FORUM / MIKES GRIPES /  The only thing we have to fear is fear itself, it's the biggest enemy

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself, it's the biggest enemy

Started by Seb52 REPLIES997 VIEWS· 17 Mar 2020, 03:13
SE
SebPro2,680 posts
17 Mar 2020, 03:13
17 Mar 2020, 03:13#1

As a believer I'm called to have no fear not even in the valley of death because my faith is the Rock.

Those devils of the mind, those fear mongers that create panic are very evil people and use fear destructively to create panic in the herd thinking masses and use it as a weapon for their evil agendas.

Fear is natural to all mankind and should be respected but contained in the right way and used constructively. Done this way it is a great asset.

Faith and love overcome fear.

Non-thinking lemmings that lack faith and love just fall in line with the instigators of fear follow them to their doom.

FDR said this which is wisdom :

In his Inauguration Address to the United States of America in 1933, President Franklin D. Roosevelt explained that we should not be intimidated by fear, but instead should embrace it as a motivator for progress. As he addressed the nation, he proclaimed, “So, first of all, let me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is fear itself—nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance.” He is implying that the nation should not “retreat” in uncomfortable and new situations. In contrast, he desires a nation of innovators, who are unafraid of fear and willing to take risks as they move forward into the future. Fear is merely the body’s innate warning system that cautions the body to “move forward with caution.” It should not be taken as a sign to stop completely. Instead, the warning should be noted and appreciated so that we slow down and move forward with mindful awareness. Roosevelt’s speech makes us question those occasions where they may have limited themselves due to fear of discomfort or unfamiliarity. Unfortunately, settling for familiarity leaves us always wondering, “what if." While fear is temporary feeling, regret last a lifetime.

sharkbokCaptain23,216 posts
17 Mar 2020, 03:24
17 Mar 2020, 03:24#2
sebastienchabal

Squad member

588 posts

Mar 17, 2020, 03:13

As a believer I'm called to have no fear not even even in the valley of death because my faith is the Rock.

Those devils of the mind, those fear mongers that create panic are very evil people and use fear destructively to create panic in the herd thinking masses and use it as a weapon for their evil agendas.

Non-thinking lemmings that lack faith and love just fall in line with the instigators of fear follow them to their doom.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Church (the body that organises religion) are the people who create fears that are not rational and have no relation to reality to try to manipulate people into following them. 

This Global world order etc, etc. Conspiracy after Conspiracy. Look no further than Brainwashed Beeno to see the true work of the Church to retain followers.... 

------------

Scientists and logically minded people try to create solutions, whereas irrational and manipulative people like Churches try to fool people with conspiracy BS.

Who will solve the Corona Virus? God or Mankind? I assure you the Church will be useless, and it will be up to scientists and logically thinking people to solve.

BR
BrycyPro4,671 posts
17 Mar 2020, 03:55
17 Mar 2020, 03:55#3

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
17 Mar 2020, 03:59
17 Mar 2020, 03:59#4

As usual you twist and turn the context around to suit your agendas.

The beginning of all wisdom is the good fear, the fear (respect, love,acknowledgement) of God. It's a fear that's NOT destructive because it's a fear which leads to life.

Yes, there are churches that manipulate and do things the wrong way, because they are human and yes there are plenty of things that they do that are not the things that ought to.

But perfect love is;

13 If I speak in the tonguesa]">[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,b]">[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
17 Mar 2020, 04:21
17 Mar 2020, 04:21#5

I don't put my ultimate faith in any man or science but in the right context do respect some and am not anti-scientist but my foundation is the Creator of all things.

Mankind is flawed as indeed we all are, even the best of us.

As usual you miss the point and step around it.

CR
CrusadersfanPro3,099 posts
17 Mar 2020, 05:11
17 Mar 2020, 05:11#6

Seb you have to be joking right, Christianity is a religion that relies on fear. There is not a lot of love in your religion except for the select few. And faith is as useless as a chocolate teapot.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
17 Mar 2020, 05:44
17 Mar 2020, 05:44#7

Sader, no that's not true...you have the wrong fear, a fear of the unknown and unbelief. Cynical people do that because of bad experiences and hurt and choose to reject what they experience as insincere and false.

