Afrikaans pronunciation can have it's moments of mirth though.
This one's for Mike and Draad as they will see the funny side and this actually happened.
When I was very young I used to cover the Northern Cape as a rep for a large company.
I was brought up in Western Cape (English community), Natal and a bit in Rhodesia so my knowledge and especially my speaking in Afrikaans was limited but being a junior in the company I was posted to cover Northern Cape on one of my calling routes, which was very unpopular.
In other words, I was a real "Rooinek" in the land of the die-hard Afrikaaner...nobody spoke English there.
I travelled as far afield from Cape Town to Upington...the hottest place on earth in summer and one of my calls was in Pofadder.
I only had one customer there. He was Mnr Dixon (pronounced Diksen) but my first call there I was unaware of this. In the platteland there are quite a few families from English, Irish, and Scottish decent that during the Boer War changed their allegiance due to what they perceived as an embarrassment of rights and justice. They saw Britains control and invasion in a moral sense as wrong. They were not turncoats but people with strong ethics and beliefs
Incidentally,he was a huge man and owned the only store, hotel and was also a wealthy Karakul sheep farmer and owned a big spread there...he had 7 beautiful daughters.
When I arrived there the first time I spotted his name Dixon on top of the door to his store and immediately thought with relief, at last an englishman...I can now at last converse my business in my own "taal". I had had a terrible time in my previous calls with scant success after driving through hundreds of miles, you see.
I approached this large figure with gay abandon : Good day Mr Dixon, I'm Michael from J&J.....
He stopped me in my tracks raising his massive hands : "Boetie, my naam's NIE Dixon nee...dis
DIKSEN, jou Bliksem ...as jy in hierdie wereld is boet, moet jy Afrikaans praat!"
PS .However the story has a happy ending though, we eventually became friends and he supported me loyally and once invited me to stay on his farm and had a good braai there and I quite fancied one of his daughters. I was quite surprised they all could speak english and the eldest was 18 at the time and had been to europe. He had an airplane as well. Sadly we lost touch when I left the company. I grew to love the dry country and Karoo with it's character.