FORUM / MIKES GRIPES /  Trumperica Prepares to Celebrate 250 Birthday

Trumperica Prepares to Celebrate 250 Birthday

Started by sharkbok22 REPLIES170 VIEWS· 27 Jun 2026, 01:09
Captain20,097 posts
27 Jun 2026, 01:09#1
BREAKING: Trump becomes the first person to have a 250th Birthday Party.

Washington, D.C. — As the United States prepares to celebrate its 250th anniversary, officials are making final arrangements for what is expected to be a spectacular display of patriotism, fireworks and carefully choreographed opportunities for Donald Trump to explain how the nation's greatest achievements were all somehow his idea.

Although America declared independence in 1776—roughly 170 years before Trump's birth—sources close to the White House say the President is expected to remind audiences that "things weren't really that great until I showed up."

Preparations reportedly include a military parade, live performances, historical tributes, and a teleprompter capable of surviving repeated detours into stories about crowd sizes, golf championships and "the perfect phone call."

Insiders say Trump is likely to describe the celebration as "the biggest birthday party ever held by any country," while dismissing any photographs suggesting otherwise as the work of "fake cameras."

Historians have been placed on standby to correct factual inaccuracies, although many admitted they stopped trying sometime around 2017.

Economic advisers are also preparing briefing notes in anticipation of Trump's expected claim that tariffs simultaneously lower prices, increase government revenue, strengthen domestic industry, hurt only foreign countries, and somehow cost American consumers absolutely nothing.

Several economists confirmed they have already updated their CVs.

The event's organisers have reportedly considered including a "Fact Check" section during the speech but abandoned the idea after calculating it would extend proceedings by approximately six hours.

Meanwhile, engineers have confirmed that the fireworks display has been designed to withstand repeated declarations that it is "the greatest explosion anyone has ever seen."

In a symbolic nod to American democracy, guests are expected to celebrate 250 years of constitutional government before immediately returning to arguing about whether objective reality still exists.

Early rehearsals suggest the loudest applause may come when Trump congratulates himself for achievements ranging from defeating inflation to inventing common sense and personally discovering patriotism.

George Washington was unavailable for comment, although historians agreed he would probably have a few questions.

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
27 Jun 2026, 02:11#2

Befok... I'm visiting an old student days pall in Dallas and stay over at a lake for 2 nights on my way there...a bit of fishing and RR with the family...

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
27 Jun 2026, 02:14#3

Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2026, 15:28#4

In 1990, the United States GNP per capita was approximately $23,000, while the European Union (EU) average was around $14,300. By 2025, the U.S. GNP per capita surged to roughly $90,065, and the average for the European Union rose to approximately $41,000.

…..

The theme park is becoming irrelevant. Perhaps they can get Donald to help after his term ends.

Captain49,914 posts
27 Jun 2026, 15:33#5

Comments on America from fans visiting the Soccer WC:

Viral Culture & Food Shock

1. The "Waffle House" Revelation: "Just had our first Waffle House experience at 1 a.m. Great food, great prices, and friendly staff. 10/10, we will be coming back." — Freddy, German Fan
  2. Obsession with Buc-ee's: "DUDE LMAO THIS IS A GAS STATION." — Freddy, German Fan (on American mega-convenience stores)
  3. Ranch Dressing: "Why did no one tell me ranch sauce is like crack? EUROPE WE NEED RANCH ASAP." — Elsa, Swedish Fan
  4. Classic Dining: "THIS IS THE BEST FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE, AMERICA YOU KEEP ON DELIVERING!" — English Fan [1]

Warmth & Hospitality

1. The Friendly American: "A lot of people say Americans are fake and I just don't think that's true. I think Americans are just really nice and friendly." — Marina De Buchi, British Entrepreneur [1]
  2. Boston Welcomes: "I met these two gorgeous girls from Boston... they kept saying 'welcome to Boston, Massachusetts!' They loved us, we loved them... Everyone is so friendly, so nice." — Gail Nicholl, Scottish Fan [1]
  3. Overwhelming Scale: "As a visitor, the scale of everything has been the biggest surprise. Great stadiums, friendly people, and a lot of excitement around the tournament." — Visitor Feedback via Reddit r/AskReddit [1]

Overall Impressions

1. The Honest Truth: "I'm not trying to be offensive at all — so far, every American I've met has been incredibly friendly — but man…you guys are loud ??." — World Cup Tourist on Yahoo Life [1]
  2. The Big Picture: "If you want to hate America, watch the news. If you want to love America, drive through it." — General fan sentiment expressed on YouTube [1]

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
27 Jun 2026, 15:57#6

Moz, this is a special place...with a good generous people...so glad to be here...not my Cape Winelands and Boland, but living there comes at a price I couldn't afford anymore...

Pakie
Captain17,321 posts
27 Jun 2026, 18:43#7

Draad, what is your opinion about US food?