You cannot see, I surmise, because you don't want to and simply trust what you touch, feel and are skeptical and don't seek because somebody or something let you down and you judged and reasoned if that's God then I reject this...you use the bad things that happen in the world that all of us see as an excuse to reject a Creator and not the good. It's true that none of us can fully understand why bad things happen to decent and defenceless people and throw the baby out with the bathwater but ultimately good always has the ultimate say.

https://youtu.be/F_Bkct-OMyA

CR
17 Mar 2020, 06:46
17 Mar 2020, 06:46#8

Seb you are wrong,I have led a charmed life, loving parents (still got my dad)  the best ex wife anyone could wish for (still friends and help each other out when needed) 3 kids anyone would be proud of, my own business, I travel the world 3 months of the year (currently on hold ) Still got all my brothers and sisters. In fact I have never had anything happen in my life that is major apart from the death of my mother who was 88 and in my books thats a great innings and death is something no one can avoid.

So now that we proved you are wrong care to come up with another reason? 

I see absolutely no reason to believe anything that there is not a shred of evidence for. You religion is so obviously a tale of myths and legends without a shred of evidence to support it.

Why is there not one piece of scientific evidence that supports what is written in your desert dwellers guide to the unbelievable?

I put your god in the same realm as the loch ness monster, unicorns and garden fairies because there is just the same amount of evidence for those as there is for your god

CR
17 Mar 2020, 07:00
17 Mar 2020, 07:00#9

Geez just watched that video Seb what a load of bloody cobblers.

That is just 3 minutes of made up propaganda with nothing to support its claims, you could take out the word god and insert mankind you know as it is people and community that make us strong not some imaginary deity.

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
17 Mar 2020, 12:45
17 Mar 2020, 12:45#10

I don't doubt that you have a good family or life, you seem like a decent fella but because you have been fortunate, does not mean you are right. One thing that is certain in life is the end, you don't live forever and all of us, whether you believe it or not will stand before Him and give account.

Have you ever queried your existence or purpose, have you studied the scriptures, particularly the New Testament...do you throw out those issues you don't understand. Christ existed whether you don't believe or do...it's year 2020...why?

If I told you Rembrandt painted one of the world's most beautiful paintings and you said, no he did not without actually seeing it yourself, would that make sense?

If you're got an inquiring mind you would want to know the truth. Is life a mistake?

https://youtu.be/7UOzdMYt_po

17 Mar 2020, 13:42
17 Mar 2020, 13:42#11
Sounds like the only thing we have to fear is a vengeful and malevolent god who is trying to kill us off with a virus.
CR
17 Mar 2020, 14:04
17 Mar 2020, 14:04#12

I am not claiming I am right because i have had a charmed life, i am refuting your claim that people reject your god because of bad things happening to them. 

Christians (well probably all religious people) just cannot seem to understand that people can read you book, listen to the sermons and still think its a load of bullshit. 

And to answer your question about reading the bible I have not managed to read it though I have tried a few times but it is just ridiculous nonsense. To me I cannot understand how any educated person can accept it as true.

I have watched thousands of hours of debates on youtube and am yet to hear one convincing argument for your god, when it comes down to it you have faith and fuck all else.

Hitch, Dawkins,Aron Ra, Krause, Harris destroy any and every argument raised by christian apologists. Time and time again the Christians are provided with overwhelming evidence but they just sit there and say nah nah nah nah all I need is faith (well you certainly need that as its all you have got).

Why can no christian provide a single shred of verifiable evidence to support their claim, you do know not one claim of the super natural has ever been proved but 1,000's of super natural claims have been proven to have natural explanations.

Why does your god hide, why has he hidden himself so effectively, surely if he wants people to believe he would not make it so hard.And while we are on this why does he want us to worship him is his ego that big he has to have us grovelling at his feet otherwise he will torture us forever? This does not make your god a good loving god it makes him evil.

