The way I look at it, I don't put any worship into any system and make it my god, every country has it's cultures,values, customs and traditions that they are proud of and makes them content and happy. That's good. That's how we are created.

Plum this world hates that and wants to destroy that. Individuals are unique and have their strengths and weaknesses, nations are the same. They want to force and control us, to strip us of identity and make us into compliant robots. The same with nations.

Democracy is not God, it might have an air of order and righteousness but it has many contradictions and the way it's implemented has nothing to be desired. It's a system of choice. One of greatest gifts given to man by the Creator, apart from salvation , is freedom of choice, animals don't have that. What we do with it has results, good and bad and what we do and say has it results. Everything is recorded and there's not a thing that isn't. What we sow we reap. All deception and deceit comes out eventually in the end. It is recorded by who made us.

Both China and Russia don't want our system of government with all it's flaws and downward plummeting of morals, standards and values. They see the hypocrisy and double-standards and ugliness.

Ironically they are happy with autocratic system. Russian president has over 80% support and I'm not sure about percentage Xi has but he has majority support. What has USA, UK, Germany got but a divided people, all hating each and at each other throats. A divided nation is weak. Who the hell are we to point fingers at them,and who the hell are we to interfere with their business of rule. It's hypocrisy, if we remove the log out of our eyes first, them maybe we'll begin to get a glimpse of the truth.

Yes, no man and no system is perfect, but lets build and respect each, then maybe we'll begin to love instead of destroy and we'll be a lot more happy and content. A very simple process in a lot of ways, but we become embroiled in senseless ideologies that we apparently don't seem even to understand. The KISS principle...keep it simple stupid.

28 Mar 2023, 16:09
28 Mar 2023, 16:09#26

What your argument on WW2 misses is the effect of D Day. Half of Germany’s  forces were anchored in the West. That invasion hinged totally on American involvement, as did the continued independence of the UK, relying on the Atlantic pipeline.

Swing those forces over to the Eastern front and it was a different equation. Eliminate the bombing of the German armaments industry by the Brits and Americans, and Germany was much more formidable.

The Ukraine demonstrates that the vaunted Soviet armor has been overestimated. They wiped out a faltering Germany that overreached and was short of men and supplies. Which doesn’t take away from the bravery of the soldiers, it just provides a bit of perspective.

So what has Russia done for the world in the last 78 years? It sponsored  a philosophy that failed and is now trying it again with new partners. China has undoubtedly made material contributions, but acting as an outsource supplier for the US.

What are their cultural contributions to music…none since WW2. The only literature or movies of interest deal with the past. The present is bankrupt. Hell the Koreans have produced far more interesting movies.

So now as thinking beings we are supposed to accept autocratic government because people living in these systems have been terrorized into accepting their fate.

Democracy is messy but it provides the essential safety valves to help avoid the kind of radicalism that Russia and China represent.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
28 Mar 2023, 20:54
28 Mar 2023, 20:54#27

You are manipulating, I never said any of that, and certainly never inferred a devaluation of combined forces, let alone D-day. My old school has a Roll of Honour cramped with young men that fell in WW2 and WW1 as well as other wars. My dad was wounded in WW2 and all my uncles, bar the youngest who too young to be enlisted, served in that war, including one who's Spitfire was shot down over the Mediterranean. His body and plane were never found and left my aunt a young widow to run the farm with 3 tiny daughters. My great uncle Cliff (grandads brother) served in WW1 as a captain and was decorated in Dardanelles battle.

As for culture and music of classical nature, that excludes popular which I too enjoy but has very little cultural value except that's enjoyable in a lighter sense, the Russians are steeped in ancient traditional and folk music, even the youth today. Something beautiful and yes it probably would not be western taste because we don't understand it. No culture, lol ever heard of Bolshoi, yes singers like the late Dimtri Hvorostovsky who you admitted and even watched in Chicago as outstanding, but he is just one of the many.

The west lives a culture desert today and pop music today is tasteless and crude and has no positive value at all. The old adage applies here, "one man's meat is another man's poison."

Don't speculate of which you are ignorant of and don't understand. Live in your cell of small world thinking, that's your safety limited. I don't have truck with that as long as you leave others alone.

At the end of the day, it's the old adage...one man's meat in another man's poison.

28 Mar 2023, 22:26
28 Mar 2023, 22:26#28

All that classical music was written before WW2….all the Russians do now is reproduce it. And bs on your cultural desert, even a small city like Sarasota has an outstanding opera. 

As for your family, they fought bravely as did mine,  for democracy and freedom, not for dictatorial regimes. Well done to them.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
28 Mar 2023, 23:55
28 Mar 2023, 23:55#29

Well at least we can find common ground.

Here's something you might find interesting. A man who is the true soul and spirit of his nation.

Classic Talk by Dimtri Hvorostovsky

https://youtu.be/cbP1OHv6xbc

sharkbokCaptain23,201 posts
29 Mar 2023, 01:36
29 Mar 2023, 01:36#30
I just ran the Russian Bots last comments through Chat GBT. I asked it to rewrite it in a sarcastic tone, and this is what I got. 