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
27 Jun 2026, 20:21#8

Pakie, not bad, but not a match on SAcan food...Their steak is on par with SA but at x4 the price...lamb not a patch on Karoo, but not bad either but even more expensive...pork and chicken are cheaper and very good...cheese about the same... they've got fresh seafood of your hearts content everywhere...at a decent price...you can even buy live fish from a tank...if the calamari I had (2x) is anything to go by, they can't cook it properly...if you go to a BBQ buffet, you'll eat like a king...Texas Roadhouse is like the Spur...Burger takeaways are everywhere and basically the same...had some just for the hell of it...

If you can cook yourself, you'll be able to buy almost everything you can as in SA and more, but you need to shop around for proper spices...

No garage pies here, you'll have to make your own...or buy it from expats at a steep price...same with boerewors.

Real braai wood is expensive, but OK if bought in bulk...hickory, oak and some fruit or nut tree wood is popular here...in Tx you get mesquite, similar to doringhout...

Having said that all, your money goes a lot further here if you ern dollars and it is a lot easier to achieve a decent lifestyle here...you can even go hunting in the state parks...

This was a bit of a scatterbrained ramble... I'll do a proper summary of things here sometime... it's a wild ride, but I feel almost 10 years younger than I did a year ago... drastic change can be a good thing.

Coach57,555 posts
27 Jun 2026, 20:47#9

Draad

So you emigrated top the USA - where are you stayming?

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
27 Jun 2026, 20:52#10

Mike, I am in Houston, Texas since the 3rd of Feb this year.

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
27 Jun 2026, 20:53#11

"Annual Public Hunting (APH) Permit: Costs $48 and provides full access to hunt white-tailed deer, feral hogs, dove, quail, turkey, waterfowl, rabbit, and squirrel across over 180 areas, including many state parks. This permit also covers fishing, camping, hiking, and nature watching. "

bobbok...
Captain10,129 posts
28 Jun 2026, 02:32#12

try their smoked brisket

Coach57,555 posts
28 Jun 2026, 02:43#13

Draad

I am very happy for you and your famiily. I hope myou, are very happym in the USA and as I u,nderstand it it is a well-governed State - unlike California, Illinois, New York and Minnesota.

I hope you rmain a member of this site - we need rational.members.

I must admit I am jealous and wish I can get out of SA - but being 84 years old and not wealthy enough to relocate to any country. In Dollars my income is about $2 500 a month all from pensions and small nvestments i made in the past. My house is worth about $150 000. So I* am stuck in Rvesdale where I am much happier and safer t han I used to be in KZN even though I would rather be in your shoes

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
28 Jun 2026, 04:49#14

Ai Maaik....vasbyt... I'll be a member of this site as long as I'm able...you all are my dearest friends, even the ones I quarrel with the most...I will miss you all dearly if this comes to an end somehow...you all contribute to the expansion of views on rugby, life in general and politics...may it last till the end of days...Good luck and remember, the Bokke is a blessing...I am glad I got to know y'all and I'm sad I will probably won't get the chance to meet you in person...but who knows...never say never!

Pakie
Captain17,321 posts
28 Jun 2026, 19:35#15

Thanks for the insights, Draad. I've heard from other South Africans who weren't impressed at all with American cuisine. Guess it will vary from place to place anyway. Very happy for you that you made the change and that it's got you buzzing.

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
28 Jun 2026, 21:22#16

The Cajun and Creole influence from Louisiana as well as the strong Mexican and South and Central American influence in Texas might spice things up a bit...and here in Houston in particular there is also a large Vietnamese, Chinese and Middle Eastern Community...with eateries of any culture from around the world... there's even a few Nando's outlets around town...Greek, Turkish, Persian, you name it...the ready made instant foods in the supermarkets are horrible though...

DbDraad
Captain26,388 posts
28 Jun 2026, 21:28#17

I've made some Bison mince linguini bolognase and there's a packet of alligator tail fillet in my fridge I've yet got to figure out how to prepare...life's interesting for sure.

Denny
Captain12,893 posts
29 Jun 2026, 02:26#18

Draad a few questions

i was told by Americans that Bison was hard to get hold of, is it true?

How best is it cooked, braaing Kangaroo for an example is a no-no, it goes tough. Do you know how best to cook Bison?

I wouldn’t say Kangaroo is readily available, supermarkets sell it in patties which are then fried. It takes a while to cook through to the middle, has a unique flavour and is cholesterol free. The flavour is ok.

I get the feeling that Bison is not a commercial product and is not suitable to braai?

Coach57,555 posts
29 Jun 2026, 05:16#19

If you buy a hamburger, chips wih coke - how much will it ocst in the shops in dollars?

bobbok...
Captain10,129 posts
29 Jun 2026, 08:16#20

a helluva lot more since batshit f'up the economy

1 / 2NEXT →

More from Mikes Gripes