Its year 2020 to us , go to Thailand it 2562 so does that prove that your god is false, or he is just false in Thailand? Are you saying if it wasn't for your god we would not have a calendar?

So according to you my purpose is to be an Atheist because that is what I am. I cant help it god made me this way  what makes you think we are here for a purpose anyway?

17 Mar 2020, 14:08
17 Mar 2020, 14:08#13

17 Mar 2020, 14:09
17 Mar 2020, 14:09#14
Typical Christian BS. The virus is either punishment by God, or is it some evil conspiracy byman to control the world- like the imaginary globalist first world order.. 
As if something like Corona Virus is just a hoax, and this is a deliberate attempt to control mankind through fear.
Even Trump is wise enough to see that is a potential crisis, after initially saying it was a hoax. Trump said it looks like it is going to impact America until at least August. 

17 Mar 2020, 14:41
17 Mar 2020, 14:41#15

Seb if you want to see fear you should have watched these "fools" react to my posts on former world leading atheist Antony Flew who came to believe that there was a God due to the information found in DNA etc.

These guys were so scared that they were to afraid to take a look at the evidence Flew provided - its no exaggeration to say these "fools" are intellectual cowards of the worst and most craven type. They cant even read an opposing view.

Hence these fascist type nutjob want to curb freedom of speech and censor any speech not lining up with their BS.

Often you post something that utterly debunks their BS but days latter they are on the same stupid point. You realize they are too terrified to read the truth.

All this became very clear in the evolution debate. Evidence was ignored, not even read. No wonder these twits are so painfully ignorant. They don't have the moral courage to even begin to wrestle with the issues. So they become the laughing stock they are.

Still waiting for these fools to explain how a universe can create itself from nothing. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

SE
SebPro2,680 posts
17 Mar 2020, 14:57
17 Mar 2020, 14:57#16

Bakkies Botha, Patrick Lambie, Ruben Kruger, Francois Pienaar, Andre Venter, Joost vd Westhuizen, Michael Jones, Jonah Lomu, Alan Lamb, Jonty Rhodes are just some okes that I know are true Christians but there are many others.

No, we're certainly not dumb and cowards, in fact quite the opposite and we come in different shapes, cultures and abilities.

There are quite a number of golfers too and tennis players.

Lots of doctors and surgeons and other professionals like scientists.

17 Mar 2020, 23:06
17 Mar 2020, 23:06#17
17 Mar 2020, 23:06
17 Mar 2020, 23:06#18
What exactly is a true Christian? Is it someone that is famous and claims to be a Christian?There are many people who are not religious that are good people, or people from other religions that are good people. Any plenty of Christians that lack basic human values - but need to quote a kids book to act with any form of morality. 
This list of rugby players that are Christian, what makes them "true" Christians?
Bakkies Botha was known across the world as being a dirty player that was a bit of a thug- at least on the pitch. Does he now qualify as a good Christian? 
Joost Van Der Westhuizen was a great rugby player, a legend. However, in fairness, he was hardly a saint off the pitch. He was filmed having an affair and taking drugs. A few months prior to this, he argued with his wife and dropped her off on the highway to find her own way home. His disease was tragic - but he was no more ethical than the average person in the world. Many people that are not famous have the same tragedies- and this does not elevate them to sainthood.
Religious people accuse world leaders of being part of global conspiracies that involve all the country leaders from around the world are part of a scam to scare people with a disease. Or even worse- the World Leaders have intentionally created a disease to kill people... 
The reality is that religious people are the ones trying to push lying conspiracy theories and doing the fear-mongering. Hypocrites...
World Leaders are in a challenging real-life situation trying to act the best they can, but for a religious person, it is all some big conspiracy lie. 
What type of person actually believes that world leaders have conspired to scare people with a disease that is minor- or actually created the disease to kill people. It is a delusion, but if you are guided by a Muslim Book (Yes the old testament is Muslim)- this is no real surprise. 
17 Mar 2020, 23:50
17 Mar 2020, 23:50#19
World leaders? Can you name one leader other than Trump and possibly Moon Jae-in who acted quickly? The Italian and Iranian leaders made decisions that enabled the virus. Merkel in an act of total capitulation told the Germans that 70% of them were going to get the virus. Boris took until this week to suggest people at risk should avoid contact.
They have collectively blown it.....hell the Europeans were dumping on Trump’s ban on Friday and doing the same thing on Monday.
Whether they conspired to scare people or not, statements like Merkel’s had that effect. 
18 Mar 2020, 00:35
18 Mar 2020, 00:35#20