Oh, wow, look at you, Mr./Ms. Smarty Pants, trying to accuse me of something I never said! Bravo, my dear friend, bravo! You truly have a knack for twisting words and inferring things that were never there to begin with. And who cares about D-day and the combined forces anyway? I mean, it's not like your old school has a Roll of Honour cramped with young men who fell in WW2 and WW1, right? Or that your dear old dad was wounded in WW2, or that all your uncles, except for the youngest one, served in that war, including one who had his Spitfire shot down over the Mediterranean. And let's not forget about your great uncle Cliff, who served in WW1 as a captain and was decorated in Dardanelles battle. I mean, who cares about all that, right?

And don't even get me started on classical music and culture. I mean, sure, popular music might be enjoyable in a lighter sense, but it has very little cultural value, right? And who cares about the Russians and their ancient traditional and folk music? I mean, it's not like they're steeped in it or anything, even the youth today. And let's not forget about the Bolshoi and the late Dimtri Hvorostovsky, who you admitted were outstanding. But, hey, what do I know? I'm just an ignorant fool living in my small world of limited thinking, right?

And you know what, you're absolutely right, my dear friend. The west does live in a culture desert today, and pop music is tasteless and crude and has no positive value at all. But hey, that's just my opinion, and as the old adage goes, "one man's meat is another man's poison." So, you keep living in your delusional world of superiority, and I'll just sit back and enjoy my tasteless and crude pop music. Deal?

29 Mar 2023, 01:48
29 Mar 2023, 01:48#31

This is a ChatGBT counter argument:

ChatGBT - "You are a historian, write a counterargument to this [text-xyz-PROMPT] " 

-------------

While it is true that the Soviet Union played a critical role in defeating Nazi Germany during World War II, it is important to note that the United States and other Allied forces also made significant contributions to the war effort. The US, for example, provided crucial military and economic aid to the Allies throughout the war, and played a major role in the Normandy landings, which marked a major turning point in the war in Europe.

Moreover, while the Soviet Union may have played a decisive role in defeating Japan, it is worth noting that the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki likely played a role in Japan's decision to surrender. It is also important to recognize that the United States and other Allied powers played a critical role in rebuilding Europe and Japan after the war, which helped to establish a more stable and prosperous global order.

29 Mar 2023, 03:28
29 Mar 2023, 03:28#32

SB

Wonderful stuff quoting from what Mozart and Plum wrote about the issue.   What is very real is the decay in Democracy caused by the Woke Culture,    You wrote about Democracy yet you support destruction of Democracy  in the USA yet you support the destroyers all-out.        

29 Mar 2023, 04:13
29 Mar 2023, 04:13#33

I asked ChaTGBT to fact check the first comment made by the Russian Bot on this thread:

It's important to note that the statement you provided contains a mix of opinions and claims that are difficult to fact check as they are subjective in nature. However, I can provide some general information that may help contextualize the statement.

• Regarding the claim about the advantages of a multi-polar world, it is true that this concept involves multiple centers of power and influence, which can allow for greater diversity and autonomy among nations. However, it's also important to note that a multi-polar world can also lead to increased competition, conflict, and instability if nations are unable to cooperate and negotiate effectively.

• The statement lists several nations that are claimed to be worse off due to US interference, including Vietnam, Afghanistan, Yugoslavia, Venezuela, Libya, Lebanon, Georgia, Yemen, Syria, Iraq, Iran, and the Horn of Africa. While it is true that the US has been involved in some capacity in each of these nations, the causes and effects of US involvement are complex and varied. It is not accurate to make a blanket statement that US interference has uniformly made these nations worse off, as there are many factors at play in each case.

• The statement also includes some criticisms of the US, including claims of hypocrisy, disrespect, deceit, and manipulation. While it is true that no nation or individual is perfect, it is important to evaluate specific claims and provide evidence to support them.

Overall, the statement you provided is a mix of opinions and claims that are difficult to fact check. It's important to evaluate each claim individually and consider multiple perspectives before arriving at a conclusion.

29 Mar 2023, 06:34
29 Mar 2023, 06:34#34

So even AI can't say what he said is complete nonsense, just difficult to fact check...the same can not be said from some of your previous posts on this site.

29 Mar 2023, 07:17
29 Mar 2023, 07:17#35

Ja the bot's vrot

29 Mar 2023, 07:41
29 Mar 2023, 07:41#36

Which bot?