World leaders may have been negligent in their dealings, or simply they were totally incompetent- particularly China. However, this was a skills issue, it was not intent. 

None of them is trying to scare people with some ulterior motive of the globalist movement. 

I am unsure how Trump acted well, given he was one of the last country leaders to accept the threat. It was what 2 weeks ago he said Corona was a hoax.. 

Lots of countries are banning travel, or conducting numerous other actions to curb human interaction. Ireland has closed pubs.

And they have done this long before Trump - or Britain for that matter who have both being amongst the slower countries to act. 

Surely the world leaders that acted quicker were the first to realise the potential impact this could have on the world- and they should be commended at least more than the ones last to act. 

No country leader benefits from the current situation. If the GDP decreases, people want new leaders. If Corona fades out when it starts warming up, everyone forgets the context as things return to normal. 

To actually consider even for one second that world leaders have created this disease intentionally to kill people is totally ludicrous. E.g. - As if the democrats are trying to kill older people so they can get back into power etc.

18 Mar 2020, 01:05
18 Mar 2020, 01:05#21

A little bit of honesty.....Trump never said the virus is a hoax, he likened it ’s use against him politically to the Russia hoax. If Italy, Iran  and the EU had emulated Trump’s stance against Chinese travel we would all be in a much better place now.

As for the source of the virus. Until China and it’s leaders honestly communicate the origins of the virus, and stop outrageously blaming it on the US military.....the conspiracy theories will continue to circulate.

The facts are simple. China has dealt the world a horrible blow, not for the first time. People are dying by the thousands and many older people are in financial extremis. And they don’t show an ounce of remorse.

18 Mar 2020, 02:00
18 Mar 2020, 02:00#22
Yes, sanctions will need to be put in place to ensure that China is following accepted practise.
I just read the below message on Facebook. Not sure how true it is- but it does sound like humanity working together. This could even be a good omen for the future...
How about some Good News? -China has closed down its last coronavirus hospital. Not enough new cases to support them.
- Doctors in India have been successful in treating Coronavirus. Combination of drugs used: Lopinavir, Retonovir, Oseltamivir along with Chlorphenamine. They are going to suggest same medicine, globally.
- Researchers of the Erasmus Medical Center claim to have found an antibody against coronavirus.
- A 103-year-old Chinese grandmother has made a full recovery from COVID-19 after being treated for 6 days in Wuhan, China.
- Apple reopens all 42 china stores,
- Cleveland Clinic developed a COVID-19 test that gives results in hours, not days.
- Good news from South Korea, where the number of new cases is declining.
- Italy is hit hard, experts say, only because they have the oldest population in Europe.
- Scientists in Israel likely to announce the development of a coronavirus vaccine.
- 3 Maryland coronavirus patients fully recovered; able to return to everyday life.
- A network of Canadian scientists are making excellent progress in Covid-19 research.
- A San Diego biotech company is developing a Covid-19 vaccine in collaboration with Duke University and National University of Singapore.
- Tulsa County's first positive COVID-19 case has recovered. This individual has had two negative tests, which is the indicator of recovery.
- All 7 patients who were getting treated for at Safdarjung hospital in New Delhi have recovered.
...Plasma from newly recovered patients from Covid -19 can treat others infected by Covid-19.
So it's not all bad news. Let's care for each other and stay focused on safety of those most vulnerable. Cmon media post something positive for a change! Follow me on I.G @luciddreamliving
SE
SebPro2,680 posts
18 Mar 2020, 05:35
18 Mar 2020, 05:35#23
I don't know why I bother to answer Sharks jabs as he is a mocker and has not the foggiest clue about he spouts about.
Christian is a general term but it does not relate to an individual. True christian is a saved christian who knows he's a sinner and has accepted Christ as his saviour/redeemer/messiah. Only Christ has paid the full price and good works cannot save anyone. To be precise only God knows who the sincere ones are.