29 Mar 2023, 09:16
29 Mar 2023, 09:16#37
I do get what Mike and Seb are saying though. The US currently rule the roost. But we’re now at a point where media and political corruption is so rife, the distortion of truth is so prevalent and the strongest nation in the world so divided, that perhaps we cannot rely on them as much as we used to in the past. Let’s hope DeSantis wins next year because the US needs a deep clean and fumigation. I’m not one for censorship but something needs to be done about the media in this modern technological world where people are constantly consuming echo chamber content. Make it similar to cigarettes. If something is an opinion piece, it should be labelled as such and if it is merely reporting fact then it gets the label of “news”. Too many people are being lead astray by what they think is news but is actually only some paid-for talking head’s face sounds. If lawyers or doctors breaks the rules then they lose their license. Make it the same for media companies and journalists.
SE
SebPro2,680 posts
29 Mar 2023, 09:40
29 Mar 2023, 09:40#38

Plum, it's underwhelming crap...devoid of soul.

Small things attract impaired sick minds.

29 Mar 2023, 09:57
29 Mar 2023, 09:57#39

The fact is the Allies won WW2 and then allowed the Russians to take over Eastern Europe as part of a deal they made with Stalin at Yalta.   That led to virtual destruction of countries and millions of people landing in Siberian slave camps.    

So who won WW2 became  a serious problem - the gains for the Communists were massive and created the subsequent Cold War and  the USSR in proxy wars worldwide.    It was destroying one socialist state replacing it with another socialist state.    The Cold War lasted from 1945 to 1991 - when Reagan was president and jointly with Thatcher and Kohl as partners put the screw on the Communist regime in the USSR and that threat was eliminated.

Economically the Germans became the strongest economy in Europe and the Japanese in Asia and in 1949 the Communist took over China.    Under Mao - as bad a murderous bastard as were Hitler and Stalin combined - took over in China and the World started going awry,   The Chinese Communists were  instrumental in 2 wars that cost the US and its allies dearly.  In both the Korean War - which never ended and resulted in a ceasefire - but remains as a flashpoint for the future - and Vietnam - which the USA lost fleeing the country in as bad an evacuation as happened in Afghanistan - in other words the USA lost the Vietnam War,  

When Mao died the new Chinese leadership decided on a new approach to the economy and started an industrial revolution in the country.   They changed their approach and accepted a Fascist model - ie a partnership between  the Chinese leadership and the capitalists,   China in time became the country where the ultra-rich from the West invested in on a massive scale to use the cheap Chinese laborers to make massive profits.   The industrial base in both the USA and Western Europe were weakened massively and they increasingly became dependent on China and Russia for both industrial and mineral resources.    So at present the USA owes China more money than their declining GDP comprises.

So who subsequently won looking at the results of the War - definitely not the Allies.   France and the UK lost their colonies and the USA started going backwards in importance in the word economy.   The problems in the USA were augmented by the taking over of the media by elements who started to undermine the loyalty of people to the USA.   In 1998 70% of the US voters in opinion polls regarded loyalty to the USA as the most important political issue in the country.   In recent polls only 38% of the voters believe that loyalty to the USA is the paramount issue when it comes to US politics.

WW2 resulted in the longer term  that the USA and Western Europe militarily won the War and lost the Peace.   In the longer term the real winners were rather the Chinese and to a lesser extent the Indians benefitted most out of what happened since WW2.   The weakening of the EU and NATO as a result of destruction of national pride and morals adds to the problems facing the world at present and opened the way for Fascist rule worldwide.   

.   -                        

29 Mar 2023, 10:01
29 Mar 2023, 10:01#40

Seb, the problem is, the average person stands zero chance against algorithms designed to keep you clicking.

It's easily the leading cause of radicalisation amongst people over the last five years. 

Rooi recently made a post talking about how Trump changed the world and split everybody into two camps. Trump was just the ingredient but the algorithms were the chef. That's the part he missed in his post. Had Trump been president in a world without these social media algorithms, his term wouldn't have been near as divisive. 

I'm not for banning any content. But I'm certainly of the opinion that these all social media algorithms need to be heavily regulated or even banned completely. 

The kicker is that the same tech companies that are so up in arms about everyone's emotional state, and making sure nobody's feelings are hurt, are literally profiting from feeding people content that makes them angry. More than anything else, angry people stay engaged on platforms far longer than people in any other state. So that's what the platform feeds you.

"TO ENRAGE IS TO ENGAGE.

Ironically, a great way to generate more traffic between the users in one echo chamber is to provoke them into outrage about the OPPOSITE echo chamber. It does not have to be done by real people – bots will do, as long as the users are poked with a strong negative emotion that serves as clickbait.

It is painfully obvious that online debates over any controversial issue quickly and inevitably spiral into madness. The parties involved – liberal vs conservative, black vs white, straight vs gay, religious vs atheist, men vs women – end up with high blood pressure and crippling anxiety. Accomplishing nothing from their agenda. Just being glued to the screens in a state of total misery.

We cannot ignore something that makes us angry. It would be counter to our evolutionary biology of survival: fight your enemy to the death. So we ENGAGE with the digital clickbait that created this outrage in us.

Engagement translates to profits – not the truth. Follow the money."

↓ LOAD MORE (page 2 of 3)

More from Mikes Gripes