We are nowhere near perfect and know we are sinners unlike some unbelievers who pride themselves with good works...they are the hypocrites, the self-righteous and vain.
Yes Bakkies was a "naughty" boy on the field but I'm told a gentle giant off.

We know we need to be saved from sin and death, the self-centred and vain human nature rebels against this.
Repentance (the desire of turning away from what we know is wrong) and dying to the "old man" is where it begins.
In any event you won't understand that.
Said enough and see no need to post further on this subject if you cannot be respectful.
18 Mar 2020, 07:06
18 Mar 2020, 07:06#24
A true Christian is someone who knows they are a sinner?  I think anyone knows that they are not perfect - so this is a meaningless statement

Accepting Jesus as your saviour as the basis of salvation is almost as absurd as sacrificing Jesus for everyone else sins. This is neither logical or ethical. 
To believe only people who share your religion would be worthy of any form of afterlife is backward.  It is being like a supreme Nazi race- regardless of it is Muslim, Christian, or any other creed. Given the number of religions, all of which have relatively good and bad people - to think that just anyone who accepts Jesus Christ goes to heaven, is just simpleton stuff.
A modern first world outlook is that there are good people from all religions or non-religions, and any afterlife quality would be relative to this- not their religious associations. 
18 Mar 2020, 07:47
18 Mar 2020, 07:47#25

We are nowhere near perfect and know we are sinners unlike some unbelievers who pride themselves with good works...they are the hypocrites, the self-righteous and vain.

I can't believe anyone can believe such bollocks.

18 Mar 2020, 07:59
18 Mar 2020, 07:59#26

It's not about being worthy. It's about accepting or rejecting grace and redemption...a choice.

18 Mar 2020, 08:01
18 Mar 2020, 08:01#27
"To be precise only God knows who the sincere ones are."
So then, Tit, if god is the only one who knows who these mysterious "true christians" are, why are you putting up these long lists of "true christians"? Who do you think you are . . . god?
18 Mar 2020, 08:04
18 Mar 2020, 08:04#28

18 Mar 2020, 09:00
18 Mar 2020, 09:00#29

...they are the hypocrites, the self-righteous and vain

LMAO...… you are  describing the many Christians that I know

18 Mar 2020, 09:23
18 Mar 2020, 09:23#30

Oh my aching tummy muscles.....stop it will yu!

18 Mar 2020, 10:16
18 Mar 2020, 10:16#31
Just on this distinction between a "true christian" and a plain old vanilla "christian". . . if a "true christian" is someone who knows he's a sinner and has accepted Jesus Christ as his "saviour/redeemer/messiah", what does a normal christian believe? Does a normal christian not also recognise that he's a sinner or does he not accept Christ as his "saviour/redeemer/messiah"?
I'm only asking because I always thought that was the definition of any christian, not just the "true christians".
Oh and one last question, Tit, do you see yourself as a "true christian" or just a normal one?
18 Mar 2020, 15:47
18 Mar 2020, 15:47#32
A few words spring to mind when a religious person claims only their heathen faith are going to heaven:
  1. Self-righteous, 
  2. sanctimonious, 
  3. pompous, 
  4. arrogant, 
  5. ignorant, 
  6. brainwashed 
  7. incapable of independent thought
  8. Stupid
  9. Moronic
18 Mar 2020, 16:49
18 Mar 2020, 16:49#33
Religion has many failings....but name the accomplishments of atheism.....the buildings, the art, the music, the legal systems, the culture. The failures of religion are the failures of human beings, but it’s heritage is a much richer human experience.
18 Mar 2020, 17:09
18 Mar 2020, 17:09#34
  1. Self-righteous, 
  2. sanctimonious, 
  3. pompous, 
  4. arrogant, 
  5. ignorant, 
  6. brainwashed 
  7. incapable of independent thought
  8. Stupid
  9. Moronic

We have a few posters who tick every one of those boxes. Baboon-ou is the obvious one but Ceradunce, Moffie and DumbAss tick them all as well . . . maybe to a lesser extent than Baboon-ou but they tick them all nonetheless.

18 Mar 2020, 17:25
18 Mar 2020, 17:25#35
Polytheistic religions "may" take some credit (e.g Multiple Gods or a relative truth). This is what the ancient Greeks and Romans believed. However, they also invented Atheism... So Atheism can take as much credit as religion...
The point is they were open-minded and used a relative truth. So it was not about a definitive version of the truth. It was a progressive reality. These ancient Greeks and Romans (before Christianity) created the basis of the modern-day world. They are our heritage, not a bunch of religious fanatics like Moses sacrificing each other in the Middle-East.

The dogmatic view of monolithic religions like Christianity, Muslim etc is an absolute truth that took the world back into the dark ages.

The Roman Empire became Christian around 300 AD. Then 50 years later it collapsed- and the dark ages ensued for over 1000 years...The same thing happened when Muslim replaced their prior polytheistic religion...
I fail to see how Christianity or Muslim has added any value to the world. Both took their regimes backwards. 

So back to the original point, anyone who believes their own religion is the definitive- and not relative is a dark ages heathen.  They are less "enlightened" than the ancient Greeks and Romans who would be more compatible with the modern world. 
SE
SebPro2,680 posts
18 Mar 2020, 20:41
18 Mar 2020, 20:41#36

Sadly I'm just a voice in the wilderness but I'm just an impotent human being that is absolutely certain of my faith, and got guys that hate me for this..,.this is a conviction to my very life, I know He lives and place my very life on that and if someone who had power over me to denounce my Saviour and my faith to live or to be executed for it, I would not even hesitate

I worship and love Jesus. .

18 Mar 2020, 21:12
18 Mar 2020, 21:12#37

Not the Greeks again Shark....I tutored you on their democracy which was reserved for men and those in their group. It would be like the vote being limited to billionaires and millionaires, but only the male ones.

If you want to see how religion contributed to the development of society look at what’s in the middle of every English town...that’s right ...a church. Around that cohesive element, commerce, scholarship and medicine were nurtured.

18 Mar 2020, 21:55
18 Mar 2020, 21:55#38
I thought the town hall was in every town centre...
People did congregate at Churches, but the Renaissance brought the end of the dark ages... It also led to the weakening of the Church in society. The Renaissance was the rebirth/cultural revival after rediscovering ancient records of the Romans and Greeks. 
"Google Renaissance for more detail". It was this that led to medical and scientific advancement, not hanging around at a Church and getting brainwashed.
It is now the 21st century, so one would expect the principles of the "ancient" Greeks and Romans would have been improved upon. It was the platform to build on and evolve from. 
Unlike the old testament which is just some ancient Arabs sacrificing each other and thinking that anything that went wrong was God punishing them 
However we can debate those points, the crux of the story is that anyone who thinks only their own religion would go to heaven is part of Hitler's master race. 
It is common sense that any form of an afterlife would be decided by someone actions - not if they play hopscotch, musical chairs or repent by accepting someone who was sacrificed as their saviour. 
18 Mar 2020, 22:00
18 Mar 2020, 22:00#39

Poor Snark is still stuck in the Dark Ages, he missed the Reformation and the Renaissance...and is a fan of the Bolshevik Revolution...Snark, are you a Millenial or did they manage that brainwashing on the last batch of GenXers too? Hope you don't wake up too late.

CR
18 Mar 2020, 22:19
18 Mar 2020, 22:19#40

Seb stop playing the poor persecuted christian will you, I don't hate you, I just disagree with your beliefs.

You post your opinions on a public forum and get upset when people disagree with you. If you can't handle it don't post easy as mate.

More from Mikes Gripes